Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Need a goal.

Ah bollox :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Slattsy wrote: »
    Need a goal.

Need a few goals now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Need a new Manager, a few decent forwards and a keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Arrogant? Ahem. I'm not the one making grandiose predictions about my county.

By their own standards, our forwards were largely piss poor today. But they still got the job done. Saying that Monaghans defence is good enough to hold them back, when they haven't been able to hold back the forwards of other counties, is being a tad unrealistic. It will remain so, until they start getting the job done consistantly, against the top teams.

I don't understand why you would take exception to his original post so much. It didn't seem to me that he was saying a full strength Monaghan defence would hold off the Dublin attack all the time - rather that if Monaghan had their full defence against Dublin's attack today that they would have held on. I'd say a Monaghan fan would be well entitled to think that if they like as Dublin by your own admission weren't great in attack today, seeing as Walshe(an all star defender) went off injured early and Hughes(who does alot of work in defence too) got a black card.

It certainly didn't warrant your condescending reply anyway. Monaghan aren't at the same level as Dublin, but I don't blame fans for being optimistic about their team ahead of the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,565 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

CatInABox wrote: »
    Ah, that was the most entertaining game I've seen all year, and Monaghan ran us pretty close by playing good football, not just this pure defence stuff that even Kerry are doing these days, so Monaghan get a lot of credit from me.

Thought that we deserved the win, but to slag off Monaghan supporters for thinking good of their team isn't really fair, at least in my opinion.

You did deserve it. I think Monaghan didnt bend the knee and played encouraging football. Despite what 'others' here think :) you got a game today. That will do me.
    A bit of luck it could have been different. Malachy and the boy's won't be a bit disappointed. Gonna be fascinating championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭JRant

1B it is so, going to be a tough slog to get back up.

IMO it's going to be a short summer for the panel. Still well short of decent attacking play and our old habit of leaking goals at the worst times popped up again today.

Ah well, we'll have a new man at the helm (hopefully) for next years campaign and a few good players blooded this year so all is not lost.

Genuinely gutted for the lads today. Whatever else you can say about them they don't lack desire, just a bit of quality missing from our play.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

JRant wrote: »
    1B it is so, going to be a tough slog to get back up.

IMO it's going to be a short summer for the panel. Still well short of decent attacking play and our old habit of leaking goals at the worst times popped up again today.

Ah well, we'll have a new man at the helm (hopefully) for next years campaign and a few good players blooded this year so all is not lost.

Genuinely gutted for the lads today. Whatever else you can say about them they don't lack desire, just a bit of quality missing from our play.

Limerick have never made it out of 1B. The rot will need to be stopped sharpish in 2018

Would any other division 1 county have a) Appointed Cunningham
    and b) left him in place when it was obvious that he was out of his depth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Thought they might have made a better show today with the Cuala lads back. Dooley has some strengths as a goalkeeper but is prone to disastrous errors. Backs have often played themselves into trouble as well.

Not that worried about 1B. They won't be relegated and will reach the play offs Be a mixture of tough games against Galway and Limerick and a few handy ones against the rest. Wexicans seem to be getting their act together so need to ensure that that they put up some sort of show in Leinster this year against Galway.

I assume GC will be finished - and he deserves praise for some things - so a lot of thought will have to go into picking his successor.

Bambi wrote: »
    Limerick have never made it out of 1B. The rot will need to be stopped sharpish in 2018

Would any other division 1 county have a) Appointed Cunningham
    and b) left him in place when it was obvious that he was out of his depth?

Well there's Galway and Limerick to contend with for a start. It's going to be a right battle to get back up sooner rather than later.

I've no idea about (a) but for (b) I'd say no (well Davy Fitz at Clare being the exception rather than the rule).

I'd love to see Kenny get a crack with this panel. Who knows, he may even get King Con to tog out for us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭munster87

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Arrogant? Ahem. I'm not the one making grandiose predictions about my county.

