Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Rfrip

I think “Jesus do they even try” hits the nail on the head. Definitely how I’ve felt the last few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Ricosruffneck

If I remember correctly in previous years installment tickets can be resold closer to the fest date.

One off 100% paid tickets can be sold now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,961 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Kylie has sold x3 the number of records the Killers have. So there's that.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dav09

I'm 26 and have been chatting with friends and can't figure out who this is aimed at. Trying to be objective, as I go to a lot of gigs vs probably the average person. Genuinely think there was a scramble for bookings. A few interested in Calvin Harris but he's a million miles past his hey day I reckon it'll go down like a lead balloon, as I said he's terrible live now if you see him. Noah Kahan, Kylie and Raye some women will enjoy, I think the only day that makes sense is the Sunday. Gerry Cinnamon and Kodaline are blizzare, I'm sure both will have a crowd but as headliners? Kylie has has a big resurgence in recent years, i.e. look at the Brit awards.

J Hus is by far the worst rapper I've ever seen at EP, all auto tune rubbish, has a very young following, pulled a decent crowd last time I think in Rankins but is he really any bigger now than then. Faithless will go down well regardless, I knew a load of people who went to that gig in Dublin 7/8 years ago, Nas will suprise younger people and Kasabian surprised me how good they were when I seen them. I seen Peggy Gou in 2017 and honestly cant remember her set, I'm sure has evolved since then maybe it was great and bad memory, think she'll go down well in EA. I went to see her 6 months ago and cancelled last second, only found out while at the venue, but it probably was genuine. Seen Hannah Laing last year and sounded like the most generic boring techno. I've seen plenty of others on the poster too but again not aimed at a young crowd.

There's a few further down, but not a whole to to excite anyone. It's just a really bizarre mix, at least last year you had a few credible acts in the top tiers at the top of their game. I'm really struggling here. I felt the Raye Brit awards thing was an industry scam, she went to Brit awards school lol. For example she won 'Best Breakthrough Artist' this year, yet had a UK number 3 in 2017. She is big though.

I wouldn't be surprised if they've booked Liam with Kasabian and are waiting for Irish gigs to finish before announcing later, think we might see another headliner or two even though it won't follow usual tradition.

It's slim pickings, in terms of credible decent music by artists not miles past it, maybe if you're a 19 year old woman it might suit, have been trying to convince one or two friends not to sell their tickets but I give up. Will be interested to see what they're holding back, even though people complain every year I've never seen it this bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭pah

People wondering who this line up is aimed at.

No need to aim it at anyone, tickets already fully sold out for months which is all they really care about. Plenty customers who will go for the event also who aren't discerning enough to chat about it for months before the fact on boards and don't really care what the music is

• Registered Users Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

This exactly. There are more than 70k people who'll happily go along to it without giving a single **** about who's on the lineup. All the bookers needed to do was get a few acts with one or two tunes the average Joe will recognise so they can turn up to the main stage and hear Stick Season or She's a Belter or whatever.

Never underestimate the sheer number of people who just love the day out. I remember seeing so many people I knew go to Garth Brooks who I'd say hadn't a fecking a clue other than his two or three biggest songs. But it's a day out on the pints with thousands of people and a bit of craic. Ireland specialise in this and it happens with GAA, music, rugby, the races even the fecking Ploughing!

I'm not **** on these people BTW, I'm one myself and have gone to numerous events over the years for the craic of it. But I thought Electric Picnic was a bit more than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dav09

It probably is, but time and time again the festival business has proven to be one of the most difficult, look how many went from selling out every year to bankrupt a few years later, not the right attitude if people aren't as entertained they won't come back simple as, and eventually the new flavour of the month will come along.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,411 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

OK my verdict so far on the Terminus line up after Youtubing the acts:

666CMG (totally crap)

Black Traffic (Sh1t)

Datsko (annoying rubbish)

Funk Tribu (Not too bad would mill around for maybe 10 minutes)

Hannah Laing (OK, don't like her vocal samples but bpm not too bad)

Horsegirl (Really niggly and annoying music, NOPE!!!)

La La (This Is actually not too bad a housey vibe)

Luciid (This is actually quite good thumping techno)

Prozak (Not too bad a housey vibe from this lad)

Shee (Nope not too keen on that)

Skin on Skin (Have reviewed them before, good thumping techno)

X Club (Also good thumping techno)

Six Acts out of the twelve I might care to hang about for fifteen minutes or so and that's if I can be bothered to make the trek from the main arena to Freetown.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

If they were a little bit more careful and selective, take x3 only names out of this poster, difference would be day and night.

