Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I read that post as....the wife of the brother in law was giving him the boot, so he wouldn't be his brother in law for much longer....I didn't think terminal disease.

I took the original comment as both men had very little respect for women and both of their marriages were subsequently breaking up.

No idea really, goes to show how people perceive things differently.

I also haven't read the full thread so maybe extra information in previous posts that I've missed.

I think you would be stretching to call this an example of someone with an anti-immigrant agenda.

I do agree that it was clunky and I don't agree with the sentiment or phrasing, but I would be giving the benefit of the doubt here and wouldn't be accusing him of pushing an ulterior agenda unless it was a common theme in his posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

This topic is about men. Clue is in the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,429 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I accept that if you say it.

As for the rest of the panel maybe they took it that he was recommending better education for young men going out into the world and just used the idea of 12 lessons as an illustration.

You are guessing what would be the consequences if something which did not happen had in fact happened.

I can't go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

I didn't read that as being anti-immigrant, but I can see why it might be taken up wrong. The way I read it is that there is so much talk about 'how we raise our boys' contributed to this, when it may or may not turn out that the perpetrator was in fact raised here.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 21,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It was reported earlier that the suspect was originally from Central Europe. RTE have edited their online report, there's still a reference in The Independent.

Also reported that he's married, has children and some of his injuries were self inflicted. References to his physical and mental state also.

This all should really be withheld until his DNA etc is checked. There's already been one media circus about an innocent suspect.

Similar to how I read it but again, I can completely understand how it can be taken a different way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I'd say its clear as day the post is racist and you are not taking ownership here, especially as you told the other chap you would call that stuff out.

Irish men are being blamed when de fordener did it.

What part of that post did you agree with?

100% it wasn’t anti-immigrant. It was anti-blaming everything male or Irish, from Irish men to Irish mammies to Irish dinners when there was nothing Irish about this murder, bar the victim.

With all due respect, you also think it's misogynistic to suggest that most women would enjoy a compliment from George Clooney.

I agreed that about how over the top the media coverage was and how Ireland was portrayed as some unsafe place for women.

I wouldn't have put the last sentence in. But I wouldn't say that on the strength of that alone would make it agenda led.

That's not what the poster said. Their point was all the soul searching about what we are supposed to be doing wrong raising boys that are capable of doing this is possibly irrelevant in this case. You could argue the opposite point of view is the racist one ie. what the hell must they be doing 'over there' to raise boys that are capable of this. The perpetrator could be from Wales, or Omagh or Texas, the point is the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,310 ✭✭✭amacca

Fair enough, fwiw

I thought I might be highlighting something of a double standard and indeed the lack of standards in some "debate/coverage" of this incident on the national airwaves.....I think the standard of journalism is gradually declining to ape/mimic the type of corrosive divisive stuff the Americans consume and we can see how damaging that is....I'd go so far as to say its not really journalism at all it's a business model not a public service.

And yes it's a guess and you've said you can't go there but I don't think I'm way off base suggesting if Sam mc conkey said that perhaps all roman catholics needed to do a course in how to interact in our increasingly secular society it would pass without negative consequences for him...or any other religion......I've deliberately avoided naming other religions here or courses on other less savoury topics some might perhaps associate those religious beliefs with which surely provoke another shitstorm were I to associate all members of a religious grouping with the actions of a smaller subset of them and suggest they all need a training course for it etc

How do you know?

The trial has not taken place yet.

Has the suspect even been arrested yet?

I think part of the problem is that the main media companies are using Twitter as a way to 'get the pulse' of Irish opinion, when Twitter is the most extreme sample you can get. I only know a few people who would talk like people on Twitter in real life, the vast majority don't think people who hold an opposite opinion should be flogged and scalded in the village square.

I heard on the radio he was arrested this afternoon and is being questioned in Tullamore garda station as we speak.

I missed all the news today.

Hopefully people don't have this new fella sent away for life before the guards finish their investigation like last week's chap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mod note - They were probably deleted. I had to delete 60-70% of posts in one of the threads on Ashling Murphy as the comments were primarily anti immigrant, anti man (and even anti traveller in one case that I am still trying to work out). It was quite disgusting to see people use this poor girls death for point scoring for their prejudice of choice. I handed out more cards and infractions in 1 thread than I have done in the past 3 years on this site.