By their own standards, our forwards were largely piss poor today. But they still got the job done. Saying that Monaghans defence is good enough to hold them back, when they haven't been able to hold back the forwards of other counties, is being a tad unrealistic. It will remain so, until they start getting the job done consistantly, against the top teams.

Monaghan did very well today. A great league campaign considering relegation was spoken about at the start. The fans should be very optimistic and like every other county should dare to dream. So don't listen to shîte like this. Also I thought Drew Wylie was immense at times today!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Thought they might have made a better show today with the Cuala lads back. Dooley has some strengths as a goalkeeper but is prone to disastrous errors. Backs have often played themselves into trouble as well.

Not that worried about 1B. They won't be relegated and will reach the play offs Be a mixture of tough games against Galway and Limerick and a few handy ones against the rest. Wexicans seem to be getting their act together so need to ensure that that they put up some sort of show in Leinster this year against Galway.

I assume GC will be finished - and he deserves praise for some things - so a lot of thought will have to go into picking his successor.

Realistically it was always going to be a struggle to get the Cuala lads back firing having been with their club until relatively recently.

I wouldn't mind but we look like a decent team when we went more direct but the curse of the short hand pass kept cropping up again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

You did deserve it. I think Monaghan didnt bend the knee and played encouraging football. Despite what 'others' here think you got a game today. That will do me. A bit of luck it could have been different. Malachy and the boy's won't be a bit disappointed. Gonna be fascinating championship.

It was a good game for both teams. Great welcome in Monaghan, had good crack with a Monaghan lad who kept roaring at McCaffery that he was a Scotstown man, until he scored the winning goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Monaghon game looked great. Just caught the last 10 mins on TG4. Sick I had to miss that one. Clones looked great today. Fair play to both teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Enjoyed the day out in Clones.

The locals got their hopes up for a while and gave us a bit of a game with some big help from the referee, linesmen and umpires. Rock was very upset at a free being given wide when it looked over from where we were sitting - the Dubs behind the goal were incensed and mocked the umpires for the rest of the game.

For the Monaghan goal, a blatant foul on the touchline right in front of us and the linesman wasn't given leading to the open space for Monaghan to score.

Dublin remained calm and controlled all the way through and it never felt like there wasn't enough time to pull it back.

blanch152 wrote:
    For the Monaghan goal, a blatant foul on the touchline right in front of us and the linesman wasn't given leading to the open space for Monaghan to score.
    Thought Kevin Mc struggled today. Monaghan scored form his error too.

Brogan brought something different to the mix and there was a sniff of goal once he came on.
    Both fullbacks had good games I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,962 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

munster87 wrote: »
    Monaghan did very well today. A great league campaign considering relegation was spoken about at the start. The fans should be very optimistic and like every other county should dare to dream. So don't listen to shîte like this. Also I thought Drew Wylie was immense at times today!

The number 7 for Monaghan Karl O'Connell had a bit about him as well.
    I enjoyed the game some great scores from both sides.
    I will be keeping a close eye on Monaghan in the championship.
    Themselves and Donegal seem to have overtaken the likes of Tyrone and Roscommon as the teams to watch as a neutral.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

That was as good a result as we've had in a long time, with a very patchy performance. I'd admit that I'm a glass half empty type when the pressure comes on us - but I honestly thought the game was up 6 down.

Monaghan have come a long way since they were "just glad to be here" in 2014, they've definitely adopted a more positive approach in their football and also the supporters expectations.

There were a good few lads that stood up to be counted today ... but I gotta say that Mick Fitz pocketed McManus from the off - oh and I pulled the trigger too early on McHugh as a starter, he was bullied today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

blanch152 wrote: »
    Enjoyed the day out in Clones.

The locals got their hopes up for a while and gave us a bit of a game with some big help from the referee, linesmen and umpires. Rock was very upset at a free being given wide when it looked over from where we were sitting - the Dubs behind the goal were incensed and mocked the umpires for the rest of the game.

