Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Graham wrote: »
    Something like we tried at Christmas?

My point moreso is that we've a vaccine programme being rolled out, weather is getting better and having something as simple as outdoor dining or outdoor non contact sports (relatively low risk) would really help people get by.

onform wrote: »
    To me, this is our generation's 'challenge'. We've been asked to try and help suppress a dangerous virus BY STAYING AT HOME FOR A BIT.

All sense of proportion is lost with you. "Dangerous" for under 1% of the population, and a year sacrificed doesn't constitute "for a bit" as you glibly put it. Need I mention half a million out of work through no choice of their own. Hyperbole is popular with lockdown fanatics, and credibility out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,956 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

JRant wrote: »
    One of the most important duties a citizen had in a democracy is to keep the government in check. This government have repeatedly let down us citizens since this pandemic started. The nursing home fiasco at the start.
    Not putting a proper test and trace system in place.
    No alternative to lockdown looked at.
    Terrible communications over the past 6 months.
    Not scaling up hospital capacity in any meaningful way.
    Allowing 50+ thousand fly in from the UK before Christmas without so much as a test.
    Leaking constantly to the media and parliamentary parties.
    Awful "roadmap" released on Tuesday, which is basically a copy and paste of last year's awful plan.

Ok, so we throw the baby out with the bath water ?

You can blame those in political spheres only so far.

People as they behave and conduct themselves in their day to day lives need to be as accountable.

People need to react and behave as to the situation we face...

None of what you posted can excuse the behaviors of those urchins in the city.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,464 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Leo is “horrified” by the protests. Haha!

Shame our future Taoiseach is not more worried about the 700000 unemployed that are struggling to put food on the table.

The government and the doctors have caused this sorry affair by relentless, inhumane lockdowns with no hope for the people.

Finally Irish people are standing up against Europe’s most draconian lockdown
    Threadbanned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Boggles wrote: »
    - Commissioner Harris

I guess he is getting reported.

HaHa Drew Harris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I had to drive my boyfriend to work today as his car is buggered, prob about 40k away. I had the dog with me too and he was dying for a wee at one point so we stopped off at the beach and had a lovely walk. I actually haven’t broken the 5k restriction really so far this year so it was actually fab to get out and go for a nice walk in the sea air. I loved it. I might put some thumb tacks in his tyres next weekend so i can do it again. I didn’t come across one Guard either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭JRant

SAMTALK wrote: »
    I'm all for some of the restrictions being eased but the protest today ended up looking like a group of them wanting to rile the Guards. We,ve seen them at every protest everywhere. These protests achieve nothing

Numbers in hospitals down but if we move before enough vaccines are done they will rise again, and I,m not saying vaccine for everyone. As long as vulnerable are done I don't see any reason to keep all restrictions as are now

As I said earlier, you'd see much worse in many areas across the country every halloween. It's horrible to see and has been allowed fester by the garda, who are clearly too busy manning pointless checkpoints and hassling people out for walks.

When is enough though?
    NPHET have made it clear they want to be super conservative, including bringing waiting lists down before any notible easing of restrictions. We moved very slowly last year and by the time they eventually opened things up a bit the schools were due back and numbers creeped up again.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Most of the 'aulrighht jaysus howya' complaining wouldn't jog/walk 5km from their ipad or their housing estate before or after any restrictions anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

py2006 wrote: »
    Most of the 'aulrighht jaysus howya' complaining wouldn't jog/walk 5km from their ipad or their housing estate before or after any restrictions anyway.

Christ this stuff gets old quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭onform

One of the most important duties a citizen had in a democracy is to keep the government in check. This government have repeatedly let down us citizens since this pandemic started. The nursing home fiasco at the start.
    Not putting a proper test and trace system in place.
    No alternative to lockdown looked at.
    Terrible communications over the past 6 months.
    Not scaling up hospital capacity in any meaningful way.
    Allowing 50+ thousand fly in from the UK before Christmas without so much as a test.
    Leaking constantly to the media and parliamentary parties.
    Awful "roadmap" released on Tuesday, which is basically a copy and paste of last year's awful plan.

Let 'us' down?

