Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tyrone GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

ammc wrote: »
    Bambi wrote: »
    I was at the game.. Didnt see any replays. The red was bang on and it was the linesman who gave it. there'd been a shemozzle going on for a good bit and cooper got a wallop in the face at the end of it.

McQuillan was acting the bollix on Cluxtons kickouts all night. At one point there was a tussle and he decided after his usual two minutes of showboating to book a tyrone player, cluxton takes the kickout, and straight away he blows up because he waited until the kick out to book the dublin player too.

I'm not be surprised if Tyrone felt he rode them too. He's a malignant little so and so.

I was at the game too - it wasn't a shemozzle, Cooper bodychecked Bradley hard off the ball. Cooper should have got blackcard as per rules if not red. Bradley was stupid and reacted by pushing Cooper in the face for which Cooper made a meal of. Cooper incited but got away with it

As for McQuillan pulling back play to book a Dublin player, the Dub ran away before McQuillan could show him the yellow card, that's why he pulled it back. But I definitely didn't think that decision was a game changer
    Your right about Cooper - he got pushed hard in the pper chest and went down clutching his face (jesus wept) and to add things into the bargain he had went down clutching his face earlier the match without much contact.
    Add to add salt into my wounds a dublin fan in front of me was shouting you diving Tyrone b@stards!!! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Sean Cavanagh has announced he's 99 percent sure he's retiring at the end of the year. What an absolute legend of the game. I now doubly hope he gets some silverware this year be it an Ulster or the biggie. Owes us or the game nothing.

Cavan up next at home. Should be a good test too given how well they've done in the first few games. Held Dublin fairly close for a lot of the game and then managed to get a really good draw away to Monaghan which was a nice result for them.

Donegal and Mayo winning makes this division interesting. The Rossies look a cert to go down at this stage so Cavan really need to nail them in the final game which will be in Roscommon. Donegal and Kerry are their only remaining home games so the draw has been a bit unkind to them in that regard. Maybe if they could beat Donegal they could stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭ammc

Jayop wrote: »
    Cavan up next at home.

Donegal and Mayo winning makes this division interesting.

Tyrone got badly burnt 2 years ago getting relegated, no room for complacency or taking the foot of the pedal in any game. For that reason it should be very difficult for Cavan. It will be interesting to see how Cavan set up and how we get our forwards playing effectively and taking scores from play.

I still see Dublin topping the table because of their firepower, with Tyrone coming second and 3rd and 4th to be a real dogfight. Can only see Roscommon and Cavan taking the drop at this early stage but you're right, if they can beat Donegal at home then they might have a chance

Add to add salt into my wounds a dublin fan in front of me was shouting you diving Tyrone b@stards!!! LOL

Heard a bit of that myself on the night alright.

Also heard it in Omagh from a Roscommon supporter when Cathal McShane went down. McShane then had to be taken off for a blood sub as he had a busted nose

Tyrone got badly burnt 2 years ago getting relegated, no room for complacency or taking the foot of the pedal in any game. For that reason it should be very difficult for Cavan. It will be interesting to see how Cavan set up and how we get our forwards playing effectively and taking scores from play.

I still see Dublin topping the table because of their firepower, with Tyrone coming second and 3rd and 4th to be a real dogfight. Can only see Roscommon and Cavan taking the drop at this early stage but you're right, if they can beat Donegal at home then they might have a chance

Having 3 of the last 5 games in Omagh is a help although our record there in the last few years has been poor enough. Still though, Cavan and Monaghan should be wins, that alone will put us on 7 points. Mayo we really should beat in Omagh and then we have Donegal and Kerry away. Donegal looked OK at the weekend, plenty of fight in them at least, Kerry it's impossible to know.

I was going to post this in response to someone in the Cavan thread, but really it's going way off topic for that thread so this is more appropriate.

Basically the poster was questioning (rightly) what the hell is going on in Omagh that that game couldn't have been played or at least called off earlier. Now I want to deal with the first part as the second part is anyone's guess but it certainly reflects poorly on Tyrone.

Spending on the Tyrone Sr team is miserly. I was absolutely shocked when I heard what was going on recently in terms of spend preparing the senior team in comparison to other counties. Tyrone are a huge county in terms of GAA, we've got a top 4 (imo) football team and we're treating them like a division 4 team in terms of spend on preparation. Now I know that a huge amount of money has been pumped into the center of excellence over the last few years but will it be to the detriment of the senior team in the short to medium term?

