Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Gael85 wrote: »
    Conroy actually destroyed Fitzsimmons. COS was switched and did alright. Our whole full back line was cleaned that day. Sure look Lee Keegan was destroyed by Michael Quinlivan in semi final last year. The best can have off days :)

He won as much ball of o'sullivan as he did off Fitzsimons, underlined by McMahon coming on and picking him up subsequently...

A serious obsession with keegan around here. Does that mean you accept o'sullivan cant play fullback?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

He, ahem, cleaned them by running to the wing on his own kickout and his hb and hf lines pulling back the field from them... Running away from your marking isn't going to cut it at fullback - your marker is the target...
    Re conroy, he won a massive amount of ball off him, won a lot of fouls too. If you cant see that stick to the cricket.

Re blaming the forwards/midfield, can I blame the forwards for the o'sheas getting 'cleaned' at midfield too? Handy get out of jail card that one... Also, seeing as one player can apparently clean two out, maybe Conroy can claim O'Carroll's scalp too for good measure?

Listen, he is a fine player in his own right, but he isn't a fullback. Less of the fanboy mentality please. You seem to want your players to be able to do literally anything, and anyone who disagrees is just jealous. Are you for real like?
    Genuine question, why do you feel the need to speak down to people on here?

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Genuine question, why do you feel the need to speak down to people on here?

I wouldn't describe it as speaking down. I take issue with people trying to peddle biased BS as fair posting. For example the logic that because Cian O'Sullivan done well running to the wings for kickouts on a big man, he would be able to play full back on a big man... In fairness, how can you not but be dismissive of logic like that? Similarly, when most responses revolve around, nigh on focus exclusively on Lee Keegan or Mayo, how can I be anything but dismissive?

I don't believe the poster actually believes that stuff themselves to be honest, and Id say you don't think they do either, which kind of undermines this talking down thing really. Surely Im just responding in kind? Maybe if people spoke honestly they wouldn't be getting dismissed in such a fashion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

I wouldn't describe it as speaking down. I take issue with people trying to peddle biased BS as fair posting. For example the logic that because Cian O'Sullivan done well running to the wings for kickouts on a big man, he would be able to play full back on a big man... In fairness, how can you not but be dismissive of logic like that? Similarly, when most responses revolve around Lee Keegan or Mayo, how can I be anything but dismissive?

I don't believe the poster actually believes that stuff themselves to be honest, and Id say you don't think they do either, which kind of undermines this talking down thing really. Surely Im just responding in kind? Maybe if people spoke honestly they wouldn't be getting dismissed in such a fashion...
    Trust me, you are speaking down. Nothing wrong with disagreeing or being dismissive about anything, why the need to tell him to "stick to the cricket" though? I'd be interested to know what you mean by that by the way.

You say you come into this thread for honest debate, yet your posts in this and other GAA threads are littered with condescension that I don't see from other posters.

Listen, if posting in this manner on an internet forum makes you feel good about yourself knock yourself out, to other people you just come across as a d*ckhead.

You can go ahead now and report me for calling you a d*ckhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Gael85

He won as much ball of o'sullivan as he did off Fitzsimons, underlined by McMahon coming on and picking him up subsequently...

A serious obsession with keegan around here. Does that mean you accept o'sullivan cant play fullback?

No obsession with Leroy. Great footballer, not bad for a Cavan man playing with Mayo :) .Just stating the obvious he was he roasted by Quinlivan. 5 Fouls of which 3 were black card offences. Guessing David Coldrick should have refereed the All Ireland replay?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Agreed.
    He doesn't have the skillset for fullback.

As for being the best half back in the game - well Dublin play him as a sweeper so it is hard to discern his abilities as a halfback.
    Id consider McCarthy a better halfback personally.

Did you ever see him play at full-back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭Gael85

Godge wrote: »
    Did you ever see him play at full-back?

