Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Council house? If they won't do anything go to the ombudsman and they may be able to sort it. Getting a right whiff from our neighbours as well these days.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

"Unbork my heart..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

In my house they might end up in the wash baskets where the clean washing usually goes on the way to the line ..or mixed up with clean folded clothes which rest on the floor-drobe.

They seem to have a mind of their own but only I can get them to go to the right spots , funny that I can't get them to wash themselves like the others can though ? TA 😵‍💫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Archeron

Stupid product names.

Fair play to companies who make products that are aimed at all groups, be it legume based, vegetarian, carnivore or whatever.

I saw the below for sale in tesco and there is absolutely nothing about that name that sounds like something I would eat. Didn't they used to have focus groups or something where people would say, don't bloody call it that?

This sounds more like an insult than a food product.

1000027230.jpg
    Post edited by Archeron on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Just pot floating down our way from another back garden ...

Generally don't mind except when sitting out a bit which we haven't had much of a chance this 'summer ' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,216 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

My first thought is where do they get all those "Cheaters" balls?

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

We have one very extensive one . The wardrobe with the drawers cost a bit of money but the floordrobe was free !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

At matches etc when people catch themselves from a side-on angle on the big screen, and they start waving towards the screen, as if that’s where the camera is

Eejits

You don't understand - it's an open-plan wardrobe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Or by extension, when people notice that they are in the background of a live broadcast, during racing coverage or a news report say, and start gesturing and waving to the camera etc.

'Mammy, I'm on telly'.

It's nearing on 100 years since the television was invented, it's not exactly that 'mad' to feature on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,216 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

When you order an item on Amazon and they say

"Customers who bought this item also bought"

and you think that is a good idea, I'll get one, only to find its "Currently unavailable" or "Not available to your location".

Wake me up when it's all over.

That way you can immediately see what clothes you have available (well, you can see the piles, anyway) and by not being locked away in a stuffy wardrobe they get aired more. Plus, they get to socialise and "network" with the other (piles of) clothes. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Classic21

Dunnes Stores Briarhill, this evening. Card machines not working so a few announcements saying tills are taking cash only.
    When I queue up to pay, both people ahead of me are paying by card. Card declined for first person. Assistant asks for cash and customer only has half the amount. Assistant takes cash! and……. card machine not working to take balance.

Both standing there confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,923 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was in Dunnes one day, everything scanned on the self service and whatyaknow I forgot my wallet.

Was polite enough to put everything back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I watched a video about the woman in America and her little niece and nephew, her being pulled over by the police and then her interview, and I wish I hadn't. It has put me on a downer, what a horrible and tragic story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

When you open a bulb of garlic to grab a clove and it’s about 30 tiny cloves and you’ve to peel and chop about 6 of these fiddly yokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

The skins always sticking to your fingers too.

Same with a bag of spuds when you get a lot of small ones that are really fiddly to peel.

Stick them in a glass jar, leaving plenty of room, close it and shake vigorously, the skins will drop off on their own. If you look on YT there are dozens of tips on how to easily peel garlic (oil, blanching them, pressing their ends, etc). Then use a garlic press, instead of chopping them, or squash them with the flat side of a large knife.

If they're baby potatoes, scrub them with a coarse pot scrubbing cloth or a scouring pad (no detergent!), or cook them with the skin on, then peel them while stll piping hot, it's waaaaaaay easier.

Post edited by New Home on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭blackvalley

Or just eat the baby potatoes skin and all if they are cleaned properly. Recall reading somewhere that there’s lots of good minerals in the skin.

Of course! I just assumed they needed to be peeled for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭thereiver

Headline says celeb x quietly did something , yet it's in the front page of a newspaper or a headline on the home page of a newspaper .in reality some pr rep sent the paper the info .eg couple x actor split up after 2 years

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

TA how many fruit flies are in my kitchen this week. I've caught a disgusting amount and there are still somehow one or two knocking around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,600 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

that I bought a sideburn / beard trimmer that takes 16 hours to fully charge. I am thinking there is something wrong with the trimmer or charger or both… but on checking the online manual…. 16 fûcking hours from 0 battery to fully charged…. Ok, only about 9.5 hours to go so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

People not reading event details and then having a tantrum because they didn't follow the instructions and can't get in. Sense of entitlement from some is breath taking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People who won't drive at the speed limit even when it's perfectly safe to do so. I drove from Dublin to Donegal yesterday and I don't think I hit any of the many different speed limits once along the way 🙄🙄🙄

That's to give your sideburns the chance to grow back. 😁

[Effin' typos!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,582 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I'm a lazy cook and gave up peeling potatoes long ago; my dad always told me that the best vitamins and fibres are in the peels.

Anyway, I'm still here(even with my food allergies), so nothing to be scared of.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.