Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Mellor wrote: »
    Is there much of a market for stolen bikes?
    I know in places where bikes are almost disposable, people will buy stolen boneshaker for peanuts and ride it about until it breaks or is stolen. But, what happens to these $1000+ bikes stolen in dublin?
    The story I often hear is that they many are all bundled into containers and shipped off to eastern europe and sold on from there, distancing themselves from serial numbers etc.

Of course some are stolen by casual scum who have nicked a portable angle grinder from lidl (which should need a licence or some sort of restriction IMO). But there are definite stories of vans going around with more professional thieves.

The buyers are as bad as the thieves, esp. if the selling price is obvious. There could be some official transfer thing in place, in conjunction with the gardai or something, sellers supplying original receipts, shops keeping proper records -over and above what shops selling other items do. I can think of no other item I own which is of such great threat/likliehood of being stolen, they should be treated very differently, and it follows that so should the repercussions for theives, but they actually appear to be less!?!:mad:

The government is "losing" millions with this bike to work scheme, so they obviously think encouraging cycling is worth millions to the economy -but are doing absolutely fcuk all about one of the biggest deterrents to taking up & continuation of cycling -really confuses me, seems so obvious that they need to do something.

There is a market for them, they sell on adverts, gum tree, Facebook, donedeal.

Handy money whether they get €50 or €1000 its all pure profit.
    Ones properly locked will require better tools. If I was a thief I would not risk stealing an item which costed 1-8k only to sell it for 50euro. I would expect/hope that the sentence for stealing say a 3K bike would be the same as stealing a 3k motorbike/car/jewelry -regardless if I am only selling it on for 50euro. Unfortunately as I have said before I still think some gardai/judges do view this as "schoolyard theft".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭bennyc

Just had my bike stolen from the bike rack at the entrance to Dundrum Town Centre accross the road from the Balally Luas , a 20 year old giant hybrid but my 20 year old giant, sickening feeling to see it gone even if its worthless. it was parked next to one of those blue garda bike with the security warning on them. Any point in reporting this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭manafana

bennyc wrote: »
    Just had my bike stolen from the bike rack at the entrance to Dundrum Town Centre accross the road from the Balally Luas , a 20 year old giant hybrid but my 20 year old giant, sickening feeling to see it gone even if its worthless. it was parked next to one of those blue garda bike with the security warning on them. Any point in reporting this ?

sorry to hear, worth reporting to both gardai and town centre, if i go to dundrum i usually use parking on side enterance or if going for while the bike rack inside the car park which u can enter from by pass road.

Out of interest what kind of lock did you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭bennyc

manafana wrote: »
    sorry to hear, worth reporting to both gardai and town centre, if i go to dundrum i usually use parking on side enterance or if going for while the bike rack inside the car park which u can enter from by pass road.

Out of interest what kind of lock did you use?

The lock was a cable one. Not the strongest in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,580 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Bit of good news...

Colleague had her bike stolen in Dublin 2 on Friday afternoon. Spotted it on Adverts on Wednesday for sale in Longford!

Arranged to meet the seller. Contacted Longford Gardai who were great and accompanied her posing as her dad.

Met to 'buy' the bike on Thursday morning. Thief arrested and search warrant granted. Loads of stolen bikes in his house and all for sale on adverts (premium ads too!)

One less scumbag hopefully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Savage_Henry

Thats pretty cool news. Maybe my bikes:D was in his shed too

He currently has 7 bike ads on adverts.

he has sold 15 bikes under his current user name too

Not sure if I should link the ads in case it prejudices any court proceedings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Savage_Henry

hmm, there are only 3 premium ads in co Longford

Bingo!

Only 3 of the 7 bikes are premium ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,849 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Seems to have very positive feedback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

As long as bikes can be bought and sold with no questions asked, there will always be scumbags like this turning a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

He currently has 7 bike ads on adverts.

he has sold 15 bikes under his current user name too

Not sure if I should link the ads in case it prejudices any court proceedings

Will those 15 bikes be returned to their owners? Details of buyers will be listed. Could be a good haul...

In other news, what a tick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Not the smartest operator is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Was it the white specialized?

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Was it the white specialized?

Yes. Nice little bike and she was lost without it. Great result by her -she played him perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Yes. Nice little bike and she was lost without it. Great result by her -she played him perfectly.

It validates about a point of buying a bike with proof of ownership. A boards member was bidding on it also. Good catch though and great she got it back.

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    It validates about a point of buying a bike with proof of ownership. A boards member was bidding on it also. Good catch though and great she got it back.

Yep, I think she actually found the person bidding on it on Instagram and contacted them to ask them to back off. The boards person couldn't have been more helpful apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭cython

Yep, I think she actually found the person bidding on it on Instagram and contacted them to ask them to back off. The boards person couldn't have been more helpful apparently.

Good to hear of a good news story in this vein, for a change. Safe to say the guy sounds like a bit of a (k)nob?

On a slightly related note, and also good news (IMHO at least), a couple of lads who seemed to be fencing stolen CRC stock a few years back were convicted and sentenced in recent days: http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/stolen-chainreactioncycles-stock/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭thebourke

i keep both of my bikes i the living room..i don;'t rish leaving them in the garden shed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If your white Liv was knicked in Dun Lao...(f'ck if I can spell it) today DLB have it after a chase!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/566967983332763/permalink/1965552700140944/

Lmao the scoobie even had the helmet on :D

"Ya didn't see fookin nutin"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

And he stopped at a red... feckin hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭gmacww

About a year or two ago there was a very good bike stolen at the end of a sportive. Can't recall where but was discussed on here. Thief was decked out in full cycling kit looked like anyone else that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,640 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

And he stopped at a red... feckin hell

AND made sure to put on his own rear light - most conscientious thief in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Matt Bianco

gmacww wrote: »
    About a year or two ago there was a very good bike stolen at the end of a sportive. Can't recall where but was discussed on here. Thief was decked out in full cycling kit looked like anyone else that day.

I remember hearing that this happened at the Tour of Meath at the second control maybe 3/4 years back so could be the same incident - very easily done I would imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭KOR101

I never would have thought of that risk.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/12/11/cross-cut/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

KOR101 wrote: »
    I never would have thought of that risk.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/12/11/cross-cut/

there were videos of thieves in dublin doing that. You use the bike itself as the leverage tool. Just shows how strong the kryptonite is, doesn't even look bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

The guy in the video does very well and deserves great credit. Having been in a some situations a little similar to this, I think what's best to do is, if possible, ring the guards immediately and see if you can have them on the way while you're giving chase. That way you've a better possibility of retrieving the property and achieving a conviction. But again, kudos to this guy. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

bennyc wrote: »

Late reply, but always report it. You won't get it back, but it will be used in gardai statistics. Let them know bike theft is a problem in the area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't have any photos at the moment.

But I took a bike off some scrouts in Dublin 13 last night.

Its a childs/female white Townsend 'Bay'.

Photos to follow (Christmas party last night and too bloody hanging this morning to take photos lol).