Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,348 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

I'm curious, why do you say the government never really intended opening on 22 October? Is it because you think they hate people enjoying themselves? Or do you think its because they really hate nightclubs? Or is it because all government ministers have shares in supermarkets and off licences that do well when the on licence trade is restricted? Would love an explanation. My hunch is that the politicians in question - being citizens of this country with partners, and kids, and parents and grand kids like the rest of us - would like Covid to go away just like the rest of us - but I appreciate that's a pretty crazy theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Ah_well.

Or the one after ? Or maybe the one after that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,282 ✭✭✭Allinall

As I say. Why not ignore the media.

I do, and I’m not getting into a panic, or worried about “the narrative “, whatever that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭prunudo

Unfortunately many don't though, i really thought we'd left that behind us but appears not. If these are kites being flown, there needs to be plenty of voices questioning the rational behind the decision, not the chorus of nodding dogs we've had in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

You should listen to Gortanna some more. He has some pretty crazy theories.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,271 ✭✭✭brickster69

Vaccinations & restrictions, that is Ireland's plan. Scared to take the risk of living with it.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Ah_well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

They said it to make it look like they were going to open knowing full well they won't and will actually impose more restrictions by Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Well if they go back on the 22nd plan they clearly don’t want things to go back to normal because countries like Denmark and the UK are back to normal with less numbers vaccinated than us.

As for the “public health” crowd they certainly do not want things to go back to normal. The likes of Holahan, Donnelly etc have made a career out of the pandemic and are loving their 15 minutes in the limelight.

Because I don't think the restrictions were ever meant to go away, or at least some of them. There is a reason why they said 'new normal' and not 'temporary normal'. But it doesn't really matter as long as there are other countries to emigrate to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,850 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Was it a year ago we were told to get used to living with the virus ?

Today we have a vaccine, we have over 90% fully vaccinated and the Government, NPHET and the whole Nanny state are afraid of living with the virus - in fact scared of living - if we dont open up next week, do people seriously think we will open during winter.

They have opened up across the sea, and life seams to be going ok, and they have less vaccinated than us -Pathetic by the powers that be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I'd be worried about concerts I've tickets for next June at this rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

They might have some Pilot Events planned. You could be one of the lucky chosen ones to go into the metal pens and be tested by Eamon Ryan's brother himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Penfailed

There have been and always will be other countries to emigrate to. You've been talking about it for ages. You've no clue where to go though because a lot of other countries still have some restrictions and those that don't are either shíte or don't have English as a first language. Your choices are very limited. Shít or get off the pot.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭11521323

That's not the point I was making. Creating a society where you have to take a vaccine to walk through the door to normality is a problem.

I've been vaccinated and I'm not against vaccines but people shouldn't be forced to take something they otherwise wouldn't just to do simple,

Are they actually retarded? How can they derail plans 3 days before they're due to be implemented?

What happens to people who've booked weddings, etc. that weekend?

This can't be reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,262 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Time to stop buying the papers in this country,time to ignore Pravda /rte and it’s rubbish.I have stopped watching or listening to the media here.thank god for lbc and James O’Brien these days and the whole brexit stuff for entertainment.covid is over so ignore the media and get on with living

I couldn't give a **** about Covid anymore and neither do most of the population. Can't periodically lock down for the rest of our lives.

The GOVT were under huge pressure at the time of that announcement. Merriongate was being dragged through, that stupid envoy fiasco was selling broadsheets, and of course Leo over in the uk picking his nose. They kicked it into Oct 22nd knowing well that by then the usual nodding dogs would come up with figures worth their weight in shop /pub closures.

Aren't we all glad we took the meds now folks?

Folks in the UK were turned away from departure lounges because the NHS app went down....imagine not being able to travel on the NON availability of your health status!! crazy stuff and yet here we are. https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/other/nhs-covid-app-proving-vaccine-status-goes-down-leaving-travellers-unable-to-fly/ar-AAPtjc5?ocid=BingHPC&pc=COS2

I recall Leo bragging about potential Halloween parties, well lets just see how that pans out. I actually believe for once it's too far gone , I think it will open up as sold but folks in the trade offering to keep the cert checks going "if that's what it takes" is a sad reflection of where we are.

Does anyone even know, of the folks in ICU unvaccinated, how many are there AND connot take a vaccine? most people in ICU are so sick anyway that they cannot take one? also I had a family member in ICU some years ago for months, the last thing he could take was a vaccine and yet the footfall through his room via nurses, techs and doctors almost guaranteed transfer of an infection. remember we were high up in Europe as having huge MRSA transfer from what??? ZERO use of the old Lister recommended Phenol carbolic acid coal tar soap!

The arrogance of the like of NPHET is astounding, remember the medics of the day told Elizabeth blackwell (first female doctor) that her brain could not take the information required to be a doctor..that brings neuroplasticity to a whole other level..arrogant ****!! and yet on it goes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,262 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Yep very true but no politician has the balls to stand up to this nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Like all of my predictions over the last few months that have come true and I was called paranoid and whatever other names etc (don't worry, I forgive you)

I'm calling it. I am making this statement.

Ireland will have a Level 5 lockdown in the next 4 months.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

I hate to say I told yis so, but I told yis nearly a week ago the trends were bad.

Our published case figures are bunkum. Real infection level in the population is significantly higher than the published figures show.

How do we know? The hospitalisations to cases ratio has shot up, more than doubled. The virus has not developed magical properties in the last two months.

We need to be testing a hell of a lot more. And by a hell of a lot more, I mean hundreds of thousands a day. Half a million a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

There's 20 more people in hospital tonight with covid than there was on September 10th.

TWENTY more in two months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Snooker Loopy

We heard all this exact same stuff last year from the deniers, the David Quinns, the Ivor Cummins of this world. Crude reductionism isn't going to diminish the threat that this virus can cause. We had 42 hospitalisations on July 3rd. Now it's nearly ten times that. We are not even in winter yet. This thing has serious potential to cause absolute wreck again this winter, and if we don't take the threat seriously, I've little doubt it will. We have the vaccines this year, yes. But we also have a much, much more transmissible variant.

And who is to say another more transmissible one will not arrive. Measles has an R rate of up to 18. If Delta spreads widely this winter, it could easily mutate again into a more transmissible form.

We are in an existential crisis in terms of functioning societies here. It's that serious. We have to find a way to crush thing, otherwise it could crush societies. The consequences of that are unknowable, but they are unlikely to be pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Thankfully immunologists have a different idea than the hysterical doomology shyte that you just posted.

You’d make a great script writer for horror films, you should look into it.

BTW where’s your measles with it’s R of 18 today?

Why, with the same vaccines, were Denmark and Norway able to go back to normal?

The problem is the media. No other country in the world, with the exception of the US, has the type of media that exists in Ireland.

With all the hoopla in the media about third boosts, my dad got his last week and my mam won't be due to get her third until next summer. Both over 65 and presumably considered "vulnerable" because of their age but with no underlying medical conditions. I'd say the 22nd is still on.