Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Moflojo wrote: »
    Dublin Cycling Campaign Twitter poll from last Friday with two-thirds of respondents saying they've had at least one bike stolen.

https://twitter.com/dublincycling/status/921306717991862273

thought it would be a lot higher. Wonder if people were not thinking of bikes nicked as a kid or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BackInTown

HI Guys, my Trek Soho and my 6 year old Daughters (10 day old birthday present) Carerra Saruna 20" were stolen from my back garden in Fernleigh, D15 on Friday night. Bikes were lifted over the locked gate.

The trek was champagne coloured, had a bag rack and a clamp for a bike seat which will have left some marks/discolouration I'm sure.

I'm afraid I hadn't locked them to anything in the garden which was pretty stupid.

If anyone notices them around or for sale somewhere please let me know!

Can't post images because I am not a regular poster here. if you have a look @stolenbikesdub on Tweeter you will see the post

Thanks for having a look and bearing the bikes in mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 BackInTown

Now that I have the necessary number of posts on boards I can post the pictures related to proceeding thread relating to bike theft in D15. The photo co the trek is the same bike, but new obviously. Mine had/has a double sided stand, a child seat clamp on the up post and a bag rack over the back wheel.

Thanks again

431344.jpg

431345.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,644 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 gorgp

Hi guys,

I had a bike stolen in Ringsend during the week. It is a black/grey Giant defy advanced 3.

If anybody see's a bike like this for sale I'd appreciate if you could drop me a message.

Thanks,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭vektarman

A guy on the Celbridge information page on FB has recovered this bike if anyone recognises it.

22853251_10155795824851228_4314224098111920801_n.jpg?oh=409493983f1d6766261bb91dd5ff6132&oe=5A7C3D2C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

gorgp wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I had a bike stolen in Ringsend during the week. It is a black/grey Giant defy advanced 3.

Thanks,
    Peter

Can you post a catalogue image of the bike or similar? Also, anything more of a description. Large or small frame, new or old condition, any particular features or attachments etc? I live nearby and always have an eye out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭dubjay

hello my e bike was stolen Thursday night from Palmerston. is useless to who has it as i have the head unit. if anybody knows or sees this bike i am offering 200 euro reward for its return no questions asked as i use it daily to commute to hospital for my mother and need it badly. its very recognizable black over volt 400 with bright green parts. again please help also reward offered for return.

432624.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭homer911

Hi Dubjay - I know how you feel - I have the 2016 model which was nicked but I got it back when it was dumped in bushes not too far away - would suggest you search the locality as it could well have been abandoned. Unfortunately the head unit is only about €100 to replace - always good to remove the battery too as it can be €5-600 to replace

thanks homer911 i called the bike shop and they told me the motor is matched to that head unit unless they find a dealer who will unlock the codes on a new unit it will not work. i have been checking all lanes ect since then just a race against time as im trying to look after my mam and use the bike to collect med,s etc.. it had had a few parts replaced and over 4000k done so its well used and every part has a serial to be traced. like i said it is no good to who ever has it and i will give 200 euro no questions asked for its return even if its  damaged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭georgewickstaff

Stolen:  Wedneday 8th November - NORTH ROAD , DROGHEDA , Co. Louth

SCOTT SUB SPORT 40 - BLUE AND GREY
    AF1QipOgM1HMIzFEEif8VMi7iGfQn3URvQGes86qEagf?key=Rkktb1F0SnpQX3l6Rmk3OElUY0NTcjVJZEVxMzJR
    Locked to Pedestrian / Crash Barrier on North Road with

New York Kryptonite Lock
    Abus London Lock
    Generic U lock on front wheel.

One off the spokes on the crash barrier was cut in two. No discarded locks on ground. Cannot figure out how they got the Kryptonite New York off.  

Distinguishing  marks -  cross bar is heavily marked with black distortion from the Kryptonite lock rubbing against.  

Very upset, still paying for it.  As a family going to really struggle to get to work now, really lost without it.432940.jpg

One off the spokes on the crash barrier was cut in two. No discarded locks on ground. Cannot figure out how they got the Kryptonite New York off.
    If there were no locks maybe it was taken away in a van to get the locks off later. I see many bikes with excellent locks but locked to flimsy poles or similar. The pole itself is then the weakest link. I had to cut a bog standard kryptonite lock off my bike as I had a broken key. I could not even begin to cut it with a hacksaw blade. I work with steel in my job and reckon I could get through an average "sheffield stand" in under 2mins with the same saw. They look thick but if you flick them you can hear it is really thin steel.

A NY lock typically requires 2 cuts to actually get it off. A standard angle grinder will do it, the steel is good so also slows them down a bit.

rubadub wrote: »
    If there were no locks maybe it was taken away in a van to get the locks off later. I see many bikes with excellent locks but locked to flimsy poles or similar. The pole itself is then the weakest link. I had to cut a bog standard kryptonite lock off my bike as I had a broken key. I could not even begin to cut it with a hacksaw blade. I work with steel in my job and reckon I could get through an average "sheffield stand" in under 2mins with the same saw. They look thick but if you flick them you can hear it is really thin steel.

A NY lock typically requires 2 cuts to actually get it off. A standard angle grinder will do it, the steel is good so also slows them down a bit.

Yeah I think you are right. Its the worst feeling in the world. Still paying for it. I'm really down about it I have to say. They have rubbish bikes stolen on me and then i spared no expense on locks.. 5 months in to payment on bike to work scheme. I'm being an awful blouse but I am finding this way more upsetting then it should be. Sucks.

