Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will the Rovers ever Return? Your pub megathread, Part 2 - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

hynesie08 wrote: »
    It is, but why don't you give us the gist of the article since it's behind a pay wall?
    There is nothing about pubs in that article, more of a reference to a wider reopening in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

There is nothing about pubs in that article, more of a reference to a wider reopening in general.

I know, I have a times subscription, but I suspect pth is getting mad at headlines again.

Also
    Dr Glynn said Ireland was “weeks away from having the population vaccinated and [we] do not want to go backwards”. He said he “never again” wants to recommend measures to Government that close things down.

But..... But......nphet hate hospitality.

mikekerry wrote: »
    It does seem like NPHET want to kill the normal pubs.
    They have a clear anti-alcohol agenda and this is their chance to influence things to keep these closed as long as they possibly can and for good if possible.
    If they can replace them with gastro pubs possibly this is what they are hoping for in the end.
    As time goes by and anger intensifies, more people are probably going to agree with this. But I don't think there's any truth to it. I love pubs as much as the next man, and it's just an unfortunate truth that the conditions in pubs pertain to transmission of the virus. Just like concerts, attending matches, etc. do. However, I don't think NPHET are being accused of having an agenda against those industries? Even though they have been suspended for as long as pubs have.

Anyway, all going according to plan, we'll all be vaccinated by the end of the summer and ready to rock and roll once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭mikekerry

As time goes by and anger intensifies, more people are probably going to agree with this. But I don't think there's any truth to it. I love pubs as much as the next man, and it's just an unfortunate truth that the conditions in pubs pertain to transmission of the virus. Just like concerts, attending matches, etc. do. However, I don't think NPHET are being accused of having an agenda against those industries? Even though they have been suspended for as long as pubs have.

Anyway, all going according to plan, we'll all be vaccinated by the end of the summer and ready to rock and roll once more.

"the conditions in pubs pertain to transmission of the virus" - do you have any data to back this up?
    With the restrictions they had in place last year for the brief time that pubs were open there is no reason why they could not be in place now.
    There are plenty of other countries where bars are open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

"the conditions in pubs pertain to transmission of the virus" - do you have any data to back this up?
    With the restrictions they had in place last year for the brief time that pubs were open there is no reason why they could not be in place now.

The places I was in last Aug/Sep/Oct were well prepared and had good restrictions in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

On today's edition of "pth says things that didn't happen"

Just thinkng the same, perhaps PTH could remind us of this particular question about alcohol and covid?

Tony holohan definitely said "the virus loves Alcohol" but the idea that he grinned from ear to ear like a cartoon wolf as the chance to take a dig at his mortal enemy alcohol was presented is just the latest in pths weird delusions about a man he's never met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,306 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tony holohan definitely said "the virus loves Alcohol" but the idea that he grinned from ear to ear like a cartoon wolf as the chance to take a dig at his mortal enemy alcohol was presented is just the latest in pths weird delusions about a man he's never met.

He seemed very chuff talking about it because it was negative towards alcohol

https://www.facebook.com/rtenews/videos/2747759595486626/

PTH2009 wrote: »
    He seemed very chuff talking about it because it was negative towards alcohol

https://www.facebook.com/rtenews/videos/2747759595486626/

His cadence tone and body language do not change at all, and he admits to enjoying a pint himself....

You're seeing something that's not there because you think Tony holohan is directly responsible for you not being able to get a pint.....

I meant pubs without restrictions. Obviously that's what we all want here. Who wants to sit at a table on their own drinking a pint brought down to them from the bar, with no music, no loud TV, or no interactions. You hardly need data to show that pubs without restrictions are conducive to spreading of the virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭PommieBast

It is, but why don't you give us the gist of the article since it's behind a pay wall?
    Think it just about fair use to mention the quotes it contains:
    • "We're not there yet"
    • "weeks away from having the population vaccinated and do not want to go backwards"
    • "It is our job to be conservative"
    It is the last of these that really stands out. A lot of article is about the blood clotting issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Saorsat

Dickie10 wrote: »
    surely they will have to legally get back to opening concerts , gigs and nightclubs by autumn 2021 if people are all vaccinated. id say legally they wouldnt have much of a leg to stand on with everyone vaccnated by october even teens.like why on earth would you not give the go ahead for lower capacity venues like vicar st and whelans? theres a whole industry there that they have to give a chance to. nightclubs are the same bracket as gigs in venues like i mentioned. they have to be given the green light once people are vaxxed

You are very naive, I remember you turbo Normies predicting last Christmas that most things would be open by late April. Covid 21 will prevent normality returning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Saorsat wrote: »
    You are very naive, I remember you turbo Normies predicting last Christmas that most things would be open by late April. Covid 21 will prevent normality returning
    Somewhere between the inception of this post and the writing of it all meaning was lost!

Saorsat wrote: »
    2 posts from your accout and mention of Covid 21 says it all really :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Think he did say it....

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/the-virus-loves-alcohol-and-we-have-a-challenge-with-alcohol-in-this-country-cmo-on-new-recommended-restrictions-39877434.html

The virus loves indoor settings, it loves close contact between people, and it loves alcohol. And if we give it the opportunity it will transmit very very quickly and that’s what we are seeing.”

Is what he said incorrect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Batattackrat

I'd love a high stool right now talking ****e with all the locals, oul lads and friends :(:(:(:(

Open them up to feck, cant take much more of this :(:(

Having a few cans with friends is not the same, sick to the teeth of each other at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

surely when the likes of gigs with 200 plus people start agin, nightclubs will start too? i dont attend the likes of vicar st or that much but love clubs. really miss them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Degag wrote: »
    Is what he said incorrect?

Yes.

That's why we use alcohol based hand sanitiser

Tazz T wrote: »
    Yes.

How many pints of hand sanitizer do you drink?

Yes and I just said that I expect NI to follow suit on April 12th. Shall we come back to that then given current numbers and reconvene this conversation?

Ready to reconvene? Are NI pubs opening on Monday?

How many pints of hand sanitizer do you drink?

You coulda made a few gallons of the stuff from my intake tonight.

140 cans? I'm impressed

Ready to reconvene? Are NI pubs opening on Monday?

It's the 10th you cheeky lad. Announcements on the 12th

Yes.

No need to be deliberately obtuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

I'd love for the pubs to be open today to see the Double of Leinster beat Exeter and Rblackmore and Minellatimes win GN21

Degag wrote: »
    No need to be deliberately obtuse.

It's called satire.

Or obfuscation. Of which there is alot in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

Pubs still closed hopefully they'll be reopened in time for Sam7...

Missed Leinster as didnt have tv coverage but a sensational ride by Rachel on Minellatimes albeit Walsh had some badluck in runing

I'd love if the gov reopens bookies and pubs and closes the MHQs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭billy_beckham

pottokblue wrote: »
    I'd love for the pubs to be open today to see the Double of Leinster beat Exeter and Rblackmore and Minellatimes win GN21

Nice double ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

On the UK news there that some pubs in England opened at midnight last night, on the minute.

Fair play, some craic I'd say.