He's no Donie Vaughan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

DUBLIN (SF v DCU Dochas Eireann)

1. Evan Comerford - Ballymun Kickhams

2. Jack Smith - Skerries Harps

3. Eoin O'Brien - Castleknock

4. Ross McGowan - Kilmacud Crokes

5. Niall Scully - Templeogue Synge Street

6. Ciarán Reddin - St Maur's

7. Brian Howard - Raheny

8. Jason Whelan - Ballymun Kickhams

9. Ryan Deegan - Thomas Davis

10. Gary Sweeney - St Sylvester's

11. Shane Boland - Castleknock

12. Niall Walsh - St. Oliver Plunkett's

13. Paul Hudson - Thomas Davis

14. Michael Deegan - Donaghmore Ashbourne

15. Conor McHugh - Na Fianna

16. JB Carthy - St Jude's

17. Robbie Gaughan - Ballinteer St John's

18. Tom Shiels - Castleknock

19. Ross O'Brien - St Jude's

20. Gavin Ivory - Raheny

21. Shane Cunningham - Kilmacud Crokes

22. Seán Newcombe - Lucan Sarsfields

23. Ross Hazley - St Sylvester's

24. Maitias Mac Donncha - Clontarf

Standouts for me would be Comerford in goal, that's a big recognition for a young fella - considering he hasn't quite nailed down the BK starting place, but absolutely huge potential. Niall Scully getting a run at HB and another chizzler in Rahenys Howard on the opposite side. Suprised Reddin is in at CHB thought he would've operated in the middle - dunno whether Graham Hannigan is away but I thought he deserved a run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Surprised not to see more Judes players being given a run. Their backs were quite impressive I thought in SFC.

Does Howard play alongside Fenton in mf for Raheny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,218 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Surprised not to see more Judes players being given a run. Their backs were quite impressive I thought in SFC.

No conor talty plays in midfield with Fenton, Howard at 10

I am surprised as well about the lack of Judes players.
    At one stage I thought they might win the championship.
    Their midfield was good as well monster midfielders.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Jesus, its downright tropical here in PP. I'll be over here BBQing a few sossies & burgers, behind the Dublin goal, if any one wants one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bonniedog wrote: »

No conor talty plays in midfield with Fenton, Howard at 10

I am surprised as well about the lack of Judes players.
    At one stage I thought they might win the championship.
    Their midfield was good as well monster midfielders.

Any idea if Paddy O'Higgins is still tapping away with Raheny ?

Billy Mays wrote: »
    Trust me, you are speaking down. Nothing wrong with disagreeing or being dismissive about anything, why the need to tell him to "stick to the cricket" though? I'd be interested to know what you mean by that by the way.

You say you come into this thread for honest debate, yet your posts in this and other GAA threads are littered with condescension that I don't see from other posters.

Listen, if posting in this manner on an internet forum makes you feel good about yourself knock yourself out, to other people you just come across as a d*ckhead.

You can go ahead now and report me for calling you a d*ckhead.

Im not speaking down to anybody. You seem to be veering away from the points I am making, and now concentrating on the poster himself. i.e. if you cant deny what a guy is saying, go after the guy saying it. It comes across petty.

I already explained why I was dismissive of the poster you are referencing - he made a purposely facetious point, and of course, went after the county of the poster in the process. All that kind of post deserve is to be dismissed out of hand and that is what I did. That isnt condescention. Maybe it would be if he had made a genuine point, but he didnt, and you know that too. I was just responding in kind, I have done that to a few people on this thread actually. So if you think I am a d*ckhead for speaking in such a way, then that would make all of them d*ckheads too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

Carthy from mearnog was an impressive sub today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

What price are NUIG to win All Ireland?

Thinking of slapping a monkey on them after today :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

What's this McHugh lad like?

Hearing good things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

He was good in the first half, but the second half they moved the corner back off him and Dublin lost a bit of shape after the break anyway. He was marshalled better in the second half, he's tricky though. As you know he was a lethal at underage.

I prefer Scully in the half-forward line, I don't think he's the build for the halfback line.

Niall Walsh was cruising today IMO, he moving well, knows when to pop in and out of a game.

Nothing else really to report. Was hoping to see the younger O'Gara too.

Bring a cap to the next game.

DoctaDee wrote:
    Standouts for me would be Comerford in goal, that's a big recognition for a young fella - considering he hasn't quite nailed down the BK starting place, but absolutely huge potential. Niall Scully getting a run at HB

Comerford did well, saved a penno too.

To stress a point, Scully should imo be developing into a half-forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Past30Now

I thought the Thomas Davis lad in midfield, Deegan, did OK. I don't recall seeing him playing before for Dublin (at minor or 21). Was that his first appearance?

Good to see Shane Carthy get a run out for DCU. Niall Walsh from Plunketts looked very comfortable. Kinda reminded me of Mark Vaughan in his running style. Reddin at centre back was interesting. I thought Scully played well at half back. Throw in at 2:05. 38 minutes in the first half. 17 minutes for half time. 36 minutes in the second half.