Anyway folks some of the comments are getting a bit personal. Remember attack the post not the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Hodger

Last summer a younger woman complimented on something I was wearing my new Jacket she said nice jacket, I said thanks and that was that no further verbal communication beyond that' do I consider that " street harassment " ? no just a brief compliment from a passing stranger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,790 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Maybe she was being sarcastic that you were wearing your new jacket in summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Hodger

Retro style jacket' I dont think she meant it as sarcasm a while later that same day I visited a takeaway I frequent the girl serving me noticed the jacket too and complimented it saying its a nice jacket very retro. I took both comments as compliments about the jacket and in no way would I consider brief comments as harassment.

Was she a Bay City Rollers fan?

Paulto Nuitini had a great time with his new shoes on, so can only assume the same applies when people have their new jacket on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,790 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

They were just pulling your leg wondering why some person would be wearing a jacket in summer retro or not.

Yeah I would have taken it as a compliment aswell.

I got a new coat last week , when I called to one of the lads , big delighted head on me, he opened the door and said , would ya look at the state of yer man in the snazzy jacket.

Me mother said I look lovely in it though, I know she's a woman but I didn't take it to heart, I know she meant , I look good in it and not anything sinister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,176 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I don't want to get bogged down in splitting hairs, but this is once again doing the same thing Wibbs. It answers a question about support for men, and one which was originally framed with reference to this platform, with focusing on women and how they have perceived advantages and what would happen were mens concerns brought up.

But that neither answers the question, nor gives support to men around these issues. And that is what I was asking about. Aside from the justification of individual arguments as to whether they are valid or not, one thing women have become very successful at is not being afraid of identifying issues and creating a voice that cannot be ignored.

I don't really buy the suggestion that previous gains were achieved as an outcome of whataboutery as that implies a simplistic motivation for calling for change. Is/was the desire to have equal access, opportunities, representation only being done because others have or so as to maximise the potential any one person as to live their life in the optimum way?

At this point I think its a convenient excuse to say that men are whipping boys and effectively that 'Sure' there's no point doing anything because they'll say bad things about us'. It's not like men haven't been in such a position in the past but persevered and ultimately saw progress. What will it take for men to actually band together to argue for the attention their problems deserve instead of shouting those that do so? Women were laughed at, undermined, belittled, rejected, ignored etc, etc etc and they learned from that and said things won't change unless they made it happen. Are men waiting for women to fix the problems around male suicides, or do they not really see it as a problem that needs attention? Because if it is a big problem, surely the answer must be one or the other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I was out today, grocery shopping, and I had the exact same experience. Men, women... anyone I spoke to (both folks I knew, and people working at the till) had the same reaction.

It was stirring things into a frenzy. And if I brought up the Mongolian woman who was murdered last year, a few of them gave my 'I think I remember that'. Similar with the mixed race teenager who was viciously beaten up weeks ago. Like, that will tell you so much about how this hysteria forgot the woman who was killed, and very quickly became hysteria.

With absolutely zero logic to any of it. You'd have to wonder if folks higher up are saying to themselves 'did this muppet-the guy who was advising folks about staying safe and healthy, just say men need licenses? Does he know how many laws and human rights violations that would fall under?'

I will say, I disagree with someone saying 'this country is being overrun by feminazi's'. Most women/ men, and girls/ boys, are genuinely logical. They will genuinely call out the bullcrap, and can separate the wheat from the chaff. I mean, keep in mind, when Louise O'Neill tried to peddle her ideology to secondary school girls, by her own admission, they called her out for her man hating. Everyone knows a very kindhearted individual (at least one), of either gender. If you try to say 'All *insert gender here* are monsters' one very quickly thinks back to the individual who is kind. And you quickly realise 'this orator is full of crap'.

Call it an educated hunch based on Gardai statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

image_2022-01-19_043421.png

"Who can deny a continuum between silence, unacknowledged misogyny and murder?"

paywalled, but heres the link

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/kathy-sheridan-misogyny-is-the-soup-in-which-boys-are-raised-1.4779671