Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Even more adverts you despise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Fairly sure it's Emirates not Etihad lads.

Spent a lot of today on the Rte player. I don't understand the Tesco ad with the kid and the letter. It doesn't make me want to go to Tesco. You barely know it's Tesco except for the logo at the end. And that caffeine shampoo ad with your one from fifth gear. Hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭ollaetta

madmaggie wrote: »
    The cheeseiest ad I have ever seen is running on ITV3. The one where older folk are encouraged to phone up to enquire about life insurance and 'get a free pen'. The old dears in the ad are over the moon about this pen, endorsed by Michael Parkinson. Absolute patronising s***e.

Been off work lately following surgery and not being very mobile watch some of the dreaded daytime TV. I never realised how many awful patronising ads are on targetted at the older age group. If I see another ad offering funeral costs insurance I'll scream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Kid in the Aldi ad with Paul O Connell takes the most annoying kid in an ad crown from the one in the AIB or BOI one :mad:

I blame the parents.

I'm fairly sure the dad in that ad even thinks the young lad is a complete tool. Gives him a couple of scorpy looks when he's talking bag at the breakfast table and again walking from the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

To some, this might seem like a weird reason to hate an ad, but I cringe during Santander's latest UK ad showing Jenson Button picking out "Speedline Racer 2016" for Mr. Average Joe in a video game shop. Seriously, not one person on their advertising department could think of a better name for a racing game than bloody "Speedline Racer"?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

I don't know if this counts as an ad, but the trailer for the toy show is really wrecking my head. Tubridy is bad enough, but "cute" kid voice at the end drives me insane.

ollaetta wrote: »
    Been off work lately following surgery and not being very mobile watch some of the dreaded daytime TV. I never realised how many awful patronising ads are on targetted at the older age group. If I see another ad offering funeral costs insurance I'll scream.

Your not a 'loan'......This is a loooooaaaannnn :D

Grrr those payday loan companies really grate me with their 1000% apr :mad:
    Parasitic b@stards.

Christ that Samsung VR ad. 'Ive got something right here for you'.... Christ above. With Samsungs recent record the phone would probably explode and burn your eyes right out of their sockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭MOH

To some, this might seem like a weird reason to hate an ad, but I cringe during Santander's latest UK ad showing Jenson Button picking out "Speedline Racer 2016" for Mr. Average Joe in a video game shop. Seriously, not one person on their advertising department could think of a better name for a racing game than bloody "Speedline Racer"?!

It must be the same ad I was only half watching over the weekend where someone is picking out a game. One of the other ones on the shelf is "Kickball 9" :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

The Tesco ads with the letters, 'tanks mam for the stuffing' annoy me. I don't even know or care why these people are writing letters or how it relates to Tesco.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

LynnGrace wrote: »
    The Tesco ads with the letters, 'tanks mam for the stuffing' annoy me. I don't even know or care why these people are writing letters or how it relates to Tesco.

Exactly. It's a cynical ploy to use Christmas to make these guys looks like soft, cuddly companies instead of viewing people as cash cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

ligerdub wrote: »
    Exactly. It's a cynical ploy to use Christmas to make these guys looks like soft, cuddly companies instead of viewing people as cash cows.

Yep, lots go for these sentimental tear jerky ads. Last I saw was for 3, some girl with a sick pet cloud.

LynnGrace wrote: »

Worse is the Dunnes Xmas Ad. I keep waiting for Republic of Telly to do a X rated parody of it.

"He walked through the streets looking in all the windows and never had he felt such joy before. John was new to voyeurism but it gave him a real thrill. There was Biddy O'SUllivan in her pink frillies. And Tina Murphy trying on her christmas knickers.."

I exagerate a bit, but a guy feeling "immense joy" from looking in the windows is a bit creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tesco s aunty Bridget ad.Need I say anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

That Grant boiler ad. It's shockingly bad.

"Thank you Grandad for this basic necessity of heat that my failure of a father couldn't provide".

NufcNavan wrote: »
    That Grant boiler ad. It's shockingly bad.

"Thank you Grandad for this basic necessity of heat that my failure of a father couldn't provide".
    The smug granny in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

The smug granny in the background.

Never mind the granny. The granddad lording it in his warm home is enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Worse is the Dunnes Xmas Ad. I keep waiting for Republic of Telly to do a X rated parody of it.

"He walked through the streets looking in all the windows and never had he felt such joy before. John was new to voyeurism but it gave him a real thrill. There was Biddy O'SUllivan in her pink frillies. And Tina Murphy trying on her christmas knickers.."

I exagerate a bit, but a guy feeling "immense joy" from looking in the windows is a bit creepy.

Yes, I was less than overjoyed to see that creepy ad return.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 deathsquadbrat

That f***ing eir ad with them stupid kids singing that "hummmanawnamawhumannamaw" Ugh drives me up the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,501 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The ad for the new Gaiety Panto.

The "this is no owdinawy panto...." tag line is bad enough, but the Nanny Knickerbocker Gloria "rhyming" intro is without doubt the most irritating part of any advert on either telly or radio at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

So I created the original Adverts you Despise thread back in 2007, it's now 2016 and we're on Thread #2 and more than 10,000 despised adverts. Do I get a prize or something? I accept bitcoin.

