Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

My bad. Same difference really. Will make for an exciting last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭yobr

blackcard wrote: »
    I don't have anything against Dublin.

Nobody ever believes that.
    blackcard wrote: »
    They have to be given enormous credit for the strides they have made in hurling in the last 10 years. And indeed in football. What gets me is some of their supporters thinking they are operating off a level playing field as a Mickey mouse county such as Roscommon. When you have 10 times the population, you are bound to have an advantage

If population delivers this advantage, then can you explain why Dublin didn't win an All Ireland between 1996 and 2011? And Kerry who have a vastly smaller population won 5 during the same period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Hurling confirmed for 4pm throw on Sunday in Ennis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

How many of the Cuala lads can be expected to come into the team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Here's where ye can ridicule me this time next week:

Dublin lose on Sunday, and they are out of the League, more than likely they don't make the final.

And I can see that happening, in Clones. Not likely, but on the day its a real possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Joekers wrote: »
    Hurling confirmed for 4pm throw on Sunday in Ennis.

WTF is it with us and coin tosses?

be a double header too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,340 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Bambi wrote: »
    WTF is it with us and coin tosses?

be a double header too

By some sort of strange coincidence all the coin tosses for the QF's and the relegation match were 'won' by teams with a home football game, thus setting up 'attractive' double headers. Strange that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Here's where ye can ridicule me this time next week:

Dublin lose on Sunday, and they are out of the League, more than likely they don't make the final.

And I can see that happening, in Clones. Not likely, but on the day its a real possibility.

What if Donegal lose and Tyrone drop points.

Then it's Dublin v Monaghan in the final isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Dublinfan

Does anyone know what the story with Mick Deegan is has he stepped down as the assistant manager there been no announcement but it seems Jason Sherlock has taken over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Have to chose between Ennis and Clones now.

The poxy GAA have put both Dublin's hurling and football games on the same day.

That is GAA foresight and planning for ya!:mad:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Have to chose between Ennis and Clones now.

The poxy GAA have put both Dublin's hurling and football games on the same day.

That is GAA foresight and planning for ya!:mad:

But they've made Clare's games a double header. So it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Would have been nice to be playing in Parnell but I still think we'll hold our own against the banner.

I've been very critical of GC up to now but have to admit that there's a few young lads coming through and they seem to be thriving under him, full credit where it's due.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Was thinking about the Championship squad and where the footballers are now at the end of the League. It probably looks like this:

Goalkeepers: Cluxton, Comerford

Defenders: Cooper, Fitzsimons, McMahon, McCarthy, O'Sullivan, McCaffrey, Lowdnes, Davy Byrne, Daly, Small

Midfielders: McCauley, Fenton, Reddin, Bastick (if back), Carthy

Forwards: Flynn, Kilkenny, Connolly, Rock, O'Gara, Brogan, Mannion, McMenamin, Scully, Costello, Andrews, McHugh

That is 29, not counting the likes of Basquel, the other Shane Carthy, O'Congaile, not to mention Whelan, Mullaly, Boland, Hudson and the other O'Gara who impressed in the O'Byrne Cup.

There must be some mad training sessions.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,799 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

blanch152 wrote: »

Yeah, someone said that the Roscommon match was closer to a training game for the Dubs, and I thought to myself that the Dublin training matches would be a hell of a lot fiercer.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Was thinking about the Championship squad and where the footballers are now at the end of the League. It probably looks like this:

Goalkeepers: Cluxton, Comerford

Defenders: Cooper, Fitzsimons, McMahon, McCarthy, O'Sullivan, McCaffrey, Lowdnes, Davy Byrne, Daly, Small

Midfielders: McCauley, Fenton, Reddin, Bastick (if back), Carthy

Forwards: Flynn, Kilkenny, Connolly, Rock, O'Gara, Brogan, Mannion, McMenamin, Scully, Costello, Andrews, McHugh

That is 29, not counting the likes of Basquel, the other Shane Carthy, O'Congaile, not to mention Whelan, Mullaly, Boland, Hudson and the other O'Gara who impressed in the O'Byrne Cup.

You could probably field a second team from that lot who would hold their own in league and Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Careful now lads, all this talk of 2 teams...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Just a few general observations from last Saturday

James Mc 's continued absence is slightly worrying

Reddin was having a fine game in midfield an extra 10-15 mins on the field would've done him a world of good

Kev Mc saved his night with the goal, was particularly poor and should've been hauled ashore

McHugh is a dark horse for a starting berth, this looks like his breakthrough year

We looked vulnerable all night against direct running, was really surprised how easily the ball was fed off the inside shoulder. The scoreboard apart we shipped more to Ros than anyone else this season and they created more goal scoring chances than I've seen in the last few years.

