Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread - **MOD NOTE POST #1**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,546 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

We will be paying for him for a long time yet ;)

dont worry so are we , we have every sort of supporters clubs ect,,, paying the bills at the moment , the guy is a fraud yes he gets a scertin amount of results but so would i if i had the funds :pac:

that paddy joe ryan is a pretty good man to have in charge of things at the moment , it seems things went downhill in his absence as chairman

in clare if the players didnt vote davey out he would have got his retirement out of the job , his father is worse then your man frank murphy from cork

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

Hey lads dose ur guy spend a lot a time at the feeding trough.

I was watchin him tday with da banin hat on the tele and fcuk me he reminded me of Shrek.

Our man now mickey ryan is a pure torobred not a pick a mate on him, da same w1th cody and Donohue an Gilroy and all them biys. dey set an auld example like.

shur u only have to look at cheedar and Kelly, they'd be the same auld go as McGrath.

lads ye'll win fcuk all wih fells like that

Shur tis the same as mata harney lookin after the auld health.

fcuk me shur how wud any biy take that lad serios

Nice to see that we allow totally new foreign languages in to post here now.. Can someone translate this? Anybody ?

I was at the game today and thrilled to see such a good performance until the latter stages of the game. That result is perfectly acceptable to me having traveled and watched how our players got very tired having put in such a huge shift.

Derek McGrath must be lauded for having the mental strength to start some inexperienced payers in this fixture. He was rewarded for having this foresight with terrific performances from Stephen Roche, Keiran Bennett, Seamus Keating etc.

It was obvious to us at the game that DJ was taken off because of an injury sustained in the first half which gradually worsened [not so obvious to those of you at home], also that the brilliant Tommy Ryan and Stephen Roche were exhausted [not so obvious to you at home]. Seamus Keating and Mark O'Brien had given their all also.

Derek set out a brilliant game plan and nearly pulled it off. We should be so proud of him, his backroom staff and most of all, his wonderful group of players that he has moulded into the team that they are.

The Waterford observers that were there came out of the ground very happy indeed. We know that we have serious business ahead and that countdown is on now.

Just a footnote to the snipers who were knocking Barry Coughlan before and after his unfortunate injury... I asked them to name a better full back in the country during the week and some offered up the current Galway and KK full back, they might like to reassess their position after today's matches.................A few more realistic alternatives please, don't think so............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Nice to see that we allow totally new foreign languages in to post here now.. Can someone translate this? Anybody ?

The poster seems to be saying that Derek McGrath is over weight and this is the root of waterfords problems, because Brian Cody and Michael Ryan are slim.

He seems to be attempting to type an accent, maybe Waterford or South Tipp, not sure.

Hard to know if it's supposed to be funny or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

shur u only have to look at cheedar and Kelly, they'd be the same auld go as McGrath.

lads ye'll win fcuk all wih fells like that

dont know what langue he is speaking but this quote sums up this thread , ye are as mad as brushes on here to be fair , and derrick gets a fair raw deal , i dont like blanket defending hurling but to be fair he has done a pretty good job up to now , lets say this is his last year who do you bring in ?

Who do you bring in?
    This is the thing. When McGrath got the Waterford job he had the best cv of Waterford managers in Waterford (Back to back Croke cup and county title with DLS) yet some people here thought he should never have got the job. We can't afford to get an outside manager and i think it should go to a Waterford person anyways. Some will say Sean Power should get it but which senior club teams tried to get him in as their manager and if not why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Who do you bring in?
    This is the thing. When McGrath got the Waterford job he had the best cv of Waterford managers in Waterford (Back to back Croke cup and county title with DLS and now one NHL title) yet some people here thought he should never have got the job. We can't afford to get an outside manager and i think it should go to a Waterford person anyways. Some will say Sean Power should get it but which senior club teams tried to get him in as their manager and if not why not?
    When McGrath leaves at the end of the season (as he has hinted he will) the next managerial appointment is crucial as that will be the guy expected to take us to the promised land. I cannot see us getting over the line this year as I think the gameplan we deploy is too conservative and not enough to take it to the likes of Tipp and KK.
    Sean Power to his credit has overseen the minor and u21 win of the past 3 years but that shouldn't necessarily mean he's the man for the seniors. He has the u21s again this year which is not as strong as the minor & u21 winning groups he had (the strongest group ever to come out of the county). If he can do a good job with them he'll do his credentials no harm but he is neither a coach nor a manager. Good at unifying lads and getting guys to pull together but a long way off senior management. His backroom staff especially Paul Flynn had a lot to do with the expansive open hurling we saw for the u21s last year. If you remember the minor success 3 years ago we almost did everything in our power not to win it. Why he hasn't taken on club jobs I don't know but maybe he wants to stay involved in the county setup while hes on a roll and eventually putting him in line for a role with the seniors.
    Definetly he has something to offer but would need a very strong coach and backroom team with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Iggy didn't cover himself in glory for the 2nd penalty i think it was. Tried to play the ball down with the hurley instead of catching it. Not good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Why he hasn't taken on club jobs I don't know but maybe he wants to stay involved in the county setup while hes on a roll and eventually putting him in line for a role with the seniors.
    Definetly he has something to offer but would need a very strong coach and backroom team with him.