Do people think that Dublin could maybe enter a second team into the league and championship? It would be interesting to see how that team that togged out yesterday would get on for example.
    With that many players in the county there must be a lot of guys who could make it but don't get the same chance they might get elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Do people think that Dublin could maybe enter a second team into the league and championship? It would be interesting to see how that team that togged out yesterday would get on for example.
    With that many players in the county there must be a lot of guys who could make it but don't get the same chance they might get elsewhere.

Using the backdoor to start the old discussion about splitting Dublin, are we?

Mayo's third team put up a bit of a show yesterday, do you think they could enter a second team into the league and championship?

Godge wrote: »

Mayo's third team put up a bit of a show yesterday, do you think they could enter a second team into the league and championship?

Playing a second team is not the same as splitting the county... Surely more guys getting exposed to intercounty football within a county is a good thing for that county?

Re mayo, well no to be honest. We don't have the resources to do it, and we already enter the junior competition.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Any idea if Paddy O'Higgins is still tapping away with Raheny ?

I was told he is gone to London

If Dublin did split, the players from the so called weaker counties like Meath and Mayo might want to join it as it would not be THE main Dublin team per se.

Plus they would have better structure and organisation then thier own county.

Plus the rest of the country is left with the problem when both "Dublin" teams get to the All-Ireland final who will they want to win? :D

If there is not a "split" or "second team" guys who do not get the chance with main Dublin team should be "given" to the likes of Mayo and Meath to level it up a bit.

Kind of like Declan Darcy going to Leitrim back in the 90s.

Playing a second team is not the same as splitting the county... Surely more guys getting exposed to intercounty football within a county is a good thing for that county?

Re mayo, well no to be honest. We don't have the resources to do it, and we already enter the junior competition.

Dublin already have a Fingal "development team" for the hurlers.

I seriously doubt that the footballers need the same thing in Rugby/Soccer strongholds as the culchies would be up in arms as there would be even more Dublin teams that beat them and get all "the resources and money etc"

If Dublin did split, the players from the so called weaker counties like Meath and Mayo might want to join it as it would not be THE main Dublin team per se.

Plus they would have better structure and organisation then thier own county.

Plus the rest of the country is left with the problem when both "Dublin" teams get to the All-Ireland final who will they want to win? :D

If there is not a "split" guys who do not get the chance with main Dublin team should be "given" to the likes of Mayo and Meath to level it up a bit.

Kind of like Declan Darcy going to Leitrim back in the 90s.

Its not a split though. Just a second selection from Dublin, say outside the first 30 or whatever, putting in a team. Basically Dublin B for want of a better term.
    They would have the resources to do it easily enough, Id imagine, and when you think about it, only being able to select 15 guys from 1/5 of the population on the island is crazy.

Dublin already have a Fingal "development team" for the hurlers.

I seriously doubt that the footballers need the same thing in Rugby/Soccer strongholds as the culchies would be up in arms as there would be even more Dublin teams that beat them and get all "the resources and money etc"

So you wouldn't do it because the culchies would be giving out? Never seemed to feature much in Dublin's thinking up to now to be fair...

Also, do you genuinely see yourself as different to everyone else in the 31 counties, i.e. the whole culchie thing? It is something I never really got..

Godge wrote:

Like the "genuine" question about how Dublin will be remembered in a few years a so that he could get his bit in about financial advantages again .

I was thinking of going into Mayo GAA forum and asking
    "Genuine question, how do ye think this Mayo team will be remembered ?"

I'll let the genuine posters answer and pop back in with an answer that won't sit well there.

Not worth it for one though.

Stoner wrote: »
    Like the "genuine" question about how Dublin will be remembered in a few years a so that he could get his bit in about financial advantages again .

I'll let the genuine posters answer and pop back in with an answer that won't sit well there.

Why isnt that a genuine question? As for 'my bit' - you mean reality?

Listen, if im so biased or unfair or whatever you are trying to suggest, then you should be able to counter my points pretty easily. So by all means, do that.

re the mayo thread, id be happy to have that conversation with you. No problem at all. Why wont you do the same?

Stoner wrote: »

Why isnt that a genuine question? As for 'my bit' - you mean reality?

Listen, if im so biased or unfair or whatever you are trying to suggest, then you should be able to counter my points pretty easily. So by all means, do that.

re the mayo thread, id be happy to have that conversation with you. No problem at all. Why wont you do the same?