Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Much of these latest revelations appear to be coming at the time when NPHET is due to be disbanded,belatedly in my view,as the actual Public Health EMERGENCY has long since passed,whilst the Health Service Management pandemic continues unabated. Hugely coincidental therefore that the usual suspects now become strident once more....🙄

Today's meeting included the secretaries general of government departments, Deputy Chief Medical Officer Dr Ronan Glynn and Chair of the NPHET Epidemiological Modelling Advisory Group Professor Philip Nolan.

Happy days lad's !

It seems the Leaders require "Compelling Evidence" in advance of changes...for better or worse.....mind you the very next paragraph is about as compelling as it gets.....😲

It comes as Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly, said he is self-isolating after experiencing mild Covid-19 symptoms. A test returned a non-detected result.

....a non-detected result...but of course that does'nt allow him to actually be HEALTHY.....Not permitted in the rarefied atmospheric conditions prevailing in Chateau NPHET....

Fair play to Leo V,however,for at least nodding in the direction of the truth....

He said the Delta wave was not as severe as they feared, 😲 but "we've never managed" to get numbers down.

God help us all !!!!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

• Registered Users Posts: 7,690 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Honestly the communication from this government as an absolute farce.

Taking out of both sides of their mouths on the same bloody day.

Comfortably the worst government in my lifetime, and there have been a few contenders for that title.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So coveney this morning said we are defo opening up, Nolan and co say errr hold on now, Martin says ah Shure we don't know yet now.. basically to sum up:

the restrictions will definitely be lifted, unless we can't, but there’s no evidence that they shouldn’t be because we don't know, that is, unless they have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

There's hardly anybody who does'nt know,or know of,a Vulnerable person.

The notion of this being a perpetual validation of our "new normal" just does'nt cut it.

As we can already see,the damage done to mass attitudes is already considerable,with so many now existing in a fear laden fog,terrified to interact with other humans and totally fixated on the Domestic Media for a daily top-up of scary stories and statistics.

It is truly scary to see just how fragile humanity actually is.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Dickie10

id say we will get back to normal hours and nightclubs but maybe 75% capacity and all covid certs only. but after a week or two will these go the same way as covid certs and capacity inpubs ? probably. was in a a stag town all wekkend , never got asked for the cert anywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

If NPHET don't agree to removing restrictions, MM won't go against them. It's a political game. Every case and death will be attributed to MM by the pro-restriction opposition and media.

The government will go for a phony war created on the unvaccinated. Portraying it as 100% on unvaccinated people.

We can go on a full on Level 5 lockdown right now, those cases are still going to rocket in December and January. No matter what happens, those cases are going up. Even with 100% vaccination, those cases are going up. The hospitalisations are going up.

There are a cohort of vulnerable people in the country that we have done everything for but they cannot be saved, they will not make the winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

It's not often you post some sort of sense but I think the middle ground will be that they open with the cert, be strictly enforced for the first few weeks like it was with the pubs and then it'll slip off just like the pubs.

It'll be seen as "middle ground" & government will come out and say we made this decision they (nphet) wanted another way but we made the decision, aren't we great etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

65 ICU beds open and staffed . . That's a fair amount but difficulty is getting staff trained up to that level .

• Registered Users Posts: 26,975 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭SupplyandDemandZone

So bizarre. Really hard to understand what the hell is happening with this virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭TracyMartell

Didn’t a load of trained healthcare staff return to Ireland at the start of the pandemic to help out? Some trained ICU staff within that group presumably. How many of those were hired?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Red Silurian

The middle ground is going ahead with all plans except the removal of vaccination certs? So nightclubs open, 100% capacity at pubs, concerts and sporting events in exchange for the pass remaining?

Think you might be on to something

• Registered Users Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

That's what I'd see as some sort of middle ground yeah.

It's a seen to be doing something middle ground but realistically has feck on impact given the numbers vaccinated.

Government give themselves a pat on the back and the majority are happy, win win

• Registered Users Posts: 7,690 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Interesting, thanks, I'm actually surprised it's that many

Not ideal but it would be better than the current situation at least

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

I couldn't tell you as I am not in personnel. But yeah to train staff to ICU level to work independently would be another 2 years post graduation ( working alongside senior ICU staff and a post grad course )

Never mind training anaesthetists who are the essential medical staff for ICU.

Should have been done years ago though , but as one poster there put it so" nicely " hospitals have been " crying " every winter !

Now why do you all think that is?

Could it be that hospital staff were trying to alert people to the dangers of our very neglected ICU service?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,328 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

So now the unvaccinated are causing this shite. 67% of hospital cases are unvaccinated.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A decent portion of my life would be going to gigs/matches and pubs but a good bit of that is restricted because of covid

The early pub close is not the worst but with been so accustomed to the later hours it can be tricky to get used to

The magic of gigs/matches is lowered been at half/full capacity as is the day/night that surrounds it (hard to get into pubs, all the certs etc). It was great travelling to England for a proper gig last month but having it in Dublin/Ireland cuts out a lot of hassle

Id love to be like some people here who say 'nah were living our life 100% pre covid' but in some areas it simply can't be like that. Urban pubs wont take the bullet and disobey the law (opening later than 11.30pm etc) that country pubs might exploit

All in all my confidence is shattered and the next few weeks will be a struggle if/when the postponement of the 22nd Oct is announced. We all know it could be well into next year when we actually do reopen properly.

Just dont know anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

My question is did they ever have any intention of opening on the 22nd or were they just stringing the serfs along as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Ah_well.

That 9 o clock news bulletin wouldn’t inspire confidence . I will say again if not Oct 22nd then when ?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,156 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The massive gap between the reopenings played its part

The get out jail free card 'subject to public health advice and covid situation at the time' will come in useful for the decision makers

Dreading the drivel MM will come out with for his Nations Address next Tuesday evening

• Registered Users Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭prunudo

Its almost like the media are steering the course of the country again, getting people in a panic with their reporting of the uncertainty.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Allinall

People are getting themselves into a panic.

Why not ignore the media?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,258 ✭✭✭prunudo

They're setting the narrative, giving air time to people who are afraid of their own shadows, making it out that this is the way the majority think. 36hrs ago nobody was giving covid a second glance, posters claiming it was over because Claire Byrne hadn't mentioned in the last 2 shows, now here we are, being lined up put up with the none easing of restrictions. I guess we're not being trusted with personal responsibility anymore then.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭brickster69

Like Boris the brave said in his historic speech - "With summer approaching and schools closed if we do not open now then when can we ? If not now then with the onset of Winter then maybe we won't be able to "

An evil man will burn his own nation to the ground to rule over the ashes - Sun Tzu

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭TracyMartell

What people needed alerting to the dangers of our neglected health service? Money is thrown at the HSE every year and it’s completely mismanaged and goes to no one other than the bloated middle management of the organisation. It’s not the general publics fault that the health service is a disgrace. It’s the fault of the HSE and the government, no one else. But now the public must play the price

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Ah_well.

i couldn’t agree more . I just cannot understand why we haven’t been opened since late summer . Over cautious and what do we get for all this caution. Nothing that’s what . We actually try opening up coming into winter at the most difficult time .