Like it or not, our government are elected representatives. i.e. They represent you and me and every other citizen.

Who has done better on a global scale? The UK and the USA have been multiple times worse in terms of numbers dead. Some have been better, e. g. New Zealand but more advantageous circumstances.

Your points are all shoddy at best, e.g. Not scaling up hospital capacity, we do have more ICU capacity now than pre covid but where is that line drawn? Every ICU bed needs a proportional increase in HSE personnel, the whole point is to not have to put the HSE under breaking point pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Christ this stuff gets old quickly

Aren't you the one thats in jail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

As I said earlier, you'd see much worse in many areas across the country every halloween. It's horrible to see and has been allowed fester by the garda, who are clearly too busy manning pointless checkpoints and hassling people out for walks.

When is enough though?
    NPHET have made it clear they want to be super conservative, including bringing waiting lists down before any notible easing of restrictions. We moved very slowly last year and by the time they eventually opened things up a bit the schools were due back and numbers creeped up again.

In a funny way I agree with you...to some extent.
    Yes we see worse but in the name of a protest it was a joke. It belittles what a protest should be about

When we moved in December it cause a sharp rise in deaths /numbers I am willing to adhere to restrictions to the point the most vulnerable are vaccinated, then I think the Government will have to make a big move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

That's me unfollowing this thread now. Not sticking around and I won't mention why or I'll get the same treatment.

Some great posters on this thread, good luck.

Lundstram wrote: »
    That's me unfollowing this thread now. Not sticking around and I won't mention why or I'll get the same treatment.

Some great posters on this thread, good luck.

Stick around please Lundstram

Kiith wrote: »
    ****ing twats causing trouble is the only thing that will be taken from the protest today.

What could have been seen as a reasonable protest against utter mismanagement by the government, continued calls for restrictions in the face of vaccines, and the strictest lockdowns in the world, has become nothing more then a bunch of scumbags looking for a fight.

My thoughts exactly. I’m glad there was a protest but it’s a shame that it resorted to violence as it feeds right into the media’s hands; against restrictions = uneducated scumbag looking for a row. It’s simply not the case and it’s a shame it went this way. I’m sure there were plenty of normal and decent people at that protest today for one reason or another but their plight won’t get any coverage and they’ll likely distance themselves in future

So what do you suggest we do. Ignore all advice

I'm not sure how you got that from what I said.

Let people make their own assessments, up to a point. Hospitality will be closed for the foreseeable and large events for at least this year and probably much longer. Let families go to forrest's, parks and beaches that aren't rammed due to the ridiculous travel rules. Outdoor sports and exercise should be promoted not banned.

I'm not sure how you got that from what I said.

Let people make their own assessments, up to a point. Hospitality will be closed for the foreseeable and large events for at least this year and probably much longer. Let families go to forrest's, parks and beaches that aren't rammed due to the ridiculous travel rules. Outdoor sports and exercise should be promoted not banned.

Because you didn't give these examples. Just criticism of the government

I agree with you about open spaces and letting people have a bit more freedom but the boundaries are always pushed. Having said that with the weather getting milder I would hope they would ease some restrictions soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,699 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

They will probably increase checks on public transport. And routes into city centre. I cant understand how that many people can travel to city centre without going through a checkpoint or numerous checkpoints

It's so weird seeing posts like this about ireland in 2021 and not some war zone or something. Like imagine you were in a coma the past year and had no idea what was going on and you saw this. You'd be baffled and think the country had gone to war.

Strumms wrote: »
    Ok, so we throw the baby out with the bath water ?

You can blame those in political spheres only so far.

People as they behave and conduct themselves in their day to day lives need to be as accountable.

People need to react and behave as to the situation we face...

None of what you posted can excuse the behaviors of those urchins in the city.

Firstly, I'm not excusing anyone that was involved in the confrontations with the Garda today. The garda are people with families to go home to at the end of the day.

Secondly, judging by the amount of people out and about I'd say most are already behaving to the level of risk they see.

The government have not held up their end of the bargain at all, in fact they have continually let down the people of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,258 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Penfailed wrote: »
    Throwing the toys out 'cause one of your buddies got threadbanned? See ye.

That "protest" is even causing diehard open up people to jump ship.

What an own goal that "idea" was.

onform wrote: »
    Let 'us' down?

Like it or not, our government are elected representatives. i.e. They represent you and me and every other citizen.

Who has done better on a global scale? The UK and the USA have been multiple times worse in terms of numbers dead. Some have been better, e. g. New Zealand but more advantageous circumstances.

Your points are all shoddy at best, e.g. Not scaling up hospital capacity, we do have more ICU capacity now than pre covid but where is that line drawn? Every ICU bed needs a proportional increase in HSE personnel, the whole point is to not have to put the HSE under breaking point pressure.

That's exactly what I said when I posted they let us down. They are elected to represent us citizens. That representation goes way beyond solely listening to a single issue committee.

I hope you are being sarcastic about who's done better globally. We are performing about middle of the pack in europe for overall deaths, very poorly on nursing home deaths, and terrible when it comes to length and severity of restrictions.

Shoddy, indeed :)

Lads I’m actually so pissed off that that protest went the way it did. It’s so easy now for government to dismiss it as a few troublemakers and not address the underlying reason for it in the first place. Hopefully there will be more in the future that don’t go tits up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,661 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Lads I’m actually so pissed off that that protest went the way it did. It’s so easy now for government to dismiss it as a few troublemakers and not address the underlying reason for it in the first place

It’s a win win for the government

Anyone who questions the cost effectiveness of stay at home orders and business closures is now guilty by association with those lads and the argument is easily silenced

It’s evident in this thread all evening

The pro lockdowners have got their wish

2021 is a write off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

pjohnson wrote: »
    That "protest" is even causing diehard open up people to jump ship.

What an own goal that "idea" was.

Are you a zero Covid advocate pjohnson?

Because you didn't give these examples. Just criticism of the government

I agree with you about open spaces and letting people have a bit more freedom but the boundaries are always pushed. Having said that with the weather getting milder I would hope they would ease some restrictions soon

Boundaries will always be pushed, especially when most people are completely lost as to why certain restrictions are still in place. That's just human nature. Allowing and controlling the opening is a far better option than just telling everyone to stay at home when it'll be ignored anyway.

It’s a win win for the government

Anyone who questions the cost effectiveness of stay at home orders and business closures is now guilty by association with those lads and the argument is easily silenced

It’s evident in this thread all evening

The pro lockdowners have got their wish

2021 is a write off

I really wish you,d stop using the phrase Pro lockdown

People can see the need for some of restrictions and still not like them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,537 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

today's attempted inserection by the alt/far right was an absolute disgrace and should be dealt with using the full rigures of the law.
    assaulting our boys who have enough to do in these challenging times is beyond contempt and the majority of us want to see those responsible punished hard.
    today's actions will only strengthen our resolve to push on through and get to the end, we will not give in to trouble makers at any cost, their attempted inserection was a failure.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Are you a zero Covid advocate pjohnson?

Hahaha, that would require giving an opinion on something and not just non witty one liners. Never going to happen.

Lads I’m actually so pissed off that that protest went the way it did. It’s so easy now for government to dismiss it as a few troublemakers and not address the underlying reason for it in the first place. Hopefully there will be more in the future that don’t go tits up

To be honest they will always find anything to dismiss it.
    What you saw happened for about 1 minute and right at the start. It went on for a further 2 hours and there was no more trouble.
    When you gather a large crowd there will always be one or two eejits that do something stupid/Illegal.

If the protest had been allowed to go ahead in the Park instead of the Gards attempting to segregate groups of protesters, as planned it wouldn't have happened anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭onform

That's exactly what I said when I posted they let us down. They are elected to represent us citizens. That representation goes way beyond solely listening to a single issue committee.

I hope you are being sarcastic about who's done better globally. We are performing about middle of the pack in europe for overall deaths, very poorly on nursing home deaths, and terrible when it comes to length and severity of restrictions.

Shoddy, indeed :)

What I mean is they are citizens the same as me or you JRant.

No, not being sarcastic. If we hadn't locked down as we did there would have been a lot more people in Ireland dead now from covid-19.