Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If a tradesperson said something racist to you, would it put you off hiring them?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,777 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A personal insult is different to one thrown at someone else unrelated and unknown to you, but of course you knew that. Go pick holes somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

That sort of casual racism is ignorant but I wouldn't get to upset about it. If he said something about a ginger lad or called someone a lanky prick would we be having this convo? At the end of the day it's up to yourself but I doubt there is anything sinister behind it.

First they came for the socialists...

Have you ever thought of consulting a professional about those serious issues? I know a chap who could help, but unfortunately he's Portuguese, left handed and a vegan, so I suspect that you wouldn't like him.

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

I hired a working-class person recently and was very shocked at the racist opinions he was expressing.

Although to be fair, I did hire him to exterminate some Jews.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭quokula

Yeah I'd have a similar view - it's not a matter of "punishing" them for want of a better word by taking my custom elsewhere, but it's the fact that people who are happy to espouse this kind of stuff are generally horrible human beings and I wouldn't want to be dealing with them for too long. I'd say it signals a level of unprofessionalism that would make me suspicious that they'd probably cut corners or try to rip me off too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭Hooked

At least you can rest assured that he won't be using cheap "fcking Ch1nk" parts...

In what way was he referring to this Chinese Woman? Curious...

• Registered Users Posts: 27,053 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

What if your wife or child were Chinese? Or tinkers? Or heaven forfend, Chinese Tinkers?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

That's unlikely to happen. Sure they would expel me from the KKK and the NAZI party if that was the case. 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Maybe the tradesman said this to see how you'd respond, so he could determine if you were racist or not ?

He might not want to work for white Europeans who have been milking the poor in their own country and in the 2nd and 3rd world for years.

Are you racist if you allow your plastic waste to be processed by children in Turkey for example ?

I'm getting tired of people on the racist high moral ground when they'd go absolutely nuts if a traveller or refugee camp was placed next door to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Tradesperson. I jest. I'd have no problem having a word with them if i felt it was necessary.

Most of them ate hypocrites. Beautiful looking Chinese girl was offering themselves to him, would they say no?

Like a couple of taxi drivers I had recently.

One giving out about foreigners and proceeds to talk about his kids in Canada and Australia.

The other, a young enough fella, giving out about young ones wearing "slutty clothing " while probably trying to yank the skeleton out of himself.

People are usually gobshites and I probably include myself in the category.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

So he didn't say c*nt, he said chunt? Is that a play with the word c*nt?

I had a fellow at a place I worked once giving out about travellers coming into the store... which is normal enough. When he was talking to some younger employees, he said "I'm telling ye lads, Hitler didn't get enough of them". No one said anything. I'm not even sure if his comment makes a lot of sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭anewme

IIf you are unhappy with something, vote with your feet. Dont engage them.

You don’t really owe them an explanation either. You only owe yourself an explanation if that makes sense.

he might be a good tradesperson, but from that initial interaction, he is unprofessional so that would raise red flags for me.

i also have a lot of friends in the trades, not every tradesperson is crass, ignorant or homophonic.

My English driving tester said I did something that was very Irish during my test and failed me.

Not only was he not a tradesman, I also had no say in hiring him.

This was a long time ago, before people pretended they weren't racist.

😝

But I'm hijacking this thread. Sorry. Over and out.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,341 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Maybe he was just implying that there are a load of tinsmiths around and that there is fierce competition for work in the area.

The only person I can see linking tinker and traveller is you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭bb1234567

No tbh I really just couldn't care less . If I had a major issue that needed fixing last thing on my mind would be policing of opinions of a random tradesperson I will never see again. There are lots of racist people and that's a pity but I'm not gonna let their distasteful opinions have any effect on my life or convenience really.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

With the absolute shortage of tradespeople and the wait.. no it wouldn’t put me off. I’d have a lower opinion of them personally as a result but that would be it. We all deal with racist people regularly without being aware of it..

people go on like racial discrimination is the crime of the century…. It’s not…Id take having a racist working in my home before a murderer, rapist, pedophile, thief or scam artist… someone having a negative opinion about ethnic minorities, prejudice or ideals of discrimination regarding other demographics of people is ignorance. A bad thing sure but it won’t kill ya, rob you, set fire to your gaff or whatever…

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, it would put me off...but then I would think of the practicalities of taking a moral high ground and the reality of how few good tradesmen are available these days - as rare as hen’s teeth IMO, and probably swallow my principles and pride if I believed he or she could get the job done on time, on budget and done properly.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

Only if he was white. If he was African and said something racist about the Chinese, then I wouldn't dare challenge him on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Found that website to be a farce. Gave a poor review to a guy who did bad work in my house, never heard anything back and review never appeared against the fella on the website. Of course he had all "real" 5 star reviews.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 captain dildano

TBH, it's so bloody hard to get a tradesman these days that I'd just hire the guy regardless. Racism is nasty, being openly racist in front of complete strangers is even worse but my not hiring a tradesman because he's a racist isn't going to stop him being racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I’ve an inner James Spader that gets turned on by car crashes

• Registered Users Posts: 28,420 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

im not sure id notice what a tradesman was saying while he worked on my house, tbh im not paying for him to illuminate me nor agree with my life outlook so i doubt id be half listening

I guess the main difference would be that the woke disciples haven't generally been responsible for genocide, years of war crimes, and murdering jews, gay people, disabled people and more, just in case you're finding it hard to get the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,548 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It could work both ways. Householders would need to be careful in what they say to anyone doing work for them. The contractor could turn out to be sensitive to any dodgy opinions, and walk off the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

Well yes, except the opinion isn’t dodgy in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭JayRoc

If someone coming to my house to do important work is too stupid to know not to say "**** chinks" around someone he doesn't know, while they are paying him, he's too stupid for me to trust with my wiring, thanks.

I can't fathom why someone feels the need to pull this shite in a professional situation. Same with certain taxi drivers; I don't wanna hear your fascinating theories on race relations, thanks.

And I can't say I care for the implication "oh, sure it's just working-class people being working class. Not being an ignorant prick is solely the preserve of the enlightened middle class. Don't expect so much of the uneducated tradesman, for goodness sake"