Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,726 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Sorry to say that would have no affect on me. I hoard anyway (but not to TV levels) and have worked a lot with sceptic tanks and foul drains, so the thought of SH1T doesn't bother me.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,401 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The supposedly environmentally aware younger generations just left a pile of takeaway rubbish behind them in a church ground that they often frequent.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I still wear stuff that I had in secondary school (last century). It fits, it's still fine, especially to wear at home. Like hell am I throwing that out, there's people that go out and buy vintage clothes - I still have the originals, including some dresses my mother wore in the 60s and 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,115 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Small garden job - nettle stings, small sneaky little fcuker I didn't notice at first glance.

(There's a small clump embedded forever in a corner of the garden. Can't spray because of flowers, cut down but come back. Would one of those weed burner yokes kill them off?)

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

If that's not grounds for divorce, I don't know what is.

You'd be better off going at it with a pitch fork with large tines and try and dig up the whole clump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,401 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Good pair of gloves or a plastic bag or something and pull the feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,088 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I still wear stuff that I've had for over a decade too, and I absolutely hate clothes shopping so it's not like I'm chucking stuff that's been worn once or twice. But I just absolutely loathe clutter and the constant accumulation of "stuff", so I try and operate a "nothing comes in unless something has already gone out" policy to buying material goods in general.

Books are my kryptonite, though - I would have the whole house a library if I was let 🙈 Although I still don't keep anything I know I won't read again. If you were shìte, off to the charity shop/book swap with you.

I'd be like The Continental Op, I'm not squeamish in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,088 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I don't think the point is whether you're actually afraid of a bit of scutter, in fairness gang 🤣 Every parent and pet owner in the world would be immune if that was the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,239 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

again, people who use kitchens for socialising. A kitchen is a functional area of a home…. For food storage, food preparation, and eating in…. Nothing else. From about 6.15pm here it’s been occupied. Now 8.09pm. Might people be aware that you know I’d like to make my dinner and eat my dinner this side of midnight !? Started my lunch at 1.30 pm so that’s a long time ago since I’ve eaten. 🤌🏻

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

Just Stop Oil always wear those hi viz vests like it is a uniform. They sell them online too. The are polyester which is made from... I will give you three guesses. 🤭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,195 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I have my current car a year and I only noticed this morning that the middle rear seat belt is stowed in the roof, observant wha' 😁

(In my defence I don’t believe I carried anyone in the back,let alone 3)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

This morning, trying to get things organised at my desk while one the cleaners is pottering around my legs with a noisy floor buffer machine.

Later on I take a lift from the first floor to get to the third floor but the lift decides to take me into the bowels of the building as far as -2 first before going to the third floor. Serves me right for being too lazy to take the stairs.

And finally, I spent twenty minutes struggling to put a French Press coffee maker back together, slicing my finger open in the process.

Do you know what's annoying, in a trivial way? When you reverse an item of clothing because it's inside out, you put it on, and voilà, it's inside out! How the hell does that happen?

Post edited by New Home on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

If it has a table and chairs in it, it's most definitely a place to socialise.

The last rented shared house I was in we'd always have drinks at the table in the kitchen, never liked sitting on the couch drinking with drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,239 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Nahhhhh A doctors waiting room has tables and chairs in it too, doesn’t mean it’s a place to go socialise.

You just needed better furniture in your living room ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Completely disagree, had a really nice recliner couch and armchairs but they were too comfortable to be sitting on to drink. It's why in pubs they have bar stools and and wooden chairs, not cozy armchairs and couches.

Everyone I know drinks in their kitchen, most new builds now have open planned kitchen/living room as it's the most social and used space in the house.

Sure just go and cook your food, do you need it to be empty to cook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,499 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yesterday had a t shirt on with three buttons. Went to the Dentist with them buttoned wrong - skipped a button. Sore gob and bandy buttoning. But with clean teeth.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭blackvalley

What’s with this relatively recent fad of so many people having to be permanently sucking from water bottles . Is it a regression to childhood by those who were weaned too early from bottle or breast . One could be forgiven for thinking some of them were preparing for a solo crossing of the Sahara Desert .On a recent train trip I observed amongst others a lady slugging from a two litre bottle and later that morning while in a hospital waiting room a group of about ten trainee nurses passed by with a cacophony of bangs, clatters and rattles from the aluminium water bottles swinging from their belts.
    Between drinking and peeing I don’t know how some people get any work done.
    The only people I don’t observe engaging in this weird activity are builders, road workers and farmers. Perhaps they get enough moisture from the rain 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Rihanna's girlfriend (again)

Seen a photo of this fool wearing a pair of red Mary Jane pumps, FFS.

Just because they are Christian Louboutin doesn't automatically make them cool either.

Imagine your other half going to work to do a photo shoot and that is what supporting your family looks like 🫤.

Alternative residence ..

Forum of Games - FoG

https://forumofgames.com/

Americans on social media celebrating the death of Hulk Hogan. What sick and sad individuals.

Spilt dry ground coffee is evil 😐️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 MyOtherIDisVolchitsa

Oh that's really funny - I'd never thought of that.

Just Stop Oil really annoy me - a bunch of overprivileged upper middle class twits virtue signalling because they can afford to. Every time one of them is named in the media, they invariably seem to come from a wealthy family and have been privately educated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,019 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

When people loose weight and it's all they ever talk about.

A poster here had a theory that they were set up and are covertly funded by big oil interests. The more footage I see of them and how they go out of their way to severely piss off as many normal members of the public as possible and to turn people against their movement, it looks more and more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,499 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Not so long ago my TV remote was not working correctly some buttons were no longer working tried cleaning it etc. So got a new TV remote. I was delighted - it was only 7 Euro plus 4 Euro shipping online.

Fast forward about 5/6 months I managed to break "new" remote. Thought I would clean it and see would it fix it. Certain buttons jammed. Rubber seemed to get stuck. Opened it tried to "fix" it. Brought electronic cleaning alcohol and cloth (20 euro) opened it up. Noticed that if I put it back together in a certain way, it would "work". But it was hit and miss. When pressing the "home" button the channels would change.

The thought of having to buy that new remote so soon really annoyed me - 7 euros plus 4 Euros shipping….

Wanted to watch the Men's AI final last Sunday - fortunately when I pressed the "home" button it landed on the AI football final. I quickly removed the battery, before it moved again.

Today the remote does not seem to work at all now. Conceded defeat and ordered a new one….

But wanted to avoid that 8 euro fee on items (under 25 euro) so purchased a 40 euro hardcover book on the History of Dublin football, with the remote.

Remote due to arrive 30th of August….which is a bit of problem. Ladies football final Dublin v Meath on 3rd of August.

A voice in my mind immediately said "Might as well go to the final? So as 'not to let the remote win' - ticket for final 30 euro……you f**king eejit".

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.