Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Gerry Adams
    Enda Kenny
    Michael Higgins
    Robbie Brady
    Robbie Keane
    Roy Keane
    Paul McGrath

Useless chin though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,107 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

RonanP77 wrote: »
    Surprise surprise Mother****er, as the man himself would say. I work with a good few lads in their 60s and they all know who he is. My daughter is 4 and has been talking about him since she was 2, her great granny is 96 and knows who he is.

Unbearable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Anybody I have spoken to who saw, sparred or fought Conor as a youth in boxing were left somewhat unimpressed by his ability, he always had that good left, but nothing else. Jab was poor, defence was poor. From everything I have been told I would highly doubt he would have been able to turn it around to go on and become a top boxer. He was aware of that himself in fairness, he has made himself a fantastic overall martial artist and the boxing training has clearly stood to him, his head movement, his distance control etc are all there.

It gives him a great advantage in terms of striking in the MMA world, but it would not have been enough in the boxing world where he would be fighting guys with two good hands, with just as good head movement, footwork etc there is no shame in that, it hasn't hurt him in life at all.

Considering he came late to the game and his boxing was never great it's amazing he has got to the level he is at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,058 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

for what it's worth...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Seriously hope it's true that he takes a year off and we can go back to normality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Seriously hope it's true that he takes a year off and we can go back to normality

Please. The slobbering masses here will be eagerly discussing the significance of whatever they name the child or brand of nappies they buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

The snobbery in this forum is off the charts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

If they do have a baby its immediately going up in weight for the vacant 9lbs championship and will not defend the nappy weight belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

Saipanne wrote: »

they were mma fans before mcgregor...it means theyre allowed to act like they're better than everyone else ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

The question is who will be an mma fan after mcgregor....

Depp wrote: »
    they were mma fans before mcgregor...it means theyre allowed to act like they're better than everyone else ;)

Hipsters, then. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Saipanne wrote:

Snobbery? In what way?

Are you kidding? The amount of comments about "slobbering masses", "blow ins", "johnny come lately", etc, etc. The snobbiest forum on boards, bar none.

The sycophancy is worse.
    Are you kidding? The amount of comments about "slobbering masses", "blow ins", "johnny come lately", etc, etc. The snobbiest forum on boards, bar none.

If you've read the thread, you can't honestly think using "slobbering masses" is in any way snobbish. You might not like it, but it's not snobbish. The fawning over McGregor is utterly pathetic at times. Like a tweenage girl and her favourite pop star. Or worse. Except most people on here are, by and large, grown men.

It has nothing to do with when people became fans of the sport. Any idiot can see that people like McGregor are great for pushing the sport to a wider audience and that can only be a good thing.

The sycophancy is worse.

See, Swashbuckler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So if he beats Alvarez, he'll hold up the Lightweight division for at least a year??

If he loses to Alvarez, he'll hold up the Featherweight division for a second year??

Surely the UFC won't let that happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

So if he beats Alvarez, he'll hold up the Lightweight division for at least a year??

If he loses to Alvarez, he'll hold up the Featherweight division for a second year??

I doubt they'd let him keep either belt.

If he decides to take a year off of his own accord (which, given his workrate, consistency and circumstances he'd be perfectly entitled to do) he really should have to forfeit any titles held. Any decision other than that would be a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

If he decides to take a year off of his own accord (which, given his workrate, consistency and circumstances he'd be perfectly entitled to do) he really should have to forfeit any titles held. Anything decision other than that would be a joke.

And wouldn't it be great for him to come back and fight for them titles again.

Exciting times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Saipanne wrote:

Ah I dunno. It more obsession than snobbery. I don't see why people give a sh*t about who's more famous, Conor or Niall f*cking Horan. And the endless speculation about babies, retirement, etc etc. is all a bit teeny Smash Hits magazine gossip for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

callaway92 wrote: »
    His statement was 'the most famous in Ireland'

I would be surprised if anybody over 60 knows who McGregor is.

FWIW Pyramidireland.gif

People over 60 not knowing him is irrelevant when most of the population, and the demographic likely to know McGregor, are under 60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,107 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

BOHtox wrote: »
    FWIW Pyramidireland.gif

People over 60 not knowing him is irrelevant when most of the population, and the demographic likely to know McGregor, are under 60.

f'ing hell

FWIW People over 60 not knowing him is irrelevant when most of the population, and the demographic likely to know McGregor, are under 60.

Please stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭nomadchocolate

These last few pages have been a trainwreck.

I can't post the Cerrone link because I don't have enough posts sorry.

I hope that McGregor can get the win against Alvarez, make history and then take a break. Give his body a year to rest from hard fights and improve his skillset.

