Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

COVID-19: Vaccine and testing procedures Megathread Part 3 - Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 11,639 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Well if you searched online, you would find that alot more than one got infected after the vaccine.
    Vaccine isn't a preventative, it's to stop you getting sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,261 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Well if you searched online, you would find that alot more than one got infected after the vaccine.

I've heard though that a lot of these only had very mild symptoms or were asymptomatic.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I'm not the one that needs to educate myself here.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

humberklog wrote: »
    That's a factory...or my eyes are worse than I think.

It's my eyes not yours. I'm completely wrong here its not water.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,209 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

For the love of god is this still a talking point ? Some common sense here.

1. Person can be infected before vaccine was given and be asymptomatic, vaccine won't do anything. But sure oh I had the vaccine and still got covid.

2. Person picks it up in the days after vaccination. Repeat of the above, "oh I had the vaccine and got covid". Vaccine hasn't had enough time to do anything.

3. Person gets covid after 2nd dose, gets a mild dose, the same as a head cold, "oh I had the vaccine and got covid" . Well in this case the vaccine has done its job.

None of this is new

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,767 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It's my eyes not yours. I'm completely wrong here its not water.

And with that a load of confusing posts deleted

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭SJFly

I don't understand the obsession with weekend vaccination numbers. If we had a bottleneck caused by vaccine centres/cubicles you would expect them all to be staffed at capacity 7 days a week. We don't - we are still limited by supply. All we need right now is enough vaccinators working to administer the supplies we receive each week, without stock building up.
    Perhaps when supplies pick up we will need all centres to be operating at full capacity, and I would expect a more even distribution throughout the week. Until then, dips at the weekend are expected and not particularly problematic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

No

The videos is fake then is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,132 ✭✭✭rameire

Is there any truth to the story of the Travellers moving en masse into Pfizer in Grange Castle demanding the vaccine?

There is a video in the last few hours of about 20 vans pulling caravans pulling up onto empty space.
    Its claiming its Grange Castle.

https://twitter.com/BluntMan____/status/1381341531366424581?s=19

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Yeah I saw the vid rameire so asked in here if it was Pfiser as I don't know the area and whether it was recent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

1. Person can be infected before vaccine was given and be asymptomatic, vaccine won't do anything. But sure oh I had the vaccine and still got covid.

2. Person picks it up in the days after vaccination. Repeat of the above, "oh I had the vaccine and got covid". Vaccine hasn't had enough time to do anything.

3. Person gets covid after 2nd dose, gets a mild dose, the same as a head cold, "oh I had the vaccine and got covid" . Well in this case the vaccine has done its job.

None of this is new

I wouldn't waste my time explaining, and I definitely wouldn't waste my time with that certain type of poster. Fair play to you!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Yeah I saw the vid rameire so asked in here if it was Pfiser as I don't know the area and whether it was recent.

Looks the area on google maps anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 19,195 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

None of this is new

It's mad that the lads publishing the results, who have access to all the underlying raw data and who are "supposedly" trained as experts in the field, don't realise the things that are obvious to yourself.

And, looking at the other perspective, here is yourself, a natural without ever having to bother with that training or studying or even looking at the data, wasting your talent on boards.ie.

I wonder is there any strings we could pull to get you put in charge of one of these so-called research institutions?

Now, the numbers are very small. Nothing to panic over. But there is a genuine concern that a variant could come along for which the number is no longer negligible.

rameire wrote: »
    There is a video in the last few hours of about 20 vans pulling caravans pulling up onto empty space.

What do they make there? Is it viagra?

They could send them out a few bottles and see what happens

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

It's mad that the lads publishing the results, who have access to all the underlying raw data and who are "supposedly" trained as experts in the field, don't realise the things that are obvious to yourself.

And, looking at the other perspective, here is yourself, a natural without ever having to bother with that training or studying or even looking at the data, wasting your talent on boards.ie.

I wonder is there any strings we could pull to get you put in charge of one of these so-called research institutions?
    The authors have openly admitted the limitations in their study, but those facts will be conveniently overlooked by the media to suit their own narrative.

If you actually read the study you'd know this.

The authors have openly admitted the limitations in their study, but those facts will be conveniently overlooked by the media to suit their own narrative.

If you actually read the study you'd know this.

My point is that they have access to underlying data and they would have controlled for patients who would have already been incubating the virus when they got the vaccine etc.

If a fella presents with a serious case of symptoms on a Wednesday morning and he says "but I got the vaccine last night" then the researchers probably don't run around in a tizzy before jumping out the window screaming "The end is nigh! how could this be? He got the vaccine 12 hours ago and now he is sick".

Does the poster think they are eejits?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,933 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

mightyreds wrote: »
    Looks the area on google maps anyway

I really hope it is true. Just for the comical value alone

Not only are this particular, (to be generous), cohort, who in the main have gone out of their way in a state of denial ignoring restrictions and recommendations, but they would now be demanding vaccination, and doing so at the wrong address.
    The Johnson & Johnson headquarters are in Tallagh.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

1huge1 wrote: »
    I think another reason that Israel seems to have plateaued around 55% is because Pfizer have stopped delivered them vaccines due to Israel not paying for their most recent batch.

https://www.timesofisrael.com/pfizer-said-to-warn-israel-pay-up-or-go-to-back-of-vaccine-line/

Although. this does seem strange to me, I can't imagine Israel having any issues paying for these.

My understanding it due to the recent election and collapse of the previous coalition. Its a hell of a thing to not get done due to internal political infighting.
    I have to say I taught out politicians were incompetent, but I guess someone is always a bigger moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Polar101

charlie14 wrote: »
    I really hope it is true. Just for the comical value alone

That's a pretty common sight at business parks during the weekend. Did someone ask them if they were there for the vaccine, or are we assuming it just because of the Pfizer sign?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,484 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

rameire wrote: »

The general attitude in the travelling community is that Covid is nothing

No interest in taking the vaccination is much more likely than a push to get it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Dressoutlet

Now, the numbers are very small. Nothing to panic over. But there is a genuine concern that a variant could come along for which the number is no longer negligible.

If a very small number of people got seriously ill or died from covid do you think we would be in this situation.
    No.
    We would all carry on as normal. If the vast majority of people with covid just got a head cold.
    Society does not alter its way of living for a very small number of people.
    Vaccines not working on a very small number of people is not a concern.
    And your last sentence, a Variant COULD come along...
    We COULD send all antivaxxers to spike Island.
    We COULD force everyone with blue eyes to get the vaccine.
    My Nanny could have had balls but then she would have been my grandad

Hopefully NIAC take a very practical viewpoint here, I'd be ok with something along the lines of the UK saying over 30s and a preference to use something else for under 30s but to still have AZ available for u30 if needs be.

Putting a limit of say 50 or 60 could seriously slow down the rollout in my view. I couldn't see how the June targets would be met & significant delay.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/ministers-fear-new-astrazeneca-restrictions-will-slow-vaccine-rollout-1.4534654?mode=amp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

None of this is new

Oh I very much understand this. Head on over to the thread about control at the airports and people thinks the two people from Israel are grand. They are indeed. However, the majority of us here are still waiting on our vaccines, so we're not. Really not sure how they have to pay for our slow rollout, but how do they separate vaccinated and non-vaccinated until the job is done?

Not sure what any of this has to with your original post if you understand it.

"Seriously, if vaccines don't work, how do we get out of this"

The whole post you originally put up was about vaccinated people testing postive but I'm not going to go back around in circles on the explanation, it's a waste of time.

The rest of the post sounds like something for the travel thread and/or the vaccine passport thread. If someone is fully vaccinated then let them into the country as normal.

Around 14k J&J arriving this week.

As per the examiner,

"Much of the batch will be used within communities which are less likely to engage with the health system, and therefore less likely to return for their second dose of other brands of vaccines.

This means the Johnson & Johnson vaccine will be rolled out to homeless people, the Travelling community, those engaged with drug services, and the Roma community to begin with."

On a separate matter the point is being reiterated that there will be no choice of vaccine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

Any idea what time today we'll hear the decision on possible age restrictions for Oxford/AstraZeneca?

• Registered Users Posts: 31,031 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

VonLuck wrote: »
    Can anyone post the population numbers in each age group? It was posted a few days ago but can't seem to find it. Would be good to extrapolate the daily vaccination numbers to know approximately when certain ages will start vaccinations.

This?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116804059&postcount=8606

Tyrone212 wrote: »
    Any idea what time today we'll hear the decision on possible age restrictions for Oxford/AstraZeneca?

Nope, whatever NIAC recommend goes to CMO and then onto Minister for Health and Dept of Health. Statement would come then

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭.G.

The traveller encampment at Pfizer Grange Castle is 100% true, I just drove past it.

Their reasons for being there are only known to them!

.G. wrote: »
    The traveller encampment at Pfizer Grange Castle is 100% true, I just drove past it.

Their reasons for being there are only known to them!

They need somewhere to overnight after getting of the ferry before heading to Rathkeale for the the summer