Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

gozunda wrote: »
    What is it that everything is untrue? You can check it out yourself.

In mid October 2020 many countries in California saw a rollback of restrictions which were only halted in late November when new case numbers were rapidly rising

https://apnews.com/article/gavin-newsom-california-coronavirus-pandemic-57c512f74f73f628ed5eee52ae62ced7

Despite pulling the brake - the rate of infection continued to climb well into December and January when the most noticeable peaks of infection occurred.

Additional restrictions were even imposed on December 3 When Gov. Gavin Newsom announced a new stay at home order for California that would bring back many of the restrictions from the previous March.

https://abc7news.com/timeline-of-coronavirus-us-covid-19-bay-area-sf/6047519/

Yeah he cancelled the reopening system that had most counties in California under the most restrictive tiers based on the criteria anyway. You can see from the "weekly tiers assignment chart" on this page..

https://www.latimes.com/projects/california-coronavirus-cases-tracking-outbreak/reopening-across-counties/

that the vast majority of counties were on the level 1 purple tier and the rest on level 2 or 3. Non essential businesses were not open in the majority of places. As you can also see, the orange level 4 which says "most businesses can open with modifications" (still not a full reopening) accounts for the fewest spots on the graph for the whole year. Hardly anywhere in California had the likes of indoor dining and bars open from March 2020 until now. Schools were closed the entire time (if you weren't paying of course) Its not the case that cases started to rise on relaxation. They started to rise despite the measures is more accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

darem93 wrote: »
    The whole thing is really starting to unravel on the government now tbh.

This is the day they were dreading most, the day the North announced its roadmap ahead. While they have a clear set of dates, we have the Tanaiste throwing out vague timelines - which will no doubt be contradicted by the Taoiseach and the 10 or so other figures from NPHET and the government who can't seem to stay away from the media.

Then you also have MHQ falling apart at the seams, them seemingly doing a 180 on this idea of privileges for the vaccinated and the "outdoor summer" now perhaps becoming indoor much sooner than expected.

Not that I'm complaining about it to be fair, it's about time they had a rocket put up their backsides.

Is it? Or yet more in thread wishful thinking?

Wtf would this be "the day they were dreading most, the day the North announced its roadmap ahead"?

The North is way forward in terms of vaccine rollout. We're not. Go figure.

Little in life or managing pandemic related risks has been perfect or without problems.

You refer to the "privileges" for the vaccinated but then you're not complaining? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Stephen Donnelly delighted that flights have dropped to the floor

When did he sign us up to Zero Covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

lawred2 wrote: »

Donnelly says the EU is wrong in contacting him with their concerns on the legality of MHQ.."Prime time" on RTE now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

what a bell end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Wtf would this be "the day they were dreading most, the day the North announced its roadmap ahead"?

Little in life or managing pandemic related risks has been perfect or without problems.

You refer to the "privileges" for the vaccinated but then you're not complaining? :pac:

So what do you think is safe, do you think level 5 until everyone is fully vaccinated which could be October or November or level 3 with 80% with the first shot. You say we should wait, I'm wondering how long you are willing to wait.

jesus we are a tiny island..they have a million vaccinated ...thats over 2 million partly vaccinated on the island...good news for the whole population on the island of ireland for us to move forward with lifting the same restrictions at the same time.

time for micheal martin,stephen donnelly and the rest of the joke shop to grow balls..say to nphet thank you very much for your advice but we need to save our economy and stop throwing hundreds of millions of euro at the problem every week...nphets advice will always be zero risk we cant follow it for ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

One of the most dangerous men ever to enter Irish government

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/donnelly-says-legislation-needed-for-new-garda-covid-19-powers-1.4333929?mode=amp
    Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly has said primary legislation will be required for greater Garda enforcement powers to ensure the latest Covid-19 restrictions are adhered to.
    “As quickly as we can we’re going to bring in enforcement powers and that does require primary legislation.”
    However, several sources said introducing new measures to break up house parties was very complex as it would involve entering a person’s home without a warrant.