McGregor's psychology is great, the drive to succed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

wow-that-escalated-quickly.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,058 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

FWIW Pyramidireland.gif

maxresdefault.jpg

It's called the Divo affect..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,410 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Jaysus, I shouldn't have mentioned the "F" word :pac:

Anyway, forgetting about him being famous and more about him being a class act

2w36kxw.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

Absolute gent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I dont think its to hide baldness,
    he's not a real cowboy anyway, he has a 'dude ranch'. its part of his image and all he seems to have got from it is Budweiser sponsorship. a real cowboy takes off their hat indoors, he had it on during the last Joe Rogan podcast, thats like wearing sunglasses indoors.

This reminds me of that instant classic Tweet the other day from some girl online asking "Is it actual clowns or people dressed up as clowns?".

He did bull-riding competitions as a child etc so he's closer to a "cowboy" than most.

My point, for which i was ridiculed, is that he's had the "cowboy" gimmick for his entire career but in his early UFC days he very rarely wore the hat for media or interviews or in his day-to-day life. It was only when he lost his hair that he kept the Hat on 24/7. If people want to say that isn't ego related i don't know what to tell you. Guys like Joe Rogan got (failed) hair transplants, that comes down to ego and wanting to keep your hair!

Anybody I have spoken to who saw, sparred or fought Conor as a youth in boxing were left somewhat unimpressed by his ability, he always had that good left, but nothing else. Jab was poor, defence was poor.....

It gives him a great advantage in terms of striking in the MMA world, but it would not have been enough in the boxing world where he would be fighting guys with two good hands, with just as good head movement, footwork etc there is no shame in that, it hasn't hurt him in life at all.

The question shouldn't be how good Conor could have been at boxing or how good was he when he was young. The question is how good is he now. According to the likes of Conor Wallace and Chris van Heerden he is very good now.

As for head movement, Conor does NOT have good head movement.

He has excellent trunk movement and slips punches. He's always hittable for that very reason. The first Diaz fight showed when he's tired it's the lack of head movement that makes him easier to hit. Slipping punches using your trunk is a lot more tiring than bobbing and weaving your head. When he slowed down in the first Diaz fight he didn't have the energy to slip the 1-2 from Nate and that was the beginning of the end.
    I assume we are leaving the likes of Bono, the One Direction lad and anybody more recognisable out? :) Rory would be more famous too in fairness

What difference does it make anyway? He is a world star now, maybe not exactly the world over, but in terms of the MMA world and crossing over in mainstream he is a superstar.

Fame is relative. Bono is one of the most recognisable faces in the world but he can still drive his kids to school and walk through town without being mobbed. Conor likewise. He'll get stopped for selfies no doubt. Whereas Niall Horan couldn't walk down Grafton Street without being absolutely mobbed.

He's the most famous/popular male athlete we have currently.
    Mellor wrote: »

I like Dizz, he's a decent guy albeit with some weird views and i've been friends with him online for quite a while....but that's out of order. It's up to Conor and Dee to tell people if she's pregnant or not. Pregnancies can fail, miscarriages can happen etc. It's always up to the couple to tell people, not for people to reveal it via sources.

Anyway, Conor isn't taking a year out.

Dana was trying to justify himself to Khabib and Aldo when he said there's reasons why Conor got on UFC 205. He was trying to maintain some sort of sporting integrity.

The real reason he got on UFC 205 is that he makes the UFC a boat load of money. A secondary reason might be Dee being pregnant and Conor not wanting to fight in December closer to her due date.

Either way, there's no way Conor takes a whole year out sacrificing both belts in his prime.

The story i heard was that he intends to fight in March/April 2017.
    dashoonage wrote: »
    The question is who will be an mma fan after mcgregor....

I don't know many people who are purely a McGregor fan.

He's just a gateway into the sport. Even the most casual of McGregor fans will watch other UFC fights.

When he eventually retires, the sport will experience a dip both in terms of interest and popularity - worldwide - but it's up to the UFC to capitalize on all the new eyeballs he brings in to the sport and deliver great fight cards to keep them hooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭deadanonymau5

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Those 2 lads look like they're heading to the nearest Mosque.....didn't know there was one in Smithfield :D

Huh?

That guy is a brazilian and that is Smithfield
    Mellor wrote: »
    As for who is more famous. Conor or Niall Horan, or Rory or Bono.
    I've no idea. Honestly, But Google trends in interesting

People trying to find out who McG is..
    MrStuffins wrote: »
    Jaysus, I shouldn't have mentioned the "F" word :pac:

Anyway, forgetting about him being famous and more about him being a class act

Clearly a PR exercise