Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

danganabu wrote: »
    Stop stalking me you freak, do you not have tourists to prosecute or something else as precious!

At least he has moved onto you from me !!!

Anywho....
    Any word on how the Galways lads "are going" ?
    It could be a cracker of a match ! Very interesting to see how Galway line up
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭cosatron

greenspurs wrote: »
    At least he has moved onto you from me !!!

Anywho....
    Any word on how the Galways lads "are going" ?
    It could be a cracker of a match ! Very interesting to see how Galway line up

all's very quiet up here, gates are locked in Kenny park, can't get a look in. In terms of how we set up, it will be similar to the wexford game, daithi and touhy will stay in the fullback line, harte will sweep, hansbury will move out onto brick walsh, p mannion will take up mahony, G Mc will stay 6 so he will take up whoever lines up there. Coen will take on Barron and try and negate his influences and let Waterford worry about david burke moving forward, Joe Canning will be given license to roam and will stay around the middle third, Joe Cooney, will take up 12 for puck outs, I hope Flynn starts ahead of Niall Burke as he has an eye for goal and good speed and mannion will float about aswell. Whelan and conor cooney will stay inside. I think our intentions will be to move the ball fast along the wings and to spread out the Waterford backs and keep the rucks to a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

cosatron wrote: »
    I think our intentions will be to move the ball fast along the wings and to spread out the Waterford backs and keep the rucks to a minimum.

That will be crucial..... No point banging long distance "Hit&Hopes" into their defence ( As KK found out .... :/ )
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭hurlingman97

cosatron wrote: »
    all's very quiet up here, gates are locked in Kenny park, can't get a look in. In terms of how we set up, it will be similar to the wexford game, daithi and touhy will stay in the fullback line, harte will sweep, hansbury will move out onto brick walsh, p mannion will take up mahony, G Mc will stay 6 so he will take up whoever lines up there. Coen will take on Barron and try and negate his influences and let Waterford worry about david burke moving forward, Joe Canning will be given license to roam and will stay around the middle third, Joe Cooney, will take up 12 for puck outs, I hope Flynn starts ahead of Niall Burke as he has an eye for goal and good speed and mannion will float about aswell. Whelan and conor cooney will stay inside. I think our intentions will be to move the ball fast along the wings and to spread out the Waterford backs and keep the rucks to a minimum.

I'm worried about the midfield battle. Waterford have Barron, Kevin Moran and Austin Gleeson against Galway's David Burke and Johnny Coen.

Coen will probably be on Barron which should hopefully be grand but I don't think Burke is good enough defensively on either of the other 2. Burke will hopefully cause them problems in an attacking way.

I'd like to see Harte pushed up to midfield and mark Kevin Moran, we haven't seen him in this sort of role with the County before but he has done well on the likes of Canning, Joseph Cooney and Conor Cooney at club level in the past few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I'm worried about the midfield battle. Waterford have Barron, Kevin Moran and Austin Gleeson against Galway's David Burke and Johnny Coen.

Coen will probably be on Barron which should hopefully be grand but I don't think Burke is good enough defensively on either of the other 2. Burke will hopefully cause them problems in an attacking way.

I'd like to see Harte pushed up to midfield and mark Kevin Moran, we haven't seen him in this sort of role with the County before but he has done well on the likes of Canning, Joseph Cooney and Conor Cooney at club level in the past few years.

It's interesting, before the Tipp game I would have said that midfield was the one place where Galway had a distinct advantage over Tipp, but on the day it was probably the only area that Tipp were on top. Waterford will be a different challenge again though and space will be at a premium in that middle third, Barron is very much a key part of their game and in general when he plays well Waterford play well, they leave a lot of space between their middle third and their forwards and he is the best at closing that gap, keep him shackled and it would go along way to nullifying the threat inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭cosatron

If we keep Barron quiet we will win as I feel his waterford's most influential player. Harte has done very well when tasked at man marking at club level but I don't think MD trust anyone else to do the sweeping instead of harte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Burke is actually quite good at dropping back into defence and carrying out ball or passing it long; was very good at this in the second half of the Deise league game in Salthill.

Cosatron's summary above is good, and I think Galway should largely play to their own strengths rather than worry overmuch about the opposition, too easy to get wrapped up in that.

Are they having any open training evenings in Athenry? Nice to have a look in at them for tradition's sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭carq

Is David Burke injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

No luck in the club draw getting tickets. Thought I'd get one handy enough like previously. On a reserve list if the County Board release more tickets so here's hoping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

carq wrote: »
    Is David Burke injured?

Where you get that from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It was on another forum but has nowhere near the small level of traction that Whelan being injured before the Tipp match had. If you told me Burke was injured for that match I'd absolutely believe it because he was very off form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

It was on another forum but has nowhere near the small level of traction that Whelan being injured before the Tipp match had. If you told me Burke was injured for that match I'd absolutely believe it because he was very off form.

