Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Taoiseach attends event during Level Three restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

She was given a directive by the Taoiseach :D
    For personal gain clearly, just don't ask what the personal gain was...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

jackboy wrote: »
    The Taoiseach told her to, at a party against restrictions.
    To quote my mother, if the Taoiseach told you to jump off a bridge would you do it?

This is silly, they're all adults there, capable of making their own decisions. They've also decided to stand far apart, comically so, but mitigating practically all risk for the few seconds the photo took IMO. Once people are acting sensibly I don't give a damn what they get up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,823 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

meeeeh wrote: »
    The main question out of this is what political ambitions have Chay Bowes and Paddy Cosgrave.
    My main question is what is with the pirate flag thing?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,750 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I'm hearing that tomorrow's "Wereontheditch" "scope", is Martin saying "Take off a shoe,take off a shoe".

On Monday it's "Take off the other shoe"

I might check into their unverified Twitter feed again on Friday or Saturday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,842 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

meeeeh wrote: »
    The main question out of this is what political ambitions have Chay Bowes and Paddy Cosgrave.

They don't. They're just bent on destruction. Both have chips on their shoulders the size of the grand canyon for some perceived slight by the State.

The problem for them is, they've cried wolf so many times, nobody cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

He got to honor his father in a way most of have been denied for over a year. It's illegal for us to do what he did as you risk Gardai prosection.

Agree.... there is a sporting cup in honour of one of my relatives..the event was not able to even take place last year..

the relatives are always asked to present it if around...by the participants to honour the person for helping their sport.

No special dispensation from the taoiseachs office here. And by the way the event takes place outside aswell as the awards not inside as shown here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭jackboy

TheChizler wrote: »
    To quote my mother, if the Taoiseach told you to jump off a bridge would you do it?

This is silly, they're all adults there, capable of making their own decisions. They've also decided to stand far apart, comically so, but mitigating practically all risk for the few seconds the photo took IMO. Once people are acting sensibly I don't give a damn what they get up to.

You don’t get it.

People were banned by the government from going to the funerals of friends and families. At the same time Martin went to party, asked someone to take off their mask and laughed about it on camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

This just came up in my phone photo memories... Apt!!!

549077.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭_ZeeK_

Annoying? Mildly.

Of golfgate proportions? Definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

TheChizler wrote: »
    This is silly, they're all adults there, capable of making their own decisions.

He's in a position of power. That holds sway for people in a moment like that. Martin starts off the chorus of chimes to take off the mask.

It's indoors when these type of events were not allowed. The rules are clear. He just can't help himself. A photo op is more important than the health and safety of others around him who are sugar coating his ego. He was on the airwaves giving out about golfgate and RTE. Hypocritical. Rules are rules - there's no sincerity about him - he goes on the airwaves to the nation telling us to do a little bit more and that we can't celebrate Easter the usual way. Michael Martin "could" be in trouble...but "should" be in trouble.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    It took place in a boxing club - not a restaurant / pub - was there a "substantial meal" provided?
    Was it made on the premises?

Gyms were open in December... 50 permitted in most of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,823 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Augeo wrote: »
    Gyms were open in December... 50 permitted in most of them
    The reports say there was approximately 12 people at the event....lol

The lefties drooling over this is hilarious.
    Sh1tting on about rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,609 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Don't forget get the guards who did as well. So....
    she is a guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

I’d say it’s Loo roll and her followers up to no good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,003 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

If any FFer who hasv a squeaky clean record on covid matters was minded to launch a heave, this could be their moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

This is the greatest horsemanure I've seen yet.

The "event" occured in mid December.....a time when pubs were open.

It was already widely reported.

Seems line the term "journalist" is widely abused these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

Rules are for thee but not for me. I've no issue with what he did I think the pandemic is a scam anyway but it's madness when you can't follow rules that you make but yet expect others to follow them. I don't follow covid guidelines either but I wasn't the one who put them in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,655 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Mod: Reopening thread as there seems to have been further developments in this story, and more reputable sources than The Ditch.

https://www.thejournal.ie/taoiseach-event-cork-boxing-club-level-3-work-5400473-Apr2021/
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/politics/calls-taoiseach-answer-questions-over-23849184

Poor Paul must have been asleep for the last 4 months. Storm in a teacup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭jmcc

Looking forward to the day journos have to actually create stories again and investigate things.
    Not the best of phrasing. :) Some journalists may create stories but they are often found out.

The problem with Journalism is that the standards have declined in recent years due to the commoditisation of Journalism as a "degree" instead of a profession and the advent of activists (the Wokus Dei) calling themselves journalists. As for investigation, some of this has been made easier by Google and Wikipedia. However, publications are often padded out with press releases with an added byline and closing paragraph. The downside for publications (newspapers and magazines) is that there is software available now that can take press releases and create articles so that journalists are a bit of an endangered species.

Regards...jmcc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

How was it not a personal event presenting a cup named after his father?

Does he present it every year? Thats the test on whether its a personal event
    Of the 12 present,how many were invited guests and how many were on duty Gardaí,journo's or news photographer(s) who are exempt when covering events
    The same week,I left a pub early as I thought there were too many in it,it was multiples of 12,there legally
    Funerals were 25 at the time I think but my local church used let loads in as long as they were behind the webcam :rolleyes:

So I too think this is a non story tbh and its 4 months ago
    People must have nothing to write about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,079 ✭✭✭jackboy

It may possibly be called work by some technicality but it’s up to Martin now to prove that. He should provide documentation that proves that the event was ‘work’ for the Taoiseach. If he cannot prove it was work then he should resign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,842 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This is a nothing burger with a side of no fries and no vanilla milkshake.

Next attempt from Cosgrave and Bowes, the pathetic scrotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭TimHorton

Larbre34 wrote: »
    This is a nothing burger with a side of no fries and no vanilla milkshake.

Next attempt from Cosgrave and Bowes, the pathetic scrotes.

Watch MeeHole squirm when Mary Lou challenges him on this next week in the Dail...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I think the asking for removal of masks and the video rep saying social distancing and all that just shows our leaders know its all nonsense and don't really buy into it all.

Not a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,353 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

TimHorton wrote:
    Watch MeeHole squirm when Mary Lou challenges him on this next week in the Dail...

There will be no squirming when he reminds her if it would have been ok had he attended a funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,185 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Tokyo wrote: »
    Mod: Reopening thread as there seems to have been further developments in this story, and more reputable sources than The Ditch.

https://www.thejournal.ie/taoiseach-event-cork-boxing-club-level-3-work-5400473-Apr2021/

From the Journal "THE TAOISEACH HAS insisted that his attendance at an event at a Cork boxing club before Christmas, when a ban on indoor gatherings was in place, was for “work” reasons"

That's a blatant lie by the Taoiseach, there's no way he can spin this as a work event especially when his office gave special permission for it to go ahead.

Good to see the thread reopened, he doesn't deserve a free pass on this one.

Whatever about the ditch, it triggered him to come out and say nothing to see here before the rest of the press mentioned it. He's possibly shot himself in the foot with the obvious lie rather than an apology though.