Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working with Boggers

• 21-01-2017 9:40pm
    Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭

Like many people working in "The Big Schmoke" I find that my company has employed a relatively high proportion of boggers. These wonderful innocent creatures with their odd country ways often carrying a hurley or sod of turf in their weekend bag. I find a calmness about then and am happy they are among us. Do you have any interesting tales of their "ways"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Mr Whom wrote: »
    Like many people working in "The Big Schmoke" I find that my company has employed a relatively high proportion of boggers. These wonderful innocent creatures with their odd country ways often carrying a hurley or sod of turf in their weekend bag. I find a calmness about then and am happy they are among us. Do you have any interesting tales of their "ways"?

Got any yourself OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Oh you! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭mad about nuts

They are very handy with shovels.Do not cross country folk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭c_meth

A bogger in my office (Canary Wharf in early 2000's) told a tale of how furious he was that someone else in his locality, back home, bid on a house he was bidding on. He was outraged at their actions; his was the first bid so no one else should have bid. He must have thought he was Bull McCabe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Like many people working in "The Big Schmoke" I find that my company has employed a relatively high proportion of boggers. These wonderful innocent creatures with their odd country ways often carrying a hurley or sod of turf in their weekend bag.

I find the 'bogger' is not as prone to exaggeration as his city cousins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

They seem to prefer tea over coffee and are susceptible to catholic dogma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Hang Sangwhiches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Ireland is just one big bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Arciphel

Sitting their in their tweed coats, munching away open-mouthed on a slab of donkey gudge and slurping from a mug of tea with right sugars. Absolute weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

A neighbour of mine, who lived on a cliff edge, had to get the landlady of the digs in Coventry he was staying in to throw a bucket of water at his bedroom window every night so he could get to sleep.

True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭JoeyPeeps

I thought I knew it all after I lived in Dublin for a couple of years until I moved to London. The people there are like aliens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭logically

Smokey Bacon Tayto.
    Coleslaw.
    Potatoes.
    Big mugs of tay.
    Leaving the immersion on.
    Penneys, 2 euro.
    Craic.
    Pints.
    Stereotypes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Oh youre so funny i nearly fell off my tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

JoeyPeeps wrote: »
    I thought I knew it all after I lived in Dublin for a couple of years until I moved to London. The people there are like aliens.

Care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Everyone in Ireland is a bit of a bogger. Dubs are slightly less boggerish, but they are boggers none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

They love injecting themselves with heroin, asking for spare change, wearing filthy grey tracksuits, sticking their hands down the front of their tracksuit bottoms, stabbing people outside Abrakebabra, having witty nicknames like Deco for Declan, Johner for John, Anto for Anthony and Scumbag for everyone else, being illiterate, being the children or grandchildren of countryfolk, asking for spare cigarettes, having no cultural identity, telling their children to "**** off" while ordering chicken nuggets in McDonalds, growing up in a horrible estate, being significantly stupider than their parents and grandparents, injecting themselves with heroin again.

That's great, either way we don't ride our sisters and our men don't wear flared jeans / crosshatch / Subaru jackets so I think I'll stay content at being a big aul junkie from the flats cheers lol

Ugh, Jackeen bastards!

Don't knock heroin till you've tried it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭cbreeze

retalivity wrote: »
    I'm a bogger, and work for a large financial institution in D4. Im surrounded by boggers, my whole team are culchies like myself, its great!

Im guessing they couldn't find any qualified jackeens to fill the roles...or boggers are just better.

yaay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

I think it funny about they bitch about whatever hole they came from. Yet then bitch whole time about Dublin. How it is so big, everyone is so mean, how busy everyone is etc. That they are glad they never went to college here, as they would hate it even more.

But if you ask them about whether they move back to where ever they came from because they hate Dublin. They gave you a ton of reasons why they would never leave Dublin and where ever they came from is a kip

I honestly can't wrap my head about the boggers who moved up to Dublin about 20 years ago, but still go home to the west to vote.

italodisco wrote: »
    we don't ride our sisters
    Ever notice that you can never tell if an individual is from Donegal, Kerry, Wexford or Westmeath until you hear their accent, but you can tell a Jackeen bastard the second you unfortunately lay eyes on him.