We don’t need to go there, but he is determined to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Never before have I hoped Ireland is brought before the courts for this.
    An utter embarrassment, 12 people on 5 flights from the US.. are we ****in stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭11521323

jesus we are a tiny island..they have a million vaccinated ...thats over 2 million partly vaccinated on the island...good news for the whole population on the island of ireland for us to move forward with lifting the same restrictions at the same time.

time for micheal martin,stephen donnelly and the rest of the joke shop to grow balls..say to nphet thank you very much for your advice but we need to save our economy and stop throwing hundreds of millions of euro at the problem every week...nphets advice will always be zero risk we cant follow it for ever

Lads stop replying to him seriously. I've never seen such an endless stream of illogical fallacies in all my time on this planet.

11521323 wrote: »
    Lads stop replying to him seriously. I've never seen such an endless stream of illogical fallacies in all my time on this planet.

you're right life is short haha

niallo27 wrote: »
    So what do you think is safe, do you think level 5 until everyone is fully vaccinated which could be October or November or level 3 with 80% with the first shot. You say we should wait, I'm wondering how long you are willing to wait.

Where was any of that mentioned?

I was replying to the previous poster regarding "the day they were dreading most, the day the North announced its roadmap ahead"

Tbh sounds like a low budget sequel to The Day After Tomorrow :pac:

But as to my opinion on your question. The North has issued approx 50% first vaccine doses. And as a result they are only now starting to roll back restriction.

Here we are at approx 22% first vaccine dose. Not really in the same ball park yet are we?

If some are advocating they should be able to travel and go party in the North and fek the restrictions then it would make sense that there is at least some parity between the two jurisdictions.

One thing some of newly enthusiastic wannabe border Crossers haven't really thought out imho - is the annual riot season there which has already started and the fact that Southern registrations are always a big hit especially at that time of the year. And guess what - its not just one weekend either.

Tbh much like the speculation that people could go North to avail of early vaccinations and which idea was sharply put down the Northern Ireland Authorities. I think there's a strong possibility we could find similar situations with travellers from both sides of the border being told to return from whence they came. Not that it hasn't been done here once already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭hamburgham

It is absolutely bizarre, words can’t do justice to this. We had a world class aviation industry, talented, energetic people generating high quality jobs and millions in revenue and he’s DETERMINED to run it into the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,529 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The tide is turning hopefully

ingo1984 wrote: »
    Oh I fully agree, they are incompetent buffoons.

This fallacy of outdoor dining followed by reopening of indoor dining. What percentage of premises have outdoor seating? 10%? Now what percentage of those premises have enough outdoor capacity to turn a profit from having staff and kitchen operating? No point opening if you only have 10 seats outside and ain't gonna turn a profit.

Most of these people have never run a business, lifers on the public payroll so they haven’t a clue about the realities of a business.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

hamburgham wrote: »
    It is absolutely bizarre, words can’t do justice to this. We had a world class aviation industry, talented, energetic people generating high quality jobs and millions in revenue and he’s DETERMINED to run it into the ground.

I suspect the ongoing global pandemic may also have played a part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

hamburgham wrote: »

You can say that about countless other industries in Ireland. It's self destruction on a national level

All i can say is thank **** for Northern Ireland. Thought I would never say that. The pressure our boyos are under now is immense. I would expect outdoor dining by about the 2nd week in May as people might hold of going to the North if its only a week or two behind them.

Likewise. Never is my wildest dreams did I think I’ d be relying on Northern Ireland for anything. Now hoping they’ll show up our crowd for the total muppets that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Where was any of that mentioned?

I was replying to the previous poster regarding "the day they were dreading most, the day the North announced its roadmap ahead"

Tbh sounds like a low budget sequel to The Day After Tomorrow :pac:

But as to my opinion on your question. The North has issued approx 50% first vaccine doses. And as a result they are only now starting to roll back restriction.

