Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eviction after 50 years

• Registered Users Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Dslatt

Anyone defending these whinging yahoos needs a serious dose of cop on. RBB is and always has been a clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Have we touched a sensitive nerve there heidiHeidi??

Is it you under this story? Why are you so defensive?

These wasters went with a sob story out after not paying rent or mortgage for 50 years.

Living the life

• Registered Users Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Gusser09

The family are using public platforms to try and influence a favorable outcome so yes people are entitled to look for all of the details before making up their minds.

RBB clearly states that they are over thresholds for assistance so it's hard to know what they actually expect from this.

It's downright distasteful if they own another property yet they are on looking for state intervention in this. RBB should clarify all of the details and background before acting the maggot. It's also very wrong that they have dragged this on for so long and left a landlord high and dry if they had another property to move too.

Don't piss on my back and tell me it's raining.

If the family were offered the property on a new lease of the going market rent. Lets call it 2k per month. Would they be happy enough accepting it and staying where they are. Or is it just the free house they are interested in really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭bmc58

On the soap box a bit yourself I think.How can you assume what they spent their disposable income on?The two examples you have picked are way over the top.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Problem is its in an RPZ so they wouldn't be allowed bring it to 2k (if previous posts about weekly payment are correct). They have also had 2 years notice, they could have looked for somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

If the 30 quid a week figure being quoted is true, then what the actual fcuk have they been spending the rest of their money on for the past several decades? I pay multiples of that to live at home with my parents!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

It's not true. Just a stirrer. Look at their other posts

• Registered Users Posts: 40,179 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

maybe it isnt but if the rent has been fixed since the 80s then it probably isn't far off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Peppercorn in todays money.

The family have known for the past 50 years this day would come- they have done nothing to mitigate or eliminate the impact. I’m sorry but I have zero pity here. They should have reached out to support services years ago if they didn’t qualify for a mortgage for whatever reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭jimmyendless

Where does it say they own a house?

Loving all the empathy in this thread since we know nothing about their personal circumstances outside of cheap rent.

Rental market is in bits all over to different degrees. Good luck living anywhere.

I think they should be homeless anyway. Am I doing this right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

No, you aren't doing it right. The correct response is : "They should be glad of the peppercorn 1980's rent for the last 40 years and seeing as they are over the threshold for social housing and HAP, look to privately rent somewhere else."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

while i agree with the start of your point, i disagree that older-style council estates are a good idea - these generally lead to 'ghettos'. having a certain percentage of private developments held for state-funded accommodation is fine if: A - designed well and B - tenants are required to maintain the property to a certain standard. the problem is there is a large number (majority even) who take advantage of the current system and make it unattractive for others to live in close proximity

• Registered Users Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

I rented in Limerick in 1983 and rent of a standard 3 bed was 200 pounds per month. The rent in thistle house were last set back in 1980. I expect it's less than this.

Did someone say her husband was an electrician with the ESB. So for the last 40 years they rented and never made any attempt to get a house for themselves

Now they wish the state to provide for them ahead of ten of thousands of other in similar situation who have not got the benefit of cheap rent for at least half of that 40+years

Another poor old me sob story

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

It has nothing to do with empathy.

It's about future planning. They've been renting for 50 years ....what did they think was going to happen when the landlord died? It's not like the landlord was in their 40's and the death was sudden!

I honestly don't know how people can wander around seemingly clueless in life and when it gets tough they expect someone else to bail them out.

Part of the reason the rental sector is in bits is because of tenants like these overholding.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,377 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

How can they be renting for 50 years and only in their 50s themselves ? did they inheret the tenancy?

Long term renting in the leafery parts of Dublibn was the not uncommon, and then you had the likes of the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_Artisans%27_Dwellings_Company,

I bet there are still people renting in paces like stoneybatter who have inherited tennances or who are renting 50/60 years on a low rent.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Her mother was the original tenant. She never moved out. The hubby moved in.....sure why wouldn't he on bargain rent!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭amacca

Yep...the clue is in the name....its called renting...not buying...and some people think renting equates squatting afaics

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Get Real

Baffling. I don't necessarily have any issue with the mother who originally rented the house in 1958 and came to an agreement with the landlord in the 80s. That's their business.

How on earth the children assumed they could also live in the house then for life I don't know. You're 55 years old. You could have looked at buying a house in the late 90s.

If buying wasn't an option for you fair enough. But surely around age 30 you'd start sussing options or rental opportunities for your future

You've had at least a quarter of a century to make plans for a scenario that was inevitably going to happen.

And now you want the govt to buy the house and rent it back to you. No personal responsibility whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Is there a Gofundme yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Any ESB electrician by the time he is 55 is earning 80-100k a year unless he is a lazy hoor

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 14,369 ✭✭✭✭elperello

While I think RBB may have questions to answer in this case I don't understand how he is responsible for the mess we are in.

He and his comrades never got as much as a sniff of power and probably never will.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,683 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Barrett and his champagne socialist crew would rob the shirt off yer back for populism. They don’t give two hoots about the other side, landlords/homeowners!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Deeec

The bottom line is that if you rent a house IT IS NEVER YOURS. You can be given notice at anytime. We keep hearing from tenants ' that its their home' - but its not their home, its only their home while the landlord wants them to live there. It baffles me when tenants start moaning when they are given notice to leave - ITS NOT YOUR HOUSE. Sadly the government are given in too much to tenants ( because it suits them) and the result is landlords are selling up. Renting does not mean housing security - this fact needs to be understood by tenants!

This couple 50 years renting at a low rent and are shocked now that landlord is selling up - Im sorry thats just life and you have to move on. RBB needs to cop on and stop defending or trying to help people like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭purplepanda

There would be many far more deserving urgent cases for social housing on the waiting lists, who could be rehoused for the large amount required to purchase this property.

This family are not an urgent case for social housing, they don't even qualify for such schemes, as their income & one would assume, life savings & property are way over the threshold required.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

Well thats the root of all our property problems in Ireland now. Rent controls. Caused the whole mess. See in London now they are screaming for rent controls, but some people are holding Ireland up as the poster child for what rent controls actually do to the market. Make things gloriously better for a very few people and make the rest of the populations life a total nightmare. And with noone willing to admit they are wrong and undo their mistakes they pile on more mistakes on top making it worse all the time til you hit a situation where there is just no recovering, like we have in Ireland now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 shangobango

Not stirring. They're all facts. I promise you that

• Registered Users Posts: 23,982 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Had the fella been sensible he could have offered to buy the place, and taken out a mortgage years ago, probably at the same time that he took over the tenancy. He could have probably bought the place for a song, as it seems that the original owner was the opposite of greedy, in that they weren't charging too much rent. Had he bought the place, his mortgage would probably have been paid off by now, and he and his family would have been sitting pretty.

He would have been in the same comfortable position had he ignored the tenancy and bought his own property, instead of thinking he was onto a winner and set to pay a pittance in rent for the rest of his life.

I think he's a victim of his own bad decisions.

Legislating to deny people the freedom to do what they feel is best for them with their own property is a worrying trend. Where does it stop?

The govt. have screwed over the smaller landlord to make up for their own failures in housing.

This family have to go. The fact they dont qualify for HAP of welfare hosuing supports speaks volumes. However i do have sympathy. If it were Mags cash and the brood they would be housed for free. They obviously work and are penalised for that.

Its a strange case really. In my view they are wrong but i do feel huge sympathy given they are obviously contributors to the tax base.