Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Probably has landsails fitted....

Right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I drove this around some windy and hairpin Kerry roads today. Brilliant fun but I wouldn't have one.

There's a Volkswagen that looks very similar to it, can't think of the name, cool little yoke.

SUV (mock 4x4s one of my friends call them) mpg chat :)

The Sorento is doing 40mpg overall for me, on non motorway driving without seeing much traffic (my usual day to day stuff) it does 44mpg.

About 30% of my driving is 120kph motorway spins though.

I'm happy enough with the mpg and it's better than I expected all considered given what long term test drives from the various media outlets in the UK reported.

The Sorento is surprisingly almost the length of a Landcruiser and is as wide, sits much lower though. Given it's AWD I think the mpg I'm seeing is very good. I had a 2WD Kuga for 5 or 6 weeks in 2017 and it did 45mpg for me with less motorway driving.

The Sorento gives no visual indication to the driver what the AWD is up to, I drove a Ford Edge for a month and that has an option you could flick to that gave a visual on what was going on, in hindsight, nice feature that I'd like on the Sorento.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

There's a Volkswagen that looks very similar to it, can't think of the name, cool little yoke.

Karmann Ghia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

OSI wrote: »
    Ah Ghia. What a shame. From producing beautiful vehicles like the Karmann and being hounded by manufacturers the world over to design iconic cars, to being sold to Ford so they can put a badge on Mondeos with central locking :rolleyes:

Am I the only one who is nostalgic for the days of Ghia badged Fords? There was always a bit of prestige and status associated with them, probably helped by the fact that back in those days nobody in Ireland was interested in buying cars with a bit of spec, so they were as rare as hen's teeth. Titanium or Vignale just doesn't have any cachet for me at all.

OSI wrote: »
    For car that big with permanent four wheel drive, I think low 40s is pretty good. I find the Sorento a nicer car than it's Hyundai stable mate, and most reviews I've read suggest it's a common feeling. Are Kia and Hyundai shifting away from their traditional relationship?

Well the Sorento and Santa Fe are both predominantly front wheel drive. The rears get no torque at all unless the system decides to send them some.... but it's permanent in so far as it's on demand. Some Canadian crowd developed it ........ https://www.canadianmanufacturing.com/manufacturing/kia-to-install-magnas-dynamax-system-in-sorento-suv-148053/
    It seems very decent, you can feel something going on with the rears to keep things controlled if you lash it around a country road bend. It's not the sort of yoke to drive in an overly spirited manner but it's not too bad either to be fair.

Hyundai label the Santa Fe as 4WD, which I think is taking liberties as there's no low range etc. The Sorento AWD badging sits better with me. Of course loads of manufacturers are now badging AWD yokes as 4WD.

You can lock the front and rear with a button though on both the Santa Fe and the Sorento.

I reckon they are still keeping the Hyundai a bit ahead of Kia in many ways. The Santa Fe looks a bit more high spec hi tech interior wise but then it's also a cluster of buttons :) There's a few thousand in the price difference too. I'm happy that I prefer the Sorento tbh :) They might be getting close to a Superb Passat or Octavia Golf situation whereby the seemingly "lesser" option appeals to some folk more than the traditional "better" option. The words in inverted commas are quite likely not exactly what I'm trying to say but they're good enough.

Am I the only one who is nostalgic for the days of Ghia badged Fords? .......

I would agree.
    Back in the late 80s/early 90s neighbours had a 1986 Orion 1.6i Ghia, was very well specced. Alloys, e/w and mirrors etc and it was quite swift too. It looked the part even compared to a 1990 e30 316 that one of the other neighbours had.

Although there was a red 180sx next door to the Orion that won the nicest car in the park prize :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Yeah I remember back in the day, if you're Dad had a "Ghia" Orion / Escort, you were minted :D

They used to put some god-awful fake wood on the dashboards in them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

When I moved to Ireland in 1997 I drove over in my 1992 Ford Orion 1.8i (105hp) Ghia. Heated windscreen, Electric Windows & Mirrors, Sunroof (manual) and central locking - thankfully, that didn't have the terrible wood trim, just plastic.

