Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

There's something really positive about winning when expected to do.so. Galway are without doubt the countrys top team at the moment and would be favourites against anyone they came up against. Teams and fans won't care really whatever way their side wins but I do think it means slightly more to be the best team around and win it emphatically, rather than 'steal' one as an underdog in a one off game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Well done Galway. ye deserved the win, were the better team all day and we were in truth flattered by the close margin in the end. Gutted today but happy for ye.
    Enjoy the homecoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,963 ✭✭✭threeball

Unfortunate that we're having the home coming in Pearse stadium. Would have been such a special occasion to have it in Eyre square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,504 ✭✭✭✭km79

Heartiest congratulations
    Ye have shown us the way in 2 weeks
    Up the West

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I've never once heard that being chanted during years of hearing the song at Galway GAA games. The only embarrassment regarding that song is Munster people singing an Irish famine song about a town in Galway at a sport like Rugby

I think the song was sung at Ireland internationals long before it was adopted by Munster fans, if memory serves me.

I don't think it matters anyways, fans are entitled to sing what they want. Liverpool fans also sing a version.

They are planning to come to Pearse Stadium during rush hour. Good luck with that. It will take them two hours to get from the east of the city to Salthill.

7.30 is probably more realistic for being in Pearse Stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I've never once heard that being chanted during years of hearing the song at Galway GAA games. The only embarrassment regarding that song is Munster people singing an Irish famine song about a town in Galway at a sport like Rugby

What's embarrassing about that? And for who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

What's embarrassing about that? And for who?

Exactly, and it was being sung in Parkhead long before it was even sung at a GAA match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

They are planning to come to Pearse Stadium during rush hour. Good luck with that. It will take them two hours to get from the east of the city to Salthill.

7.30 is probably more realistic for being in Pearse Stadium.

They will have a Garda escort though so normal traffic rules won't apply to them.

I'd be shocked if they get there on schedule though.

They will have a Garda escort though so normal traffic rules won't apply to them.

I'd be shocked if they get there on schedule though.

They will probably use the bus lane too but that only goes so far. Very difficult in parts of the city for traffic to make way for garda escort. If they get to the university they should be fine after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

It'd be nice if they could allow some sort of parking in the estates around pearse stadium. They're advising people not to drive over. Fat chance of that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

jam83 wrote: »
    It'd be nice if they could allow some sort of parking in the estates around pearse stadium. They're advising people not to drive over. Fat chance of that happening.
    Friend of mine has allowed me to park at her house (in an estate back near Ardilaun). Will i be let drive in that far though i wonder.

Any idea which route to Pearse they will take? I'm guessing Seamus Quirke Road/Westside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Well done to Galway yesterday, very hard to argue with the result. Hopefully we can get back to the final again next year and have a different result.

I have to say, fair play to Galway supporters. Had a great day yesterday before the match mixing with a good few of you guys and there was no messing around after the match. You were sound and I hope we do battle again over the next few years.

On a personal level, yesterday was very disappointing but no shame in being beaten by a team such as Galway. I'm living down in Cork so I can get away from the disappointment but it's still disappointing.

Enjoy the celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Congratulations on the win yesterday

they left citywest at around 205 so they are probably behind schedule already

Mr Velo wrote: »
    Friend of mine has allowed me to park at her house (in an estate back near Ardilaun). Will i be let drive in that far though i wonder.

Assuming you were visiting her, or she was driving home herself, they cant stop you surely if you have sn address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

May the hangover be tame tomorrow morning

Following Galway Bay FM coverage today. They didnt hang around long in Ballinasloe!

Traffic in Galway is terrible. Blocked up from ballybrit inwards. Timing isn't great with people leaving work! Athenry not viable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Dire. Every where a mess left at 4 30 gonna leave car and walk soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Big crowd here already. Getting 15k easy.

The lack of thought by the council for this is a ****ing disgrace. They said to park up in the city and use the buses yet there's one bus outside aib in eyre square with a huge queue and no sign of a second. Had to give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Congrats to the Galway hurling team and management. Ye were the better team on the day no doubt. A high percentage of yer scores were top quality and there is no reason why ye shouldn't be the team to beat over the next few years at least. Enjoy the celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

jam83 wrote: »
    Traffic in Galway is terrible. Blocked up from ballybrit inwards. Timing isn't great with people leaving work! Athenry not viable?

Should have been Loughrea first and Eyre Square for the city. The suits don't want to admit that Pearse Stadium is a disaster.

Think the guards put a stop to Eyre Square as they werent sure what kind of crowd to expect.

Not sure if this has been posted previously. Micheál Donoghue hands his Dad (Miko) Liam McCarthy. What a moment.

427080.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,262 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Saw that photo earlier, it really does capture the feelings and passion on the significance of the victory and the bond between father and son, truly magnificent photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

A wonderful image.Would bring a tear to the eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Well done Galway. A fair unquestionable victory. It must be sweet :-)