Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

nvidia Shield - Tips & tricks [Read post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Patww79 wrote: »
    Both versions or just the newer one? I've seen no sign of it on my original one yet.

Both get it, I've not got it yet either, it'll be incremental, it'll appear sometime in the next day or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭nedd

Both get it, I've not got it yet either, it'll be incremental, it'll appear sometime in the next day or two

Got this last night. I am in the preview programme so maybe that’s why I got it.

Home screen is different, will take a bit of getting used to but could work out handier. It queues up you watch next in a better way.

There is now an app drawer so you have to go looking for some apps. You can set favourites but a bit weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Anyone know how to change the default sound setting on stb emu
    Every time I change channel the volume drops to about 20%

This might help
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=106171067&postcount=136

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

OmegaGene wrote: »
    Anyone know how to change the default sound setting on stb emu
    Every time I change channel the volume drops to about 20%

This was bugging the bejesus outta me too.

Cheers for the solution lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,585 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Any way to choose a predefined password for accessing the Shield with file sharing / SMB? The only option is to choose a randomized password. Maybe the Oreo update will change that.

There's talk that the new update had been put on hold as there's some having issues with it

Was thinking it was very slow rolling out. Pity, was looking forward to having that new interface.

No manual way to install is there?

Nope, it was only available to some who were signed up to the preview, make sure you're signed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭nedd

I was going to but I'd to sign up to a forum for it. Thought it a bit strange.

That’s how it works. They have a forum community and you can discuss the update and post issues.

Do you have to be active or can you just sign up to get the update?

No just sign up. It's so that you can report issues if you find them, beta test. This is why it's the best device on the market, they take support very seriously. It's a console, they sell games and game stream on the platform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭yoshimitsu

Has anybody been able to upgrade to Oreo? I checked the last few days and i'm on v6.2 and it tells me i have the last updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

yoshimitsu wrote: »
    Has anybody been able to upgrade to Oreo? I checked the last few days and i'm on v6.2 and it tells me i have the last updates

Just read the last few posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Suckit wrote: »

This has been doing my tits in since January of last year. Thank you and thanks to snake_plisken for the solution.

Every single time you'd turn the channel in stbemu you'd have to swipe the volume back up or down because it's reset to 50% or whatever. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,947 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Oat23 wrote: »
    This has been doing my tits in since January of last year. Thank you and thanks to snake_plisken for the solution.

Every single time you'd turn the channel in stbemu you'd have to swipe the volume back up or down because it's reset to 50% or whatever. :mad:

No problem lads, glad I could help you out, it was wrecking my head as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭mightybashful

Something wrecking my head too - whenever I turn off the shield, the TV goes off as well.

How do I stop that?

Something wrecking my head too - whenever I turn off the shield, the TV goes off as well.

How do I stop that?

Settings > Display & Sound > Power Control

HDMI CEC is enabled perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

How do I stop that?

HDMI setting, not at box so can't direct but changing it doesn't stop it turning my TV on/off. Pr*ick of a yoke.

Edit: Yea, what Oat said above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭clintondaly

Settings > Display & Sound > Power Control

HDMI CEC is enabled perhaps?

You can also prevent the Shield from going to sleep which can be a pain sometimes if you're using it as a server(Plex) as you can get timed out connections as it tries to wake the server and then have to retry after having woken it.
    Its in under developer options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,194 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Lads sorry if shouldn't post this here but seeing as yous all have one no better place to ask right? Ha.

Bascially I'm in two minds weather to spend 200 euro on one these when I already have a htpc and 4k smart TV.

Is there any benefits to investing in a shield knowing what I currently have?

I want a smooth all in one source for netflix iptv and media in general. I also want to be able to use a VPN if needed.

I'm aware the shield can do this but if I already have a htpc is buying this a waste?

The gaming side of things isn't important as I have few different consoles.

Bascially I just want the most straightforward all in one way to get the most out of streaming and playback of media.

Lads sorry if shouldn't post this here but seeing as yous all have one no better place to ask right? Ha.