Because of inter club riviilarly in waterford pretty much insures there will never be a mt sion manager of the county team

People talk of east/west divide.... Theres a pretty intence and serious rivilary between club teams in the towm that is proper and in many cases bitter

Because of inter club riviilarly in waterford pretty much insures there will never be a mt sion manager of the county team

People talk of east/west divide.... Theres a pretty intence and serious rivilary between club teams in the towm that is proper and in many cases bitter
    Rubbish if ever I heard it. If someone is good enough they'll be put forward. And I don't mean Jim Greene, who most of the players in his own club didn't even take serious when he was managing them. Derek McGrath was nominated by a select panel including Stephen Frampton, a ballygunner man. Supposedly DLS most bitter rivals.....
    The small minded people caught up in the bitter rivalry you refer to are too busy on boards.ie having a go at Derek McGrath's appearance under pseudonym's, so I wouldn't worry about them having any significance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Rubbish if ever I heard it. If someone is good enough they'll be put forward. And I don't mean Jim Greene, who most of the players in his own club didn't even take serious when he was managing them. Derek McGrath was nominated by a select panel including Stephen Frampton, a ballygunner man. Supposedly DLS most bitter rivals.....
    The small minded people caught up in the bitter rivalry you refer to are too busy on boards.ie having a go at Derek McGrath's appearance under pseudonym's, so I wouldn't worry about them having any significance

Hmm....I think il take the word from people I've been working with in waterford city since I left school from a variety of clubs

Even take passage for instance,while they and ballygunner have a strong rivilarly....but they hate mt sion

While it may be subsiding with demise of my sion....the older generation (35+) deffo have an irrational dislike and very well defined rivalries around clubs

I brought lads from Cork to few club games over the years....sion v ballygunner and sion v DLS.....they couldn't get over the intensity/fierceness of the tackles flying in and the way it always seemed to be on the brink of boiling over......but you dismiss my personal experience and people I know IRL as rubbish all you wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

I brought lads from Cork to few club games over the years....sion v ballygunner and sion v DLS.....they couldn't get over the intensity/fierceness of the tackles flying in and the way it always seemed to be on the brink of boiling over......but you dismiss my personal experience and people I know IRL as rubbish all you wish

Most Cork hurling people would bemoan the fact that there isn't that level of intensity in the Cork championship.

Having gone to a few Cork club games the past few years I'd say that is more a damning indictment of where Cork club hurling is rather than the Waterford club game is much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

Getting back to talking hurling - delighted with the majority of performance yesterday while being disappointed with the result. Thought team selection was fair enough and that the majority of lads who were tried out deserved a shot. Have been impressed with Seamus Keating anytime i have seen him this year and thought he was very good yesterday for much of the game. Have been a big fan of Foran for a long time and was glad to see him played in his real position of Wing Forward - hope he was really replaced because of an injury as he is a confidence player and too often gets taken off as soon as things go quite for him, we need to build his confidence as if we do this lad can really do a job for us. Delighted also for Tommy Ryan, very direct and gusty, got cleaned out early in game when bearing down on goal but came back for more - showed good first touch and very direct - seems to have added a bit of strength to his game - Midget was also very busy and very good at time but took one horrible option which could have been a point for us and ended up in a point for Galway - think in fairness tiredness played a part in that and could not fault him overall- Devine showed what he can do when we isolate him one on one with full back, but this will not happen so easily in Championship.

