Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Even more adverts you despise

Plus there's something very inherently depressing about those ads. They wouldn't exactly have me bouncing off to Tesco to do my Christmas shopping.

Alot to be said for Maurice Pratt and Darth Vader :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,445 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Oh no, it's back :(

"Your only option is: a grant boiler" :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 32,379 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

You won't like what the Guardian's Stuart Heritage has had to say about this ad, then. :o;)

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2016/nov/10/john-lewis-christmas-advert-buster-the-bouncing-dog-a-sledgehammer-to-2016

someone thought the same as that guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

rubadub wrote: »
    someone thought the same as that guy
    ]

That's brilliant. Just brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Tell me I'm not the only one who replaces the soundtrack to the latest RSA speed kills ad with Alabama 3 - Woke up this morning. (The Sopranos theme tune)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The drink driving ad (where the car grinds to a halt with the child crossing the road) is the best ad I've seen Ireland produce in ages. The song is haunting (sounds like Beth Gibbons?) and really hits home the seriousness of the message.

it's meant to be about speeding rather than drunkness. As the ad goes the things they are looking at and singing about start to appear faster and the song speeds up too.

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Anti-Speeding-/

Though its meant to be for drivers and speeding I hope it also warns moronic "I know my rights" pedestrians who would blindly step out onto a zebra crossing with their young child in hand while a car is speeding towards them.

There was some female comedian on room 101 complaining about this newish phenomenon. I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years.

Resolute Cub1 week ago
    -Yeah I gst the message, but is that the whole song?

John Smith3 days ago
    -Yes, it's just a short piece that the RSA commissioned Cathy Davey to write specially for the video. I'd recommend anyone who enjoyed it to check out her other work - some of the songs on New Forest, her latest album, have a similar feel
    never heard of her, but she has done quite a bit. Neil Hannon's girlfriend
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cathy_Davey

• Registered Users Posts: 10,692 ✭✭✭✭blueser

That new ad for the latest MacD's burger, with that woman doing the Mexican wave on a, I think, train. That voice of hers; to quote Quint in Jaws, "Jesus H Christ".

Though its meant to be for drivers and speeding I hope it also warns moronic "I know my rights" pedestrians who would blindly step out onto a zebra crossing with their young child in hand while a car is speeding towards them.
    Not the place for this sort of debate but as per rules of the road, pedestrians using a zebra crossing with flashing amber lamps have right of way over vehicles. Vehicles are required to pass these crossings at such a speed as to allow them to stop should a pedestrian approach the crossing and allow the pedestrian to cross. Also required not to park in such a way as to impair the ability of either the pedestrian or the driver to see each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

The music in the RSA advert is like nails on a chalkboard to me, pure ****e. It goes for haunting but completely misses the mark and sounds goofy.

flazio wrote: »
    Not the place for this sort of debate but as per rules of the road, pedestrians using a zebra crossing with flashing amber lamps have right of way over vehicles. Vehicles are required to pass these crossings at such a speed as to allow them to stop should a pedestrian approach the crossing and allow the pedestrian to cross. Also required not to park in such a way as to impair the ability of either the pedestrian or the driver to see each other.

disturbing to see the amount of thanks you got for that. I wonder if you and all the "thankers" would have crossed in the exact same manner as the guy in that ad.

Now for the actual rules of the road
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/Rules_of_the_road.pdf
    Zebra crossing
    This is marked by yellow flashing beacons. The actual crossing area is marked by
    black and white ‘zebra’ stripes.
    Drivers must stop to let you cross. As they approach the crossing, they should
    slow down and be prepared to stop. They must stop behind the stop line if there
    is one and must not enter any part of the crossing.
    Drivers must not overtake or park within areas covered by zig-zag markings on
    either side of the crossing. Section 10, on parking, has more information.
    You do not have the right-of-way over other traffic until you actually step
    onto the crossing. Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a
    driver to brake or swerve suddenly.

You must not cross within the area marked by zig-zag white lines if these
    are provided on either side of a zebra crossing. If they are not provided,
    you must not cross within 15 metres of the crossing.
    If there is a central island, treat each side as a separate crossing.
    Always watch carefully for approaching traffic. Place one foot on the
    crossing to indicate that you wish to cross. Wait until traffic has stopped
    before you start crossing.

