Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• 12-07-2016 12:48AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭

Have a real pet of shorhorn cow that was not meant to be calving at this time of year. However, a neighbour's angus bull did not think this was that good of an idea and visited her one day. The union was 'blessed' :)
    Had her in wee plot beside the house with a couple of fat cows as her time was near up. She was sick to calve at 10pm last night. Just in after checking on her and her standing there proud as punch with two heifer calves and the dry cows looking on as well. Something nice about looking at a cow with newborn twin calves at 1.30 in the morning. :)

Now should I give 1 of these calves to my neighbour?? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Fcuk turf, timber timber timber

Have timber aswell just to be sure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Suckler

Everywhere I look around here there's timber to be sawn for burning. I need another shed just to store it if get it all cut up though.

Suckler wrote: »
    Everywhere I look around here there's timber to be sawn for burning. I need another shed just to store it if get it all cut up though.

Yeah the auld storms were very obliging in that regard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,501 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

@Whelan..... Six year ago today.
    Happy anniversary.

Signed,
    Joe Sheridan

:-) :-)
    Eldest lad actually said that to me earlier yesterday.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah the auld storms were very obliging in that regard
    Offered a few trees that had blown down here to a few lads ages ago and the trees are still there, seems to be too much work for some people, maybe they want me to cut them up ad deliver them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I save my mothers and my turf. Two brothers order a trailer every year and play a game of chicken so I end having to save theirs also to save my ears from listening to the mother.

One brought out his turf on sat without me and was a hero for doing it. I just have mine left to bring out.

I have about four years turf saved for my mother and same for ourselves so might not bother next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Just got rang there Glas inspection in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Have you choosen LIPP? I presume you obeyed the rules i.e. not topping tiill AFTER the 15th. Get impression there'll be a lot of inspections around the relevant dates

Yeah definitely the temptation was huge to top in the last week the rain at the weekend put a stop to any thoughts on topping around the headlands even I be in some ****e now if I did

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,811 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

They don't give much notice. If you can't be there do they come anyway?

blue5000 wrote: »

Not really. So many bitter people:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

It's one of those weeks where everything comes up at once and it's only tuesday.:eek:

the biggest problem with this part time farming lark is the day job(s) gets in the way of the farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Not really. So many bitter people:confused:
    Mainly one guy trying to brag about his long working hours, and his income.

They don't give much notice. If you can't be there do they come anyway?

Not sure in that didn't try and put them off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭mayota

Are you Glas 1 or Glas 2 ?

mayota wrote: »
    Are you Glas 1 or Glas 2 ?

Glas 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Glas 1
    Good luck.

You won't need it but good luck anyway:)

Very original thread title, alot of thought went in to that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    Very original thread title, alot of thought went in to that :)

Brain fart so I have no idea what to call it. :o

Any better? :D

Kovu wrote: »
    Any better? :D

Have to do I suppose considering who's at the helm :P

I know, sure will I get the cat in here? He might do better :p

Not that murderous feline

My little snookums? He's not murderous, just a tad homicidal. It's like cuddling a teddy bear with razorblades sellotaped to it.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Mainly one guy trying to brag about his long working hours, and his income.

There is also the woman offended by farmers not dressing for the workplace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,578 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Don't forget to fill in your Glas booklet with what actions you have carried out so far.

Base price wrote: »
    Don't forget to fill in your Glas booklet with what actions you have carried out so far.

Cheers for that never thought of it

I need a battery fencer, looking for one round €150 or lower. Needs to reach maybe 3/4 of a km max far away but ring around 3 acres. B20 is €125.10 on agridirect, that any good or am I pissing in the wind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

good luck

or am I pissing in the wind?

Such language from a lady

I have the vocabulary of a well educated sailor.

That I have no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Put some thought into going to new zealand think ill defer it until next year as i was out working abroad all last winter missed a good few 21sts and theres a few more coming up this winter too think ill try just to improve what skills i have at the moment and try learn more new skills over this winter too but thanks for the advice lads

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭visatorro

Jaysus I'd nearly dread a 21St Now at this stage of my career. Drunkenness, loud music, late nights. Tea and bed early suits me better now!!!! Dunno whether that's a good thing or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

visatorro wrote: »
    Jaysus I'd nearly dread a 21St Now at this stage of my career. Drunkenness, loud music, late nights. Tea and bed early suits me better now!!!! Dunno whether that's a good thing or not.

As i much as i dread the hangover after a 21st im sure as hell dreading the whole tea and bed early notions!!!

Better living everyone

As i much as i dread the hangover after a 21st im sure as hell dreading the whole tea and bed early notions!!!

Oh it ain't as bad as ya think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭visatorro

Your right keep at it while your able! Not being a party pooper because I love drink and socialising, but young people nowadays seem to be twice as bad as I ever was. As I Said before maybe I'm just getting old. Just hear conversations now about how everyone was mental and I don't know how I got home etc. There's more to life than not remembering where you were the previous night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How did it go?

visatorro wrote: »
    Your right keep at it while your able! Not being a party pooper because I love drink and socialising, but young people nowadays seem to be twice as bad as I ever was. As I Said before maybe I'm just getting old. Just hear conversations now about how everyone was mental and I don't know how I got home etc. There's more to life than not remembering where you were the previous night.

I got a reminder on Saturday how it's not a bad thing to change as you get older. I don't go out that often but I went down to my local on Saturday night for this big fundraiser. I met the girls I'm still friends with and a group of lads we would have hung around with or shifted or whatever 20 years ago. These lads still drink there every weekend without fail. At some point in the night a cousin of one of the lads comes up to me to see if I would say yes if the cousin asked me to dance.
    We are all in our late 30's:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

I got a reminder on Saturday how it's not a bad thing to change as you get older. I don't go out that often but I went down to my local on Saturday night for this big fundraiser. I met the girls I'm still friends with and a group of lads we would have hung around with or shifted or whatever 20 years ago. These lads still drink there every weekend without fail. At some point in the night a cousin of one of the lads comes up to me to see if I would say yes if the cousin asked me to dance.
    We are all in our late 30's:D

Thanks! Got a great laugh from your post!! :pac:
    That's the kinda craic that went on when I was about 16.....a long time ago....but Oh the memories!!

Parishlad wrote: »
    Thanks! Got a great laugh from your post!! :pac:
    That's the kinda craic that went on when I was about 16.....a long time ago....but Oh the memories!!

I laughed about it later too, but felt a bit sorry for him at the same time.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

I laughed about it later too, but felt a bit sorry for him at the same time.
    :o

Ah yeah, it's a little bit sad for lads of that age to have to be at that carry on.

Muckit wrote: »
    How did it go?

Alright he was telling me that around a quarter of places will get done

before sunday?

or over the 5 years

pedigree 6 wrote: »

I didn't listen to it yet but I assume they controlled for the prevailing winds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ah but can they locate water underground ;)
    Probably, and mend a sprained ankle with lit candle while mumbling a prayer (for €20)