Kieran Bennett had a tough introduction to intercounty but did alright in the circumstance, again a bit worried about his striking but in fairness not a bad inter-county debut.

All in all a lot of positives but still a bit worried about some decisions - some of our marking at the back was very loose and those most guilty of it were left on board. Cannot help wondering also if this is going to be another one of those "one offs" and then revert to form. Same applied to one individual in the forward line who seemed to totally disappear for the majority of the game but was still left on the field up to full -time.

Final word on game - Stephen Bennett - sheer class and getting more game time for this lad and improving fitness is a must - but we need to keep him closer to goal - a real predator with a superb brain and technique, no fear of taking on goal opportunities and is a real threat - we have a few weeks now to get some of our absentees back to full fitness and get some challenge games in for those lads who put their hands up yesterday - time for no more excuses we have a panel now who are capable of going tot to toe so lets get at it and give Tipp or Cork (never write those lads off) a real lash in the Munster-Semi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

A lot of positives to take from yesterday's match in the performance of the players given their chance, they definitely gave management some food for thought. It did show us that we have a competitive panel and I only wish these lads had gotten a second run out in a league semi-final.

Blowing a lead like 10 points with 15 minutes to go is unacceptable, no matter what wind there was. McGrath brought in experienced players to close out the game which is common sense so no issue there but how they lost that lead has to be looked at. Did the team drop too deep? Was it tiredness as some of the lads wouldn't be used to this level of intensity? Should the long puckout strategy been changed when it wasn't working? Whatever it was, there is a trend of us not holding on to leads when coming down the home straight and it is a worry. We need to develop this ability and close out games better.

It is clear the league wasn't a priority this year so supporters should be happy 1A status was retained and plenty of players were blooded and given some opportunity even if a new system wasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

It's a pity we now have no more competitive games before championship. It was great to see Tommy Ryan and co. do it yesterday. On the basis of that one game he's done more to deserve a start than the corner forward I'm assuming will start the championship. If only we'd scraped through and got to see if that team could put in two good performances in a row. We'd have some panel to pick from then but I can't see too many changes from the usual come the Munster semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

I was at the game today and thrilled to see such a good performance until the latter stages of the game. That result is perfectly acceptable to me having traveled and watched how our players got very tired having put in such a huge shift.

Derek McGrath must be lauded for having the mental strength to start some inexperienced payers in this fixture. He was rewarded for having this foresight with terrific performances from Stephen Roche, Keiran Bennett, Seamus Keating etc.

It was obvious to us at the game that DJ was taken off because of an injury sustained in the first half which gradually worsened [not so obvious to those of you at home], also that the brilliant Tommy Ryan and Stephen Roche were exhausted [not so obvious to you at home]. Seamus Keating and Mark O'Brien had given their all also.

Derek set out a brilliant game plan and nearly pulled it off. We should be so proud of him, his backroom staff and most of all, his wonderful group of players that he has moulded into the team that they are.

The Waterford observers that were there came out of the ground very happy indeed. We know that we have serious business ahead and that countdown is on now.

Just a footnote to the snipers who were knocking Barry Coughlan before and after his unfortunate injury... I asked them to name a better full back in the country during the week and some offered up the current Galway and KK full back, they might like to reassess their position after today's matches.................A few more realistic alternatives please, don't think so............

God I love nothing more than a good laugh on a Monday morning to get the day off to a flier😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭enoughtaken

cul beag wrote: »

God I love nothing more than a good laugh on a Monday morning to get the day off to a flier😂😂

Nice too hear your easily amused. By the way were you at the match.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

I'll give it a go if you like...

Hey there acquaintances, does your manager spend a lot of time eating excessive amounts of food?

I was a casual observer of todays game on TV and spotted him wearing a beanie hat and he reminded me of the overweight cartoon character Shrek.

Our manager, Tipperarys Michael Ryan, is an extremely fit man and is quite lean. The Kilkenny manager Brian Cody is quite similar, also Galway manager Micheál Donoghue and former Dublin football manager Pat Gilroy are also quite fit and many more like them. They set an example with their physique.

Why, one would only have to see the physique of former Laois manager Seamus "Cheddar" Plunkett and curretn Laois manager Eamonn Kelly, they would be quite similar in stature as Waterfords Derek McGrath

Lads, I feel you will not win much with managers like that.

