Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭shootermacg

JamboMac wrote: »
    Here's a stupid question why do you think the people who flashed your nanny are Dubliners? Could be a culchie working in the financial district or one of the many multinationals that live here.

Because she told me they:
    1) were in tracksuits and skinny jeans with white belts.
    2) had no soul with blonde highlights
    3) were drinking the cheapest piss in Lidl
    4) were listening to banging tunes (Aslan?) on their phone speaker
    5) were standing in a pool of spit and piss littered with the odd syringe.
    6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin
    8) She couldn't understand the scanger accent except for the words... bleedin, wah and do nuffin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Prime Irish Beef

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.
    Ever notice that you can never tell if an individual is from Donegal, Kerry, Wexford or Westmeath until you hear their accent, but you can tell a Jackeen bastard the second you unfortunately lay eyes on him.

During the 1890s, Lord Calverton, a British politician from Dublin, visited Dublin to study the effects of poverty in the slums which made up 110% of the city. He discovered that there were so many prostitutes in the city that many Jackeens regularly had intercourse with the mothers, grandmothers and sisters. This is the scientific explanation why so many of them look like Christy Dignam clones.
    Before being called Anto or Deco the Jackeen bastards were almost uniformly called Jack. This was due to the Dublin infatuation with the Union Jack.

For real Irish people the suffix "een" means something smaller than normal, such as a Jackeen's hands, its brain, its inability to do simple mathematics or its inability to not sh1t themselves in public (they do this because of their heroin addictions).

Pure comedy. These posts have made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

Dublin is the ex husband that the rest of the country hates, but depend on it for financial support since they can't get out and make their own money. If they could get rid of us they would, but we would be a lot more financially better off and the countryside would become a third world population and we would have to send trocaire. We'd have are trocaire boxes with little culchie kids on the front starving.

Could you imagine?????
    They'd be all calves licks and gunner eyes, you'd be throwing money at the thing to fill it just to get the thing out of the house so it would stop scaring the cat.
    The bigwigs in Trocaire really missed a trick on this one....sure they could have all had yachts and private islands on the money that could have been made if only they went with the culchie on the box instead of the little African fellow.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Dublin is, and always has been, the main determining factor in Ireland becoming a modern, progressive society. It's easy to point out the flaws, and there are many, but Ireland is still an Island backwater without Dublin.

Social issues though. Not just the obvious ones like homelessness and junkies... Anxiety, insecurity, restlessness, destructiveness etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Social issues though. Not just the obvious ones like homelessness and junkies... Anxiety, insecurity, restlessness, destructiveness etc.
    Those issues are not even close to being exclusive to those living in cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I love Dublin because its mere existence is a daily reminder of why i'm so lucky to live in a rural village in the Southeast, 15 minutes drive from the nearest city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin
    8) She couldn't understand the scanger accent except for the words... bleedin, wah and do nuffin

You just described those lads who wear the plastics bags on their head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

infogiver wrote: »
    25 years ago I was the first bogger to enter a work environment which had been exclusively jackeen for about 100 years
    Not joking you there was a family of 5 sisters from Fatima Mansions (fantastic girls all of them) who'd never been in such close proximity to a bogger for 8 hours at a stretch before
    I've a terrible flat country accent and for the first 6 months every time I spoke the whole place would turn around and gape
    Loved them all stayed for 10 years happy memories

You rode all 5 of them didn't you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

6) were about 4 foot 5
    7) were in Dublin

Did any of them address her as "pal" or "buddy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Sam Kade wrote: »
    In fairness Jackeen you'd have a better chance of riding your relatives being cramped in such a small city, which is more like a town by international standards.

With that logic you just try to ride the person nearest to you in the nightclub.

I am guessing you work in that D4 financial institution mentioned earlier, average family size in rural Ireland is higher and smaller population in country town so much higher likelyhood of riding your cousin who is also your aunt.

