Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• 16-01-2022 12:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭amacca

Just happened to catch a bit of Brendan O'Connors show this morning.....

They were discussing the murder of Aisling Murphy,

The floor was passed over to Sam McConkey to give an opinion, he mentioned you need to do at least 12 lessons to get a driving license and maybe before men are allowed out to socialise they should have to do a mandatory course and presumably pass it.....I mean ffs doesn't anyone see any issue with this kind of horseshit....not only does this nonsense not work it could actually make things worse imo...

Why isn't anyone focussing on the law and order aspect of this or demanding the powers that be work towards reducing public order problems/threatening intimidating behaviour etc....

I myself as a man have been on the receiving end of two unprovoked attacks, you read about people with previous public order convictions in the hundreds still seemingly free to roam around, isn't that part of the problem that nobody seems to want to mention....wouldn't that reduce the likelihood of tragedies like this happening?....why is it OK that the police are afraid to go into some areas etc....why is it OK to suggest "all" men should have to undergo a mandatory course to socialise.....I say "all" as no doubt if challenged on the nonsense one would get the placatory oh most men are lovely stock answer we just mean the bad ones ... at that point one would be nitpicking if you asked what the selection criteria for this course would be....

When will we do what we should do in this country and start applying timely and proper deterrants to criminality/thug behaviour so people can feel safer walking the streets rather than beating around the Bush with some nebulous notion of education programs and societal change.....I'm not saying culture can't change or that it shouldn't but I do think you'll always have scum and much higher levels of it regardless of what courses you bring in if the justice system doesn't face up to its responsibilities and actually campaigning for that to happen might go more towards a meaningful response to this horrific tragedy.

Mod - The Aisling Murphy case is now before the courts (19.01.22). Do not discuss the specifics of the case and nothing about the accused.

This thread can stay open as it is not specifically about the Aisling Murphy case but if this warning is ignored it will be closed.

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,638 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

God, it’s staggering the amount of men, angry men, who feel personally threatened after the murder of woman.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

I agree entirely with what you are saying however a number of threads associated with Ashling Murphy have already been deleted and I presume this one will go the same way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

We can’t talk about the law and order element because the people who are leading the charge to demand that all men should be electronically tagged/under enforced curfew are the very same people who think that Gardai should really be replaced with social workers. They are also the very same people who want unvetted immigrants housed in large groups in every medium sized market town in Ireland.

Soooo….obviously the problem is men and what on earth can be done with them. Isn’t it?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

It'll all be forgotten about in a few weeks.

Remember the Caroline Flack suicide and all the talking heads said that women and media should be more supportive and less critical?

Yeah, that ended well.

Remember the trial by public opinion of Paddy Jackson and all the "I believe her" nonsense shared on social media, then it turned out she was lying?

Yeah, that ended well.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭amacca

Fair enough, if it happens it happens I suppose. To the initial response. I feel threatened when people on the state broadcaster suggest I need a license to socialise simply because of my gender.

What if a contributor picked another group, say an ethnicity or a religious grouping and said they needed to do a course to be allowed socialise?

How would that go down? Would anyone call a halt and maybe say hang on a minute here, they aren't all one homogenous group, would there be no shitstorm?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,425 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Heard McConkey and just shook my head - such a ridiculous and stupid statement out of him

I hadn't heard that particular article and tbh I've been trying to stay away from social media as much as possible the last few days and making a point of not posting on the specific Ashling Murphy threads because emotions on both sides are too heightened. That is one of the most ridiculous suggestions I've heard but I, like many others, don't know what the solution is or even when to start. Atrocities like this often bring up the most crazed responses on both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,512 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

sadly they cannot let this poor woman rest without making her death a political issue and twisting it into a sick narrative. let her rest in peace and deal with her murderer apropriatly

• Registered Users Posts: 6,055 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It is getting a bit ridiculous in fairness. They were talking about banning pornography as well on newstalk. As if that's going to make any difference.

I don't know why the thread in Current Affairs was closed either. It was a good discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Economics101

I don't have the exact numbers to hand but I gather that (a) far more murders are committed by men than by women and (b) that over 60% of the victims of male murderers are other males, and (c) the vast majority of men never ever commit violence against women (or other men for that matter). Also AFAIK, very few men condone violence against women.

I am getting a little tired of talk of misogyny and generalised man-blaming. Even when we are well-behaved we are somehow guilty of not "calling out" bad behaviour by other men. Maybe that is sometimes because we fear that we ourselves will be assaulted by the perpetrator.

Consider also the following. Moslems are 99.99.....% peaceful, and very well-disposed to all their fellow humans. Yet among the very small numbers of people involved in terrorist incidents a significant (and disproportionate) number are Moslems. The vast majority of Moslems are quite rightly angered at being tarred with the terrorist brush (a bit like the vast majority of Irish people during the IRA violence). Maybe a lot of men are a bit annoyed at some of the media comments which appear to regard men in general as problematic. It's not as simple as that.