Even if that was not in the rules only an idiot would presume the car is going to stop and stroll across the road like that. This "I was in the right" attitude is not going to help when you're dead. Only a moron does not realise morons are out there, be it in cars or on foot.

I wonder why they put in "Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly." it clearly stated before that that the drivers must slow down, hmmm, maybe, just maybe, the lads writing it copped on that they might not have slowed down :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

disturbing to see the amount of thanks you got for that. I wonder if you and all the "thankers" would have crossed in the exact same manner as the guy in that ad.

Now for the actual rules of the road
    http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/Rules_of_the_road.pdf

Even if that was not in the rules only an idiot would presume the car is going to stop and stroll across the road like that. This "I was in the right" attitude is not going to help when you're dead. Only a moron does not realise morons are out there, be it in cars or on foot.

I wonder why they put in "Never step onto the crossing if this would cause a driver to brake or swerve suddenly." it clearly stated before that that the drivers must slow down, hmmm, maybe, just maybe, the lads writing it copped on that they might not have slowed down :rolleyes:

I don't think he actually said what you're implying.

He just said the pedestrian has right of way but obviously nobody is ever going to step out onto the road without checking and making sure a car is not close by.

obviously nobody is ever going to step out onto the road without checking and making sure a car is not close by.
    They do, as I said before "I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years." People crossing who should have the right of way but do not check to see if some lunatic driver is coming, a joyrider, a cop car (who do not have to obey the road laws), head straight down not a bother on them. I have seen many close calls. I very rarely saw this years ago.

I know this thread is meant to be lighthearted, but this advert truly is worth despising. The driver and pedestrians were both breaking the rules of the road, but there is nothing really inferring the pedestrian was in the wrong. Its pretty dangerous to imply this.

The gardai were also called up over a recent campaign which had incorrect information and images. They were actually showing graphic images supposedly for safety, but which were actually illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

They do, as I said before "I have noticed these idiots quite a lot in recent years." People crossing who should have the right of way but do not check to see if some lunatic driver is coming, a joyrider, a cop car (who do not have to obey the road laws), head straight down not a bother on them. I have seen many close calls. I very rarely saw this years ago.

I know this thread is meant to be lighthearted, but this advert truly is worth despising. The driver and pedestrians were both breaking the rules of the road, but there is nothing really inferring the pedestrian was in the wrong. Its pretty dangerous to imply this.

The gardai were also called up over a recent campaign which had incorrect information and images. They were actually showing graphic images supposedly for safety, but which were actually illegal.

I think you both make good points on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,666 ✭✭✭brian_t

All Ads have a target audience and that one is aimed at motorists.

Whether the pedestrian is in the right or wrong is irrelevent.

Whatever we think about Christmas ads appearing now, between the two major mobile phone companies at least Three made an effort to follow up on last year's ad. (and rather pleasant it is too) Vodafone have come out with the exact same advert as last year and it isn't all that memorable. Still, I suppose I should be thankful it isn't Sue the pig dressed up for Christmas

flazio wrote: »
    Whatever we think about Christmas ads appearing now, between the two major mobile phone companies at least Three made an effort to follow up on last year's ad. (and rather pleasant it is too) Vodafone have come out with the exact same advert as last year and it isn't all that memorable. Still, I suppose I should be thankful it isn't Sue the pig dressed up for Christmas

I could think of many lovely dressings you could dress Sue in. That would be an ideal Christmas dinner for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

The cheeseiest ad I have ever seen is running on ITV3. The one where older folk are encouraged to phone up to enquire about life insurance and 'get a free pen'. The old dears in the ad are over the moon about this pen, endorsed by Michael Parkinson. Absolute patronising s***e.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

I don't know if it's on television but there's an add I've seen in the cinema a couple of times recently that drives me up the wall. It's the Ethiad Airlines one with Jennifer Anniston. She's up in Club Class and some obnoxious kid starts hassling her so she brings the little b0llox back to his moronic parents. All the while this little fcker is droning on about carrot juice and becoming a pilot. And the coup de grace is that the kid can't pronounce his 'Rs'.