Here we are at approx 22% first vaccine dose. Not really in the same ball park yet are we?

If some are advocating they should be able to travel and go party in the North and fek the restrictions then it would make sense that there is at least some parity between the two jurisdictions.

One thing some of newly enthusiastic wannabe border Crossers haven't really thought out imho - is the annual riot season there which has already started and the fact that Southern registrations are always a big hit especially at that time of the year. And guess what - its not just one weekend either.

Tbh much like the speculation that people could go North to avail of early vaccinations and which idea was sharply put down the Northern Ireland Authorities. I think there's a strong possibility we could find similar situations with travellers from both sides of the border being told to return from whence they came. Not that it hasn't been done here once already.

Was nothing to do with anything to do with the north, you have posted several times about how close we are and we should wait, which is fair enough. I would just like to know how long to you think we should wait, what level of vaccinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Our Constitutional Rights aren't playthings to be suspended on the whim of a bunch of cowards in Government because Karen on Facebook is worried about 'de foreigners' - and it's time they were reminded of that.

So you keep saying. What are going to do to remind them?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Most of our GDP comes from US companies and we’re telling them that can’t visit their own companies

They can, if they factor in the quarantine time.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,069 ✭✭✭Dickie10

God bless wee Norn Iron and the British overlords. I will be heading in May and might even take in a parade or two while there, get a bit of culture. would most people from the republic not be welcomed in the north seeing as theres a big anti-Catholic agenda down here too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,651 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Seweryn wrote: »
    So that makes the numbers unfaithful then. Fair enough, I understand. The numbers are our national official numbers, I only added them together and compared...

I see these numbers in a positive way. There is no drama killer to worry about and never was. Or nowhere near they have been painting it...

Actually the numbers you are using are not "our national official numbers".
    The Central Statistics Office is the national statistical agency of Ireland and recognised by Eurostat, a Directorate-General of the European Commission as such.

What makes your numbers potentially "unfaithful" is that you used the same format on another thread, (Admittedly I only did a quick search, but could not find those charts. Did you perhaps delete them?), where also using unofficial and incomplete data your figures showed negative excess deaths for Sweden.

When the completed official figures were published, the excess death figures compared to 2019 were 9,175 (+10.3%). Compared to the prior 5 year average excess deaths were 6,979 (+7.7%).
    Fair to say I believe pretty much "drama killer" figures.
    That is unless you have another cause for those excess deaths other than Covid-19?

I would also look on -5.6% excess deaths in a positive way if I had faith in your figures, but I suspect for reasons other than yours.[

Penfailed wrote: »
    So you keep saying. What are going to do to remind them?

Possibly a spot of recreational rioting when up North while visiting there for a spot of golf and eating off plates and drinking out of cups as was detailed earlier?

Now I'm sure that would really show the "bunch of cowards in government" some cross border unity against those drated restrictions...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Donnelly says the EU is wrong in contacting him with their concerns on the legality of MHQ.."Prime time" on RTE now

So now this idiot is putting it up to the EU.

Time for him to be sacked as health minister. We cant afford to lose support of the EU or the US but this clown will single handedly destroy us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Aph2016

It's wonderful watching the government embarrass themselves each day. There's light at the end of the tunnel. Pity there's no one else to vote for when we get the opportunity next time.

Open the pubs!

Aph2016 wrote: »
    It's wonderful watching the government embarrass themselves each day. There's light at the end of the tunnel. Pity there's no one else to vote for when we get the opportunity next time.

Open the pubs!

Must admit, I’m getting a kick as well out of the rest of Europe finally seeing a true picture of the idiots who govern us. This is the reality behind the begorrah hospitality act that’s usually put on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,005 ✭✭✭political analyst

Click-and-collect was banned so that people would be less inclined to go into town. But the virus cannot be contracted by driving into town and collecting something from a shop. Why were the rules on distancing and face-covering not considered enough?