Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland u20 6 nations and world championship 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭theVersatile

15. Dylan O’Grady (UCD RFC/Leinster)

14. Aitzol King (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

13. Fionn Gibbons (UCD RFC/Leinster)

12. Daniel Hawkshaw (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

11. Shay McCarthy (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

10. Tony Butler (Garryowen FC/Munster)

9. Ethan Coughlan (Shannon RFC/Munster)

1. Oisin Michel (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

2. James McCormick (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

3. Darragh McSweeney (Shannon RFC/Munster)

4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD RFC/Leinster)

5. Adam McNamee (Malone RFC/Ulster)

6. James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

7. Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)(Captain)

8. Lorcan McLoughlin (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Replacements:

16. Josh Hanlon (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

17. George Hadden (Gorey RFC/Clontarf FC/Leinster)

18. Kieran Ryan (Shannon RFC/Munster)

19. Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

20. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD RFC/Leinster)

21. Michael Moloney (UCD RFC/Leinster)

22. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

23. George Coomber (UCC RFC/Munster)

24. Reece Malone (Loughborough University/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

25. George Shaw (Cardiff University/IQ Rugby)

26. Ronan O’Sullivan (Highfield RFC/Munster).

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

Jesus, Darragh McSweeney is a unit -6"3' 130KG

https://www.irishrugby.ie/u20/darragh-mcsweeney/

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

https://youtu.be/yQESO_5tTBU,

Looks like all the games will be streamed from this Youtube channel

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Scrum getting smashed! French are superb so far

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,189 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Our #11 was very poor for that try!

Jaysus. Sublime from France. We are in for a long evening.

This could get very ugly if Ireland don't get a handle on this quickly

Should be a card here for France.. and maybe Red

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭TRC10

How the f*ck is tipping a player onto his head "not malicious"

We've seen Red for tackles like that all season.. Yellow is lucky I think

I mean you can see him flip the leg as he makes the tackle. How is that not a deliberate action?

Another score. Ireland are getting horses. Very much second best.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭Shehal

It appears the u20s have taken a leaf out of the senior teams book and just give up as soon as you play a physical side...

Lucky there

Big score there from Ireland... Needed that badly

Much better second quarter from Ireland, but need to be much better in Second half

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭TRC10

Coughlan has had a difficult half, it has to be said.

Our defense out wide has been embarrassing at times.

I'm starting to think there may he systemic problems with how we coach scrummaging in this country. Questions need to be asked of the "national scrum coach" John Fogarty

Yea! Coughlin has been poor. But the team looks off! They're not winning many collisions. The skills have been poor relative to France. Our props are not on parity with France.

The speed of the French. Ireland lucky again.

What a try!

France are great to watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Our defence so porous

Yea. It's hard to think that the physical and skill difference is so large.

I am firmly convinced that a huge issue is the 1M rule in place in Ireland at under age and junior rugby.

U20 is the first time that Irish props actually have to push in scrums. Every other nation (except Wales) have full scrummaging at under age and Junior levels.

The result is that at underage , coaches are picking "Fat backrows" instead of "natural" props as they value the mobility over the power.

I really like the scrum half. Prendergast is having a tough outing.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,377 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Very rusty from Ireland and not half aggressive enough at the breakdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭SophieLockhart

Most of these lads probably never played in 28C.

A damp mucky evening in Musgrave and we'd have won.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,900 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I think it should be remembered that 8 of the starting 15 that beat France in the Six Nations and won the Grand Slam, didn't start tonight. The squad has been ravaged by injury.

This years crop of young players is incredibly good, but if the majority of them are unavailable there's only much you can do. As it stands, I still think the positives we've seen over the last decade remain. Every iteration of our u20 squads have been coached extremely well at schools, provincial and national level. They all know the gameplan and what they're trying to do.

It's a far cry from the Mike Ruddock led days when the young players looked like they'd only met each other for the first time when they were waiting for the referee to blow the opening whistle.

There's a lot to be pleased with. A little defensive noise and better scrummaging and they'll be better.