Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Gossies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cria

anna080 wrote: »
    Cria it's @cozzy279

Edit: I just googled her Twitter name and oddly it doesn't show up any results, but if you go into Marissa Carter's Twitter she retweeted a tweet from Emma today about some nonsence about RTE so you'll find her that way.

Thanks Hun I'll have a look now .

meeeeh wrote: »
    For the record I hate how every afternoon baker calls themselves businesswoman and I hate girl boss expression even more. But there were always awards for successful business, I really don't see what is the problem there. It's not comparing them to women/people who work for an employer, it's comparing them to other business owners.

It's the girlboss that gets, me an award for someone who built a business up from scratch is great.
    Giving it the title girl boss makes me feel like ah isn't she great she has a business and she's a woman. It's condescending.
    It's feels like the lovely girl competition on father ted.
    Put her in a category with men let the award be about her achievements as s human rather than a woman,

People who are nominated in the blogger social influencers awards are only people with big numbers and are associated with brands.
    It's nothing to do with the content they put out or their honesty and transparency it's people who can create high traffic for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Cria wrote: »
    It's the girlboss that gets, me an award for someone who built a business up from scratch is great.
    Giving it the title girl boss makes me feel like ah isn't she great she has a business and she's a woman. It's condescending.
    It's feels like the lovely girl competition on father ted.
    Put her in a category with men let the award be about her achievements as s human rather than a woman,

People who are nominated in the blogger social influencers awards are only people with big numbers and are associated with brands.
    It's nothing to do with the content they put out or their honesty and transparency it's people who can create high traffic for them.

You will get no argument from me that those awards are ridiculous. But people usually only notice a plaque, badge or whatever not actually read or check how credible it is. If people paid attention most nutritionists would be out of business. It's simple tool to drum up business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Some of the bitchiness going on on twitter now is disgraceful. And in fairness, it's not from any of the main parties involved (Rosemary/Melissa/Ali etc.) Grown women gloating and sneering. It's so undignified. Would they ever cop on. I don't think you could say there's a "winner" in this scenario, but there's certainly an air of "bad winner" in the whole thing. It's like something from the schoolyard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Meangadh wrote: »
    Some of the bitchiness going on on twitter now is disgraceful. And in fairness, it's not from any of the main parties involved (Rosemary/Melissa/Ali etc.) Grown women gloating and sneering. It's so undignified. Would they ever cop on. I don't think you could say there's a "winner" in this scenario, but there's certainly an air of "bad winner" in the whole thing. It's like something from the schoolyard.

Totally. A lot of people making complete fools of themselves.

Is there gloating I haven't noticed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 ANON0108

To be honest I don't really get this whole outrage about sponsors and nominees overlapping. I used to work in an industry miles away from the blogging/celebrity world but we did have industry awards and we would sponsor an award and also be nominated for (and win) awards at said ceremony. This is the way a lot of industry awards work in my experience. I agree it's prob not ideal but at the end of the day it can be very difficult to find sponsors outside of an industry, the sponsor needs to benefit too.

I know the majority on here don't agree but I think Rosemary comes out of this looking very bad. There was just no need to do it and I think it makes her look really catty. I'm not a fan of Ali Ryan (and didn't even know who she was until a few days ago) but to be fair she's only 27 and I think fair play to her for trying to make a go of something that seems to be bringing her a lot of success. I think that's why Marissa is sticking up for her, because she knows what it's like to be a young business woman.

From what I've seen of Rosemary she seems to try very hard to be the "cool" blogger, criticising others while being just as attention seeking as the rest of the bloggers/influencers. In my opinion she's a hypocrite.

Did anyone see her twitter exchange with Holly Carpenter?

Cria wrote: »
    Is there gloating I haven't noticed that.

Well, it certainly appears that way to me. And if it's not gloating, then at the very least it's petty and unnecessary. They want people to build up women instead of knocking them down, and yet the sarcastic tweets serve no purpose other than to belittle others. I don't like the "boss girl" term either, but I don't make fun of someone that does while adding them to the tweet- it's bitchy and immature. No need.

