Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

blackcard wrote: »
    You wouldn't expect any team to beat another county with 20 times it's population with huge financial resources playing at home

Was everyone in Dublin playing everyone in Roscommon?

Do Dublin players get paid?

Did Dublin County Board buy a fkn bus instead of financing coaches?

Do Dublin players make a show of themselves when they a night in a hotel?

You know if people stopped feeling sorry for themselves and just did the best they could rather than whinging, they might do better.

That applies to everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I've news for you then so. That very thing is very likely to happen tomorrow afternoon in Parnell Park.

Would you ever stop pointing these things out ffs

(imagine we won) :pac:

ProudDUB wrote: »
    I've news for you then so. That very thing is very likely to happen tomorrow afternoon in Parnell Park.

Except Kilkenny people don't go around with enormous chip on their shoulder. They just do the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

You wouldn't expect any team to beat another county with 20 times it's population with huge financial resources playing at home

YAWN......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭blackcard

Bonniedog wrote: »

Was everyone in Dublin playing everyone in Roscommon?

Do Dublin players get paid?

Did Dublin County Board buy a fkn bus instead of financing coaches?

Do Dublin players make a show of themselves when they a night in a hotel?

You know if people stopped feeling sorry for themselves and just did the best they could rather than whinging, they might do better.

That applies to everything.
    I don't have anything against Dublin. They have to be given enormous credit for the strides they have made in hurling in the last 10 years. And indeed in football. What gets me is some of their supporters thinking they are operating off a level playing field as
    a Mickey mouse county such as Roscommon. When you have 10 times the population, you are bound to have an advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

blackcard wrote:

Did you see the game or are you just offering a standard opinion?
    I don't think the Roscommon team was expected to win but that performance was miles off the pace and standards they've set themselves over the past three years.

Ireland beat England in the rugby last week with a tiny fraction of the resources and playing population. But regardless of the result a certain type of performance was expected of them.

Roscommon didn't want to to know, and haven't performed very well this year against anyone.

The recent information in the papers and the interviews with McStay suggest that all is far from well in the camp, they have better players who for various reasons aren't playing.

I'm sure that accurate reasons for the performances this year will be offered by some in the know in Roscommon, but we can expect some more deflection and interviews in the rain between then and now imo.

Anyway it's none of my business I'm not going to develop this any further here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

On a not unrelated note. Paul Flynn looked as lean and fit as ever i saw him last night. He'll start against Kerry.

Thought he looked fit three weeks ago but that was ridiculous. I know Gavin is saying its business as usual for Flynn but it does look like he's horseing the training out of it currently. Don't think the niggles allowed him do that at times in the recent past.

Hope he's able to sustain it into the summer. He's a match winner when he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Some amazing scores in that game last night. Roscommon got their fair share of good points too. It was pleasure to watch after the muck we witnessed from Kerry too.
    In fairness it was like a charity match there was so little intensity from Roscommon. Great to watch but I doubt we will see this again for a long time.
    Can't remember a match with so few frees...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I don't have anything against Dublin. They have to be given enormous credit for the strides they have made in hurling in the last 10 years. And indeed in football. What gets me is some of their supporters thinking they are operating off a level playing field as
    a Mickey mouse county such as Roscommon. When you have 10 times the population, you are bound to have an advantage

Last year, Roscommon went down to Cork & handed out an merciful hammering to Cork, on their own home turf. Cork have the second biggest population in the country, if you exclude the Northern counties with large non GAA playing populations. They are also one of the wealthiest counties in the country. So explain that one to me then !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Arghhh, Maguire is bloody infuriating

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

JRant wrote: »
    Arghhh, Maguire is bloody infuriating

Heard he gave a forward some timber...fuxache.:mad:

why the **** they dropped Dooley for him! Jaysus. going to cost them the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

... with 20 times it's population ...
    ...When you have 10 times the population...

Carnage!
    I'm glad I was out of town the day we got hit with a terror strike.

Bambi wrote: »
    Heard he gave a forward some timber...fuxache.:mad:

That's putting it mildly. It was completely braindead and unnecessary. Cost us the game really. We were very competitive until about 15 mins to go when the extra man really told.

I'm not sure why Dooley was dropped. He may have have a few blips this year but he has a higher ceiling than Maguire and less prone to mistakes in general.

After today it looks like footballers will need either a draw in Clones or Donegal to lose to Kerry in Tralee.