Tyrone are 25th in the list of spending on county team preparation in the country. In 2016 Tyrone spend £408k getting the first team ready whereas Mayo spend £1.4m. So basically Mayo are spending a million pounds more than us or 3.5 times as much. Under those circumstances could that 1m pounds be worth a point or two in a close AI quarter final? Mayo aren't spending it for the craic.

It's gotten to the point when apparently one of the current county team has written an open letter complaining about the lack of resources available to them and that "It's becoming impossible to prepare ourselves to win an All-Ireland,"

Now, I know that spend on drainage at Omagh wouldn't fall under that section of the books anyway, but it shows a meanness to invest in the here and now. That's going to effect us.

Sources
    http://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/39075983 (funding last year)
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/cost-of-running-county-teams-at-record-levels-34513426.html (funding 2014/15)
    http://www.newstalk.com/tyrone-footballers-funding-issues (letter from player)

They knew at 10.30am that the game was unplayable but had to wait until Gough showed up about 1.15pm to confirm. Protocol needs changing whereby only the referee can make the decision to postpone as a lot of people put out and rightly angry. Drainage in Omagh is cat, and should have been sorted long ago. Makes you wonder why Jordan was making noises about a new stadium when they can't even invest in drainage.

On the other point, when i see what other counties are spending on their senior teams my question is not why are Tyrone not spending that money also but how and for what in the hell are other counties spending this money on. It's only when you see a breakdown of how they are spending it can you see if it's value for money; whether it is spending big money on managers and other backroom staff, football and hurling teams, development squads, trips away and what have you. However, I do think it is remarkable how Tyrone spend relatively little compared to other counties seeing as the further you go in the championship the more you spend and Tyrone have hit the quarters and semis this last 2 years.

But when you hear players being asked for donations towards training gear and not getting expenses paid then that is worrying and can only unsettle a team.

Aye I agree with you that the break down would be needed, but you'd imagine things like travel expenses for players, providing them with the best gear, the best nutritional people, trainers, coaches. I'm sure things like hotel costs, team bonding things all come into it.

Whatever the breakdown if a county like Tyrone is in 25th in the spending, only a hundred thousand or so more than Leitrim but a million less than Mayo then something is badly wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭sliabh beagh

id say the 7million quid they pumped into garvaghy and the upkeep of it is draining the county finances. plus falling home attendances and the sponsorship not bein worth near what it used to be has a huge effect. the money just isnt there. major power struggle going on between harte and roisin jordan and the open letter to newstalk is simply an attempt to discredit her. dont forget she is prob mickeys biggest obstacle to gettin a contract extension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

They knew at 10.30am that the game was unplayable but had to wait until Gough showed up about 1.15pm to confirm. Protocol needs changing whereby only the referee can make the decision to postpone as a lot of people put out and rightly angry. Drainage in Omagh is cat, and should have been sorted long ago. Makes you wonder why Jordan was making noises about a new stadium when they can't even invest in drainage.

On the other point, when i see what other counties are spending on their senior teams my question is not why are Tyrone not spending that money also but how and for what in the hell are other counties spending this money on. It's only when you see a breakdown of how they are spending it can you see if it's value for money; whether it is spending big money on managers and other backroom staff, football and hurling teams, development squads, trips away and what have you. However, I do think it is remarkable how Tyrone spend relatively little compared to other counties seeing as the further you go in the championship the more you spend and Tyrone have hit the quarters and semis this last 2 years.

But when you hear players being asked for donations towards training gear and not getting expenses paid then that is worrying and can only unsettle a team.

How is it that when the game was "officially" called off the Cavan team was in the dressing rooms, and, surprisingly, the Tyrone squad were nowhere to be seen?

Add to that the Cavan County Board were tweeting and facebooking that morning, telling people to leave early because of road conditions. Harsh on the normal punter.....many were actually in Omagh when word filtered through (me included)

Someone in the Cavan thread had said that only the ref can declare a pitch unplayable. I'm sure what happened was someone from Tyrone told the team that the game was going to be off so they didn't get there. If they can't tell the Cavan lads that officially then they can't be to blame for that aspect.