During the 1890s, Lord Calverton, a British politician from Dublin, visited Dublin to study the effects of poverty in the slums which made up 110% of the city. He discovered that there were so many prostitutes in the city that many Jackeens regularly had intercourse with the mothers, grandmothers and sisters. This is the scientific explanation why so many of them look like Christy Dignam clones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

In fairness opening post was pretty funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

The jackeens are all on the are all on the heroin, sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Heh, Perhaps if it's an Irish financial institution (or Irish control alot of hiring) they shred cvs with the "wrong" address or pfo people who turn up to the interview with the "wrong" accent?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

D4 financial institution? Odious bastards. I bet yiz put on the accent for the big clients

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I work with a bear

I've never lived in any other part of Ireland and rarely have reason to venture outside of Dublin as I tend to holiday abroad, but culchies are all welcome though, the guys I hang out with mostly these days are culchies that live here now.
    I envy them with their full drivers licences though, at 36 I've yet to past my test. I cycle everywhere here but when I'm on holidays being able to rent a car would be nice instead of having to rely on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Most jackeens wouldn't know a school from a prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Nothing worse than a D4 culchie

lawred2 wrote: »
    Most jackeens wouldn't know a school from a prison

Do you actually say that word Jackeen in the country? What does it even mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Do you actually say that word Jackeen in the country? What does it even mean?

Small jack.....ín pronounced een is irish for small

Clearly referring to small toilets in Dublin???

Though I taught it was great craic when I went to FAS there tbh

Small jack.....ín pronounced een is irish for small

Clearly referring to small toilets in Dublin???

Though I taught it was great craic when I went to FAS there tbh

But who is Jack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,659 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Nothing worse than a D4 culchie

half the people i work with cant understand my thick donegal accent unless i speak slowly, so its not that. I work in D4, live in D8, shop in aldi, and have no interest in rugby. Im bringing it down from the inside!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

But who is Jack?

Union jack. All dubs have one stored away in the hot press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

But who is Jack?

Wikipedia says it comes from the union Jack.
    Jackeen is a pejorative term coined by the rest of Ireland to describe the Dubliners (inside the pale) as the most loyal to the crown.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Wikipedia says it comes from the union Jack.
    Jackeen is a pejorative term coined by the rest of Ireland to describe the Dubliners (inside the pale) as the most loyal to the crown.

ha, makes sense, bit of an Anglophile myself.

But who is Jack?
    Before being called Anto or Deco the Jackeen bastards were almost uniformly called Jack. This was due to the Dublin infatuation with the Union Jack.

For real Irish people the suffix "een" means something smaller than normal, such as a Jackeen's hands, its brain, its inability to do simple mathematics or its inability to not sh1t themselves in public (they do this because of their heroin addictions).

• Site Banned Posts: 72 ✭✭Mr Whom

I was kinda hoping for amusing life affirming bigger tales.

:-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

What have you learned form these boggers, op? Have they recanted tales of their childhood settlements in the hills and lowlands beyond the M50?

Before being called Anto or Deco the Jackeen bastards were almost uniformly called Jack. This was due to the Dublin infatuation with the Union Jack.

For real Irish people the suffix "een" means something smaller than normal, such as a Jackeen's hands, its brain, its inability to do simple mathematics or its inability to not sh1t themselves in public (they do this because of their heroin addictions).

Please tell me you don't have to live amongst these animals? I guess in the past we may have had more in common with our more sophisticated British neighbours rather than the barefoot potato eaters outside of Dublin and that's why we had kept union jack flags etc, if what you're saying is true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Mr Whom wrote:
    I was kinda hoping for amusing life affirming bigger tales.

Me too! It went downhill very fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

But who is Jack?

When the king of England visited dublin all the dubs came out waving their union jacks, hence Jackeens

Oh how nice of them to give him a good welcome. I did the same when Queen Elizabeth visited more recently :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Dubs would spend its all on heroween or Aslan tickets

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

A neighbour of mine, who lived on a cliff edge, had to get the landlady of the digs in Coventry he was staying in to throw a bucket of water at his bedroom window every night so he could get to sleep.

True story.
    I've just wet myself laughing at this (literally) thanks a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

c_meth wrote: »
    A bogger in my office (Canary Wharf in early 2000's) told a tale of how furious he was that someone else in his locality, back home, bid on a house he was bidding on. He was outraged at their actions; his was the first bid so no one else should have bid. He must have thought he was Bull McCabe...
    Was it this guy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

25 years ago I was the first bogger to enter a work environment which had been exclusively jackeen for about 100 years
    Not joking you there was a family of 5 sisters from Fatima Mansions (fantastic girls all of them) who'd never been in such close proximity to a bogger for 8 hours at a stretch before
    I've a terrible flat country accent and for the first 6 months every time I spoke the whole place would turn around and gape
    Loved them all stayed for 10 years happy memories

sjb25 wrote: »
    Was it this guy

Isn't it funny how he was one of the few actors in the film who was Scottish, and then he portrays an Irish man?