Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭BlinkingLights

Even if you reside in Cork City you're still classified as a culchie.

One of the many reasons why Cork has never really bothered paying any much attention to the in-fighting parts of the country and their strange parochialisms and obsession with slagging each other off.

As for Dubliners who never venture outside the M50, they're a lost cause really.
    Actually, the M50 is probably down the country. I know a few who don't recognise anything beyond the two canals as being "Dublin". Those new down the country places like Swords and Blanchardstown are not recognised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

My brother and his friends knew a lad years ago that was so Dublin, he had never been out of the county. He was invited to a wedding in Wexford. One of the lads said to the Dublin lad about coming to the wedding "don't forget your passport", to which yer man replied "Really, I need my passport to go to Wexford? I don't have a passport"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Even if you reside in Cork City you're still classified as a culchie.
    But why classify any group as culchies... not everyone finds it endearing or particularly funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Another thing I have noticed from working with Cork people over the years is that they are fiercely protective of their own. Even if someone is an absolute bastard of the highest order and has been known to upset people, if its a Cork person then another Cork person will never ever ever slag off that person no matter what he or she has done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Another thing I have noticed from working with Cork people over the years is that they are fiercely protective of their own. Even if someone is an absolute bastard of the highest order and has been known to upset people, if its a Cork person then another Cork person will never ever ever slag off that person no matter what he or she has done.

Well that's definitely not true from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

One of the many reasons why Cork has never really bothered paying any much attention to the in-fighting parts of the country and their strange parochialisms and obsession with slagging each other off.

As for Dubliners who never venture outside the M50, they're a lost cause really.
    Actually, the M50 is probably down the country. I know a few who don't recognise anything beyond the two canals as being "Dublin". Those new down the country places like Swords and Blanchardstown are not recognised.

Its true my aul lad was born and raised in the inner city and those places were only countryside villages to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Vita nova wrote: »
    But why classify any group as culchies... not everyone finds it endearing or particularly funny.

I don't know, I didn't invent the rules.

It's not as if I find it to be funny either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    My brother and his friends knew a lad years ago that was so Dublin, he had never been out of the county. He was invited to a wedding in Wexford. One of the lads said to the Dublin lad about coming to the wedding "don't forget your passport", to which yer man replied "Really, I need my passport to go to Wexford? I don't have a passport"

Obviously, a thick moron. Not exclusive to Dublin.

Glenster wrote: »
    Dirty?

Your ground is made of mud and we're dirty?

Where your overpriced organic sambo ingreditents come from....

Pffff!

If you hate Dublin so much don't come here, oh wait, you cant, because its the only place that matters.

That is typical of the inward looking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

seachto7 wrote: »
    That is typical of the inward looking....

Yeah, no, I really have to go to Mullingar tomorrow to buy a pallet of turnips, or whatever it is you people produce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

jackeen talent:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

One culchie who works in my place is a typical bog merchant, into Garth Brooks and saying ¨mighty craic" often mentions how much crime there is in Dublin but has no problem traveling here every day from Westmeath or some other backward town to work in Dublin.

Build a wall around Dublin with strict entry criteria for culchies.

CAVEMEN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

jonnny68 wrote: »
    One culchie who works in my place is a typical bog merchant, into Garth Brooks and saying ¨mighty craic" often mentions how much crime there is in Dublin but has no problem traveling here every day from Westmeath or some other backward town to work in Dublin.

Build a wall around Dublin with strict entry criteria for culchies.

CAVEMEN

A wall would be fantastic, but would it keep ye in?

With sea levels in the east rising faster than Dublin's glacial isostatic adjustment emergence, in a few short years we'll see their dirty malnourished, pox ridden knacker faces, clad in their manky grey leisure keks with shiny Tacchinardi tracksuit tops, clamouring over said wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

With sea levels in the east rising faster than Dublin's glacial isostatic adjustment emergence, in a few short years we'll see their dirty malnourished, pox ridden knacker faces, clad in their manky grey leisure keks with shiny Tacchinardi tracksuit tops, clamouring over said wall.

What would the rest of the country do for money? With dublin having about 50% of the population and 70/80% of the finances of the country and the fact we'd be exporting all those boggers back to the country what would you do? Imagine the nike's we could afford if we didn't have to support the rest of the country with their high level of unemployment and archaic practices like hare coursing.

Yeah, no, I really have to go to Mullingar tomorrow to buy a pallet of turnips, or whatever it is you people produce.

...and where would you get your turnips if nowhere else produced them? The hipster flea market "in town"?

JamboMac wrote: »
    What would the rest of the country do for money? With dublin having about 50% of the population and 70/80% of the finances of the country and the fact we'd be exporting all those boggers back to the country what would you do? Imagine the nike's we could afford if we didn't have to support the rest of the country with their high level of unemployment and archaic practices like hare coursing.

