Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

The irony is that a certain percentage of those lovely people out protesting today will have covid and they will have passed it on to whomever they were next to. That person will go home and spread it to family members who will in turn spread it to others.

They just don't get it.

It is very possible that an elderly and/or vulnerable relatives will pass away as a result of today's actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Russman wrote: »
    Would we not be better off with restrictions to suit our own particular circumstances, .

Yes

Especially so considering this disease primarily targets the elderly, and Ireland has Europe’s youngest population

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

If you don't mind me asking why were you at the protest. What would you like to happen. Easing of restrictions. Which restrictions. Or easing of all of them. You want everything reopened now?
    Im just genuinely curious as to what the protesters want.

I want a reasonable response to a mildly deadly virus. We are not dealing with Ebola here. We need some targeted and effective measures not a full lockdown of everything

py2006 wrote: »
    The irony is that a certain percentage of those lovely people out protesting today will have covid and they will have passed it on to whomever they were next to. That person will go home and spread it to family members who will in turn spread it to others.

They just don't get it.

It is very possible that an elderly and/or vulnerable relatives will pass away as a result of today's actions.

There’s no stopping this stuff lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Or maybe a functioning Government who don't just take the most severe route given our demographic and geographical spread across the island.

If the Government recognized the seasonality factor, which the data indicates clearly, and told us that as a precaution we will stay in level 5 until the end of the traditional flu season at the end of March, I could see the logic as much as I hate level 5.

But constantly moving goal posts and pumping fear about variants into us through the complicit media is not what a well organised strong leadership would do.

Oh yeah, as well as those that want to open everything up, those that want to close everything down and those who are in between, there's another cohort that just want to attack the government at any opportunity. It's a real broad church in here.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

I want a reasonable response to a mildly deadly virus. We are not dealing with Ebola here. We need some targeted and effective measures not a full lockdown of everything
    Fair play to you lad.Cant wait till the people of limerick organise a march.Sick to death of being stopped,making a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Penfailed wrote: »
    Oh yeah, as well as those that want to open everything up, those that want to close everything down and those who are in between, there's another cohort that just want to attack the government at any opportunity. It's a real broad church in here.

Precisely the result of poor leadership, poor communications, poor explanations, poor planning, poor strategies.

It was always going to be tough navigating this, but our lot have made a fiasco out of it!

I think allot of people forget that Ireland is no different to any other country and if we relax restrictions, we'll experience a surge in cases & deaths just like other countries. For example, the US has had over 500K deaths and very few restrictions. New Zealand has had some of the lowest deaths but very regulated restrictions. They continue to tighten restrictions when just one case is confirmed.
    500k deaths here, or even 2 or 300k deaths would devastate the country, that many deaths would mean every person in Ireland would lose atleast one loved one to Covid within a couple of months. We dont have the same infrastructure as many of these countries with low restrictions, how do you expect the health care system, the morgues, the nurses & doctors to cope with that many deaths and patients? Whats your solution to these problems?

There is a serious misunderstanding of demographics here.

I’m not sure where to start

This argument is very easy to refute

Ireland could never see stats like that. Even Sweden have similar numbers to Ireland

Ireland has not protected its vulnerable significantly better

70 Covid deaths in Ireland is equivalent to about 5,500 in the USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I think allot of people forget that Ireland is no different to any other country and if we relax restrictions, we'll experience a surge in cases & deaths just like other countries. For example, the US has had over 500K deaths and very few restrictions. New Zealand has had some of the lowest deaths but very regulated restrictions. They continue to tighten restrictions when just one case is confirmed.
    500k deaths here, or even 2 or 300k deaths would devastate the country, that many deaths would mean every person in Ireland would lose atleast one loved one to Covid within a couple of months. We dont have the same infrastructure as many of these countries with low restrictions, how do you expect the health care system, the morgues, the nurses & doctors to cope with that many deaths and patients? Whats your solution to these problems?

We would never have had and will never have that amount of Covid deaths so your argument is completely moot. It’s such a nonsensical comparison. Do you realise how big the US is compared to Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Look man.Dont waist ur time
    A few people know me on boards.I grew up in probly the worst estate in ireland.Moyross.Guess what.Never in trouble.Worked my ass off.Now living in the country side.But yet,i reckon most people on here would tarnish me with the same brush,as those at the march.

Why would anyone tarnish you like that ?

Because you grew up in a rough estate ?.

10,000's grow up from rough estates and end up normal.

You weren't at the protest atacking the Guards .

Juwwi wrote: »

Because you grew up in a rough estate .

You weren't at the protest
    Neither was 90% of the people at the march.Whats ur point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Like many on here, I am learning more about viral infections than I did about Greek bond yields back in 2010 direction...

Coming into the pandemic the only thing I knew was to stay away from mainstream media as much as possible...I'll be honest, even though I knew this virus is something that is going to require huge action I felt severe lock down's felt like an over reaction but went along with it anyway....

Maybe that affected my search results.

I tried to find video's on Youtube of different medical experts (Irish or British if possible) who made logical sense and came across quiet a few, most have been taken down by Youtube.

The video below is Dr Pat Morrissey, I heard him speak on local radio and he was the most accurate in his assessment and predictions for the coming winter (as in last winter) that I have come across...he didn't get into that in this video but he does give his reasons for speaking out...

This Dr Pat Morrissey? Erh ok ...

4zr8ha.jpg

I somehow doubt it tbf. Your comments are anti masks and anti restrictions. There hasn't been much change to now. Id reckon there's a fair amount of confirmation bias by anyone gravitating towards those like Dr Morrissey ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

You are living on Uranus if you think 500k deaths would happen if we didn't lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Because you grew up in a rough estate .

You weren't at the protest
    Neither was 90% of the people at the march.Whats ur point?

My point is l don't think anyone is saying that these people at the march were from rough estates .

There were some scumbags at the march ,, they come from all societies of life.

My point is l don't think anyone is saying that these people at the march were from rough estates .

There was some scumbags at the march ,, they come from all society's of life.
    So we are agreeing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Like many on here, I am learning more about viral infections than I did about Greek bond yields back in 2010 direction...

Coming into the pandemic the only thing I knew was to stay away from mainstream media as much as possible...I'll be honest, even though I knew this virus is something that is going to require huge action I felt severe lock down's felt like an over reaction but went along with it anyway....

Maybe that affected my search results.

I tried to find video's on Youtube of different medical experts (Irish or British if possible) who made logical sense and came across quiet a few, most have been taken down by Youtube.

The video below is Dr Pat Morrissey, I heard him speak on local radio and he was the most accurate in his assessment and predictions for the coming winter (as in last winter) that I have come across...he didn't get into that in this video but he does give his reasons for speaking out.

He spoke at a rally in Dublin last Oct and was immediately censured by the HSE...

This is what is wrong and why people like me are fed up, there is a justifiable argument that this whole year has been completely one sided and experts have been completely off in their predictions, predictions which justify the severe lock downs.

There is something rotten about all of this, when media, health officials, and politicians are all willing to only consider and only allow us to consider one side of the argument.

The Irish Times poll this week, showed that Tony Houlihan has huge public support, hardly a surprise when his strategy isn't criticized.

I want to make Pat Morrisey the head of NPHET.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I want to make Pat Morrisey the head of NPHET.

That would be the end of the vaccination program.

Are you sure that's a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Ace2007 wrote: »
    I'm sure you'll put up a link to this? Given that other posters have put up links of the march that doesn't show any garda violence

Other posters have reported fireworks at the event - doubt the Garda brought these - so gotta wonder who brought them?

The troublemakers at the march of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭joseywhales

It seems bad leadership=telling me things that I don't want to hear.

Are we refuting the existence of new variants and the ability of the virus to mutate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

The actions of a minority ruined this protest for the majority and not surprisingly so. If I knew the protest would be with like minded people as myself who want restrictions accelerated more in line with the rest of Europe I might have thought about going but I knew there would be anti vaxxers and anti everything people there. I always find it disgraceful when gardai or police in any country get attacked just for trying to do their job and I feel the same here. Hopefully all recover well.

It's an unfortunate that people who disagree with current restrictions policy don't have a way to show their disapproval in a large scale but I guess that's where we are. From tomorrow I am going to start emailing TDs and Senators outlining why I disagree with current restrictions and I think others who agree should do the same. I think this is our best option to show that we disagree yet are reasonable, rationale people.

Does anyone have TD and Senator emails? I think they were threw up here previously in the chat.

Are we refuting the existence of new variants and the ability of the virus to mutate?

No proof yet that mutant variants evade vaccines. How come every other country in the world seem less worried about the new variants than us? Why have we the harshest restrictions in Europe? Why are the government leaving it 6 weeks between previous review and next review in early April. Why are we the only country in the world with non essential construction closed? People are not looking for everything to open up now but give us proportionate restrictions like the rest of the world. I don't think that's unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

What happen d at the protest? Were the guards attacked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

fin12 wrote: »
    What happen d at the protest? Were the guards attacked?

There's plenty of clips in earlier posts. Short answer - yes.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

The whole left wing right wing thing should be forgotten about in this country, we are not America and it doesn't fit. Sein Fein are the largest so called left wing party in the country and we know that their supporters are more likely to be against vaccines and restrictions than the so called right wing parties FF and FG. Its off topic I know but the blaming of one side or other for the protest today is stupid. Like Decco from the council estate knows what left and right wing politics is all about! It's just people on here trying to point score fir their side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

A 16 year old died from it recently, I personally know a 19 year old who died from it, my friends 23 year old brother died from it, a work colleague whose 30 got long covid and has been sick for months, she has to sleep down stairs as climbing the stairs in her house leaves her so short of breath she feels like she's going to pass out, she's so exhausted she sleeps 18 hours a day, she said the tiredness is like having the flu but x100, she's completely floored.

Sorry to hear that... I thought only 3 people under 25 had died in Ireland up to today.... maybe you live elsewhere ... very bad luck to know 2 out of 3... no one on the list age 23 though? We have someone on the main thread keeping an accurate record from the government statistics. Only 0.1 % on lowest age group from all the cases. The vaste vaste majority of young people do recover..May your friend in peace.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

What's right isn't popular. What's popular isn't right

Some are. I don't know if it's genuine lack of understanding or just frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 SilentGreenx32

Klonker wrote: »
    The actions of a minority ruined this protest for the majority and not surprisingly so. If I knew the protest would be with like minded people as myself who want restrictions accelerated more in line with the rest of Europe I might have thought about going but I knew there would be anti vaxxers and anti everything people there. I always find it disgraceful when gardai or police in any country get attacked just for trying to do their job and I feel the same here. Hopefully all recover well.

It's an unfortunate that people who disagree with current restrictions policy don't have a way to show their disapproval in a large scale but I guess that's where we are. From tomorrow I am going to start emailing TDs and Senators outlining why I disagree with current restrictions and I think others who agree should do the same. I think this is our best option to show that we disagree yet are reasonable, rationale people.

Does anyone have TD and Senator emails? I think they were threw up here previously in the chat.

I think this is my only option too. The actions at the protest today shut down any chances of an actual protest happening or working again. I was hopeful it wouldnt happen but there it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

The whole left wing right wing thing should be forgotten about in this country, we are not America and it doesn't fit. Sein Fein are the largest so called left wing party in the country and we know that their supporters are more likely to be against vaccines and restrictions than the so called right wing parties FF and FG. Its off topic I know but the blaming of one side or other for the protest today is stupid. Like Decco from the council estate knows what left and right wing politics is all about! It's just people on here trying to point score fir their side.

Decco mightn't have a clue but its blatantly obvious that these protests are being orchestrated from and riven by the far right. Decco might well go along to a left protest just as easy but thats not the point is it? This is Trumpian nonsense trying to blame both sides, today was clearly the work of the far right, can you not see that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Seriously? You dont know how to find email addresses for public reps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Nobody is refuting that. But if it turns out to be impossible to counter the virus with vaccination, then we have to start talking about alternative exit strategies. “Social distancing and no mass gatherings for years or decades” is not an acceptable or palatable solution for the vast majority of people, so if we can’t vaccine against it then what else could we consider doing?