ANON0108 wrote: »
    From what I've seen of Rosemary she seems to try very hard to be the "cool" blogger, criticising others while being just as attention seeking as the rest of the bloggers/influencers. In my opinion she's a hypocrite.

Blogger/influencer who is not attention seeking is probably in the wrong business. There is nothing wrong with catering to different audience, that is not being a hypocrite. Who needs bloggers who have all the same opinions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Dramalama

None of these types of awards seem fair, having category sponsors being nominated , having nominees promote products from other category sponsors and the same old group time after time being nominated. It has nothing to do with fairness, but all to do with being part of the click but in saying this I have no issue what so ever with these kind of events. I do not attend them but I do find this drama on Twitter between those for the awards and those against them a little school yardish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

ANON0108 wrote: »
    To be honest I don't really get this whole outrage about sponsors and nominees overlapping. I used to work in an industry miles away from the blogging/celebrity world but we did have industry awards and we would sponsor an award and also be nominated for (and win) awards at said ceremony. This is the way a lot of industry awards work in my experience. I agree it's prob not ideal but at the end of the day it can be very difficult to find sponsors outside of an industry, the sponsor needs to benefit too.

I know the majority on here don't agree but I think Rosemary comes out of this looking very bad. There was just no need to do it and I think it makes her look really catty. I'm not a fan of Ali Ryan (and didn't even know who she was until a few days ago) but to be fair she's only 27 and I think fair play to her for trying to make a go of something that seems to be bringing her a lot of success. I think that's why Marissa is sticking up for her, because she knows what it's like to be a young business woman.

I don't get this "she's only 27" lark. You'd swear she was someone competing in the the young scientist awards. 27 years of age has nothing to do with anything. The nominee categories of this award,eg, girl boss category, seem farcical and the sponsor-nominee crossover,even more so. The business owner's age is of no relevance. She's an adult. End of.

Dramalama wrote: »
    None of these types of awards seem fair, having category sponsors being nominated , having nominees promote products from other category sponsors and the same old group time after time being nominated. It has nothing to do with fairness, but all to do with being part of the click but in saying this I have no issue what so ever with these kind of events. I do not attend them but I do find this drama on Twitter between those for the awards and those against them a little school yardish.

I agree .Very school yard like and embarrassing for anyone apart from the main 2 parties involved (and even for them themselves too) to be getting so directly involved .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3 Dramalama

I have to agree, I think Ali is clearly a hard working lady who is creating something at a young age most would not ever dare to do. I had no idea until today who was behind goss but knowing someone so young is behind it makes me want to back it. I totally get that she is an adult bla bla bla but at 27 I struggled to organise a good weekly shop let alone doing real grown up stuff.
    RMc always seems to be battling publicly with someone and seeking drama, claiming to tell it how it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Toastytoes

I have to agree, I think Ali is clearly a hard working lady who is creating something at a young age most would not ever dare to do. I had no idea until today who was behind goss but knowing someone so young is behind it makes me want to back it. I totally get that she is an adult bla bla bla but at 27 I struggled to organise a good weekly shop let alone doing real grown up stuff.
    RMc always seems to be battling publicly with someone and seeking drama, claiming to tell it how it is.

For transparency you should probably disclose that you are a blogger.

Apologies if you or others don't think that information is relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 ANON0108

You said what I was trying to say in a much better way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭GradGirl27

ratmouse wrote: »
    Seems like she just had enough of all the nonsense of what this so called award stands for, doesn't it? Best I don't say too much more or some poster here might get a tad touchy and go off on one .God forbid an opinion or several may be expressed in an actual discussion thread.

Oh no I'm not the one that's a 'tad touchy'. Just expressed my opinion, like you, is all. :D

GradGirl27 wrote: »
    Oh no I'm not the one that's a 'tad touchy'. Just expressed my opinion, like you, is all. :D

Good for you.

Toastytoes wrote: »

I think that information is relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

Toastytoes wrote: »

How do you know that?

She posted on another thread with that username before and said who she was. But, tbh she's not the only one. There are a lot of posters here who have direct ties and agendas with certain bloggers and relevant affiliations involved with this discussion. So, if one has to be transparent, then maybe the others should too?