I would far prefer to depend on our ones than Kerry tbh! Tyrone could still reach final if they win and Donegal and mon lose, but they can't overhaul Dublin on points difference other than they have massive win and we get hammered by Monaghan. Neither event likely!

Looking at the table, a Donegal win today would have guaranteed a final for Dublin. Now Monaghan will be all fired up next game. Winner of that is assured a final spot. Could be interesting!

That's putting it mildly. It was completely braindead and unnecessary. Cost us the game really. We were very competitive until about 15 mins to go when the extra man really told.

I'm not sure why Dooley was dropped. He may have have a few blips this year but he has a higher ceiling than Maguire and less prone to mistakes in general.

Was good performance considering your man's fkn hari kari act.

Makes no difference anyway as still in playoff even if they'd won.

Was good performance considering your man's fkn hari kari act.

Makes no difference anyway as still in playoff even if they'd won.

Very impressed with the defence again today. Some very solid performances, especially considering we were a man down for so long.

Still can't get my head around Maguires challenge. I would be absolutely furious if I was on the team.

Think we'll see the Cuala lads back for the playoff. We need a bit more craft and guile in the forward line. If the backs can keep playing to that standard and we add a bit more up front then we might just be competitive in the champo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Where/when is the relegation play off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

1st or 2nd April for playoff - venue undecided as yet

Ennis. Two weeks I think.

I'd let same team play Clare. They have done well other than a few head staggers like today.

Be serious team for the summer once Cuala come back and they have a few months training and challenges under their belt. Wouldn't rule them out to win Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Ennis. Two weeks I think.

I'd let same team play Clare. They have done well other than a few head staggers like today.

Be serious team for the summer once Cuala come back and they have a few months training and challenges under their belt. Wouldn't rule them out to win Leinster.

are you sure of the venue , i still think if clare get home advantage it would be unfair on dublin as ye only played here two or 3 weeks ago these games should be neutral in my opinion , we are very much in transition at the moment so it could go any way really

I saw it somewhere earlier and asked whether it was official as I assumed was neutral venue. We played Galway in playoff in Tullamore.

Coin toss. We might win that :-)

I fancy our chances against the banner. Going to be a very tight can though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Wouldn't be confident of beating Clare tbh, we tend to let teams push on in the last 10-15 minutes and finish out games

That certainly happened against Waterford and Killkenny but I wouldn't pay too much heed to today's game. We were well in the fight for large parts, even with a man down but it took its toll in the end.

There's a lot of young lads there who can only fet better the experience.

Clare seem to tail off in a lot of their games so far this year. They did it against us. My only worry is they have some big players to come back into the team.

This is great experience for the younger fellas. Couldn't buy it in the shop.

Have to say I admire the way GC has stuck by the ones who put their hands up and hope he will do so in last game. They have not left us down.

And on negative note, some chaps should be looking in the mirror... shall say no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

That certainly happened against Waterford and Killkenny but I wouldn't pay too much heed to today's game. We were well in the fight for large parts, even with a man down but it took its toll in the end.

There's a lot of young lads there who can only fet better the experience.

Clare seem to tail off in a lot of their games so far this year. They did it against us. My only worry is they have some big players to come back into the team.

like bonnie said above we too are having problems with players needing a look in the mirror , maybe its a bit harsh for a team in transition but most of our top performers have been newcomers to the panel this year

if ye have the cuala lads back i would give ye a great shout , not making any excuses but as you said we are not closing games out we are also very slow to start , things that happen teams in a transition under new management , i said it earlier in the league dublin hurling has stepped up a notch or two with a bit of consistency ye could do damage in the next few years .....lets hope the first bit will be wining division 1B next year :pac:

100% Windy.

i'd say Tipp are a bit ahead of the posse. Their best chance to do back to backs since Hells Kitchen.

But, it is like 2013 again. Any of !A teams, Wexicans, Galway. Limerick have a chance.

Cats will always be there but having seen them twice, they are not the force they were.

Championship will be good this year I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

After today it looks like footballers will need either a draw in Clones or Donegal to lose to Kerry in Tralee.

I would far prefer to depend on our ones than Kerry tbh! Tyrone could still reach final if they win and Donegal and mon lose, but they can't overhaul Dublin on points difference other than they have massive win and we get hammered by Monaghan. Neither event likely!

Looking at the table, a Donegal win today would have guaranteed a final for Dublin. Now Monaghan will be all fired up next game. Winner of that is assured a final spot. Could be interesting!

Donegal are playing Mayo in Castlebar.