What forum is that?

Galwayhurlingforum.

It was said days ago and nothing more was added so it's likely waffle.

Never amounted to more than "I heard Burke is injured" from a single poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Mayo in football final will see more tickets swapped between themselves and galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

I know the football mightn't get much traction this week but looking at the quarter and semi finals, if Kevin Walsh can change the backroom a bit to get a proper kickout strategy in place, Galway aren't too far off the "best of the rest" i.e. Monaghan, Kerry, Tyrone. Should have beaten Kerry with those 3 goal chances. Turns out Kerry weren't just in 2nd gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭threeball

jam83 wrote: »
    I know the football mightn't get much traction this week but looking at the quarter and semi finals, if Kevin Walsh can change the backroom a bit to get a proper kickout strategy in place, Galway aren't too far off the "best of the rest" i.e. Monaghan, Kerry, Tyrone. Should have beaten Kerry with those 3 goal chances. Turns out Kerry weren't just in 2nd gear.

Like I said on the day, if we bothered our hole to go at them they were there for the taking. Instead we stained our pants at the sight of a Kerry jersey once again.

We have the footballers to be top 3 but not with the current management I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

threeball wrote: »
    Like I said on the day, if we bothered our hole to go at them they were there for the taking. Instead we stained our pants at the sight of a Kerry jersey once again.

We have the footballers to be top 3 but not with the current management I'm afraid.

I'd agree about management but Walsh is there for next year you'd imagine so the least he should do is get in some new voices. I can't help but imagine P Joyce would improve things a lot if his voice was heard as a selector. He's an intelligent guy, was a very intelligent player, and is tuned into the modern game as a result of his media work.

The lack of fight on the day I blame on the players as much as management. It's obvious there's a lack of passion for the jersey among some of them. The heart that mayo show is admirable. They fight back from near impossible situations. A lot of our lads haven't got that and I don't know will they ever have it. But maybe that chat is best left now till early 2018!

jam83 wrote: »
    I'd agree about management but Walsh is there for next year you'd imagine so the least he should do is get in some new voices. I can't help but imagine P Joyce would improve things a lot if his voice was heard as a selector. He's an intelligent guy, was a very intelligent player, and is tuned into the modern game as a result of his media work.

The lack of fight on the day I blame on the players as much as management. It's obvious there's a lack of passion for the jersey among some of them. The heart that mayo show is admirable. They fight back from near impossible situations. A lot of our lads haven't got that and I don't know will they ever have it. But maybe that chat is best left now till early 2018!

Yesterday you saw why it's important to retain your kick outs(as per Mayo) and have a proper strategy once you're pressured(as per Kerry).

Mayo scored two points very quickly after winning a Kerry kickout. Not a single time did that happen on the other end.

Today you saw how Dublin zonal mark, 4 players sit in front of the 21. Man marking is pointless if the team has worked on kick outs as they'll just open space and beat the defender into it.
    Why every team doesn't zonal mark I'll never know.

Dublin also won every kick out to HT(I turned it off then), 99% of these kicks weren't anything spectacular or complex, get the ball placed quick and kick it to a player who's facing the goalie and looking for it.

Compare that to our players, our back six stand in their set positions and mark their attackers... nobody moves... our players run out the pitch with their BACKS to our goalie.

Since he hasn't copped onto this aspect yet, despite the three in a row chasing team having initiated it for years, along with our neighbors who are the second best(coincidence?... I think not) there isn't a hope in hell he'll change in year 4.

Look at the added benefit Dublin get from winning their kickouts with smart balls... they can play two more dynamic players in midfield and avoid picking a tall, technically poor players picked solely to compete.

As for Padraig Joyce.... after reading his article after the Roscommon game I wouldn't bother with him.
    Along with Ja Fallon, they both went on about how Galway needed to stop kicking it short and ''go long to midfield and let the midfielders compete".... any person with that view will get nowhere in todays game as as it's just too important.

If Dublin don't do it, and Mayo stopped doing it then why are there still people who watch games and think it's a viable tactic to let the likes of Dublin win 90% of theirs and 50% of yours?... in a game where possession is hard won and you're nearly getting a shot at goal with each attack.

Mind boggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭threeball

Yesterday you saw why it's important to retain your kick outs(as per Mayo) and have a proper strategy once you're pressured(as per Kerry).

Mayo scored two points very quickly after winning a Kerry kickout. Not a single time did that happen on the other end.

Today you saw how Dublin zonal mark, 4 players sit in front of the 21. Man marking is pointless if the team has worked on kick outs as they'll just open space and beat the defender into it.
    Why every team doesn't zonal mark I'll never know.