Wouldn't it be great? The government might then invest in jobs, development and services in the rest of the country instead of having everything weighted towards Dublin. Maybe look at planning a city or a tech hub in the west, build a badly needed motorway from Limerick to Cork etc..... You need us as much as we need you.... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

jonnny68 wrote: »
    day from Westmeath or some other backward town to work in Dublin.

Westmeath isn't a town Ptolemy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

How to put this chief: Dublin isn't the area that has nationwide bring their cameras down to film fields of water every time there's a bit of flooding is it? We're not the lads who do be screaming for more free farmer money whenever there's a bit of heavy rain

We'll be grand :)

Wouldn't it be great? The government might then invest in jobs, development and services in the rest of the country instead of having everything weighted towards Dublin. Maybe look at planning a city or a tech hub in the west, build a badly needed motorway from Limerick to Cork etc..... You need us as much as we need you.... ;)

The government wouldn't exist as is, you would have decide on so many things and a city like cork would be the one they would have to invest in and still the rest of the country would be buggered, see most of the money goes where most of the population/workforce exists.

Dublin's population can be as much as 15 times the population of certain county's. Once again your new country would need a start up capital and where would that come from, i love how country people blame dublin for no jobs, not the actual skill set of the existing population or the zero infrastructure and the locals not wanting their lovely scenery to be destroyed by putting in that infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Bambi wrote: »
    How to put this chief: Dublin isn't the area that has nationwide bring their cameras down to film fields of water every time there's a bit of flooding is it? We're not the lads who do be screaming for more free farmer money whenever there's a bit of heavy rain

We'll be grand :)

Do you remember the big freeze back in 2010? You Jackeens had some fair sense of entitlement back then wanting the council to clear a pathway to your doors :rolleyes: Two Jackeens getting water back then from a tanker brought two buckets with them for water and put the full buckets of water in the boot of their car to take home:D

JamboMac wrote: »
    The government wouldn't exist as is, you would have decide on so many things and a city like cork would be the one they would have to invest in and still the rest of the country would be buggered, see most of the money goes where most of the population/workforce exists.

Dublin's population can be as much as 15 times the population of certain county's. Once again your new country would need a start up capital and where would that come from, i love how country people blame dublin for no jobs, not the actual skill set of the existing population or the zero infrastructure and the locals not wanting their lovely scenery to be destroyed by putting in that infrastructure.

Are you sure about that? Well, if Ireland had decided 100 odd years ago to plan a city, e.g. like Canberra in the West of Ireland with proper infrastructure (plan with what I suppose, fresh air?) maybe there could be Dublin and a large city (the size of Cork maybe) in the middle or West of the Shannon which would provide enough opportunities that everyone didn’t have to go to Dublin for jobs, because, funny as it may sound, not everyone gladly moves to Dublin. They go because it’s Dublin or emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

A recent map showed Dublin depended on several counties, where workers commute from - Kildare, Wexford, Wicklow, Meath, Louth, Westmeath, Offaly, Laois, Carlow, Kilkenny, Longford, Cavan and Monaghan.

Are you sure about that? Well, if Ireland had decided 100 odd years ago to plan a city, e.g. like Canberra in the West of Ireland with proper infrastructure (plan with what I suppose, fresh air?) maybe there could be Dublin and a large city (the size of Cork maybe) in the middle or West of the Shannon which would provide enough opportunities that everyone didn’t have to go to Dublin for jobs, because, funny as it may sound, not everyone gladly moves to Dublin. They go because it’s Dublin or emigrate.

Your comparing a country which is 200 years ago and one which is a 1000+ Dublin exists because of the high population and workforce, then you would need all those farmers and everybody else happy to build all those factories and large roads.

See what you want is your cake and eat it too, so maybe blame yourself and not us, do you think all dubliners want too live in so close proximity too each other, of course not, but it's the only cost effective way to create jobs.

It's bad planning and foresight. Simple as. Why is Dublin the only place for jobs? Why should it be?

Blame the vikings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It's not the only place for jobs. I don't know why people think this.

There are more jobs because there are more people! Okay, it's a lot more complicated than that and people will rabbit on about infrastructure etc. but basically what companies want are good quality employees and they've more of a pool in a large population centre like Dublin or Cork than they have in an area with a smaller population.

This is not unique in the world. Most countries are the same.

True, but the way things are going, maybe people will be able to work from home in the future, and use Dublin as a hub for meetings. That can only be a good thing.

pilly wrote: »
    It's not the only place for jobs. I don't know why people think this.

There are more jobs because there are more people! Okay, it's a lot more complicated than that and people will rabbit on about infrastructure etc. but basically what companies want are good quality employees and they've more of a pool in a large population centre like Dublin or Cork than they have in an area with a smaller population.

This is not unique in the world. Most countries are the same.

All countries have them, New York, London, Paris, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Maybe if the capital was moved and more power given to the people who run cities, there would be less accusations of everything being Dublin centric.
    Kilkenny as the halfway between Dublin and Cork, plus Kilkenny is a former capital of Ireland, only for Cromwell putting an end to that...