If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

1244245246247248250»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭rubick

(With apologies to A. E. Housman)

Smart lad, to slip betimes away

From fields where glory does not stay,

And early though the laurel grows

It withers quicker than the rose…

THURSDAY

We left south Antrim at 10.45am because you can’t trust Belfast traffic and sure as sh*t there was a queue to get on to the Westlink. Rather exciting rain and horrible conditions followed us until about Louth, the M50 was crawling but we still pulled up in Red Car Park D about quarter to four. No issues with wristband exchange, said hello to the lovely people at Eco and the tent was up for 5.30pm, closely followed by @darzog and @Kepler21. Thanks to the EP Banter Page Rock the Boat thing in Terminus we were able (after a huge feed of duck curry round at Warhol traders) to enter the woods via the Freetown entrance as God intended, instead of fighting with Security round at Transmission or whatever. We basically floated between Salty Dog and Trenchtown chatting to old friends and new then watched Pogueology on the Survivor stage before calling it and wobbling back to Eco for around 1am. All in all, a very successful opener with 75% less of the usual farting about trying to access the Thursday night music.

FRIDAY

Rain? The nerve. Thankfully it was only about 20 mins and the sun dried everything out in Eco, which was mercifully spacious this year. Our neighbours were all sound, shout out to Eugene, Eco staff and on-hand with the Chartreuse and/or Brandy throughout the weekend, usually first thing in the morning the utter madman. We’re into the Main Arena for about 2pm and as usual the Main Stage area isn’t open so we just dandered about through Trailer Park and Croí sampling various cocktails and sundries. Amongst the missing – The Peacocktails van in Croí that also sets up at Glasto Latino – another regular falls. The Schweppes offerings weren’t stellar, but creamy pints (Beamish/Murphys) at the Stradbally Inn were welcome. By this time the Main Stage area was opening so after taking in the merch stand and a pint and reaffirming that the EP Main Stage is a f*cking weapon, we’re off to These Charming Men at Salty Dog. Couldn’t find any Boardsies due to the massive crowd but what a belter of a sing-a-long that was. New Fake-Morrissey is really good value, and the band were tight as always.

It’s round to the Main Stage for Sophie-Ellis Bextor as we look forward to hear her play ‘Groovejet’. She was great, worked the busy hill crowd well and chucked in a Madonna cover. We’d the first of great stands with @bodhrandude throughout SEB. Really glad we went to see her having had far too much else to do at Glastonbury this year thus missing her set.

Next up was Nas in a packed-out Electric Arena. Just noticed today that he’s in the Olympia this coming November and based on his performance I’d highly recommend checking him out. He fairly rattled through the bars and dropped a cover of ‘Sweet Dreams’ by Eurythmics. Stand out moments were ‘It Ain’t Hard To Tell’, ‘Got Yourself A Gun’ and just his crowd interaction in general. So satisfying and welcome to have quality hip-hop back to Stradbally. Shared this with @darzog who initially scared the f*ck out of me by placing his hand on my shoulder like a Gard, haha!

Such a shame that there was an overlap on NasRSAGFaithless. Still, deciding against running up more mileage running back to Croí for 10 mins I opted to pint and, my Brothers and Sisters in Christ, your narrator got lost trying to find the bar at the Electric Arena on this, this 13th Picnic, somehow ending up at the Heineken sponsored stage. Guess I should have gone to a few minutes of RSAG anyway…so I’m off back down to Faithless who were great with some early 90s house covers thrown in with their own cuts which I think works very well with the Sister Bliss noodling/live band set up.

Next I have to trek back up again towards Fishtown and why, yes, I f*cking did take another wrong turn, thanks for asking. Finally reach Fishtown and there’s some early 90s Dutch hardcore blasting from the Heart & Anchor Bar which I’m guessing from the timetable was Mattie B. That was oddly entertaining in a masochistic sort of way, but I need the facilities and also need to get round to the Sideshow stage for Melts.

Great Boardsie turnout for this with @Penfailed, @Mucker46and @darzog in attendance. Melts were sublime, lads – one of my weekend highlights. They have just enough Joy Division and just enough New Order about them which in combination with their own obvious talent immediately won me over. Got a hug from the lead singer but he was maybe after my KLF top lads. I’ll definitely be looking out for Melts in the future, which is a great sentence.

**** hell it’s 2am on a Friday night/Saturday morning and I hadn’t been to the Cerebral Fortress yet so off I stomp into Freetown. There’s a bit of traffic but nothing dangerous and I finally reach that wee room as its in full flow. Stayed for a dance until about 3.30am and back to base for about 4.15am to sleep the sleep of the content.

SATURDAY

A fever dream at 7am as I go for a piss in Eco and there’s a full-blown rave happening up next to the toilets. Nope, it’s totally real. Have to say I wouldn’t have rated being pitched next to that, although with earplugs in I couldn’t hear it from our tent at the back hedge. Into Salty Dog for a Bloody Mary from that wee bar out the back of the clothes shop and an hour of sea and sea-adjacent shanties from The Molgoggers, always great value. Straight over to Trailer Park for some lovely classic rock and blues from White Horse Guitar Club, a pleasant way to spend an hour. Nothing from The Band this time though, but they only had an hour. After a Kinara we’re back to the Main Stage (wow, twice in one year? What is this, 2014?) for The Mary Wallopers who were fantastic, despite one of the lead singers being late on stage. Only the second time we’ve seen them and really tempted to get tickets for their Belfast show in the SSE Arena this December. Also, for those concerned about such things, absolutely zero evidence of any far-right support in the crowd, nor from the band themselves so maybe check your own prejudices and give your head a wee wobble.