Dublin also won every kick out to HT(I turned it off then), 99% of these kicks weren't anything spectacular or complex, get the ball placed quick and kick it to a player who's facing the goalie and looking for it.

Compare that to our players, our back six stand in their set positions and mark their attackers... nobody moves... our players run out the pitch with their BACKS to our goalie.

Since he hasn't copped onto this aspect yet, despite the three in a row chasing team having initiated it for years, along with our neighbors who are the second best(coincidence?... I think not) there isn't a hope in hell he'll change in year 4.

Look at the added benefit Dublin get from winning their kickouts with smart balls... they can play two more dynamic players in midfield and avoid picking a tall, technically poor players picked solely to compete.

As for Padraig Joyce.... after reading his article after the Roscommon game I wouldn't bother with him.
    Along with Ja Fallon, they both went on about how Galway needed to stop kicking it short and ''go long to midfield and let the midfielders compete".... any person with that view will get nowhere in todays game as as it's just too important.

If Dublin don't do it, and Mayo stopped doing it then why are their still people who watch games and think it's a viable tactic to let the likes of Dublin win 90% of theirs and 50% of yours?... in a game where possession is hard won and you're nearly getting a shot at goal with each attack.

Mind boggling.

I'd agree on Joyce, don't rate him from the analysis I've seen him do on tv and radio. Great footballers don't automatically make good managers. In fact theres probably just as many lads who wouldn't have been good junior footballers that make good managers.
    Walsh needs a strong voice alongside him next year as he's tactically naive and ineffective on the line also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Passing through Galway Wed/Thursday anyone recommend a local paper to pick up with the best preview coverage of the Al Ire?
    Waterford News and Star have a 56 page supplement. Anything similar in Galway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Passing through Galway Wed/Thursday anyone recommend a local paper to pick up with the best preview coverage of the Al Ire?
    Waterford News and Star have a 56 page supplement. Anything similar in Galway?

Connacht tribune out Thursday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

I saw Bernie Forde's goal vs Limerick in 1980 all ireland recently. There is a guy standing behind the goals with a glass water bottle who actually thumbs his nose at the Limerick keeper after the ball goes in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Best of luck to the Tribesmen on Sunday,hope you can bring Liam west across the Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Tellyium

seligehgit wrote: »
    Best of luck to the Tribesmen on Sunday,hope you can bring Liam west across the Shannon.

Might be a bit corny, but I sometimes think wouldn't it be some sight to have Liam McCarty waiting for Sam when he crosses the Shannon if Galway and Mayo finally do it!!!!

Tellyium wrote: »
    Might be a bit corny, but I sometimes think wouldn't it be some sight to have Liam McCarty waiting for Sam when he crosses the Shannon if Galway and Mayo finally do it!!!!

That would depend if Sam was coming to Galway.

;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

So Johnny Glynn does indeed start

Big call in a way and no doubt it'll get a lot of criticism if it backfires, but it is win at all costs stuff from here and he has been training continuously the last while.

Can't help but feel he would have been a real impact from the bench though. I'm not sure Flynn and Burke could lift the team late on like glynn would if it's in the melting pot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

jr86 wrote: »

Big call in a way and no doubt it'll get a lot of criticism if it backfires, but it is win at all costs stuff from here and he has been training continuously the last while.

Can't help but feel he would have been a real impact from the bench though. I'm not sure Flynn and Burke could lift the team late on like glynn would if it's in the melting pot

Hard to know the thinking somewhat; maybe mgmt feel he offers something different than Mannion/Burke/Flynn/Cooney x 2 who are all very good but perhaps ever so slightly identikit. Maybe they think Glynn's power might boss the W'ford defence around a bit and unsettle it more. In fairness to big Jonny, he's not a more skillful player than all of the others above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Rian123

Anyone selling a nally ticket for Sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

jr86 wrote: »

God, that's a hard swallow for each of those players. Particularly, Burke.

O'D is clearly a big believer in Glynn. He has done everything to accommodate him. From an O'D-biased perspective, I hope it works for him as I think he is doing a fantastic job as a manager and holds himself as a person very well. A credit to Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'm still very nervous (I always am before big games) but I think management made a hugely beneficial call tonight. Niall Burke has had a good year but he'd be eaten alive by the Waterford sweeper system. Jason Flynn hasn't had a good showing in the championship and you can't risk a starting spot on him pulling up trees on the big day, hopefully he'll have a massive impact off the bench because on form he was in our top 3 players.

Glynn looked way fitter against Tipp and with his still of play he won't be fighting for too much dirty ball or doing a Cathal Mannion and ending up clearing ball from corner back. He'll be competing in the air and if ball comes into his hand in space he'll be responsible for goal-scoring opportunities.

Safe travels lads and here's hoping we might be all absolutely jarred in Salthill welcoming Liam to Salthill.