Having said all that nothing I have said should be taken as diminishing in any way the terrible evil and tragedy in Tullamore last week. Anger at what happened is of course understandable, but it is not a good basis for policy.

The type of men/people that are likely to carry out these attacks aren't going to change because of a civility course FFS.

Waiting until the 'male curfew' suggestion.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,264 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

If society wants behaviours to change, then it shouldn't reward behaviour it finds unacceptable.

Can I just add that some people like to be offended, even going so far as to find something to be offended about. (I'm not talking about the Ashling Murphy case here, just people in general)

Just this week I was called a cute hoor on a thread and I thanked the comment, I was actually going to post in that thread that it was actually refreshing to hear such a comment as I couldn't remember the last time I heard it and I took it as a term of endearment (as is usually said as) but didn't want to derail the thread. However I'm sure there are some people who would pick that comment apart in order to be offended. Heck I'd probably be lambasted for calling myself a feminist and not being offended by it!

Thanks for derailing this thread instead especially as most of us probably won't be familiar with the referenced thread. 😄

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Allinall

Who’s demanding that all men are tagged or be placed under a curfew?

Its nonsensical posts like this that gets genuine debate shut down.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭StevenToast

No one respects Sam McConkeys opinion.....on anything

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Lads, relax. It’s not going to happen. There’s not going to be licences for male socialising, male curfews or anything else. You don’t have to take every brain fart or click-bait comment seriously, even if it’s broadcast on RTE.

Talk to the actual women in your actual life. Are any of them calling for any of these measures?

I went to a vigil for Ashling last night, because I had a family member killed a few years ago in a very high-profile situation (not through violence) and the massive outpouring of public grief that resulted helped the family. I chatted very normally to a few women I know there, in the dark. Normal conversations. Walked among hundreds of others. I wasn’t hand-bagged, maced, rape-whistled or castrated by a mob of feminazis. All it was, was a very friendly family atmosphere, candles, some traditional musicians and a minute’s silence.

Yiz need to learn the difference between a provocative tweet and a Constitutional Amendment. Its not good for the blood-pressure thinking you’re a victim all the time.

😁

To the OP, don't engage with all that shite and background noise, no need to get offended until they decide to introduce such a measure which will be never. If you know your a good person and keep your own side of the street clean, so to speak, ignore everything else!

Sam McConkey on RTÉ radio this morning calling for all young men to only be allowed to socialise once they’ve had 12 lessons in how to behave in public similar to the 12 driving lessons. You obviously don’t have a Twitter account. Electronic tagging for all men is still popular but the curfew idea suffered a bit of a death when it was pointed out that it would be difficult to have a 999 service if men weren’t allowed out after dark.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

And have you given some thought about why that might be? We're always told "listen to us" regarding women but what about listening to men instead of just disregarding anything we say.

Here we have someone on national radio raising the suggestion that men need a licence to socialise.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

And despite this obviously extrordinary level of contradiction and incoherency , we are supposed to nod respectfully at the wisdom of these enlightened folk

its a bad joke

I’m a woman but I’d feel threatened too if a respected professor came on national radio and suggested that I needed to prove that I’d completed a 12 lesson course in how to behave before I’m allowed out to the pub. Wouldn’t you??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Never heard of him tbh but someone must value his opinion if he got airtime on the radio.

There are too many of these professional trolls knocking about these days. It is easy to spot the right wing trolls and we rightfully silence and ignore them. The left wing trolls seem to be given free reign for some reason.

not for Paddy Jackson , hes been effectively exiled to make a living outside the island

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭amacca

I personally didn't for one second believe it was going to happen tbh.....

And yes it's a brain fart but ffs it's moronic, it's not helping in any way and it's sort of missing the elephant in the room imo

I also personally believe its good to challenge something you believe to be bullshit before it's allowed take root....and wouldn't it be better to actually do something meaningful than even entertain stuff like this even tacitly by not responding or debating it's validity.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

As for the “driving licence” comment related in the OP. Every time someone talks about social issues with children on Boards, someone pipes up with “sure, you need a licence to own a dog, or a TV, but anyone can have a child!”

Does anyone seriously take that as a call to actually licence procreation? Does anyone get up-in-arms about it, opening threads saying that their God-given rights to have children are about to be taken away?

Cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

The irony that scientists and all the woke crowd have spent the last 20 months saying "listen to the experts!" and this chap comes on national radio thinking he's some kind of social commentator. Stick to the 2/4/6 ply mask topic Sam!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Really good post. My bias is towards that the reaction is completely over the top and has been hijacked by people and groups different agendas and hatred but it's lovely to hear it brought people together in actual person. We weren't made for this digital sphere, time and time again this is being shown up. The funny thing we can decide our destiny but forces are decreeing that this be how we live our our lives and engage in public discourse even though we know its bad for us.

its not stupid for him at all , comments like that put him in good standing with a whole host of influential groups in ireland and all of the media

• Registered Users Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭StevenToast

A luke o'neill type......

Cashing in on covid to promote himself for going on 2 years......

If i hear or see any of these spoofers anywhere, i immediately switch off....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher