Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

rangler1 wrote: »
    , Went to see Keith Barry in Athlone last night, He's unbelieveable, even a bit disturbing at times.
    It's a brave person that'd volunteer to go on stage with him.
    Very good show,

Saw him in Galway just after Xmas. Very good. Wouldn't fancy playing poker with him.
    Would love to know how he does it.

I see from the news, GB is going hard on brexit. they were also having discussions with New Zealand.
    Guess where their cheap meat (lamb and beef) will be coming from. The uk is only about 60% self sufficient. There's an auld law beside us who is always saying a bit of starvation in the developed world wouldn't go astray for sorting out the value of farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    I see from the news, GB is going hard on brexit. they were also having discussions with New Zealand.
    Guess where their cheap meat (lamb and beef) will be coming from. The uk is only about 60% self sufficient. There's an auld law beside us who is always saying a bit of starvation in the developed world wouldn't go astray for sorting out the value of farmers.

What does hard on brexit mean as to going solftly??

Are they just going to pull the plug and see what happens

naughto wrote: »
    What does hard on brexit mean as to going solftly??

Are they just going to pull the plug and see what happens

Basically, leave the common market and the customs union. Big issue for us with exports and a trump style wall around the north:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Anyone looking at the dancing with the Stars? I know it's frowned upon to comment on a a persons skin colour but good god the gay ittenarant looks like He washed his head with Cresote!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Willfarman wrote: »
    Anyone looking at the dancing with the Stars? I know it's frowned upon to comment on a a persons skin colour but good god the gay ittenarant looks like He washed his head with Cresote!
    He was asked during the week to tone it down, this was his reply :rolleyes:

whelan2 wrote: »
    Daughter i s 13 today. She had 2 friends over for a sleepover last night. Great listening to the giggling and laughing from them. Not a worry in the world.
    over tired, cranky teenager here this evening :rolleyes: ( that's the daughter , not me)

whelan2 wrote: »
    He was asked during the week to tone it down, this was his reply :rolleyes:

It part of his culture sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Basically, leave the common market and the customs union. Big issue for us with exports and a trump style wall around the north:eek:

Tough side first in negotiations.

If you want to sell a horse or cow for 500.
    You don't offer it for 1 and expect to get 500.
    You offer it for 1000 and you might have a chance.

It's a game of poker or like union negotiations............

Edit: it's a bit creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Willfarman wrote: »

Did you never notice that lads that worked all their lives at the oul tar-mac would be brown as a berry?
    Dunno if its the higher level of sunshine in the "Home Counties" or a result of working with the tar.

Although that lad hardly ever saw a tarmac rake up close...... :D

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Did you never notice that lads that worked all their lives at the oul tar-mac would be brown as a berry?
    Dunno if its the higher level of sunshine in the "Home Counties" or a result of working with the tar.

Well now a gay traveller Blackman.. The poor aul divil is ticking every discrimination box available..

oh asked was he a coal man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Those of ye in the know, what's the crac with those LLC contracts ?

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Tough side first in negotiations.

If you want to sell a horse or cow for 500.
    You don't offer it for 1 and expect to get 500.
    You offer it for 1000 and you might have a chance.

It's a game of poker or like union negotiations............

Edit: it's a bit creepy.

Ah I know, but what if the other side doesn't want to buy regardless of price. The Eu does not want a run of leavers. Basically leaves us screwed in the middle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I'm looking forward to it. Never waste a crisis. I'll be over and back across the border almost every week with work. So i'll make hay when the sun shines

Ah I know, but what if the other side doesn't want to buy regardless of price. The Eu does not want a run of leavers. Basically leaves us screwed in the middle

That's it. The EU I think is really getting too big for it's boots.

I was watching one of the political programmes, Brussels report or something?
    Anyway you had Brian Hayes the muppet on telling the interviewer that there should be tougher sanctions on Russia that it didn't go far enough.

Easy know that he's not a European farmer looking to trade with Russia.
    They're off their head on ego and power.

Could Agribusinesses who operate in both jurisdictions not just channel their sales through their UK arm?
    It might be a chance to royally (no pun intended) screw their suppliers, but its what the FDI outfits have been doing for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Could Agribusinesses who operate in both jurisdictions not just channel their sales through their UK arm?
    It might be a chance to royally (no pun intended) screw their suppliers, but its what the FDI outfits have been doing for decades.

That's the big question. U.K. Feed compounders like Thompsons in Belfast have customers in Meath and further afield and they possibly will be forced to go through an EU import protocol for every delivery to the south. And likely the reverse would be put in place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

ganmo wrote: »
    Those of ye in the know, what's the crac with those LLC contracts ?

All the advice I have seen has said not to sign until you get legal advice. They're claiming rights to cattle and what can be done with them that hasn't existed up to now.

I see LIC are counter counterattacking now with public meetings going to be held all over the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

didnt see ground this dry at this time of the year for a very long time. Sprad slurry in fields over the past two days in fields I wouldn't never have dreamed of doing at this time of the year. My biggest problem now is that I will nearly have all the slurry spread and nothing left for the rest of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I see LIC are counter counterattacking now with public meetings going to be held all over the country.
    They stand to lose a big chunk of market share and are attempting to mind their business, I'd say. I was planning to buy a share of straws off them for heifers this year but only under the understanding that I actually own the calves from the straws bought from them.

None of mine would be going to AI or stud but if they can claim the rights to bulls, what's stopping them claiming the rights to the heifers also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Another job for us so

None of mine would be going to AI or stud but if they can claim the rights to bulls, what's stopping them claiming the rights to the heifers also?
    I don't know I couldn't tell you.

I hope they don't get away with it though.
    Don't you know what's going to happen at these meetings.
    They're going to try and encourage everyone to pay/join the co-op and reap the reward from their business. Wait and see.

Edit: It'll be if your not in you can't win and the silly farmer will join.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Another job for us so

His a pity yiz sold off all yer Border Counties barracks. With everyone fit in Finnar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

What is a LIC contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Base price wrote: »
    What is a LIC contract?

, it was revealed that New Zealand-based breeding company LIC will be requiring farmers to sign a contract this spring before purchasing semen and if they don’t, they are not allowed to purchase semen.

The contract would preclude farmers selling LIC-bred animals to other AI companies for the purposes of producing semen for a period of five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Reggie. wrote: »
    Another job for us so

Didnt know u were a block layer as well Reggie. ; )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

, it was revealed that New Zealand-based breeding company LIC will be requiring farmers to sign a contract this spring before purchasing semen and if they don’t, they are not allowed to purchase semen.

The contract would preclude farmers selling LIC-bred animals to other AI companies for the purposes of producing semen for a period of five years.
    I would have thought that there was plenty of Irish, UK, EU companies supplying semen without requiring anyone signing a contract.
    Methinks these kiwis are trying to punch above their weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

His a pity yiz sold off all yer Border Counties barracks. With everyone fit in Finnar?

Telling ya. That will bite them in the arse yet.