Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tipperary GAA Discussion Thread

1117118119120121123»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

just to clarify on eoghan connally i wasn't calling him a dirty player , but he fouled his man when he had to , to stop a goalscoring chance and don it in such away that he couldnt be booked for it

in todays game that is the biggest art of defending , we have conor cleary and conor leen in the all ireland final last year it might not be pretty but sometimes its required

i remember a game between clare and tipp back in 2018 in cork , clare had just taken the lead in a tight game with only minutes to go and were dominating , and big seamie callinan went down at the other side of the field , the ball hadnt been down there for 5 minutes but seamie pulled up for just about long enough for the tipperary sideline to make adjustments , tipp got the next 4 scores and won the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Wouldn't be holding my breath for any movement on the Páirc Tailteann redevelopment. Latest news from the county board meeting is that they're waiting on the immigrant investor money to actually be paid to them.

It was already a very dodgy source of funding to be relying on, so I'm not surprised it has hit trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭thamus doku

Tony Kelly penalty was a cracker. Great goal.
    If Clare can get the injured lads back they can beat limerick. They are all Ireland champions for a reason - they have some great hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Ompala

O Farrell out for the U20s tonight, shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭History Queen

Great result and great resilience shown by the 20s tonight. Brilliant to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Good win, this is a v good bunch, some of our feck acting around the middle caught us a few times. Should be leaving it in long to o Donoghue and McCormack. Ref gave us the rub of the green too tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Ompala

Great win for the U20s the other night, albeit some mad decisions from the ref. Very much a case that anytime we got the ball into the full forward line they all had the beating of the Clare full back line. Really should have been out of site at half time. 2nd half Clare had gotten on top around the middle, definitely not helped by us overplaying the ball a lot but they were tackling savagely anytime we got it. O Farrell coming in calmed things down, and made hay while Clare were down a man. Not convinced by Cummins and management yet, very slow to try change things.

On the 3 big decisions in the 2nd half (trying to not be too biased)

Clare Penalty. Assume it was for a tug of the arm by our No.23, ref seemed to be talking to him afterwards. Soft one.

Tipp Penalty. A lot seem to be giving out that it was a perfectly timed flick by No.4 but it was No.5 who was booked. Looking at the replays its still not totally obvious, but I think No.5s hurley make contact with the back of Conor Martins helmet as he goes through and he gave it for that? Black card seemed extremely harsh given there was another defender beside him. Again, soft one for me, but maybe with all the talk this year on high challenges the ref had that in his head so gave it.

Tipp 3rd Goal. Amazed this wasn't spotted in real time by the umpire! Tipp forward grabs the hurley of the Clare defender to get at the ball and kick to the next. Should be a free out, though if he didn't move the hurley the Clare defender is lying on his stomach after failing to flick it away the 1st time I only see him using the hurley to "lie on the ball" and stop it being played if that makes sense, if so would that not be a penalty? Big if tbf, based on what actually happened goal shouldn't have stood.

Having said all that, I do think Tipp were the better team overall and deserved it, hopefully go one better against either Dublin or Kilkenny.

to be fair the whole thing has been turned upside down since last july , we were having functions last january and February when tipp and limerick were out doing heavy training and playing challenge games , there are a few fair weather supporters that are angry because they coughed out on season tickets this year and might not need them

the problem is when a county like us win an all ireland it will be celebrated for months after, that and a realisation that the underage lads will need more than one league campaign to be ready for inter county championship

of course tipperary were the better team , they had lads like darragh mccarthy a proven intercounty player at 19 years of age , paddy mccormack one of the best players in the club championship last year in the county at 20 years of age , not to mention the likes of sam o'farrell another inter county senior , david costigan or oisin o'donohue that is a quality team

my last quote is if you knew anything about tipperary hurling you would know this is a special group of players instead of going on a stupid rant about referee decisions , this group is going to win a senior all ireland in the next 5 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭History Queen

What a day, super atmosphere in Thurles and solme fantastic hurling played. Yes some areas in need of improvement but in that heat.... I don't know how the players on both teams stayed going. Looking forward to the Sunday game and hearing the analysis of the game, particularly what were, to my eyes, two credible penalty claims.

Am I right in saying us getting in to the Munster final is dependant on the Cork/Waterford game next week, but regardless we are through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭Jizique

If Cork win by more than a point, they are in final - would be happier coming third if I were you, less hype and easier draw going forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭1373

If cork loose which is possible, then both last years all Ireland finalists are gone. Tipperary backs are still pretty poor at defending but our younger players are improving quickly. Great to be looking forward. Hard to believe that this is Tipps first win in championship in Semple Stadium in 6 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭High bike

As a neutral 100% agree about the 2 penalties and black cards but thats Sean Stack for u prob the worst ref out there and he'll more than likely get the All Ireland final this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Denny61

Yes totally agree. Better for tipperary to come third..nxt match will be against the joe mcdonagh looser in that final and if we come through that..Will be meeting looser of leinster final ..either Galway or Dublin..cant see kilkenny loose the final who ever they take on ..but then again Dublin gave them a right rattle yesterday...and Afterr that in to a semi final