Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

Just catching up on a few threads here. Simon Harris was described as 'scum'. Elsewhere Mary Robinson was 'scum'. There are politicians and others we dislike and even despise but scum?

Scum is someone who'll literally knife you for a phone or money, rape people, beat you to an inch of your life. It's someone who coldly and calculatedly will take your money and pretend they've cancer etc. And fair enough some corrupt politicians are scum.

But the ones who fcuked up policy, unintentionally, or don't share your ideology, or you simply don't like them, aren't scum.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

TA 2 this evening!

A warning that Reeling in the Years, 1997 may be upsetting 🙈 WTF! Princess Diana's death, Hanson singing MMMBop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,107 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Got a pack of "yellow" shortcake snack at lunchtime.

Shrinkflated (probably not a word) from 6 to 4 biccies and horrifically sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,101 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Sunny south east my arse. Every time there is aurora, eclipses etc there is always cloud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,200 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

When one vertical blind falls off and you knock 3 others off trying to fix it 😡😡😡😡

Post edited by cj maxx on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,115 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

It's happened to me before, the 'loose change' credit card bill I expected turns out to be several hundred. All genuine too, just forgotten bin charges a big part. Oh well 🙂

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭storker

Astronomy must surely be one of the most frustrating hobbies to pursue in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Archeron

Oh it's Temu discount code o clock already.

And not a child in the house washed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Not as bad as AliExpress. Feckers bombard you all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

When you have friends around for drinks, and we're all enjoying taking turns casting tunes to the BT speaker, but there's always that one person (with really shite taste in music), who wants to hog the whole evenings playlist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

When I get an add nearly every time I go to a new page in boards.ie wtf and why are all pages jumping to the last post..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,088 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I was absolutely shattered all afternoon and evening, but am wide awake now, but really need to go to bed cause I've a four-hour drive to do in the morning.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,896 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Not knowing where or how bad pain will be daily, sometimes a few times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,792 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I went to a pub quiz the other night with a couple of mates. Fairly big event.

We'd gone to the same event last year when it was hosted by a minor actor/ comedian hired for the night and he was very entertaining and acted out some comedy skits and sang songs between rounds. It was a brilliant night - my table even got the top prize, but even if we hadn't we were well entertained for a small fee.

This year it was back to local volunteers being the MCs and they were very good and even funny but they spent the night slagging off the actor from last year and calling him "substandard". Between the rounds there was a DJ who played music at ridiculously loud volumes as well, had to shout to talk to people, so my ears were ringing for a day.

Won nothing but had a lot of fun with the questions apart from that.

Just thought the slagging was a bit much. Both events were good in their own ways, why be d!cks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,124 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's weird how batsh1t crazy the US has got when a jeans ad with a blonde girl which would be un pass remarkable in the 1990s or 00s has sparked off yet another culture war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭Bredabe

The wind is slowing down the broadband, so of course I have to pay a few handful of things online.

It takes so long for the id pin's to arrive and the receipts(usually automatic) to show.

Now I've gotten a grownup toddler badgering me to confirm this and that is paid when 1. it can take 48 hours, 2. I cant say its paid or not bc the wind is delaying everything. Ta "Is it paid yet" in the tone of "Are we there yet"? endlessly.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,730 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

edit: there is actually an internet standard for that! [RFC 2549]

Nah, stoopid cloud computing

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Do you know when police officers in films arrest someone and they load them in their car while pushing their heads down? Last week I was loading boxes on the back seat… and I still have the bruise and the sore lump on my forehead to prove it. In case you're wondering why they do it, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Watch arrest vids from the gardai and you will never see them do it anymore. They don't even handcuff people half the time.

When they arrested that freak who attacked the female jogger they didn't even pat him down for weapons or drugs either.

The standards are slipping. 👎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Food outlets who don't have trained staff. Had a child with me in a cafe today and asked if they had any vegan cake or biscuit. Yes, plant based chocolate cookie. Are you sure it contains no egg or milk as these are the problem foods. Absolutely sure, I was told, contains only plants and WHEY powder. The protein in these foods cause quite a reaction so I knew enough that whey would cause considerable issues. I never give her anything without an ingredient list but these had none. I probably wouldn't have risked them anyway but glad the whey was mentioned. The assistant was unaware it was a milk by product.

Luckily as the child has lived with these restrictions since babyhood so at 6 years old knows what to avoid. Can even recognise the words MILK and EGG when written in bold print in ingredients since aged about 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,239 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My box of 24 AA batteries. 16 left and I’ve not used 1. My fault for leaving the box on a shelf in full view. Needed to be in a drawer. Buy useful stuff in bulk, leave useful stuff out, stuff gets seen, stuff will get half inched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,547 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The unmistakable rustle in the still of the night of a mouse.

Managed to spot the fecker squeeze under the bedroom door, so have one trap ready and more in reserve if needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,088 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I will never understand Irish drivers. A significant proportion of them seem to just drive everywhere at 80kmh, regardless of whether the limit is 60, 100 or 120.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,115 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

…and then another one or two gets behind them and won't attempt to overtake even on wide clear stretches of road.

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Or somebody pootling along and a lorry or tractor comes up behind them that isn't able to overtake, so now a long line builds up until the pootler finally turns off somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Parents who give their 3 year old the little basket trolley on wheels. Kid goes off doing their own thing and blocking the way while mammy is off down the other end not bothering to watch or control their kid. They were all out this morning shopping

For the past year or so unscrewing plastic caps and removing them from little plastic bottles has become impossible. They still continue to be attached by a string of plastic. Yank the cap off with force and you spill the drink etc in the bottle. A recent phenomenon.

20250808_210908.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos