Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs of Ireland (No More)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

You're the one making up childish names for beers you don't like and accusing those who do of causing private businesses with a reputation for money-grabbing to money-grab.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

LOL. 🤣

You saw the words "poncy craft beer hipster **** willing to pay 7 or 8 euro for their slop" and missed everything else, didn't you.

Clearly, the blame lies with the

publicans and breweries gouging the crap out of people.

That includes the poncy craft beer hipster wankers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭HBC08

Some of the prices in the likes of Temple Bar are silly but if people pay those prices then the model works

I'll always find people that rant on about price gouging are lads that never worked for themselves or understand much about business in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,867 ✭✭✭Christy42

I mean probably a good thing for the country in genera to be less centered around pubs. I am not saying that I am immune to all bad habits but oveedrinking has long been an issue for a large chunk of the population. If there are finding their spare time is better spent elsewhere that is a good thing.

Obviously we need to ensure that the social part is replaced but in 20-30 years most of the older generation won't think of a pub to socialise.

In fact this is how many could survive, inviting in board game groups and card groups etc. as a nice place to be able to meet up.

One point, some have mentioned closures going back decades, did we ever have the thing of paying workers at the pub (employer gets a kick back and pub gets workers in just as they are being payed)? Obviously a manipulative practice but an effective one.

The Temple Bar is clearly aimed at a certain clientele. They're tourists, conned into thinking that that's the place to be drinking in in Dublin. When they get there, they'll realise they're being duped and move on, if they've any sense.

As for price gouging. It's real.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

You spent multiple posts trying to blame the drinkers of beer you don't like. Stop trying to backtrack

Stop being ridiculous. It's clear from my post where the blame lies. It's in the first line FFS.

And in the third line, you say they've done this because of people drinking beer you don't like.

You have one hell of a chip on your shoulder about that and are exceptionally touchy about having it pointed out.

You read one part and got upset. Missing everything else. 😉

I read the lot

You are clearly very upset that some people drink beer that you don't, though.

Have you actually tried any beer not made by the main macro brewers? Which ones and how long ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,398 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The 2 craft breweries in Limerick are now cheaper that pubs selling "normal" beer.

I think you are just projecting personal bias on to the situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,966 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah price has a lot to do with it too. Most young people simply can't afford pints as a main way to socialise nowadays. But habit has a lot do do with it too. I mean habit as a socialising activity rather than a dependence on alcohol.

If they never form the habit of going to thenpub as the default way to socialise (becaise its too expensive), then they're jot likely to spend much in the pubs over their lifetime and it shrinks the market.

But who really cares if pubs close? Supply needs to match demand. It's sad for anyone who loses their job. But it's not the customer's job to create demand to keep pubs open.

Amazing how you can keep getting this so wrong.

I don't care what people drink. They can drink their own piss if they wish.

What I do care about is being ripped off and breweries and publicans jacking up prices on a whim.

In addition, I have tried many a craft beer and I know people that work in the industry too. And I can tell you they are always shocked at how much the price of their product is inflated to at sale. 😉

I know people that work for a small craft brewery that drink Guinness when they're out, because the cost of buying their own brewed stuff is insane.

So why then did you say the "nucleus" of the breweries increasing prices was people being willing to pay more for entirely different products made by entirely different companies?

Or did you make a major error in writing your post, that you don't actually believe and didn't realise you'd made?

You are going to the ends of the earth to try claim you didn't say what you said; even though you have doubled down on your aggression towards craft beer drinkers.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,527 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Temple bar is the one place i would have no issues with any pubs closing in , Suc ha rip off pints like shite and the pubs are a dump,

Infact i think its should be every Dubs obligation to let every tourist you meet know no locals drink there & go else wherein the City ,

I don't think iv heard anyone who is a Dub & decided to go to Temple bar for a night out in the last 20 years

I think lots of people would care. The pub is a great place to meet your mates or new people. It's a damn sight better than reading text on a screen of an evening. I think losing sight of how good our pub culture is is a bad thing, and TBH and we'll become poorer as a national culture because of it. There's a reason why many tourists who come to Ireland think that going out here is much better than in their own country. It's a very different and unique vibe to a lot of places.

The traditional old Irish pub is a thing of beauty and it would be a shame if it were to disappear completely. ☺️

But, as I said, if they keep price gouging, then to hell with them.

I made no errors. Publicans and breweries will raise prices if people are willing to spend the money to meet those prices and craft beer hipsters will routinely pay waaaaay over the odds for their IPA's and whatnot. That's the nucleus of the issue. However the fault still lies with people doing the gouging.

This isn't hard to understand.

Admit it, you read one line, missed the rest, and lost your shit.

I didn't lose my ****, I identified someone with a giant chip on their shoulder who gets exceptionally angry when its pointed out to them. And who has made that ever clearer with every post.

The people paying the money that encourages the macro brewers to raise their prices are the macro beer drinkers. Nobody else. You need to realise that and stop being so very angry about people who happen to drink something different.

🤣

Still aren't getting it, are you.

Amazing.

You do you lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭Glebee

Was out last weekend for the first time since Christmas. Rural Ireland, €5 for a pint of Guinness, €5.60 for a lager is just not worth it in my opinion. Its madness really. Publicans are going to price themselves out of existence soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Hungry Burger

Who sets the prices? Publicans or Diageo?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭hynesie08

In addition, I have tried many a craft beer and I know people that work in the industry too. And I can tell you they are always shocked at how much the price of their product is inflated to at sale

I know people that work for a small craft brewery that drink Guinness when they're out, because the cost of buying their own brewed stuff is insane.

Well, that's a lie.

The publicans set their sale price at the tap. But the Breweries will set the price on the keg.

So for instance, Heineken put a 9% rise on the keg recently and a few pubs actually told them to get stuffed instead of just passing it onto the customer. My own local did just that and got the taps removed. Diageo put a rise onto a barrel of Guinness a few weeks ago too, so get prepared to see a pint of that rise.

The craft stuff, however, is where the piss is really taken. I have it on good authority that certain product in a company I know people work for has a final sale mark up that is staggering. They sell it at a certain rate and the publican whacks up the price making a huge profit.

That would not be the case in any craft beer pub I ever worked.

The craft kegs were put through the exact same GP calculator. In fact you were more likely to take a couple of % of a hit on craft because you sell less so real GP loss is lower.

Again just making stuff up to support your bias.

I'm only saying what I saw and done myself from 15 years in the industry and much of that in macro/craft split pubs.

You were told shte.

Here is just 1 pub as an example. No difference between craft and macro. One of the only 2 €7 beers is a macro and one of the 2 cheapest is local brewed.

You were told shte.

If you wish.

I'm off to the pub now, to see how much the price of a Guinness has risen too. 😆

Good luck to ya. I'm off for a €5 pint of the much nicer Treaty Stout in a pub that's booming cause it's not stuck in the 1970s.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,693 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Nah, after buying a product with a higher production cost, made in smaller quantities, giving up a line in the process, they then jack up the margins to ensure it goes unsold...

Sounds like terrible profiteering to me but if Tony's mates say it it must be true.

When the price rise kicks in in my local, Heineken will cost more than Ambush, and Tony and his ilk will go from being angry at it for being overpriced piss to being angry at it for being cheap.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

You are pointing your finger in the wrong place though.

The government make 23% vat on every pint.

Staff are payed maybe €12-€13 an hour.

Employers prsi

Employees prsi

Holiday pay

Sick pay

Commercial rates

High insurance rates

Then if the owner wants to pay himself a wage he pays 50% on what's left.

Similar goes for corner shops, coffee shops, gyms etc. etc.

That's what small businesses are up against. People like you who moan about everything clearly have no idea of reality.

Edit: Add electricity, card machines, bank charges, bin charges, broadband, IMRO etc. etc.

The list of costs is endless.