Round to the Electric Arena next after creamy pints for Kneecap, who I’d never seen before but was determined to this time. A packed EA greeted the Antrim lads with unbridled joy and good natured boisterousness. I stood well back to avoid any sudden mosh pits but I needn’t have worried, Mogli-bap and Mo gave strict instructions for anyone organising said to “not act the c*nt” and everything went off as smoothly as such things can. Really impressed with their set, running from hip-hop to a bit of DnB and even a trance number dedicated to their late friend. Really glad I went to see them and looking forward to the film!

More Trailer Park action with Cooks But We’re Chefs who were alright, but didn’t grab us so after a few cocktails from the shack to the left of the stage we headed to Rankin’s Wood for The Scratch. Unreal scenes and crowd control, we were impressed with their ATN set in the rain on a Sunday afternoon, but this was next level. These guys really deserve all the plaudits and success that is surely coming to them. Haven’t see Rankin’s Wood go off like that since Nia Archives last year…

And so to the EA for our Saturday night headliner, and for the second time this year we’re blessed by the unnerving yet comforting presence of the mighty Lankum. It’s at this point as we discuss the day that we realise, not by our design, that every act we’ve seen today has been Irish. I can’t see how this could be construed as a bad thing. We’ve had a f*cking great day. Lankum fill the EA as you’d expect, the sound is perfect up near the front and the audience is listening without chatting. A wonderful set with my only gripe that I wish it had been longer.

Next we’re off to Jerry’s gaff for Don Letts. Wasn’t really impressed with The Rebel Dread’s selections, largely dub covers of contemporary pop and rock tracks. I think I would have preferred a deep dive into his record collection, we only saw the second half of his set I guess so maybe the crowd demanded something lighter.

To round off the night it’s a walk around to Croí Crescent Earth Stage for some beautifully rolling liquid DnB and jungle courtesy of Jet Li. Had great craic with a small but clearly dedicated group junglists and stayed to the death at 3.30am, fully expecting a relatively short walk through Trailer Park into Salty Dog, Freetown and Eco. Not a bit of it. I was told I had to exit through the Hendrix Entrance and make my way to Eco in that direction. And so it was later, as rubick told his tale, that I fell into my sleeping bag at 5am, Eco Dirty Disco beyond the pale.

SUNDAY

Oooft. I’m sore and violently hungover but alive. It’s Sunday and we have to front load on a Sunday, so it’s straight on the remaining cans and a chat with @darzog and @Kepler21. That’ll always help with any ailment. By the time I’m in any sort of condition to walk we’re off to the Main Stage for one of our favourite acts The Stranglers, who we first saw on the same stage over a decade ago and have seen a few times since. Their setlists are a constant reminder of just how many bangers the band have deployed over the years. We were so grateful that they played ‘Hangin’ Around’ which is a favourite in our house.

Next we’re back around to the Croí Main Stage for Mary Coughlin who was brilliant value, including a gorgeous cover of ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’. Was great sitting with @bodhrandude and his retinue for a few hours, especially for the next act, Paddy Keenan & Steve Cooney. A highly enjoyable afternoon. We make our way for food and then into the Freetown/Terminus area where that would pretty much do us for the festival. Think we caught the tail-end of Tommy Holohan in Terminus, queued to get into Birdcage but I think we were too early for the hey-nonny-nonny Indiana Jones action, then closed out the evening in Cerebral Fortress because there was no chance I was walking back in for Kylie. I call it about 12am because there’s a drive ahead and I fall asleep to the soothing beats of the Rave in the Woods with a slight smile written across my weary bake.

You’re doing well to have kept reading lads, you have my gratitude. Nearly there.

SUMMATION

It’s still the Picnic, lads. We were quite worried that we’d have gaps with nothing to do but there’s just so much you can spend time on. Sure, the Main Stage is largely a musical wasteland after about 7pm but so what? So is The Other Stage at Glastonbury, all f*cking day for the most part. Some might argue so is The Pyramid stage. Just go somewhere else, the Picnic has the options.

As @desk tidy pointed out, it feels like there are less traders in the Markets strips, and I think we all know why that is. Festival Republic need to cease gouging the traders. Every second trailer along the mains strips had a fence with the EP logo on it. There should be traders in there but they’ve probably been priced out of it.

I was honestly really surprised at how much I enjoyed this year. I know some of you aren’t into dance music as we would be so I could see how you may not justify the ticket price in that respect. That was my 13th EP in a row so I’d place that one around 11th on the Craic Leauge Table, which is a very sophisticated scoring system I’ve just pulled out of my hoop.

Thanks to all we met over the weekend off Boards and our Eco camping buddies, we go at it again in a mere 365-odd days.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,827 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Glorious stuff rubick. You'd nearly have me back at it. You should print these yearly musings in a slim leather bound volume as a chronical of the Picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mucker46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

A few years ago they would have handed them out free as you entered the site.

I'm a Rock n Roll Amputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,082 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Loving all the reports and reviews, good stuff.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Brilliant as always Bodhrandude sorry didn't see you over the weekend

Just seeing they are playing Ulster Sports Club in Belfast end of September, definitely going to see them again.

Lads anyone in here fancy a last minute The The ticket? On this evening. My missus has had to pull out. Free gratis. Give me a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

go see alien romulus, they said, there's nothing else on they said…. fuuuuuuuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

I'd have loved it but you posted about the time the trailers started rolling, hey ho.

Ah got ya. Next time. You'll be pleased to know they were deadly.

The thread dead, or any final reviews to come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Me! ...when I get my finger out! Took to my bed with Covid last Thursday and just back to work today. Floored me.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,891 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 547 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

In case of use to anyone on here, Laois Live have posted 24 photos of items found after EP, quite a few sets of car keys and lots of bags, plus what looks like a kid's denim jacket which I hope gets reunited with its young owner.