Anyway, to get back on topic, all of the Twitter drama seems to have died down for now. Is it Saturday the awards are on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭scarbouro

anna080 wrote: »
    She posted on another thread with that username before and said who she was. But, tbh she's not the only one. There are a lot of posters here who have direct ties and agendas with certain bloggers and relevant affiliations involved with this discussion. So, if one has to be transparent, then maybe the others should too?

Anyway, to get back on topic, all of the Twitter drama seems to have died down for now. Is it Saturday the awards are on?

Holly was back on having another go at RM, along with Ali, saying she's going to invoice RM for the photo she used in the article! She really is getting petty now and making a show of herself. I personally think she should have left it alone and let it blow over. She's only making things worse.

scarbouro wrote: »
    Holly was back on having another go at RM, along with Ali, saying she's going to invoice RM for the photo she used in the article! She really is getting petty now and making a show of herself. I personally think she should have left it alone and let it blow over. She's only making things worse.

I know. And I'd say half of them are quietly thinking the same thing. Terrified they'd mess up their hob-nobbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭heyjude88

scarbouro wrote: »

Ali is coming off like a spoilt little brat in my opinion.

She should just suck it up. However I do think that she is secretly loving all this publicity. No publicity is bad publicity and all that.... :rolleyes:

Like she keeps coming back for more.

It was a goss employee Emma who kicked it off earlier getting Marrisaa involved, and then Ali writing to RMC tonight.

heyjude88 wrote: »
    Ali is coming off like a spoilt little brat in my opinion.

She should just suck it up. However I do think that she is secretly loving all this publicity. No publicity is bad publicity and all that.... :rolleyes:

Just saw her tweets there. Ya, she needs to stop, but equally all the minions need to stop as well. Nobody is looking particularly well right now, IMO.

Ali had this on snapchat. She is clearly seeking the attention now. By directing people to her Twitter , they will see her tweeting RMC about that photo.

She is just as bad. Being bitchy and getting other people to get involved . She should follow her own advise and not being women down :p

However I do think that she is secretly loving all this publicity. No publicity is bad publicity and all that.... :rolleyes:

In fairness, you could say the same about both sides. It's been dealt with badly by all parties, but don't think for a second that Rosemary isn't loving the publicity too- which is fine, maybe that's what she was hoping for. So she either got the reaction she wanted, or if not, it was very naive of her to think it wouldn't be received well. Either way, it was never going to end well.

I think at this stage they should all just agree to disagree and move on, as no one is coming out well from this.

Ali had this on snapchat. She is clearly seeking the attention now. By directing people to her Twitter , they will see her tweeting RMC about that photo.

She is just as bad. Being bitchy and getting other people to get involved . She should follow her own advise and not being women down :p
    There is no such thing as bad publicity. I'm sure it will increase the traffic to website too, not just to Twitter. And maybe sell a ticket or two if they are not sold out. This thing is still going on because it's in everyone's interest to keep it going.

In fairness, you could say the same about both sides. It's been dealt with badly by all parties, but don't think for a second that Rosemary isn't loving the publicity too- which is fine, maybe that's what she was hoping for. So she either got the reaction she wanted, or if not, it was very naive of her to think it wouldn't be received well. Either way, it was never going to end well.

I think at this stage they should all just agree to disagree and move on, as no one is coming out well from this.
    meeeeh wrote: »
    There is no such thing as bad publicity. I'm sure it will increase the traffic to website too, not just to Twitter. And maybe sell a ticket or two if they are not sold out. This thing is still going on because it's in everyone's interest to keep it going.

Everyones interest is still in because that Ali woman is like a dog with a bone. First getting her staff to respond to Marissa Carters tweet from yesterday. Like Rosemary didn't respond to that untill a goss employee wrote something and tagged her under it. Ali then tweeted her personally about the photo. So in my opinion, its the Goss team who are keeping it going.

Rosemary has continued to post blogs etc, while the others are going out of their way to concentrate on dragging her back into it looking for a response off her. Now, she is responding so i'm sure she is only just as happy to oblige them for the hits etc. Both are loving it I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,766 ✭✭✭GingerLily

I went to an all girls secondary school and it wasn't even this b*tchy. It's shocking !!!