Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until March/April? (part 4) **Mod warning in OP 22/01**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,434 ✭✭✭✭km79

Well in the interest of fairness the holiday "extension" of the 6th/7th & 8th should result in a holiday contraction somewhere...

A lot of us worked those three days (and the weekend obviously ) to makes sure the unexpected switch to remote learning went as smoothly as possible for the students in our school
    But you already knew that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I was of the opinion an extra reason the Government wanted schools opened for children with special needs and other vulnerable children was because they expected mainstreams schools to be shut for longer than 1st Feb. Otherwise why try and push this through for the sake of a week. No doubt they are getting alot of representation from parents and advocacy groups stressing the importance of school to these children. But seeing as that didn't work now I think they will stick hard and fast to sending everyone back on Feb 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭History Queen

JMNolan wrote: »
    Does anyone know what counter plans the teachers unions put forward? I presume the answer isn't none as that would be just heartless.

Forsa were looking for the schools to open with the following in place. I'm not sure about INTO.

– A “phased resumption of services” with staggered attendance to reduce the number of individuals on site at any one time
    – A National Public Health Emergency Team assessment of the safety of staff and special needs students attending schools during this phase of the pandemic
    – The prioritisation of school staff for receipt of Covid-19 vaccine, in light of their recent designation as essential workers
    – Serial school-based Covid-19 testing similar to that in place for essential workers in health, social care and the meat industry

Copied and pasted from The Irish Times 13th January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Does anyone know what counter plans the teachers unions put forward? I presume the answer isn't none as that would be just heartless.

One thing they want is mass testing on a continuous basis, also that schools don't return until test nd trace in the community is fully functional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,434 ✭✭✭✭km79

Murple wrote: »
    Or possibly instruction that mid term should be brought forward a week and back on the 15th.

Depending on the trends over the next week or so that could be a very sensible suggestion actually
    It will obviously therefore never be considered by Norma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

The department is the employer with the onus to provide a safe learning and working environment for staff and students alike. Their job is to work out the details of this. The union are paid by members to protect them and their rights. Would you suggest the ASTI figure out how to run the LC........

Anyone who works in education knows the department has not been fit for purpose in years. The camera is just on them now and theres a novice at the helm who's making powerplays a four year old could see through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

Murple wrote: »
    Or possibly instruction that mid term should be brought forward a week and back on the 15th.

That would actually be very sensible. And probably supported if the numbers have improved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Nearly laughed when I read this. Nearly.

"In a statement, the department said it was "regrettable that after unprecedented engagement with primary and special education stakeholders, a shared objective that would allow children with special educational needs return to in-school learning, could not be reached".

The department said its efforts had included consistent, frequent and ongoing engagement at ministerial and official level with education partners including teacher and SNA unions over the last two weeks."

It said the Minister for Education Norma Foley and her officials had listened closely to the issues raised..."

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0119/1190583-sna-teachers/

The outright lying is unbelievable at this stage, she (Norma) consulted no one ffs, how has she not been crucified for the lies

km79 wrote: »
    Don’t you be coming around here with your silly facts .

"Waa waa take their holidays and pay away while i throw my toys out of the pram" Is what the arguments of all these teacher haters amounts to really at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Niall Collins denying that PPE was cut by 40%.

Saying that Matt Carthy is lying.

This playground ride again. Every, flipping time.

Round and round we go

My god :rolleyes::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

This playground ride again. Every, flipping time.

Kids all grown up and in college. This Karen is sitting at home all day doing nothing, drinking a bottle of wine a night and has become detached from reality :rolleyes:

Was the cleaning cut pro rata for the term? The PPE cut was to cover once off changes to the school supposedly?

Norma may not have run it by cabinet.

I do wonder about some of the stuff that’s coming by email instead of circular. Why did that come by email? Why did the opening of schools come by email?

Normally it via circular as that is their official mechanism. Our CEC rep said this has been queried as well but not responded to as of yet.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,406 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

And discommode the lazy feckers (teachers) who have been sitting around doing diddly squat for months?

Not a chance

About time the Govt grew a pair and stood up to the INTO and ASTI and TUI.

Unsafe working environment for the pets? Fair enough. Then you cant visit a supermarket ( that would be unsafe too) you cant go to hospital ( so feck off if you are sick)

Im appalled by the behavior of the teachers, especially those special needs ones.
    They should be ashamed of themselves and have done themselves no favors with the public.

I would make them work thru July now to make up, or stop paying them. Put them on the PUP and see the wusses rush back to work.

By the way, my kids are college aged so I have no personal interest in the schools reopening. But I think its shameful carry on. But then thats the usual guff from those 3 unions.
    Oh cry me a river.

We have all worked harder since COVID hit. What about hospital staff? Recalled from leave to help in some cases?
    No. I'm not. The libraries are open and all lectures are available online.

Lecturers are still working and the time table is still being covered .

Students of that age can work remotely very successfully and both are also on placements (which are also going ahead)

You see...some sectors have just gone on with things. Instead of sitting around whinging.
    Maybe you should tell your Union that you want to be back in school.

Rather than being a sheep and letting them take the lead.

I dont have school going kids but I know a lot of people who have, and the feedback I get from a multitude of schools, is very poor performance. NG all round.

But listen lads and lassies. I actually have a job to get up to tomorrow morning, Cant sit round on my hole unlike you lot.

But in terms of a PR exercise, the public have little or time time for ye. You are a bunch of pathetic wusses.
    Working in a hospital actually, far from sitting round drinking wine.

Now, teachers, on the other hand...

Mod:

You have no interest in civil discussion and only want to troll. Do not post here again

Normally it via circular as that is their official mechanism. Our CEC rep said this has been queried as well but not responded to as of yet.

That’s interesting. I hadn’t heard anything but I did wonder. I can’t find sight nor light of them on the website either. Have they published the PPE/cleaning emails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭am_zarathustra

That’s interesting. I hadn’t heard anything but I did wonder. I can’t find sight nor light of them on the website either. Have they published the PPE/cleaning emails?

I had noticed too, glad someone is querying it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

If you knew what I know about what form those negotiations took and the behaviour and attitude of the two ladies, especially this morning then you'd be laughing.

I have heard similar stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭lulublue22

I have heard similar stories.

Now lads don’t leave us hanging !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

I would agree that the INTO, in particular, have been poor in their message. There are solutions available to this impasse but the emphasis appears to be on the problems. John Boyle wrote a cheque on Primetime last week that he couldn't cash.

There’s the press release. Anyone get the feeling that she thinks teachers and SNAs are bold children?

https://www.education.ie/en/Press-Events/Press-Releases/2021-press-releases/PR21-01-19a.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭History Queen

There’s the press release. Anyone get the feeling that she thinks teachers and SNAs are bold children?

https://www.education.ie/en/Press-Events/Press-Releases/2021-press-releases/PR21-01-19a.html

It was the term "unprecedented engagement " that got me.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭BonsaiKitten

I would agree that the INTO, in particular, have been poor in their message. There are solutions available to this impasse but the emphasis appears to be on the problems. John Boyle wrote a cheque on Primetime last week that he couldn't cash.

I'm only delighted to see him have to row back on his speeches last week. He thought he had it all squared away after the Department made him feel important. Hope the membership remembers this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭WicklaBlaa

Children with special or additional needs cannot be adequately homeschooled that is why there was an attempt to get them back to school earlier.

We're the only country in Europe not providing
    in-school education to these children
    That says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

It was the term "unprecedented engagement " that got me.....

well if the rumours are true, being an hour late for an organised meeting, staying 5 minutes then leaving in a rude manner is unprecedented.

JB warned us tonight that the backlash, both in the media but in particular from Norma will be vicious. Told us that we need to stand strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Yup “Ireland is an outlier in the European Union in not having in-person provision available for students with special educational needs at this time.