Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things dat Trivyully Annoy You (part whatever) *MOD WARNING IN OP* NEW

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

At least your GP is doing prevention... there are others who only test you if you've active symptoms, by which time it could be too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

"Is this what happens when you're old?"

Dear Mollyb60, this is only The Start of what happens when you get old

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

When your dinner turns out rotten.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

i book in for a particular fitness / health care appointment today.

on arrival I’m met by a different practitioner to normal... who invites me to his section of the studio... and informs me I’ll take part in a program he administers which is totally different from the one I’d gone online and booked and which is of fûck all use to me...

hes probably about 30 but behaving like a 3 year old, toys out of the fûckin pram craic and off muttering under his breath like a child when I’m insistent on attending the appointment I’ve booked with the usual practitioner as opposed to just making up ‘his’ numbers....I’m not there to convenience anybody.... when the money leaves my account it’s their job to convenience me by providing the service I book, not the one they have loads of space in...

if you booked a seat on an Aer Lingus flight to Milan but they want you to go to Rome as the flight to Rome is practically empty ? NO... !

people are really starting to bug the shît out of me...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

1. I had a phone appointment with a consultant, yesterday. Or rather, I was supposed to, since real life appointments have been knocked on the head sice Covid. Instead, I had a call with the nurse. As lovely as she was, I was expecting a doctor from the team, at least. I had questions to ask and I got no answers. "We'll see you (see... yeah, right!) in three months, if your symptoms worsen in the meantime, talk to your GP". Right. Thanks.
    2. We got a letter today outlining some changes which were taken unilaterally and are a drastic dis-improvement on the current, already awful, set up - the last of a long chain. When confronted, they replied "We know that changes can be scary". No, you ginormous piece of conniving crap, cut the platitudes. Changes are scary only when they make things worse.

You know you are getting old when you go to your doctor and he prescribes you 3 viagra a day.... just to stop you pissing on your slippers.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭Night owl gal

Not very trivial but crying until you can't breathe/pain in the chest from bereavement, and the resulting red eyes/running nose ☹️😥

I had a phone consultation with a consultant during covid, I’d have not much of an issue talking to a doctor but if it ended up being a nurse, I’d be contacting HIQA and for backup my local TD and GP would be copied on the complaint...

nurses are great but they are of a skillset somewhat adrift of who you’d need to be talking to.

In fairness to the nurse, I know that the consultant had been on holidays and was only just back (the same nurse called me last week to ask me questions to have them ready for the consultant), I know that they're utterly swamped, and that the nurse had just reported to me what the consultant had told her, but like, let's face it, it wasn't an actual "clinic" appointment. I'm fed up with the health system, to be honest, and that includes the cartel that operates around pharmaceutical drugs.

I agree with you.

not the nurses fault, just following directions. That said it was a medical consultation, she should not have been doing that, it’s worryi actually... I’m her I’d be speaking with my union rep.

health in this country is beyond toxic at consultant level...the absolute number of incompetent and disingenuous morons I’ve had to deal with on my journey back to health, I’m a bit over three years out of hospital, I’m almost fully recovered but that’s only been enabled by private help...private expertise, private kindness all in the main paid for by myself...

i had a consultation with a fella and after we exchanged pleasantries and small talk..him.... “ so tell me, what do you think I can do for you today “...me telling him... “ how about finding the hydrotherapy pool, and instead of your predecessor referring me to it as promised over a year ago...you do it cause that individual didn’t”...he looked stunned.... “ hey, that’s a great idea, yeah let’s do this, hydrotherapy, I’ll have to see where that’s available ?”

one of the physical rehabilitation specialists in the Mater Hospital, all over Twitter, doing xy&z and bigging himself up... doesn’t know what services are available to him and his patients..in HIS hospital...or at least let on he didn’t... I sourced the help successfully privately... but having spoken to that department directly, all I needed was his referral and they’d take me.

he should have been counting buses for a living.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,625 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The Big Bang Theory. Utter crap show, how is it still on the air ??

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭honeyjo

TA by tendonitis! I thought it was getting better but nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

This f**king thing has been showing the 101 Drogheda bus at 5 minutes FOR THE LAST TEN MINUTES!!!!

Time warps... no other logical explanation.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

For reasons I can't quite figure out I'm trying to watch the Marvel movies in timeline order. Mother of god, there's a lot of nonsense but fcuk me, Guardians of the Galaxy is particularly awful.

Let the pile-on commence...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Why does the twitter log in change so feckin much, grand on phone but work desktop it's a pain.. Keep ending in the sign up mode instead of log in.. Feck changes to websites 😡

• Registered Users Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

TA at my in-laws for being so fúcking inept at anything technological. Total luddites, the lot of them, and some of them are close to my age - it's ridiculous.