Bascially I'm in two minds weather to spend 200 euro on one these when I already have a htpc and 4k smart TV.

I want a smooth all in one source for netflix iptv and media in general. I also want to be able to use a VPN if needed.

I'm aware the shield can do this but if I already have a htpc is buying this a waste?

Bascially I just want the most straightforward all in one way to get the most out of streaming and playback of media.

I don't know the specs of your htpc or what software you're running on it, but the shield would be a good upgrade either way. It will run all of the stuff you say you want it for just as good if not better than the htpc and you also have native apps, voice control and so on. The experience would be smooth which is what you say you want.

Use the built in netflix app for 4K HDR.
    stbemu/perfect player for IPTV
    There are a couple of VPN companies with apps on the play store, if yours is not there you can sideload their android app quite easily.

Gaming: I sold my PS4 and just use gamestream & retrox now, so don't rule out the gaming aspect of the shield just because you have consoles :pac:

I don't know the specs of your htpc or what software you're running on it, but the shield would be a good upgrade either way. It will run all of the stuff you say you want it for just as good if not better than the htpc and you also have native apps, voice control and so on. The experience would be smooth which is what you say you want.

Use the built in netflix app for 4K HDR.
    stbemu/perfect player for IPTV
    There are a couple of VPN companies with apps on the play store, if yours is not there you can sideload their android app quite easily.

Gaming: I sold my PS4 and just use gamestream & retrox now, so don't rule out the gaming aspect of the shield just because you have consoles :pac:

I'm running amd 8 core processor forget the model. Windows 10.
    I've updated parts regularly enough over the years to point its more thrn enough for what I use it for.

I've a Samsung ks7000 someone mentioned to me the colour is actually better on the TV for netflix then would be on the shield based on theres.

I'm running amd 8 core processor forget the model. Windows 10.
    I've updated parts regularly enough over the years to point its more thrn enough for what I use it for.

I've a Samsung ks7000 someone mentioned to me the colour is actually better on the TV for netflix then would be on the shield based on theres.

A HTPC with windows sounds frustrating to use. Do you have an air mouse or how do you control it? Which app are you using for IPTV?

Upgrading to the shield would make it a much more pleasant media viewing experience to be honest. If you buy it from Amazon, you can return it within 30 days for a full refund if you change your mind.

A HTPC with windows sounds frustrating to use. Do you have an air mouse or how do you control it? Which app are you using for IPTV?

Upgrading to the shield would make it a much more pleasant media viewing experience to be honest. If you buy it from Amazon, you can return it within 30 days for a full refund if you change your mind.

Keyboard and mouse ha. Always found it handy. Use TV for netflix so remote for that.

I'm using MyIPTV If I bought an android TV box I'd use the dedicated app for the provider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭BandMember

You've already started a separate thread on this and were given loads of information there, don't know why you're asking the same question again as you were given enough information from users to make your decision.... :confused:

BandMember wrote: »
    You've already started a separate thread on this and were given loads of information there, don't know why you're asking the same question again as you were given enough information from users to make your decision.... :confused:
    I wanted as much different views as possible. Basically cause the more people i talk to about all these box's im finding out different info. The internet has all kinds of conflicting views on products.

Anyway dont worry about it im done!

Thanks anyone who gave me advice/information.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I was having a play with StbEMU last night and might give it a go, I notice that you can choose a few different options for the type of box to emulate, what would people recommend setting this to??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Clareman wrote: »
    I was having a play with StbEMU last night and might give it a go, I notice that you can choose a few different options for the type of box to emulate, what would people recommend setting this to??

MAG 250 or 254 were the original boxes emulated, they are the two i find most stable. But I have found some providers to work better with a different one.

Have you tried IPTV smarters? There are two versions. A handheld/touchscreen device version and a TV Box version, although i think it is just aesthetics that are the difference, both work on either platform.

It is nice, it might not be preferable over STBEmu but I know some people prefer it. I think the Box version is paid, or comes free with some resellers.