Also I haven't posted on the thread in a long time. But, I've been streaming a lot of football from American channels over the past couple of years and our adverts have nothing on what's shown over there. Some utter dross.

Anyone recognise this guy?

2016-chevrolet-silverado-mobile-office-large-9.jpg?w=676

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Potsch Boyd? Criminal Minds.

Potsch_Boyd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,159 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Yeah I Googled him last night, that's him. He does a load of ads for Chevrolet in America, running these fake focus groups that they claim are real. They're abysmal.

So I created the original Adverts you Despise thread back in 2007, it's now 2016 and we're on Thread #2 and more than 10,000 despised adverts. Do I get a prize or something? I accept bitcoin.

I started this thread. Should we split the prize?

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Luis21

The kid in the Eithad airways ad with Anniston.

Talks like a toy robot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Luis21 wrote: »

Talks like a toy robot.

It's Emirates not Eithad.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭lertsnim

That ad for the Late Late Toy Show is highly irritating. Tubridy looking like a creep and loads of stage school children. All that was missing was jazz hands. It is then finished off with an annoying squeaky childs voice.

"In just a few days time, this will be like a magic kingdom" forced smile of excitement, montage of him hugging kids.....disingenuous to the nth degree.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Luis21

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

lertsnim wrote: »
    That ad for the Late Late Toy Show is highly irritating. Tubridy looking like a creep and loads of stage school children. All that was missing was jazz hands. It is then finished off with an annoying squeaky childs voice.

Screeching Billy Barry type brats and that gobshyte making a tool of himself. Whats not to hate?

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

This rubbish, Mentos advert,seen it twice and hate it, who comes up this nonsense. It's like the kids in the ad also actually run the marketing company that made it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CN1-yvo7gIg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Edups2.0

The Chicago town ads. Ugh. What kind of eejit wants to wear those poxy glasses?

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭Auld Jim Halpin

Edups2.0 wrote: »
    The Chicago town ads. Ugh. What kind of eejit wants to wear those poxy glasses?

What about the Pepperoni Bermuda Shorts? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Luis21 wrote: »

Talks like a toy robot.
    Yeah, but Jennifer Aniston;
    001_tt1.gif

Back on topic; I see that Maltesers ad has resurfaced. The one with the blonde giving the bf the push because she saw him kissing a.n.other outside the office. What's with the bloody stupid high pitched voice? Dogs must go mental when it comes on.

Horrific ad. Let's see the genders reversed on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

This is the new Steve and Rachel/Rachel and Steve :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,964 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Theres a really smug new Lynx ad where the first thing it asks is something like "Who needs looks when you've got the nose"??? and the actor they chose for that seems to be Abed from community? Its bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SNNUS

That awful Eir advert with the heading the ball music is back :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Den14

SNNUS wrote:
    That awful Eir advert with the heading the ball music is back

Eir that horrendous cretinous company trying to stir up some sort of patriotic Irish pride with that truly annoying song feels like an exercise of patronising pulling the wool over the eyesery on some unsuspecting easily impressionable people. Can't stand their ads. They're still that awful Eircom under that flashy brand revamped bonnet

Thargor wrote: »
    This is the new Steve and Rachel/Rachel and Steve :D
    Steve and Rachel/Rachel and Steve is a disagreement on how you say something.
    Emirates and Etihad are two completely different airlines.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

My new pet peeve is the ad for TheIdleMan.com. It's just so full of itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭flazio

"This Christmas, join the fight for justice"
    Erm no Trocaire, if there's any time of year to join "fights" Christmas isn't one of them.

The St Vincent de Paul ad with the little girl, about breaking the cycle of poverty. I don't know why, but it irritates me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,673 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the new (I assume) Axa advert with idiot trope husband trying the get the mattress in the car and the wife swooning at the next door neighbour. Are they trying to pi1ss everyone off

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

The St Vincent de Paul ad with the little girl, about breaking the cycle of poverty. I don't know why, but it irritates me.

Any time it comes on my missus goes "Why did she have a child if she couldn't afford to, having grown up in poverty herself".

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SNNUS

silverharp wrote: »
    the new (I assume) Axa advert with idiot trope husband trying the get the mattress in the car and the wife swooning at the next door neighbour. Are they trying to pi1ss everyone off

Again if the roles were reversed there would be outrage but the media have the males as dopes and females as super hero multitaskers stereotyped to a tee..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Those stupid golf ads with the bearded fella going around trying to be funny, pure trash.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

An ad for catfood where the guy is in flagrante with a lady, catches the eye of a cat (his cat, her cat, random street cat - not clear). Then a love song kicks in and he ditches the lady, and moves towards the cat spellbound to give it some catfood, with his pants around his ankles.

https://youtu.be/4Dq7a4OwReE

I worry for humanity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭Edups2.0

silverharp wrote: »

I don't think that's new... but could be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

An ad for catfood where the guy is in flagrante with a lady, catches the eye of a cat (his cat, her cat, random street cat - not clear). Then a love song kicks in and he ditches the lady, and moves towards the cat spellbound to give it some catfood, with his pants around his ankles.

https://youtu.be/4Dq7a4OwReE

I worry for humanity

Dear God.

It also brings to mind this horrid Airwaves ad:

Hated the Subway Festive Feast ad on first viewing - and I can't see it growing on me. Am I alone here?