Mother in law doesn't know how to turn a TV off using the remote. Keep in mind she's not frail and out of it, she's in her 60s and used to play Candy Crush on the computer a hundred hours a week. She was able to turn a computer on, navigate to where it was on the computer, and play it. She also knew how to use the printer, and navigate to Facebook by opening Chrome, etc., yet TV is weird to her. "Press the off button" "Where is that on this yoke?" Why? They were around before she was even born. She had 5 kids and 3 of them had kids of their own. How did turning off/on a TV using a remote bypass her??? >.<

Sister in law doesn't know how to create a folder on a laptop.

They think computers/video games etc., are a waste of time yet here one of them is, right now, as I type this rant, texting my fiancée asking her how to save a file onto the laptop. What should be the most basic, simplest of things to do, is going right over her head. She's 35 - three years older than me, she's from my generation, she's a primary school teacher, she has an iPhone (which she uses all the time) yet this is alien to her.

She's had a laptop for about 7 or 8 years now, and still can't use the fúcking thing.

Seriously, right click and hit "new" then "folder".

"Where is right click?"

It's the second button on the mouse.

"I'm using a laptop I don't have a mouse"

The second button under the touch pad. You need to save it to your C drive.

"Where's that?"

Lord help me.

Maybe it's just me. I was taught how to use a computer when we had Acorn computers. I was taught how to change a font on a word document, at the age of fúcking 8.

I was sitting downstairs for about half an hour and she still couldn't figure out how to save a file. Honest to all mother of shite, like. I had to leave it was so frustrating. My mother, who is in her 50s, was like this about 10 years ago. Her new job basically needed her to be competent with computers and she decided to learn it herself. She still types with two fingers very slowly but she fúcking GETS IT. It's not rocket science.

For god's sake please, don't tell me to get with the times when you can't press 'ON'!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,473 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Constant neighbour noise, wish there was some quiet chamber to crawl into ...and dream happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭AxleAddict

People who seem blissfully unaware of BCC (blind carbon copy) when sending out large group emails which (a) may unintentionally disclose private email addresses and (b) result in the unintentional receipt of further emails as other numpties 'reply all' to it! Argh!

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭AxleAddict

I know that this is of absolutely no help to you whatsoever, but be safe in the knowledge that this gave me a real good laugh (partly because I can relate to it). I grew up in my small town being the 'fella who knew about computers' - absolute torture for a long time!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Exactly the same in my house, sib only learned his email address(same he's had for 5 years and is made simple for him to remember) cause I vomited on him when he asked me for the zillionth time.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

This is the second time in two weeks that I set foot in Lidl - two different branches, two different town, two different days of the week. There wasn't a banana or a carrot to be had in either for love or money, and they were very low in onions.

Is it an effect of Brexit, or what gives?

Post edited by New Home on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

The seatbelt alarm in the car.

Dont tell me how to drive ye little bollox, our interaction ended when I took ownership of the car. I know when to use my seatbelt.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,716 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

People not rinsing out glasses properly when they wash them. Filled a pint glass with milk and of course it was of suds

• Registered Users Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Waiting for permission from a department to help me make informed choices on another form. This second form has a deadline and this apparently cant be extended as "I'm the only one in the population who has this issue" (given the size of the population, I doubt this)

TATATATA

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,354 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The amount of times the media have written articles about Tubridy being called a name on his walk.

Yes, we know it was wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 8,716 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

He gets called a lot worse here on a Friday night

• Registered Users Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭Archeron

People who spend far too long saying goodbye. Generally as people are walking to the car down the drive from the house, they tend to get louder as they say goodbye back to the house they are leaving. But fifteen fooking minutes??

Bye, bye, bye, see you tomorrow.yes, see you then, bye bye bye.oh I can't wait to see the little one in the new dress, bye,

See ya, bye, Yeah, ill send you a picture later, bye byebye,

Brilliant, sure I'll be over about twelve tomorrow and see it then, bye, see you then

Yeah, great bye bye, don't forget David's birthday, bye.

Yeah haha, that wouldn't do, bye bye bye.

Save me some cake haha, bye bye bye.

Bye, haha its chocolate biscuit too haha, bye, bye.

There has to be a point where it stops being a normal loud farewell and becomes just two people shouting at each other in the street.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

And then they have to beep beep beep the car horn and wave !!!

sounds like my neighbors daughter, no matter what time of the day, morning and often night after or around 10pm, the four loud honks on the horn to say goodbye to her mother as she leaves .. why ? Can she not just say goodbye at the door like a fûckin normal human, if she requires further interaction with her mother can she not call her when she arrives home ?