Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Punchestown - Day 1

• Registered Users Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭kksaints

The hell happened there?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Horrific from Townend, should be getting a massive ban for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

What the funk?

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭TheBoyFromAus

erm wtf just happened

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I've never seen the like of it!

You'd be sick if you were on Al Boum Photo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭gazza1

What was that. Unbelievable

• Registered Users Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Must have heard something. There was nothing in his eyeline I don’t think

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭piplip87

Was on Finians Oscar. Disgraceful if that result stands.

piplip87 wrote: »

Why would it not stand? What did the winner do wrong? Harsh but that’s racing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Panrich

He looked behind. Did one of the others tell him go around the fence

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭TheBoyFromAus

You can't take away the win, but surely Finians Oscar would be declared a non-runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

??????

Why wouldn't it stand?!

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

You can't take away the win, but surely Finians Oscar would be declared a non-runner

Some bookies might refund money but wont be declared a non runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Why would the result not stand. Finians Oscar didn't even finish the race.

It will be up to the bookies discretion to refund on him and I reckon a few might,

But at the end of the day, it is the exact same as a horse in front of you making a bad mistake on a fence and bringing both of you down

The thoughts that it should be declared a formal NR are silly

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Finians Oscar backers must be feeling very hard done by there.

Davy Russell - "It was never in doubt, I was always going to win"

Really growing to like that lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Result shouldn't stand? Finians Oscar a NR?:pac:

You boys are some craic.

That's racing, it's tough luck but that's what makes it so exciting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Paul Townend had nothing to say to Ruby after the Douvan race, can't imagine he's very conversational now.

Wonder how “I have nothing to say” would work out for him in the stewards room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Result shouldn't stand? Finians Oscar a NR?:pac:

You boys are some craic.

That's racing, it's tough luck but that's what makes it so exciting.

Fact.
    Jesus Christ. No wonder its so hard to get a ****ing bet on. Lads just expect freebies if there is a bit of commotion in a race. Was strange but you pay your money and take your chances.
    This justice refund craic drives me ****ing mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Harrington thought she was home and hosed there fell asleep

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Panrich

21 days for Townsend

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Harrington thought she was home and hosed there fell asleep

Just weak as a kitten, don't think she stopped riding.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

I'd say he thought they were to bypass the last fence as there was a red flag on the wing of it. Having said that there was also a red flag on the wing of the second last too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

kksaints wrote: »
    The hell happened there?

I'll tell you what happened.

Theres a cameraman standing outside the wings of the last fence on the track. The horse got spooked at the same time as Townend was checking to see if anyone was coming up the inside of him and the horse jinked accross the course as far as away as possible from the cameramans lens.

449135.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

Panrich wrote: »
    21 days for Townsend

Wat did Andy do now......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

STB. wrote: »
    I'll tell you what happened.

Theres a cameraman standing outside the wings of the last fence on the track. The horse got spooked at the same time as Townend was checking to see if anyone was coming up the inside of him and the horse jinked accross the course as far as away as possible from the cameramans lens.

449135.jpg

No way. Sure Townend steered the horse across himself. The horse was in no way spooked by anything. The jockey thought the fence was to be bypassed. We'll know soon enough as to why he thought that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

People slaughtering PT need to f**k off and follow a different sport. I don't know wat happened u don't know what happened but it waa a MISTAKE. Maybe Al Boum woulda won , maybe FO woulda won, maybe neither would. Regardless it was a mistake and a great jockey is made to look a fool. PT will come back and win grade ones again.it was a mistake. End of.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Conas wrote: »
    No way. Sure Townend steered the horse across himself. The horse was in no way spooked by anything. The jockey thought the fence was to be bypassed. We'll know soon enough as to why he thought that.

I've looked at the replay. After he looked accross to his right (like he got a shout from one of the other jockeys) he straightened up the horse for a stride. The horse then jinks to the right. There are 2 cameraman on the infield, not one.

There is no way they could have dolled off that fence anyway at that angle without a flagman.

Either that or he thought it was dolled off because the other 2 were so near the rail.