Yeah I think you are right. Its the worst feeling in the world.
    I know, not sure how many bikes I have had nicked on me, I seriously do not really want to tot them up. A disgusting sinking feeling when you go back to the spot was locked up.

I seriously pity the scum I ever potentially find robbing my bike, depending on mood I really do not know if I could hold back, I have gone out to check on my bike if I hear people about, and I do bring weapons which I would actually have no qualms using, i.e. not weapons that would seriously injure, ones I would use. Many have "defense weapons" they would likely never use as it could actually kill.

I am actually surprised there is not more vigilantism in regards to bike theft, it stirs up such hatred. I read of some young lad having his legs broke (and did rightly or wrongly think fair play, deserves it), and have heard stories of "what I would do" from lads I know, some of which is "just talk", but I also know some would certainly not hold back as they are so utterly infuriated by the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭TychoCaine

A Cannondale Bad Boy 3 got swiped out of my garden shed in Citywest overnight. It's got a rigid "lefty" fork which is unusual. When stolen it had a blue anodized aluminium Hope Vision 1 front light fitted which might stand out. It was a cycle to work bike that still has 6 months of installments to pay off. Gutted is an understatement.

seems like its all in the one area. sounds like a man with a van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I read of some young lad having his legs broke (and did rightly or wrongly think fair play, deserves it),
    Just for clarity, the correct answer is (a) ‘rightly’.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,987 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Yeah I think you are right. Its the worst feeling in the world. Still paying for it. I'm really down about it I have to say. They have rubbish bikes stolen on me and then i spared no expense on locks.. 5 months in to payment on bike to work scheme. I'm being an awful blouse but I am finding this way more upsetting then it should be. Sucks.

Nothing about being a blouse, if my bike was nicked, I could not afford another one at the minute, my commute time would double and the cost per week would be a noticeable dent to the pocket, I would have to change my working hours for the creche and so on. Basically, if it happened now, I would slink to the ground and cry for awhile because they would have taken far more than a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Buy the best locks you can afford and fit at least 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If there were no locks maybe it was taken away in a van to get the locks off later. I see many bikes with excellent locks but locked to flimsy poles or similar.

That was my first guess too. If the barrier was still cut the locks are likely still on the bike to be taken off at their leisure.

Is there much of a market for stolen bikes?
    I know in places where bikes are almost disposable, people will buy stolen boneshaker for peanuts and ride it about until it breaks or is stolen. But, what happens to these $1000+ bikes stolen in dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Mellor wrote: »
    That was my first guess too. If the barrier was still cut the locks are likely still on the bike to be taken off at their leisure.

Is there much of a market for stolen bikes?
    I know in places where bikes are almost disposable, people will buy stolen boneshaker for peanuts and ride it about until it breaks or is stolen. But, what happens to these $1000+ bikes stolen in dublin?

There is a market for them, they sell on adverts, gum tree, Facebook, donedeal.

Handy money whether they get €50 or €1000 its all pure profit.

Hi all

I went to Gardai and reported my bike stolen in Drogheda.

I dug out the receipt but Seriel not on it. Eurocycles said they don't have it.

Have I totally messed up by not recording it myself? Feeling very panicked about this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Hi all

I went to Gardai and reported my bike stolen in Drogheda.

I dug out the receipt but Seriel not on it. Eurocycles said they don't have it.

Have I totally messed up by not recording it myself? Feeling very panicked about this now.

Why the panic? Do you think the guards are going to find it for you?

They might, got an unexpected call from the Drogheda station a couple years ago to say they had my partners Trek bike, recovered along with a few others and tools etc during a raid on a house on an unrelated matter.

OP what kind of bike? Any distinguishing features / marks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

They might, got an unexpected call from the Drogheda station a couple years ago to say they had my partners Trek bike, recovered along with a few others and tools etc during a raid on a house on an unrelated matter.

Stolen:  Wedneday 8th November - NORTH ROAD , DROGHEDA , Co. Louth

Distinguishing  marks -  cross bar is heavily marked with black distortion from the Kryptonite lock rubbing against.  

432940.jpg

OP you've probably made it more difficult for them to link any recovered bike to yourself without the serial number as these things can be recovered months if not years after the event. Keep an eye on their Twitter account they usually post a link to recovered and unclaimed bikes.

I posted above the picture of it.. Scott Sub Sport 40

Crossbar heavily marked with black smudges from the NY Krypto lock rubbing against it. Back carrier missing elastic as it broke..

Eeeugh..wasting my time but you can live in hope. And to the other poster wondering if I think I will get it back? Of course I dont, I'm distraught about it, I'm not thinking clearly. But if it ever was found I would be gutted not to be able to reclaim it because I did not have the seriel number.

Maybe I'm not thinking clearly but let me sort it out in my head a bit.. Thanks for your "help".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Having the serial number would help if it was recovered but more than likely, if you were to see it in somebody else's possession, you could prove ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭t8010789

I had two Lapierre shaper 300 2012 models stolen from our second floor apartment balcony. I live in Rathborne, Ashtown, Dublin 15. They were taken between thurs evening (9th) and Friday (10th) 7am. Will keep checking all the usual websites in case they show up. Reported to Cabra Garda station with serial numbers. Stock bike pics attached. The black one has a second crossbar that takes a wee ride child bike seat. Also attached is the photo of the balconies they/he/she scaled, look closely and you can see the muddy footprints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭t8010789

The balcony front they climbed up