Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2022 thread - see post 1 for rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Close enough between Ferrari and Merc for second, and Checo and Charles for the runner up as well yup.

...Max will probably win both the remaining races anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

He comes across as so dull and boring, it's just the same robotic answers everytime. Compared to how other drivers get on with each other and join in on the pr games for YouTube etc normally Hamilton isn't involved. He used to a lot more relaxed and up for the craic but now he's always banging on about some agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭thefa

I think there’s a fair bit to play for in the constructor standings. Merc unlikely to catch Ferrari but possible. Alpine trying to hold off McClaren but Alpine have some reliability issues and Danny Ric theoretically having some form to make it a two driver effort for McClaren. Aston Martin trying to catch Alfa Romeo for 6th with Haas and Alpha Tauri going for 8th. Not the most exotic battles but meaningful for the teams in terms of prize money.

Still a fight for second. Charles should be well ahead but the personal and team errors have been costly. I’m really interested to see can Russell hold off Hamilton. Hamilton has looked the more likely to win a race when he and the car are both on song whereas Russell has consistently ground out results and been Johnny on the spot when there’s opportunities. People can reference the 2022 changes meaning a new car for both but finishing ahead of such a great driver in his first year at the team would be a big achievement. Sainz is in touching distance of Hamilton, hope they can turn the car back up to give him a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Except piquet would be called a cnut but he lacks the depth and warmth of one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,693 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Some pics of the Aston Martin floor:

Untitled Image Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Ftx gone bankrupt, they sponsored Mercedes

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

The lemons are so strong in this one.

Also, Nelson Piquet Jnr? Who actively cheated to help his team mate win a race and then sold them out as if he was a victim?

Or are you talking about his racist father? Either way, not exactly the lads who are in any position to hold a moral high ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

"Sir" lewis Hamilton, the champion of social justice, took an award from a family who paid 12 million to protect sexual predator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Who needs fast cars going around a track when preaching about morals is so riveting.

This really isn’t the gotcha you think it is.

In fact, it’s quite pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Racist _and_ homophobic father who is despised across the paddock

Also, funny that any mention of Abu Dhabi and people have to get over it and yet that poster is still banging on about the 'spicy engine' exactly a year later.

No hypocrisy at all there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,558 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

F1 and morals doesn't really go together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,785 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Awe Saturday Qualifying love it. Sat up with a nice cuppa some fruit and nut mix and enjoying the Quali :)

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

OMG the Haas of Kevin Magnessun on pole. Wow delighted for Haas and Delighted for Kevin. Bringing him in this year to replace that other driver who's name I forget lol was just pure brilliance by Haas. Only pity is its only for a stupid Sprint race but hey two races Tomorrow Sunday so I am OK with that.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Sprint race is finished and main race tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,118 ✭✭✭This is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,397 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Ms

Awe ye nothing like a Sprint race to start the Sunday morning game off on while eating breakfast :) .

Go Kevin lol.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Balls ,Magnussen and Ricciardo out already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Hamilton and Verstappen hit eachother... body damage... and leClerc anf Norris hit,... body damage... interesting first lap.... including safety car lap+1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

Having seen the segment on the AMG One on Top Gear this evening, I already had my suspicions it was little more than a trojan horse for F1 development away from the prying eyes of the cost cap, now having seen even more closely how barely functional and completely unusable it is as an actual road car and what an utterly pointless project it is without some ulterior R&D motive, it's hard to see how it is anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,041 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Any thoughts on the Red Bull beyond-hypercar which is a track-only car and gives F1 performance?

I'm sure you have a reason why the Red Bull version is a noble, selfless pursuit where the Mercedes version is just a sneaky trojan horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,195 ✭✭✭✭klose

Great GP weekend that as it had pretty much everything you could have asked for bar a midfield team getting a podium buy hey ho.

I think the team mates/ team harmony aspect was massive this weekend, stroll nearly driving vettel off the road (after Austin the lad should really be on his best behaviour) the Ocon/Alonso show, leclerc essentially begging his team for Sainz to give up a podium for a handful of points and once again sounding less then happy on the radio, and obviously the max/perez position swap fiasco definitely sours the mood at red bull.

Mercedes look to be near enough to where they would want to be but I wonder how much of that is in terms of car development (can't imagine red bull have developed their car much recently) so obviously we will see how that goes into 2023, let's hope there's three constructors challenging for wins next year.

Midfield looks pretty punchy, Alpine really do have pace, and the Aston with Vettel has race pace atleast, if they can dial in that car for next season I'll be interested to see what alonso can do with it.

Onto Abu Dhabi where the only real thing up for grabs is P2 between perez and Leclerc so we will see if max will play nice to help him out this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,397 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

A thing I have been wondering about Max not letting Checo past. He said on the radio that they discussed it in the summer, and not to ask him that question. He suggested in post-race interviews that they are even now, so will help in future. But if Red Bull hadn't asked him to move aside today, does that mean he wouldn't have been even, and would have done the same next week if the situation arose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭quokula

One is a 2 seater with a V8 engine that's intended to be a fast track car on its own merits. The other is a literal current F1 engine bolted onto a barely usable road car with experimental changes to its packaging layout, tolerances and cooling solutions. You should probably look at the actual plans rather than make assumptions based on who is involved.

The Red Bull projects sounds more like one of those passion projects to keep Newey engaged and happy, freedom to engage in this is the sort of thing that lured him to Red Bull from McLaren back in the day. But we will see when there's actually something to see.

Ha. As predicted. The Red Bull one is a noble 'passion project', and the dastardly Mercedes one is a Trojan Horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭McFly85

Multiple reports now that Schumacher is out and Hulkenberg is in.

I agree that it’s time for Mick to be moved on, Magnussen has shown that the car has had pace but Mick had never managed to get much out of the car at all.

Hulkenberg, though. A likeable driver but I don’t really expect him to do much either. Presumably just 1 year while they assess their options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,965 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

This was always gonna happen. I do hope Mick lands a support role somewhere and his F1 career isn't over just yet.

Mercedes is without a reserve driver for next year. Might be worth employing Mick to see what he can tell them about his experience of driving the Ferrari engine.