Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,272 ✭✭✭brickster69

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

And some on here say pubs are finished. Looks like their demise has been greatly exaggerated ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Normally you look at a queue for coffee or whatever and think ‘whod be that daft’ , but in this case, i would have done the exact same thing

Head of Wetherspoons interviewed on Claire Byrne this morning, rightly expressing disgust at arbitrary rules like checking if future customers have received their 'vaccine passports' before serving them. The opposing voice? Sham "50,000 deaths by last October" McConkey. Naturally Sham is paranoid, "people will be piled 5 or 6 deep at the bar. We need to practice great caution as we're dealing with a very contagious variant. Reviewed at six week intervals to be safe. And pubs are not integral to the export-driven economy". Why do RTÉ insist on trotting out that crackpot, he would happily preside over the charred wreckage of the hospitality sector.

And some on here say pubs are finished. Looks like their demise has been greatly exaggerated ;)

Look at what happened mcdonalds after they closed for 3 months, now theres long queues . I suspect the pubs are going to be roaring after this. I know well i wont be leaving one early ever again

Lads, did the boozers up north open ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Lads, did the boozers up north open ?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,272 ✭✭✭brickster69

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Keep in mind that over there they were only closed for 3 months, and in that time had access to grants to keep them afloat. In Dublin it is 13 months and counting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Its a pity, we'll have to wait till July I reckon for this and to be honest for me rurally there isn't much in terms of outdoor services, so probably September before I'll get to go out for a meal or a drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

mightyreds wrote: »
    Its a pity, we'll have to wait till July I reckon for this and to be honest for me rurally there isn't much in terms of outdoor services, so probably September before I'll get to go out for a meal or a drink.

Crazy talk saying we'll have to wait til July

We all know it wont be til December for 2 weeks only that outdoor dining will be open and you must you must have a €9 meal

PTH2009 wrote: »

We all know it wont be til December for 2 weeks only that outdoor dining will be open and you must you must have a €9 meal

And when the uk cases go back up a week before we open the boozers and theyre going back to lockdown, nphet will advise us not to open them incase we flare up again,

Should I add this to your list of predictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Beautiful, isn't it.

Yeah and not a morsel of food in sight

Bastards

Even though it looks like a report from a TY student its doesnt make for good reading. Pubs once again been screwed while they can reopen elsewhere :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

The liberal.... enough said.

Do you honestly think that's a legitimate source

Does Kunte Kinte work with the Liberal. It looks like something he would write :D

It's amazing how they can report on what nphet said but can in no way actually produce a quote about pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Is there really a need or a point in posting every half arsed article about the pubs not opening any time soon?

We know they aren't, not till June at the earliest and probably July. We just have to get on with it unfortunately.

There doesn't need to be this faux-outrage at the publishing of every rag article to do with the pub closures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Degag wrote: »
    Is there really a need or a point in posting every half arsed article about the pubs not opening any time soon?

We know they aren't, not till June at the earliest and probably July. We just have to get on with it unfortunately.

There doesn't need to be this faux-outrage at the publishing of every rag article to do with the pub closures.

At this stage I’ve forgotten what the inside of a pub looks or smells like, well no actually the one I go to has one customer who’s an expert at producing the most violent Guinness/Murphys farts!

But I do look at these articles and mostly ignore them as has been said above no quotes or feck all attached.

My wife had our second child few weeks ago
    I’ve been the most woke and all modern husband I can be so that the brownie points are built up for when the pubs do open and I go nuts for a few days and then I’ll go back into hiding for another 3 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

Im defeated at this stage by the whole process, im done, dont really give ffucck if they open in june september or january 2022. I really dont care anymore, i think i will go and put my energies into something else and not even give them any more thought. Im broken by the wole process and im just a punter , imagine what the pub owners feel like.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    Im defeated at this stage by the whole process, im done, dont really give ffucck if they open in june september or january 2022. I really dont care anymore, i think i will go and put my energies into something else and not even give them any more thought. Im broken by the wole process and im just a punter , imagine what the pub owners feel like.

I'm mentally drained with the whole thing myself, not just the pub scenario. WFH 14months now with nothing to look forward to lately has brought me right down. The other half has been great but its not fair on her either.

Golf opening back up in 2 weeks couldn't come at a better time for me.

Try to remain positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I'd imagine Hotels will be open before normal pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Does Kunte Kinte work with the Liberal. It looks like something he would write :D

Maybe maybe not:). Anyway my usually reliable sources tell me that there is a massive crackdown on shebeens on the way very soon so drink up while you still can.;)

finbarrk wrote: »

Just fly to dubai, pay 2 grand on your way back and you can order pints to your room in the MHQ for a small fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Batattackrat

Tis a grand evening for a few lovely pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭jt69er

finbarrk wrote: »

Mid June, bar any major setbacks.