For all we know the Tyrone team could have been warming up elsewhere.

How is it that when the game was "officially" called off the Cavan team was in the dressing rooms, and, surprisingly, the Tyrone squad were nowhere to be seen?

Add to that the Cavan County Board were tweeting and facebooking that morning, telling people to leave early because of road conditions. Harsh on the normal punter.....many were actually in Omagh when word filtered through (me included)

Maybe the Tyrone squad were just up the road at the Garvaghy complex. I was in Omagh too, it was a bad situation all round and disgraceful how Gough can just turn up at 1.15pm and confirm what most inside the ground already knew. There should be something in place whereby pitch inspections are done early in the morning if there's any doubt.

I agree, it's rough on the normal punter. Gough trotted out the lame excuse that he wanted to give the game every chance to go ahead when all he was really doing was having a good lie in the bed. But, sure, at least Gough can still claim his expenses

Monaghan game live on eir this Saturday.

Their coverage this year so far has imo been top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,663 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Any word on whether the pitch will be playable? I was talking to a Monaghan man who said the match could be switched to Carrickmore on Sunday.

No clue. Much of a muchness for people coming from Monaghan if it's there or not.

Erm? Big wind maybe?

Ref gives two reds to Monaghan players for punches, both deserved. Now spends the rest of the half giving Monaghan absolutely ludicrous frees.

Thank God that idiot didn't cost us like the moron against Dublin. We got a soft penalty that we missed but after the red cards it was almost comical how much he tried to give them everything.

Great interview with Sean Cavanagh on the GAA hour yesterday. He's a great lad for the chat!

Another good win under the belt with a few of the younger lads taking the lead by the sounds of it. Lost the first half and won the second by 11 points. Strange game.

Anyway, top of the league now with a few to play so a really good chance of making the final.

Looking forward to this game on Saturday night. Im in two minds as to whether to head up to Ballybofey for it. It's a 3 hour round trip for me and at the end of the day it's a bit of a league game although it should be a cracker. I don't think it's live on Eir either, there only seems to be two games on according to their guide although they have extended highlights at 11.30 so maybe this game is the one that's on Eir HD.

It's actually on Eir2.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Missed a trick with not putting the u21 replay against Donegal on as a curtain raiser, would have made a nice double header. Suppose their different competitions, different schedules. Also some of the players might be featuring in both games.

I said that in the Donegal thread and the response was something like "not sure if serious" as if it was a mental idea. I don't know why. Maybe recovery time but 5 days wouldn't have been too bad or maybe something else I don't know about.

https://www.ipetitions.com/petition/TTMRadio?utm_medium=widget&utm_source=widget&utm_campaign=button

If anyone has a second to spare could they sign this petition. It's a Tyrone GAA website that provides online radio coverage from loads of games, club and county at all levels. They've been asked by the GAA to prove that they are essential or they'll be denied access to the games. They are not allowed to broadcast from the Tyrone V Donegal game this weekend for example.

I'm sure their audience of a few hundred people are really costing someone loads of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Jayop wrote: »
    https://www.ipetitions.com/petition/TTMRadio?utm_medium=widget&utm_source=widget&utm_campaign=button

If anyone has a second to spare could they sign this petition. It's a Tyrone GAA website that provides online radio coverage from loads of games, club and county at all levels. They've been asked by the GAA to prove that they are essential or they'll be denied access to the games. They are not allowed to broadcast from the Tyrone V Donegal game this weekend for example.

I'm sure their audience of a few hundred people are really costing someone loads of money.

Is it the same site that you mentioned the last night?

Signed anyway, no reason not to support more coverage.

dog_pig wrote: »
    Is it the same site that you mentioned the last night?

Signed anyway, no reason not to support more coverage.

Ya it was. The coverage was actually really good I thought, signal was a bit hit and miss but the lads speaking were as balanced as you'd get from two local guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Crazy decision not to allow these guys to cover the game on Saturday. They've been the only source of following Tyrone games on the radio recently. GAA need to look at what they want the future of the game to be; for the community or for TV companies.

Might not even be the TV. Maybe highland radio pay for the radio rights from there and given you can get it in most of Tyrone it's eating into their market.

Still though they're a tiny online station. Hardly going to do much damage.