If it was on TV at least I could turn it off but in the cinema I'm stuck like Alex at the end of A Clockwork Orange.

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    I don't know if it's on television but there's an add I've seen in the cinema a couple of times recently that drives me up the wall. It's the Ethiad Airlines one with Jennifer Anniston. She's up in Club Class and some obnoxious kid starts hassling her so she brings the little b0llox back to his moronic parents. All the while this little fcker is droning on about carrot juice and becoming a pilot. And the coup de grace is that the kid can't pronounce his 'Rs'.

If it was on TV at least I could turn it off but in the cinema I'm stuck like Alex at the end of A Clockwork Orange.

I've been meaning to post that, great shout!

I found it particularly odd given Aniston's recent comments that she hates being spoken of in terms of her not being a mother. This is a clearly a ploy by the marketing of Etihad with that angle as Aniston in the maternal role, one she hams up pretty well too I might add.

This is after the kid brings her back towards the parents area, and rather than the Dad going all wide eyed with Aniston both himself and the mother clear off, leaving Aniston to look after the kids!

Fairly sure it's Emirates not Etihad lads.

Spent a lot of today on the Rte player. I don't understand the Tesco ad with the kid and the letter. It doesn't make me want to go to Tesco. You barely know it's Tesco except for the logo at the end. And that caffeine shampoo ad with your one from fifth gear. Hate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭ollaetta

madmaggie wrote: »
    The cheeseiest ad I have ever seen is running on ITV3. The one where older folk are encouraged to phone up to enquire about life insurance and 'get a free pen'. The old dears in the ad are over the moon about this pen, endorsed by Michael Parkinson. Absolute patronising s***e.

Been off work lately following surgery and not being very mobile watch some of the dreaded daytime TV. I never realised how many awful patronising ads are on targetted at the older age group. If I see another ad offering funeral costs insurance I'll scream.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Kid in the Aldi ad with Paul O Connell takes the most annoying kid in an ad crown from the one in the AIB or BOI one :mad:

I blame the parents.

I'm fairly sure the dad in that ad even thinks the young lad is a complete tool. Gives him a couple of scorpy looks when he's talking bag at the breakfast table and again walking from the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

To some, this might seem like a weird reason to hate an ad, but I cringe during Santander's latest UK ad showing Jenson Button picking out "Speedline Racer 2016" for Mr. Average Joe in a video game shop. Seriously, not one person on their advertising department could think of a better name for a racing game than bloody "Speedline Racer"?!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I don't know if this counts as an ad, but the trailer for the toy show is really wrecking my head. Tubridy is bad enough, but "cute" kid voice at the end drives me insane.

ollaetta wrote: »
    Been off work lately following surgery and not being very mobile watch some of the dreaded daytime TV. I never realised how many awful patronising ads are on targetted at the older age group. If I see another ad offering funeral costs insurance I'll scream.

Your not a 'loan'......This is a loooooaaaannnn :D

Grrr those payday loan companies really grate me with their 1000% apr :mad:
    Parasitic b@stards.

Christ that Samsung VR ad. 'Ive got something right here for you'.... Christ above. With Samsungs recent record the phone would probably explode and burn your eyes right out of their sockets

• Registered Users Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭MOH

To some, this might seem like a weird reason to hate an ad, but I cringe during Santander's latest UK ad showing Jenson Button picking out "Speedline Racer 2016" for Mr. Average Joe in a video game shop. Seriously, not one person on their advertising department could think of a better name for a racing game than bloody "Speedline Racer"?!

It must be the same ad I was only half watching over the weekend where someone is picking out a game. One of the other ones on the shelf is "Kickball 9" :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

The Tesco ads with the letters, 'tanks mam for the stuffing' annoy me. I don't even know or care why these people are writing letters or how it relates to Tesco.

LynnGrace wrote: »
    The Tesco ads with the letters, 'tanks mam for the stuffing' annoy me. I don't even know or care why these people are writing letters or how it relates to Tesco.

Exactly. It's a cynical ploy to use Christmas to make these guys looks like soft, cuddly companies instead of viewing people as cash cows.