Wolfe Tones “MainStage”😂, they’re most people’s 2nd, 3rd or 4th place. They played in a function room normally used for wedding in a hotel near me shortly after EP23, capacity of less than 1,000 I’d say, not sold out.

There was a perfect storm or circumstances last year, sun, little else on at that exact time, tens of thousands heading from Rick Astley after he finished.

Yeah I forgot all about bloody Kodaline, I remember getting stuck in that bloody crowd the last time they played EP, I detest them as much as the Coronas and Gavin Bloody James. I lament the days where apparently there was a gunman sitting in the wings waiting to take a shot at Suzanne Vega at Glastonbury and she cancelled her gig. It looks like we might need machine guns to take out most of the main stage performers haha 😀 Mind ya, I wouldn't mind Suzanne Vega in the line up myself.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,074 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Of course this is true, Ferris. But there's not a massive amount of the older demographic who'll rough it in a tent for 3 nights for the outside chance of pints in the sun. So you're aiming at a younger and younger demographic. 70,000 kids drunk in a field for the weekend is a bit of a powder keg and you can see the potential for issues down the line. Plus there's feck all brand loyalty there. A couple of great picnics with the lads and they move on. Not a sustainable model versus the balanced, functioning model we had 6 or 7 years ago. Anyway, good luck to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Definitely Stillill, I agree with you. The way the festival is going they are alienating the people you refer to and therefore losing a huge part of what makes the festival. If they had of kept going with a solid booking policy seen in most years pre-covid I think they would have appealed to both sets of people in our posts but unfortunately this does not seem to be the direction it's going.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Giving that 666CMG lad a listen. Sounds like something made of the free version of Fruity Loops in 1999.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭endainoz

It just gets closer and closer to the final days of oxegen every year. An interesting thing will be if they sell tickets so quick for EP 25. This selling out on 90 mins craic surely can't continue? Maybe it will.

yes I can’t deny that, but I think had the main stage + Rankins wood been running it would have been very different.

For sure now this year, the attention will be on them and ppl will make it their business to be there. (Not knocking WT by the way, I’m a fan)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Fairly cheesy alright. Yet another one of the seemingly endless amount of dj's/producers who seem to think having a hard and fast beat is an end in itself without any thought or care as to what surrounds those beats. People seem to love that kind of crap though.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

If you look at festivals in general across Ireland, demand looks to be down and/or saturation. EP is in its own unique class, the word of mouth and the exposure it gets is possibly the biggest driver. But Oxegen was exactly the same, I never would have said in 2007 that it wouldn’t survive!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭Acosta

Christ, I bloody hate event junkies. Yay! Let's put flowers in our hair for, er, Kodaline.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Ha! The two my workmate said were fsirly decent were Skinonskin and X Club!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Fanirish

bodytonic shared their 2008 line up for EP. Tents were in oscar Wilde if I remember right

Was a big mistake, that tent was packed out in the main arena, there was hardly any traffic in 2008 when they moved to the campsites.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I remember dropping into one of the tents around 3 or 4 on the Saturday. There was one guy dancing to a DJ. We joined him for a dance, turned out he was the DJs brother so we felt duty bound to start for a few tunes. The crowd never got any bigger.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Thanks to the abysmal line-up, I have two Pink Moon tickets for sale.

Can anybody recommend the beat way to sell them? Pink Moon website say they “don’t recognise the secondary market” 🙄

Id imagine toutless would let you sell them if they are back to accepting new users? I'd stay away from the Facebook marketplace and such, far too many scammers on social media these days. You may also get a PM from someone here aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Thanks. Advertising them is straightforward enough, I was wondering more about how to transfer ownership to a potential buyer.

Since they’re in my name, if the buyer is asked for ID when they collect the wristbands at EP, the staff might refuse to issue the bands to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Never seen anyone asked for ID in all my picnics

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭TenPicnics

I've sold my PMoon bookings to a few people over recent years, with no problem. I've first struck agreement on toutless with them, then meet them in person and they exchange cash for me forwarding my (suitably edited) PMoon confirmation email, which has the all important booking code. I tell them to ring me if ID a problem at PMoon check in, but that's never been necessary so far. Far as staff are concerned, each name assigned a tent has nameless other people/another peron sharing, subject to the occupancy limit booked for that tent, and the occupants just need the code. A reasonable amount of trust is required on the buyer's part, obviously, but a seller's toutless history and meeting up in person can help with that.