Dublin remained calm and controlled all the way through and it never felt like there wasn't enough time to pull it back.

Just trying to be fair to Monaghan here - the free you're talking about looked wide on TG4 coverage and they showed a couple of replays. Dublin's first point of the game looked a definite wide. Either way, they weren't reliable umpires. Joe wasn't great but I don't think he was one-sided.

Thought Monaghan put up a great fight but we showed our resolve again. The goal to win it was a beauty.

Cracking goal alright and it was written all over the move when it started. Classic Dublin.
    You are right about ref, he was what infuriates about GAA - inconsistent and the Dubs in front of us agreed totally too.

We lost Walshe and Hughes and it was only a matter of time really, once they began to tire at the back Dublin ran riot.
    Still, I think that game did more for Monaghan than Dublin.
    Great atmosphere today, youse should get out more often!

Well I won't get stung for a score for a raffle ticket again anyway !!!

Stoner wrote: »
    Well I won't get stung for a score for a raffle ticket again anyway !!!

A soft touch you Dubs! What was it for?

JRant wrote: »
    Realistically it was always going to be a struggle to get the Cuala lads back firing having been with their club until relatively recently.

I wouldn't mind but we look like a decent team when we went more direct but the curse of the short hand pass kept cropping up again and again.

Dooley's main virtue is as a powerful hitter of puck outs. He gets some distance on him and likely current forward line up has some good ball winners up front. His definite weakness is around the goal under pressure and the short pucks are merely contributing to that in spades! Makes no fkn sense. No other team does it to extreme Dublin do from time to time, other than Waterford who reverted to it today and got creamed after leading by 10!

Gaeil Triucha Clg development fund.

For the kids too apparently.

Just trying to be fair to Monaghan here - the free you're talking about looked wide on TG4 coverage and they showed a couple of replays. Dublin's first point of the game looked a definite wide. Either way, they weren't reliable umpires. Joe wasn't great but I don't think he was one-sided.

Dublin were given one point that was a definite wide and denied another that was over!

Said it before and will no doubt say it again. Umpires need to be properly trained and selected. Some of them wouldn't spot a fkn elephant on snow.

Stoner wrote: »
    Gaeil Triucha Clg development fund.

For the kids too apparently.

Truagh Gaels, I'll get a dig at them tomorrow. :) Meanwhile learn the 'I got one earlier' walk past!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

DoctaDee wrote: »
    That was as good a result as we've had in a long time, with a very patchy performance. I'd admit that I'm a glass half empty type when the pressure comes on us - but I honestly thought the game was up 6 down.

Monaghan have come a long way since they were "just glad to be here" in 2014, they've definitely adopted a more positive approach in their football and also the supporters expectations.

There were a good few lads that stood up to be counted today ... but I gotta say that Mick Fitz pocketed McManus from the off - oh and I pulled the trigger too early on McHugh as a starter, he was bullied today :(

That was exactly the game McHugh needed. Better he got that today than against Tyrone in a quarter-final. Hopefully he learns from it.

Truagh Gaels, I'll get a dig at them tomorrow. Meanwhile learn the 'I got one earlier' walk past!

I never expect to win these things. I always suspect that they only go to the locals.

So I only gave my name and phone number.

I'll keep you posted !!

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Dooley's main virtue is as a powerful hitter of puck outs. He gets some distance on him and likely current forward line up has some good ball winners up front. His definite weakness is around the goal under pressure and the short pucks are merely contributing to that in spades! Makes no fkn sense. No other team does it to extreme Dublin do from time to time, other than Waterford who reverted to it today and got creamed after leading by 10!

Exactly right, we have Trollier who is a savage in the air and others around him well capable of competing. When we go direct we look good.

I can't understand the almost dogmatic obsession with the short puck outs, even when it's blatantly obvious it's not on. It also makes us a very easy team to defend against. Teams can push right up on us safe in the knowledge that we'll struggle to get in behind them.