Why do Jackeens always refer to the fact that their arses are bleeding? As in "I will in me bleedin aaarse" Must be the pole of the union Jack :D

"I'm happy out" well go the **** outside and bring the smell of manure with you

seachto7 wrote: »
    Good question, but there seems to be an awful lot of them in Dublin city, compared to other comparable cities. Or is it just me?

Its like everything else in Ireland, badly handled. A lot of cities have designated areas and they get arrested outside of them but they are free to roam here. Very little in the way of rehab, the queues for the methadone clinics are a sight to behold.

He's a New Yorker actually.

He is from Cork

retalivity wrote: »
    I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

I am from Dublin and agree 100%.

Like most Irish people we are not much more than 3 generations from the bog.

Think Philip Costello got into some hot water for that remark back in the day! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Not really, we just assimilate like the Borg, Just look at Drogheda. Soon we will call the hole country Dublin and we will all think as one.:pac:

I doubt that. The dubs move to these places and there kids go to the local school and come out with dirty bogger accents ; ) Bring your kids up in a bogger town and your raising the next generation of boggers. It Doesn't matter if the parents are dubs at heart ; )

I remember one time the junkies girlfriend telling him to rob me and he replied no he'll knock me out, their funny things junkies, because they don't even know they are one.

It's like they think we can't hear them, two junkies were discussing grabbing my phone when I was talking on it, I said one step towards me and I will put you both in hospital they looked at me like I read their minds :eek:(shudder the thought)

I doubt that. The dubs move to these places and there kids go to the local school and come out with dirty bogger accents ; ) Bring your kids up in a bogger town and your raising the next generation of boggers. It Doesn't matter if the parents are dubs at heart ; )

That's not fully true have nieces and nephews down in drogheda, 2 of them have a Dublin type accent but the youngest at times is impossible to understand all 3 have always lived in the country. The older 2 had more time spent up with us Dubliner though. So just keep them on a diet of fair city and you'll be grand.

I remember the day you could pinpoint a county from hearing someone speak I know girls from Galway and Dundalk who have that faux D4/ American lilt, I know people from Naas and Bray with proper Dublin accents.

I hate the ****ing fakery Dublin scumbags do their best to make themselves sound so Dublin you can just about make out what they are saying and at the other end people with the plums in the mouth D4/ American accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

I have lots of relations in Dublin, mostly work in the bar trade, We make a good living from them Dubs so I shan't be slagging them, not yet anyway.

Not yet, we are not planning stopping drinking anytime soon

Bloody eejits in most areas of dublin. How does the word THAT become DAH?
    No appreciation for the language of the brits that spawned ye.
    How can you take a simple one syllable word and make it into a couple such as:

"Give me five for those CDs for fifty please, my good man"

Whaa pal, yis wonce fi-hiv fur fidy, Oil, gih youse tin Aslan sayadees furr a pow-and!

Also most you you probably spell it in the same manner too.

To put this in context for somebody who isn't Irish watch the field for boggers and and the van for Dubliners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

To put this in context for somebody who isn't Irish watch the field for boggers and and the van for Dubliners.
    So there you have it, simple minds :rolleyes:

Really all I've heard from you boggers is Aslan, aslan, aslan. Last time I checked Dublin gave us the best Irish bands, the boggers gave us westlife.

hmmmmm Westlife you say?

Go wan outa dat! ye bloody gob****es!

hmmmmm Westlife you say?

Go wan outa dat! ye bloody gob****es!

Your assuming I claim they are a good band, simple minds:(.

I'm not assuming anything, but you gave us westlife, I saw your westlife and raised you boyzowe. Now you can raise, you can call or you can leave the table! How do you like those apples simple simon?!!

Ah **** it, you're too slow
    Here's a little taste for yous!

YouTube fame isn't fame, what you should have done was provided a good band, but you went all bull McCabe. I wouldn't sling mud if I was you, you'd be throwing away your inheritance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭milehip

Well whats your example of a good band from Dublin then?