Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Click-and-collect was banned so that people would be less inclined to go into town. But the virus cannot be contracted by driving into town and collecting something from a shop. Why were the rules on distancing and face-covering not considered enough?

Because of the varying of the variants.

You're all just p I ssing into the wind. Nothing is going to change for the next month or so. Get used to that idea. Find a more productive use of your day than being glued to boards posting misery porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Click-and-collect was banned so that people would be less inclined to go into town. But the virus cannot be contracted by driving into town and collecting something from a shop. Why were the rules on distancing and face-covering not considered enough?

Well you see it’s not just the driving into town to collect something, it’s all the activities surrounding it. You might stop for petrol, or a coffee, or congregate with other click-and-collectors for cans afterward, or maybe need to use a dugout or changing room.

Better safe than sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭showpony1

I went into lockdown at 18, Im 20 now, and will likely still not be able to attend a nightclub until I'm 21 at the current rate. Everyone was crying out for kids to get back to school, for their development, but then its easier to empathise with little kids then with near fully formed adults.

It is hard to see people "crying out" for yourself & other young teenagers to be falling out of nightclubs after messy midweek nights of €2 drinks in the same way that they would for young children to go back to school.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/stephen-donnelly-says-he-couldnt-care-less-how-often-his-department-mentions-him-on-twitter-40318628.html

The ego on this fella is horrendous. Please god once we get enough vaccinated someone will pull this absolute shambles of a coalition. Mind you, that means actually getting shots in arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Penfailed wrote: »
    They can, if they factor in the quarantine time.

You think these people have 14 days to waste or whatever it is. These people provide 1000s of jobs, some people on here are so far out of touch with what happens in real life.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/stephen-donnelly-says-he-couldnt-care-less-how-often-his-department-mentions-him-on-twitter-40318628.html

The ego on this fella is horrendous. Please god once we get enough vaccinated someone will pull this absolute shambles of a coalition. Mind you, that means actually getting shots in arms.

A con man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

showpony1 wrote: »
    It is hard to see people "crying out" for yourself & other young teenagers to be falling out of nightclubs after messy midweek nights of €2 drinks in the same way that they would for young children to go back to school.

Yet €2 pints is as important a part of development as junior infants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

niallo27 wrote: »
    You think these people have 14 days to waste or whatever it is. These people provide 1000s of jobs, some people on here are so far out of touch with what happens in real life.

I'm aware of a number of multinationals here who have suspended all international travel and have done so for some time. With online meetings being the go to solution for the present. Yeah these people provide 1000s of jobs and oddly enough actually seem to know what they are doing.

That said- Its not like Ireland is the only country in the Universe with travel restrictions
    For example-
    Entry into the US is restricted for those travelling from Ireland, the UK, Schengen Area countries, Brazil, China and Iran... (travellers) will be denied entry, unless they are legal permanent residents of the US, or the spouse or child of a US national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,528 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A problem with our Government/NPHET won't accept that cases will rise naturally with the reopening and will push the panic button at first glance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

jesus we are a tiny island..they have a million vaccinated ...thats over 2 million partly vaccinated on the island...good news for the whole population on the island of ireland for us to move forward with lifting the same restrictions at the same time.

They have half the population with a jab in them. We have about a fifth of the population with the same.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

gozunda wrote: »
    One thing some of newly enthusiastic wannabe border Crossers haven't really thought out imho - is the annual riot season there which has already started and the fact that Southern registrations are always a big hit especially at that time of the year. And guess what - its not just one weekend either.

That's complete nonsense.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

niallo27 wrote: »

No, I don't think they have 14 days to waste. I was responding to Fintan who said that they couldn't come over. The fact is, they can, if they factor in a quarantine period. They won't though as businesses aren't travelling anywhere for meetings currently. It's all being done online. That's one thing that will have changed when this is all over.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    The tide is turning hopefully

:shockface:

A bit of positivity!
    PTH2009 wrote: »
    A problem with our Government/NPHET won't accept that cases will rise naturally with the reopening and will push the panic button at first glance

Oh. Normality resumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,114 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

showpony1 wrote: »

Where did you used to go to that had 2€ pints?

I have every sympathy with young people having their lives destroyed for a virus that doesn’t effect them.

Utterly shameful what has happened to them. And nobody has stood up for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Because, unlike anywhere else on the planet where COVID requires contact to spread this Irish version just needs movement. The mere act of sitting in a car by yourself will summon COVID. Remember, we are following the science here in Ireland.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Where did you used to go to that had 2€ pints?