J830 PUP - untaxed since March 2004 so presume it's long gone - surprised it made it that far to be honest. Plagued with electrical issues, but did look good in Maroon with a lovely set of alloys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A relative of mine had a white on Black Orion Ghia. Thought it was the biz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,181 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

R.O.R wrote: »
    When I moved to Ireland in 1997 I drove over in my 1992 Ford Orion 1.8i (105hp) Ghia. Heated windscreen, Electric Windows & Mirrors, Sunroof (manual) and central locking - thankfully, that didn't have the terrible wood trim, just plastic.

J830 PUP - untaxed since March 2004 so presume it's long gone - surprised it made it that far to be honest. Plagued with electrical issues, but did look good in Maroon with a lovely set of alloys.
    A friend of mine had a 1994 Orion, last of the orions and the one that was like a saloon version of the escort of the time. It was blue.
    I think it was imported from the UK too but not ghia spec. Fansy Shmansy!

Karmann Ghia.

No its not that anyways... A mates dad has one I'll ask again and get the name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Na it's as old as the hills, open top 2 door, real low, yer man built it himself.

Bet it's not even a Vw now :pac:

Nevermind found a pic of it, it's an MG TF.

Full sure he told me it was a vw at some stage!

Nevermind found a pic of it, it's an MG TF.

Full sure he told me it was a vw at some stage!

Surely if it's ancient it's an MGB?
    The TF were recent enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Augeo wrote: »
    Surely if it's ancient it's an MGB?
    The TF were recent enough?

There was an MG TF in the 50s too

If this guy built it though its probably a kit car

There is an NG TF kit car, I think they have Ford Pinto engines mostly

I'll find out more about it. Takes it out a nice bit touring around. It's a 50s yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

I learned to drive in family 1.3 91 Orion was grand car had an alarm and sunroof very fancy lol! Big tank of a yoke they were ours had well over 300k miles on it when retired it and engine was still going string just the rest was not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Got that full window feeling, sorted my tax, insurance and EnCiTi today, and all for under €1k which is great. Got my cheapest insurance ever, €525 fully comp with Aviva direct, passed the NCT first time with no pre work bar focusing the lights and 3 months tax because you don't know what could happen to an older car.

Also didn't bring photo ID to the test centre so they couldn't give me the cert, novice mistake. Got dashcam'd on the way home too so that took a bit of a shine odd my good days work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Just got a fresh cert today on an E46 cab that'll be going up for sale soon, 70 miles between this test and the last!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

I taxed mine for 12 months last month only put 6 months on it when I got it to avoid having a renewal date in January which is a sh!t month to have it. Insurance not up till next may so grand not having any more big costs for the year will need to be serviced in the next month or so alright not sure what the Audi experience on that costs.

NCT not out till Jan 2020 so I won't worry about that for the moment :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

CIP4 wrote: »
    NCT not out till Jan 2020 so I won't worry about that for the moment :pac:

As if you’ll still have it then :D

colm_mcm wrote: »
    As if you’ll still have it then :D

Ah no I have finally realised newer expensive cars are a waste of money depreciation is a killer like. So I will keep this car for a very long time to get my money’s worth from it. Well there is a 50/50 chance of that happening or else I will just get an A7 or something :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Ah no I have finally realised newer expensive cars are a waste of money depreciation is a killer like. So I will keep this car for a very long time to get my money’s worth from it. Well there is a 50/50 chance of that happening or else I will just get an A7 or something :pac:

You should add this as your profile signature! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I told you that years ago. Lol!

Ah yes but I needed to learn the lesson myself through buying these cars :pac: Should have kept the Megane ah no tbh I don't regret the Audi at all do actually like it a lot. I am frugal enough in most areas so a nice car is one of my few luxuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Ah yes but I needed to learn the lesson myself through buying these cars :pac: Should have kept the Megane ah no tbh I don't regret the Audi at all do actually like it a lot. I am frugal enough in most areas so a nice car is one of my few luxuries.

Nevermind the renault you had a very nice golf you could have kept!

Interslice wrote: »
    Nevermind the renault you had a very nice golf you could have kept!

The person that bought it off me still has it see it going around kilkenny a good bit that was a super clean mk5 spotless for its age. Ah ye I have had a few at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

The person that bought it off me still has it see it going around kilkenny a good bit that was a super clean mk5 spotless for its age. Ah ye I have had a few at this stage.

At least you dont have my affliction where i buy a car, fix it up, get board with it, partly because there is nothing left to fix, and then sell it for no more than what i paid for it, move on to some other over priced banger and the cycle continues. Ill never learn :)