Lock, Stock and Chitchat a Seacht

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Iirc, John, they forecast the 3 most dangerous strains each year that are likely to be in circulation and the Flu jab is a combination of those 3 strains. Even if another strain outside those becomes more prevalent, the vaccine will likely offer some level of protection against even that strain.

And I believe there is a backup plan, in case a more virulent strain gets a foothold, to offer an additional vaccination to the high risk groups and health workers.

Which brings up the point as to why so few health workers take the offered vaccine each year?

It's a joke that they're not even making an effort to keep going in the busiest time of the year, read somewhere today that a woman couldn't get chemo this week because hospital was shortstaffed.!!!!!!!!
    You couldn't make it up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Reggie. wrote: »
    Noice

All the plumbing bits fit together. The box part is together. Nice bit of oak for it to sit on. But the bottle won't screw on. Well the curse of fuxk on it anyway!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,542 ✭✭✭tanko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did any of ye get the flu jab, how long until it becomes effective?

There is no protection against MAN FLU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,688 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    The Zombie Apocalypse.

Nope but I believe that some day a strain of some disease will appear that will very tolerant to medicine. A side strain of the SARS virus for example.

Unfortunately many deaths may occur until we get it under control.

Was watching a documentary once which stated that if the Spanish flu or some similar appeared in the United States or central Europe. Millions would die before doctors could get a handle on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,378 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

At this stage I think I should write a book on my phone stories. Had my phone in the inside pocket of my bodywarmer this morniing, got a phone call and just put it in the pocket on the front of my hoodie after. Got 12 tonne of coarse ration delivered which was a fecker to get out of the trailer, my phone is somewhere in the 12 tonne of meal at the minute :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Iirc, John, they forecast the 3 most dangerous strains each year that are likely to be in circulation and the Flu jab is a combination of those 3 strains. Even if another strain outside those becomes more prevalent, the vaccine will likely offer some level of protection against even that strain.

And I believe there is a backup plan, in case a more virulent strain gets a foothold, to offer an additional vaccination to the high risk groups and health workers.

Which brings up the point as to why so few health workers take the offered vaccine each year?

The reason I will not be getting it a lot of my work colleagues got it and where off sick for a week 10 days with the flu. I think the combination of the flu jab working with some many different types of patients/ illness and the heat in the hospitals makes that the health worker picks up a different strain of the flu that's not in the jab

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

At this stage I think I should write a book on my phone stories. Had my phone in the inside pocket of my bodywarmer this morniing, got a phone call and just put it in the pocket on the front of my hoodie after. Got 12 tonne of coarse ration delivered which was a fecker to get out of the trailer, my phone is somewhere in the 12 tonne of meal at the minute :mad:
    Was it on silent?:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I think you will have to invest in a metal detector, Whelan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I think you will have to invest in a metal detector, Whelan!
    Phone is just going to voicemail, no coverage in the shed. I am shovelling through the load and when oh gets back he will use the back arm of the digger to go through the rest of it

Found it. It still works. My back is fecked though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

Hello f&f

Dub here who wants to work on a farm, can anyone suggest how I find a job?
    experience on organic farms in Italy, no livestock.
    Have looked on agri recruit, they are all professional jobs.

thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Hello f&f

thanks !

What do you want to do ??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Mad4CHX

naughto wrote: »
    Theres a big difference between managers and front line staff nfairness ya no what f1uck I am not getting in to cause
    If will turn in to ps bashing.
    Some of us have to get up in the morning so it's only 3or 4 hours waiting in a&e and I am not anywhere near management
    naughto wrote: »
    The reason I will not be getting it a lot of my work colleagues got it and where off sick for a week 10 days with the flu. I think the combination of the flu jab working with some many different types of patients/ illness and the heat in the hospitals makes that the health worker picks up a different strain of the flu that's not in the jab

Sure there would be more off sick if they didn't get it. Don't know but sounds like a few people want to get it and get a few days of work. System needs to be badly reformed, some scandalous lazy people in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭teddansonswig

davidk1394 wrote: »
    What do you want to do ??

Im easy !
    i know nothing so I wont be picky.
    Was hoping there was another jobs page people would use, or is it just word of mouth. thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Hello f&f

thanks !
    You might try the Farm Relief Service nearest to you. They might be able to find someone looking for a worker but a lot of the jobs would be day work but they do have some longer jobs going from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Hello f&f

thanks !

It might not be a paid job but it will be food and lodging.

http://www.wwoof.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Went to check on a few rat traps. Never took a photo but a fecker set off the trap and it flung him about 8 inches away and he stil alive but couldn't move. Took a fair few shots of a shovel to put him out of his misery.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Found it. It still works. My back is fecked though

You're going to have to turn this to your advantage.

First, you need to get national exposure so write a story or ten and get them published. Don't let the truth stop you elaborating a weenie bit.

Drip feed the adventures so it seems you're always being talked about.

Then, number two, offer to test phones for manufacturers using your celebrity as a bargaining chip.

Three, endorse the better-selling brands for lucrative reward.

Four, pass on the farm to the eldest off-spring and take hubby off to football matches.

Five, use your new found time and wealth to dream up another scam using your now-extensive experience of football.

Sorted! :D

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    You're going to have to turn this to your advantage.

First, you need to get national exposure so write a story or ten and get them published. Don't let the truth stop you elaborating a weenie bit.

Drip feed the adventures so it seems you're always being talked about.

Then, number two, offer to test phones for manufacturers using your celebrity as a bargaining chip.

Three, endorse the better-selling brands for lucrative reward.

Four, pass on the farm to the eldest off-spring and take hubby off to football matches.

Five, use your new found time and wealth to dream up another scam using your now-extensive experience of football.

Sorted! :D

You put wwway too much thought into that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Anyone know any cheap new York trip websites want to go In June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

The box idea didn't quite work out......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The box idea didn't quite work out......
    Feck it.
    I thought I was heading to a gaff party at yours on my way home tomorrow evening :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Base price wrote: »
    Feck it.
    I thought I was heading to a gaff party at yours on my way home tomorrow evening :)

Better bring a bottle:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

yellowsnow-w800-h600.jpg

With the weather alerts/warning at the moment I thought a timely reminder of the possible perils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,736 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

In a butchers today, Striploin Steak was €27/kg.:mad:

Yeah that's a good €22 a kg between processor and butcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'm not surprised. Striploin, Ribeye waves between €24-€28/kg depending on the month. Fillet steak in my local independent supermarket in NCD is normally €29/kg.