Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭Justin10

Not a snowballs chance Bernard or anyone else for that matter, be putting their hand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Same here CIAB - I remember the 1st flourishes of romance in 2001 scoring a couple of tickets to the AISF for them v da Kingdom - I didn't know whether to laugh or cry, but it wasn't hard to be a neutral that day. At Dublin/Meath games she used to shake my hand at the start then utter the immortal " dont effin talk to me for the next 70 minutes"... I honestly miss the hostility .. luckily enough she gives it to me in spades at home :D

At least 2001 wet the way of the Royals and then Galway. I don't think I could have dealt with a Kerry win.

2009 was an absolute ballache of a SF pairing. Horrible.

Infinitely worse given that Cork would win the other one. *shudder*

I remember being in Croker the day they got relegated to Div3 my cockles hadn't been as warm in a long time. That being said I do "kinda" miss them. But thankfully the ire that has been reserved for them over the years is well and truly placed upon that shower from the South-West. Today's retirement has me avoiding all news in case I manage to see his head.

Roll on Sunday now! I missed the whole of last weekend because I was in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

:D .. Good man Bonnie .. I can feel the force is strong in you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,042 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

If you had a heart you might say that the free Bernard got against the Lillie's in 2011 Semi was a terrible call - but that's hindsight and on the back of 4 All Irelands, at the time and with the cupboard bare no one was putting their hand up

It was great referring and application of the rules therein.

McStay's logic is great don't give the free because it is a tight game and will be the winning score. 'If you know the game" :confused:

In my view it is either a free or it is not.
    It is because of the like of McStay that the refs are not decisive enough on the blackcards these days.

They want to have it every way-
    common sense, strict adherence to the rules, advantage, and giving teams another day out for the craic because they deserve it! :eek:

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

:D .. Good man Bonnie .. I can feel the force is strong in you

5 days til my bile comes to the surface.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Just gonna throw this out here -

Why does this thread refer to a mod warning on post 2944 in the title, IN BLOCK CAPITALS to make seem like bad stuff is happening; when we are now on post 9337.....

Could you even find that if you wanted to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

McStay's logic is great don't give the free because it is a tight game and will be the winning score. 'If you know the game" :confused:

Could it just be that McStay is moany spoofer who hates to see Dublin winning?

I must say his current travails gladden me greatly. Though I would have thought the rossies would take to him, he bleats like a sheep for a start

Tombo2001 wrote: »

Why does this thread refer to a mod warning on post 2944 in the title, IN BLOCK CAPITALS to make seem like bad stuff is happening; when we are now on post 9337.....

Page 197
    Same as in the match thread, keep it civil and within the forum charter - report any obvious trolls or posts you feel are outside the forum charter, do not engage with them

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96816665&postcount=2944

It was on AISF Day 30/08/2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,042 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Tombo2001 wrote: »

Yeah, is a bit silly there.
    It should be moved to the start of the thread

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

So where is Johnny Cooper gone? Think he was last seen v Tyrone. Don't know how true it is but rumour has it he was dropped after a row with management. If he was injured I'm sure we'd have heard something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Bambi wrote: »
    Could it just be that McStay is moany spoofer who hates to see Dublin winning?

I must say his current travails gladden me greatly. Though I would have thought the rossies would take to him, he bleats like a sheep for a start

If that comment makes McStay a moaner spoofer, Id hate to imagine what the rest of your comment says about yourself...

McStay's biggest problem is he is too honest in interviews. He calls it how he sees it to a fault and has a complete lack of ego, but also street smarts. He could go the Plamaus O'Se route of self-preservation and sugar coat things to keep himself a bit more popular, but he doesn't, and that should be respected, even if you don't agree with him. As for hating Dublin, I don't believe he does, but listen, when you have that many advantages and are going so well, people are going to have an issue with that. It is human nature, and if the roles were reversed Im sure any Dub worth their salt wouldn't take it lying down either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

McStay is not the worst, but he is clearly under a lot of pressure. Huge expectations on Rossies that they don't have the capability of fulfilling, and they react very badly to setbacks it would seem.

Galway are only team that might beat Mayo again this year in Connacht. They are starting to get their act together and have good pool of underage and club coming through. Fancy them to give Kildare a bit of a pasting on Sunday.

EICVD wrote: »
    So where is Johnny Cooper gone? Think he was last seen v Tyrone. Don't know how true it is but rumour has it he was dropped after a row with management. If he was injured I'm sure we'd have heard something?

He was injured and it be hard to break back into that full back line. Fitzsimons is turning into a really good player. Well, he was always good but now he is Paddy Christie, Gay O'Driscoll Rory O'Carroll good. Doesn't get recognition he deserves imho. Which is also good sign of an efficient full back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Bonniedog wrote:
    He was injured and it be hard to break back into that full back line. Fitzsimons is turning into a really good player. Well, he was always good but now he is Paddy Christie, Gay O'Driscoll Rory O'Carroll good. Doesn't get recognition he deserves imho. Which is also good sign of an efficient full back.

I wouldn't like to see him one on one vs Star though

Stoner wrote: »

They seem to be able to cover one another when there is a danger man about. did brilliant job on McManus. Main weakness is how relatively easily opposing teams now are running down the middle. Would prefer Small to Lowndes to be honest. Cian has been hot and cold and Bastick and MDM are much cuter at cutting off supply than Reddin. Fenlon is just unbelievable but will be under severe pressure on Sunday. Kerry seem to have decided that he is the one to do the dirt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Booked Monday off work.

Hopefully waking up with a hangover that was worth every pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

How much were the tickets for last years finals?

corny wrote: »
    How much were the tickets for last years finals?

I have an idea that Hill were 25. Presumably because of 1916 thing.

I just had a look at it was 35blips for a ticket last year with the BaF option. 30 this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Stoner wrote: »

Well in fairness, if the right ball is coming in, I don't think there is a defender in the game who would come out on top one on one with him.

Fitzsimons is a better player than gavin, and by extension the Dublin fans, have given him credit for in the past. He done a great job on the gooch in 2011. Id consider him Dublin's best out and out defender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭LeakRate

EICVD wrote: »

He's injured, not sure what exactly but he's wearing a protective boot on his foot/leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Last I heard, Cooper was spotted in the stats booth at the back of the Ard Comhairle during the Roscommon game. Helping out backroom team I presume? Dunno if he was wearing a boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Cheers for the update on Cooper lads, glad that rumour wasn't true!

There's a bang of "Championship" off this game. Even more than last year's league final.

The eerie quiet in here is testament to that.

What game? ;)

ProudDUB wrote: »
    What game? ;)

Exactly.

Chocolate hobnob anyone?

So who do ye fancy in The Masters then?

Eurovision season must be nearly upon us....all together now...."I've been waiting, such a long time...."
    (No Mayo jokes please.)

Any plans for Easter?

There's a grand stretch in the evenings all the same now, isn't there?

Are you still avoiding lentils in your coddle?

Anyone who ever has put, will put, or currently puts lentils into a coddle is dead to me. Dead, dead, dead, I tells ya !

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Anyone who ever has put, will put, or currently puts lentils into a coddle is dead to me. Dead, dead, dead, I tells ya !

That's Stoner's third strike for me. He's being way to nice to the other showe. And to top that, Meath as well!!!