Ree Raw on a Monday back in the day, and Bondai Beach Club every wed I think it was.... ahh those were the days.... think I remember Redz doing it too during the week on occasion!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Good morning folks.

I see Mehole was on TV last night saying he can’t guarantee that we won’t have another lockdown next winter, despite at least 80% of the population being vaccinated against this disease.

That tells you all we need to know about what’s going to happen. Enjoy July and August, or maybe just August, and eat a meal inside a restaurant because she will be closed up as soon as the weather changes.

We are so docile as a population. I feel people are hoot letting Mehole and his chronies manage their lives. Next winter will be no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Penfailed wrote: »
    No, I don't think they have 14 days to waste. I was responding to Fintan who said that they couldn't come over. The fact is, they can, if they factor in a quarantine period. They won't though as businesses aren't travelling anywhere for meetings currently. It's all being done online. That's one thing that will have changed when this is all over.

It's a funny one. I work for one of those large American companies and while travel has been hugely curtailed as soon as it's feasible slot will be back travelling. The Americans love actually face to face meetings and put a huge importance to them. It probably won't get back to prepandemic levels for a year or so but it will eventually.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭celt262

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Good morning folks.

I see Mehole was on TV last night saying he can’t guarantee that we won’t have another lockdown next winter, despite at least 80% of the population being vaccinated against this disease.

That tells you all we need to know about what’s going to happen. Enjoy July and August, or maybe just August, and eat a meal inside a restaurant because she will be closed up as soon as the weather changes.

We are so docile as a population. I feel people are hoot letting Mehole and his chronies manage their lives. Next winter will be no different.

Mehole :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

Some great value to be had on hotels up north for the June Bank Holiday weekend.

Listening to our politicians talking about restrictions next winter would make you think we've no exit strategy to return to normality at all. That on top of some sort of hospitality during the summer. Yeah good luck. Make hay while the sun shines up north.

ingo1984 wrote: »
    Some great value to be had on hotels up north for the June Bank Holiday weekend.

I would be very careful heading up there over the next few months/weeks with the craic that is going on up there lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

NEW: Tánaiste says the revisions to Covid-19 restrictions - due to be considered by Cabinet in two weeks - will not only include plans for May but also for June and July, hoping to give more certainty to businesses in the same manner as England and N. Ireland
    @VirginMediaNews

As I predicted, we'll copy UK, same as we are going to do with spacing out the doses.

JMNolan wrote: »
    As I predicted, we'll copy UK, same as we are going to do with spacing out the doses.

Well it does make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Good morning folks.

I don't think that'll happen if the EU green cert kicks in as everyone will just take a Ryanair flight to the continent. Or if we can fly to the UK/drive to NI then Ireland will have to do whatever they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    I'm in the same book

Think we'll be cancelling as the government won't allow hospitality open for a Bank holiday weekend

That’s bad, it’s the only day that i can go :/ really wanted to spend my time n money here, oh well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭darem93

Leo coming out with positive news yesterday and then - as predicted - MM comes out of the woodwork to put a dampener on the whole thing with suggestions of a winter lockdown.

It's like MM is doing everything possible to make himself very unpopular with the Irish public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

JMNolan wrote: »
    I don't think that'll happen if the EU green cert kicks in as everyone will just take a Ryanair flight to the continent. Or if we can fly to the UK/drive to NI then Ireland will have to do whatever they do.

I have my flights booked since January to fly out to Spain in August.

I'm pretty confident I'll get away too- not because of our shower of useless cowards but because the EU will crack down on the Irish Government trying to undermine our EU rights.

If not, I'll drive up to Belfast and book flights from there.

Let the Covid cheerleaders forgo a second year of holidays. Life's too short - I jetted off last summer and I'll do the same this summer.

celt262 wrote: »
    I would be very careful heading up there over the next few months/weeks with the craic that is going on up there lately.

Isolated to a couple of hotspots that no one would want to visit on holiday anyway?

I have my flights booked since January to fly out to Spain in August.

I'm pretty confident I'll get away too- not because of our shower of useless cowards but because the EU will crack down on the Irish Government trying to undermine our EU rights.

If not, I'll drive up to Belfast and book flights from there.

Let the Covid cheerleaders forgo a second year of holidays. Life's too short - I jetted off last summer and I'll do the same this summer.

I’ll be heading out foreign holiday too. Fcuk this stay cation thing in this communist country we are living in.