There's a glow off Flynner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Yes I agree with the McCarthy concern
    Not so much about Reddin not that he wasn't good, he kicked a fantastic point but physically the Roscommon lads came up short and it was not difficult to look good against them. One game in the middle against a side way off their best wouldn't swing it for me. But at least he took a shot

Is he the new Brady BTW he might get that spot on the panel.

Connelly limped off too.

Not sure about McHughs work rate, could you have him and brogan starting ? You'd certainly miss what Andrews brings. He has a eye for goal, or creating them bringing that to the team would be great.

Byrne is also a concern, didn't finish off the championship well last year and had looked stuck for pace this year. I think he'll lose out in the back three but these days 5 lads are needed across the back to get through championship games.

I'm glad Daly is getting some time.

It was a good (yet handy) return for Brogan

Flynn looking sharp is great news.

Ah no I wasn't making a case for Reddin starting - as you say there was a physical imbalance around the middle of the field - I just felt that another 10-15 mins would've been great for his confidence

Point taken on both McHugh and Brogan starting with the workrate required - I'd see them as interchangeable

Gavin wasn't long about hooking Byrne off, he's had far better days and like a lot of the younger lads before him (Kilkenny, Mannion etc) waned a little bit towards the backend of the season

I've always liked Daly has no pretensions to be a sawshbuckler, I'd also give due credit to Lowndes too - he seems far more comfortable and has a better appreciation of his role

DoctaDee wrote: »

We looked vulnerable all night against direct running, was really surprised how easily the ball was fed off the inside shoulder. The scoreboard apart we shipped more to Ros than anyone else this season and they created more goal scoring chances than I've seen in the last few years.

Dublin have looked vulnerable to direct running for a lot of the league, you have to wonder if the rossies took their goal chances how they might have fared. If roscommon were getting through who else will?

Yeah that would be my concern too Bambi - there were a couple of instances on Saturday which were down to poor decision making. Their 1st goal chance (I think it was Smith) running at Cluxton from the endline was a direct result of McMahon? leaving the ball carrier to cover the support runner allowing him a free run at goal and as I said there were countless examples of the ball being laid off to the inside runner - I'd cut some leeway in the fact that it was a very open game and defensive screens weren't the order of the day, but there was enough examples of poor defending to show the likes of Tyrone & Donegal that there's cause for optimism in their running type game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

In fairness to Roscommon they had lots of goal chances against Mayo and Kerry also. It was a pattern of their play throughout this league that they got into the box on plenty of occasions but failed to capitalise.
    A bit of the O'Gara's about them!

Donal55 wrote:
    A bit of the O'Gara's about them!

That's unfair!!!!
    Remember Tyrone 2010!!!
    He'll show us all some day, mark my words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

Stoner wrote: »
    That's unfair!!!!
    Remember Tyrone 2010!!!
    He'll show us all some day, mark my words.

I hope it's soon, like next Sunday soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Just a few general observations from last Saturday

James Mc 's continued absence is slightly worrying

Reddin was having a fine game in midfield an extra 10-15 mins on the field would've done him a world of good

Kev Mc saved his night with the goal, was particularly poor and should've been hauled ashore

McHugh is a dark horse for a starting berth, this looks like his breakthrough year

Yeah KeV Mc looks very flat to me. His goal characterised everything that's good about him (aggressively running at defenders) but all too often he's getting caught up with this patient approach Dublin are employing now. Doesn't suit him or Andrews at all.

I'm praying McHugh, Con O'C, Costello etc snatch a place or two this year. The age profile of our established forwards needs to be addressed imo. Gavin is a great man for that sort of thing so fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I think a lot of teams are too preoccupied with trying to contain Dublin and stopping them from scoring. This is nearly always done to the detriment of driving at the Dublin defence and putting them under pressure.

Anybody know what the story is with Jonny Cooper? Unless I've missed something, I haven't seen him so far this year?

PressRun wrote:
    Anybody know what the story is with Jonny Cooper? Unless I've missed something, I haven't seen him so far this year?

Nothing up that I heard. He's just giving lads different return times

What if Donegal lose and Tyrone drop points.

Then it's Dublin v Monaghan in the final isn't it.

If Monaghan win, they are in the final regardless. If they lose they would need Tyrone to lose and for Donegal to lose by large margin.

Good win in the under 21s good bunch of lads

Very easy. Took foot off peddle. Could have scored another 2/3 goals.