In a somewhat similar scenario, it is quite like former Tániste Mary Harney who was appointed as Health Minister within the standing government.

Have sex with me, how could you take a man like that seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cascade12

cul beag wrote: »

Nice to see that you can laugh at yourself. To be honest any serious poster on here is laughing at you as well. Now you can get back to your anonymous sniping at the manager and Dan. Because it seems that is all you contribute here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

Any word on a replacement for Phillip Murphy or have any new players been drafted in for Shane Roche and Gavin O'Brien?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

cascade12 wrote: »
    Nice to see that you can laugh at yourself. To be honest any serious poster on here is laughing at you as well. Now you can get back to your anonymous sniping at the manager and Dan. Because it seems that is all you contribute here.

Thanks for your expert advice I will definitely take it on board!!!

It's a pity we now have no more competitive games before championship. It was great to see Tommy Ryan and co. do it yesterday. On the basis of that one game he's done more to deserve a start than the corner forward I'm assuming will start the championship. If only we'd scraped through and got to see if that team could put in two good performances in a row. We'd have some panel to pick from then but I can't see too many changes from the usual come the Munster semi final.
    Shur its the best thing ever getting beaten in that league game, the result we wanted. the league is only a load of crap, we were the only fools taking it seriously, lets all laugh at Tipp, Wexford, Limerick and Galway for still being left in it,
    Seriusly if you read some of the deluded fools on here Saturday saying it was the best thing to pick a weakened team as the league didn't matter yet giving out here on Sunday that we thre away a 10 point lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

The Waterford Minor Hurling Team to face Clare on Wednesday night in Cusack Park, Ennis at 6:15pm.

1. Eoghan Browne (Mount Sion)
    2. Conor Giles-Doran (De La Salle)
    3. James Flavin (Ardmore)
    4. Tadhg Foley (Ballygunner)
    5. Mairtín Power (Clonea)
    6. Luke O'Brien (Mount Sion)
    7. Sean Whelan-Barrett (Abbeyside)
    8. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore)
    9. Ian Beecher (Tallow)
    10. Ciarán Power (Clonea)
    11. Sean Carton (De La Salle)
    12. Tom Barron (Fourmilewater)
    13. Tom Looby (Abbeyside)
    14. Sean Crotty (Dungarvan)
    15. Billy Power (Clonea)

This has come around fairly quick, tough opening game in Ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

To quote my dad in relation to the team above... " They don't call it Clonea - Power for nothing ". Are those three lads related?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Horseboxhead

Anyone on here give some backround info on this current minor team, who have they played, who is over them?, how they compare to last year, this has been very quite, i see i think three names from last year, so what is to be expected of this side, hopefully greatness.

Deskjockey wrote: »
    To quote my dad in relation to the team above... " They don't call it Clonea - Power for nothing ". Are those three lads related?
    Martin and Ciaran are brothers, Billy no relation. All good lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

There has been a lot of debate on here about the importance of the league, with that in mind I have looked at the results of the league for the last 14 years to see what bearing a league win or appearance in the final had on that year's Championship.
    I looked at 2002 to 2016.
    On six occasions neither  team that appeared in the league final contested the all Ireland final. 04,05, 08,13,15,16.
    On six occasions Kilkenny won both League and the All Ireland.
    Twice Kilkenny won the All-Ireland final without having been in the league final.

Three times Kilkenny got to the all Ireland final without having been in the league final Outside of Kilkenny on five other occasions a team has won the All-Ireland without having been in the league final Cork 04,05. Tipp 10,16 and Clare 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Munster under 17 football championship qf
    Cork 6-24- Waterford 0-01

Feel sorry for the players and management having to go through a massacre like that, I wonder how many training sessions they had ???

Embarrassing

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

PTH2009 wrote:
    Munster under 17 football championship qf Cork 6-24- Waterford 0-01

Serves no purpose to either team playing this match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Serves no purpose to either team playing this match

Straight knockout competition

The minor hurlers in action weds vs Clare

Minor footballers take on Limerick on the 12th April

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Martin and Ciaran are brothers, Billy no relation. All good lads.
    Billy Power is quite a prospect, anyone know if Tomas Douglas is still minor this year?
    This minor group in general comes with very little pedigree. Cork and Clare contested the Tony Forristal four years ago and Tipp will be very strong if you look at their strength on the Harty Cup. We'll be up against it but good luck to them