Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

Looks the business, enjoy. Great all rounder so they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,577 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

330d? Congrats GF. Looks stunning and always loved Estoril Blue.

The number of 6 cylinder owners seems to be gathering pace on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Thanks lads.

Yeah 330d. Colour clinched it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

That blue is spectacular. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Well wear. 3 estate is on my list when the James Bond Junior juniors come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Off to Scotland in morning to do the NC500 can't wait. Heading to Ford Fair in Silverstone next weekend then! Lots of driving ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Thanks lads.

Yeah 330d. Colour clinched it to be honest.

The blue is stunning on the F30s alright.

Six cylinders is so much nicer as well, no going back once you've tried one really:D.

An F30 330d is on my list of options when the time comes to replace my E46, there's no way I'd own anything other than a rear wheel drive BMW with at least six cylinders now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So this just happened 15min ago:

I drove home from work as always and its pitch black, but I noticed something in the distance. It was a 172 focus with no lights on traveling same direction as I am!!!
    I got closer to him and started flashing my lights and focus driver was just turning indicators randomly. I still flashed him, until he went to the side and stoped. I stoped in front of him and walked over.
    Now its pitch black and I did not wanted to look threatening, so I walked over to window and just said that they had no lights on and its extremely dangerous in nicest way I could.
    They were a young foreign couple and car was rented aka Tourists. They had no clue how to turn lights on. Now to their defence, the whole dashboard is bombarded in switches, lights and buttons, even I could not figure out right away where are the light switch. Such a damn clutter fest design!
    Anyway, we found it, lights on, friendly good bye and thank you. I guess its my little deed on the road, instead of nerd rage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Isn’t the light switch in the same place as on your Ibiza?

Have to say there is far less of this these days than there was a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,577 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Why automatic lights are not mandatory on new cars is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Isn’t the light switch in the same place as on your Ibiza?

Have to say there is far less of this these days than there was a few years ago.

Thats where I looked right away. There was some sort of thing, but had no idea how it finctions or turns or presses. If what it made me appreciate the simple, very easy layout and controls of my ibiza.
    Keep in mind its very dark and in whole black interior I only sow millions of little lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

colm_mcm wrote: »

I don't know about that i think it has just progressed, the amount of people I see driving around Limerick on front DRLs only is chronic.

Paudee wrote: »
    I don't know about that i think it has just progressed, the amount of people I see driving around Limerick on front DRLs only is chronic.

Hyundais i40s with dublin regs being the worst culprits...

Took Cork anglesea street folk 12 months plus to turn on their i40 lights at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Flew out to the sunny Cyprus yesterday for two weeks holidays. Parents Drove me to the Airport we took the A4 always funny seeing someone else drive off in your car. Back to driving my relations Ateca over here 1.4TSI DSG such a nice car really so smooth. As crossovers go I think they are u there although the new Tiguan is also nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Any of ye in Fermoy today? I was there but a small enough crowd at it.

Truckermal wrote: »

Saw pics on FB. I am on holidays and was really disapointed to be missing it, doesn't look like I missed out too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Cork, Limerick, Clare, Galway hurlers in Croke Park all weekend might have something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

457012.jpg

Possibly Joe nice day out though all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Looks like the boys from d&d detailing there with the red caddy next to the gazebo

Great lads they are, they do some job !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

Truckermal wrote: »

I called in around 12. Not much happening, so went home to watch the GP and the Cork game. It's been very good the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Looks like the boys from d&d detailing there with the red caddy next to the gazebo

Great lads they are, they do some job !

We were there alright and took home two prizes ourselves, one for mine in the Top 10 BMW/Merc/Opel category and one for the Caddy in the Top 15 VAGE Category, another car prepped by us yesterday got Top 10 BMW too.

It was actually a very good show again this year but trailed off after about 1 when people started tipping away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I’ve a Volvo a 80 going to the scrap heap , buying a new car, anyone want a car for €300 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cadaliac

cadaliac wrote: »
    I’ve a Volvo a 80 going to the scrap heap , buying a new car, anyone want a car for €300 ?

S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Cork, Limerick, Clare, Galway hurlers in Croke Park all weekend might have something to do with it.

Hurling was my excuse anyway, what a weekend of sport :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

tossy wrote: »
    Hurling was my excuse anyway, what a weekend of sport :D

Yup, was up there myself yesterday. Incredible game, not good for the nerves / heart!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Yup, was up there myself yesterday. Incredible game, not good for the nerves / heart!!

Thoroughly enjoyable i'd be a big admirer of Galway hurling (definitely not football lol) but i fairly lept out of my seat when that point went over to equalise in extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

This is still sitting on DD. Looks like it'll be a while before it shifts. Have it up for 1700 quid. A lot of car for little money but not a car anyone really wants in this country with tax near a grand and insurance getting tricky for most. It's 2.2 so obviously it's a race car in the eyes of the insurance companies.

IMG_20180729_191904.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

vintagevrs wrote: »
    This is still sitting on DD. Looks like it'll be a while before it shifts. Have it up for 1700 quid. A lot of car for little money but not a car anyone really wants in this country with tax near a grand and insurance getting tricky for most. It's 2.2 so obviously it's a race car in the eyes of the insurance companies.

What’s the F30 like to pull the cattle box :pac: